DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, 47-57, 61-67, 69-74 are pending.
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 47-57 are rejected below.
Claims 7 is objected to.
Claims 61-67, and 69-74 are allowed.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 47-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Runge (U.S. Pat. 7,010,394).
As to claim 1, Runge teaches a regulator system for regulating the operation of an irrigation system, responsive to user programmed information, comprising: a receiver portion capable of interrupting watering control signals from an irrigation controller (fig. 6); a wireless transceiver located within said receiver portion for receiving temperature and rainfall data transmitted directly from a local wireless sensor unit (fig. 4 element 10); an irrigation controller system interface externally exposed on said receiver portion for connecting said receiver portion with said irrigation controller (fig. 4, 6); a switch for bypassing the control signals from the receiver portion to the irrigation controller via the irrigation controller interface (col. 5 lines 26-30), for either permitting or prohibiting watering by the irrigation controller(col. 5 lines 26-30), and; a user interface disposed on said receiver portion for modifying and displaying a user adjustable rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller and a user adjustable temperature threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller (col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 9, Col. 2 lines 18-27, 41-44, 58-67). Runge teaches an irrigation controller that controls an irrigation system based on sensors and thresholds. Specifically, Runge teaches a user interface for modifying and displaying user adjustable limits such as rain and temperature thresholds. As to claim 2, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a signal strength indicator for displaying a wireless signal strength from said local wireless sensor unit (col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 3, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises hygroscopic material that expands upon contact with moisture from water vapor, rain, snow, or ice (element 23). As to claim 4, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor (col. 2 lines 54-56). As to claim 5, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit further comprising a rainfall detection sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling or a rate of rainfall, and which transmits control signals to the receiver(col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 6, Runge teaches further comprising a rainfall detection sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling (col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 8, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a battery indicator(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 9, Runge teaches wherein said user adjustable rainfall threshold is an amount of rainfall (col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 3, col. 2 lines 18-21, 24-25). As to claim 10, Runge teaches wherein a rainfall accumulation sensor switch is disposed in a body of said local wireless sensor unit and is connected mechanically to a hygroscopic material and electrically to a sensor transmitter (fig. 2); said sensor transmitter being wirelessly connected to said receiver portion (fig. 2 element 6), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch being responsive to said hygroscopic material expanding a given amount indicative of a predetermined level of atmospheric precipitation(fig. 2 col. 5 lines 57-63), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch enabling said transmitter to transmit signals to said receiver unit indicative of an atmospheric precipitation condition(fig. 2 col. 5 lines 57-63). As to claim 11, Runge teaches wherein the irrigation system interface is connected to the irrigation system by wiring(claim 10). As to claim 12, Runge teaches a regulator system for regulating the operation of an irrigation system (fig. 6), responsive to user programmed information(col. 2 lines 18-21), comprising: a receiver portion for interrupting an irrigation schedule of an irrigation controller(element 10); a programmable logic controller disposed within said receiver portion(element 18 fig. 4b); a wireless transceiver within said receiver portion for receiving temperature and rainfall data directly from a local wireless sensor unit and further relaying that data to said programmable logic controller(fig. 4b, col. 2 lines 59-67); an irrigation controller interface for connecting said receiver portion with the irrigation controller(fig. 4b); a user interface on an outer portion of said receiver and coupled to said programmable logic controller for modifying and displaying a user rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller and a temperature threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller(fig. 4b, col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 9, Col. 2 lines 18-27, 41-44, 58-67). As to claim 13, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a signal strength indicator for displaying a wireless signal strength from said local wireless sensor unit(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 14, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a battery indicator(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 15, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises hygroscopic material that expands upon contact with moisture from water vapor, rain, snow, or ice(element 23).
As to claim 47, Runge teaches a system for interrupting the operation of an irrigation system (fig. 6), responsive to user programmed information (col. 2 lines 18-21), comprising: a receiver portion capable of interrupting watering control signals from an irrigation controller(element 10); a wireless transceiver located within said receiver portion for receiving temperature and rainfall data transmitted directly from a local wireless sensor unit (fig. 4b, col. 2 lines 59-67); an irrigation controller system interface externally exposed on said receiver portion for connecting said receiver portion with said irrigation controller(fig. 6); a switch selectively operable to cause the interrupting of the watering control signals from the irrigation controller via the irrigation controller system interface(col. 6 lines 50-63, col. 8 lines 55-62) for either permitting or prohibiting watering by the irrigation controller (fig. 9 – watering allowed or suspended), and; a user interface disposed on said receiver portion for modifying and displaying a user adjustable rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller and a user adjustable temperature threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller(fig. 4b, col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 9, Col. 2 lines 18-27, 41-44, 58-67). As to claim 48, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a signal strength indicator for displaying a wireless signal strength (col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 49, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises hygroscopic material that expands upon contact with moisture from water vapor, rain, snow, or ice (element 23). As to claim 50, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor(col. 2 lines 54-59). As to claim 51, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit further comprising a sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling or a rate of rainfall, and which transmits control signