DETAILED ACTION
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
1. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 of record in the previous Action are withdrawn.
2. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of record in the previous Action are withdrawn.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 63 – 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 63 recites the phrase ‘the longitudinal weld’ in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 64 recites the phrase ‘the longitudinal weld’ in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 65 recites the phrase ‘the longitudinal weld’ in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 32, 34 – 35, 43, 45 and 63 – 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359).
With regard to Claim 32, Mitsui et al disclose a container that is a tube (cylindrical; column 7, lines 1 – 5) that is collapsible (column 1, lines 6 – 10) comprising a bag comprising polyethylene (column 6, lines 19 – 28) and comprising a longitudinal join formed by a two opposite edges overlapping or abutting (seal strip formed at the edges; column 6, lines 9 – 16). A bag comprising a single longitudinal joint is therefore disclosed. The bag therefore constitutes the sidewall, and no other components are required for the sidewall. The sidewall therefore consists of the bag. Mitsui et al fail to disclose a non – laminated blown film having the claimed thickness that is a multi – layer polymeric material consisting of multiple layers of polymers, each layer consisting of polymer, comprising an inner layer, an outer layer and a barrier layer between the inner layer and outer layer, and having a thickest layer that is polyethylene homopolymer.
Best et al teach a bag (column 18, lines 20 – 43) comprising a blown film having a thickness of 1 mm to 1000 mm that is a multilayer polymeric material that is a film that is a ‘B/A/B’ film (column 17, lines 16 – 20) in which ‘B’ is a layer of LLDPE or blend of LLDPE and ‘A’ is a layer of a conventional film layer (column 16, lines 1 – 5) that is polyethylene terephthalate (column 16, lines 47 – 56) for the purpose of films that can be formed into bags using a machine (column 18, lines 40 – 43). Best et al is in the same field of endeavor, which is blown film as evidenced by column 18, lines 20 – 43.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the container disclosed by Mitsui et al to comprise a blown film that is a multi – layer polymeric material in order to obtain films that can be formed into bags using a machine as taught by Best et al. It is not disclosed that other components are required in Best et al. The layers therefore consist of polymer. The blend of LLDPE taught by Best et al is a blend with LDPE (column 11, lines 54 – 65). Hahm discloses that blown films have a substantially balanced molecular orientation profile (balanced orientation; column 4, lines 29 — 38). The tube that is obtained by the combination of Mitsui et al and Best et al would therefore have a substantially balanced molecular orientation profile. Although the disclosed range of thickness is not identical to the claimed range, the disclosed range overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for any amount within the disclosed range, including those amounts that overlap the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05.
Sun teaches a tube container (tube dispenser which is deformable; column 1, lines 9 – 15) comprising in one embodiment (multi – layer structure; column 4, line 44) a first layer having a thickness of 75 to 200 microns, a barrier layer having a thickness of 15 to 40 microns and an outer layer having a thickness of 200 – 400 microns the barrier layer comprising ethylene – vinyl alcohol copolymer, and the first and outer layers comprising polyolefin such as low density polyethylene for the purpose of obtaining a dentrifice tube (column 4, lines 45 – 54), Sun is in the same field of endeavor, which is containers as evidenced by column 1, lines 9 – 15.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the container disclosed by Mitsui et al to comprise a first layer having a thickness of 75 to 200 microns, a barrier layer having a thickness of 15 to 40 microns and an outer layer having a thickness of 200 – 400 microns in order to obtain a dentrifice tube as taught by Sun. Because low density polyethylene is taught by Sun, a polyethylene homopolymer is taught. Additionally, the outer layer taught by Sun is the thickest layer, because the range of thickness of the outer layer has the highest upper limit.
With regard to Claim 34, less than twenty layers are taught by Sun, therefore up to twenty layers.
With regard to Claim 35, less than ten layers are taught by Sun, therefore up to ten layers.
With regard to Claims 43 and 45, as stated above, the barrier layer is EVOH.
With regard to Claim 63, because the claimed filler is optional, it is not required.
With regard to Claims 64 – 65, it is not disclosed that a subsequent lamination is required. A blown film with no subsequent lamination is therefore disclosed.
7. Claims 36 – 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359) and further in view of Itoh et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,042,906).
Mitsui et al, Sun, Best et al and Hahm disclose a container as discussed above. With regard to Claim 36, Mitsui et al, Sun, Best et al and Hahm fail to disclose a container comprising 8 layers.
Itoh et al teach a tubular container (column 6, lines 20 – 24) comprising 13 layers (column 17, line 59) for the purpose of obtaining flavor – retaining property (column 17, lines 60 – 65). Itoh et al is in the same field of endeavor, which is containers as evidenced by column 6, lines 20 – 24.
The layers taught by Itoh et al are 4 layers of ‘PO,’ 1 layer of ‘GB,’’ 6 layers of ‘AD’ and 2 layers of ‘COC’ (column 17, lines 59). ‘PO’ is non – cyclic olefin, COC is cyclic olefin copolymer, ‘GB’ is gas barrier and ‘AD’ is adhesive (column 17, lines 18 – 23). The gas barrier is a resin (column 16, lines 40 – 45) and the adhesive is linear low density polyethylene (column 16, lines 14 – 20). It is not disclosed that non – polymer components are required. The layers of the container therefore consist of polymers.
With regard to Claims 37 – 38, the non – cyclic olefin layers taught by Itoh et al comprise high density polyethylene or medium, therefore linear medium, density polyethylene (column 15, lines 8 – 16).
With regard to Claim 39, the non – cyclic olefin layers taught by Itoh et al comprise low density polyethylene (column 15, lines 8 – 16). 6 layers of non – cyclic olefin are not taught by Itoh et al, because 4 layers are disclosed. However, Best et al teach the addition of high density polyethylene to linear low density polyethylene (column 9, line 60) in order to obtain excellent toughness (column 33, lines 24 – 30).
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for adhesive layers taught by Itoh et al to comprise high density polyethylene in order to obtain excellent toughness as taught by Best et al.
With regard to Claims 40 – 42, the claimed thicknesses are not taught by Itoh et al. However, the cyclic olefin copolymer has a thickness of at least 25 microns, the gas barrier has a thickness of at least 2 microns and the adhesive layer has a thickness of 5 to 30 microns (column 17, lines 60 – 65) and total thickness of the container is 200 – 900 microns (column 16, lines 64 – 67). Although the disclosed ranges of thicknesses of the layers are not identical to the claimed ranges, the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for any amounts within the disclosed ranges, including those amounts that overlap the claimed ranges. MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, as stated above, an outer layer that is the thickest layer that is a polyolefin homopolymer is taught by Sun.
8. Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al (U.S. Patent No. 5,960,993) in view of Best et al (U.S. Patent No. 7,951,873 B2) and Sun (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,840) as evidenced by Hahm (U.S. Patent No. 5,256,359) and further in view of Blatz (U.S. Patent No. 4,952,628).
Mitsui et al, Sun, Best et al and Hahm discloses a container as discussed above. Mitsui et al, Sun, Best et al and Hahm fail to disclose a barrier layer comprising APA.
Blatz teaches a container (column 30, line 50) comprising a barrier layer comprising APA (column 2, lines 10 — 30) for the purpose of obtaining barrier properties that improve with increasing humidity (column 2, lines 52 – 59). Blatz is in the same field of endeavor, which is containers as evidenced by column 50, line 50.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for a barrier layer comprising APA in order to obtain barrier properties that improve with increasing humidity as taught by Blatz.
ANWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
9. Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of the previous Action have been considered and have been found to be persuasive. The rejections are therefore withdrawn.
However, Applicant argues, on page 9 of the remarks dated August 4, 2025, that it is not obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the extruded film taught by Sun to be a blown film, although blown films are made by extrusion. This is not persuasive because it is unclear why it is not obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the extruded film taught by Sun to be a blown film, although blown films are made by extrusion.
Applicant also argues on page 9 that Sun does not teach a non – laminated blown film because adhesive layers are taught. This is not persuasive because it is not clear that a non – laminated blown film is claimed, or that the claimed invention excludes adhesive layers.
Applicant also argues on page 9 that no examples of Best et al teach a structure like the claimed material. This is not persuasive because the invention is not limited to the examples.
/MARC A PATTERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782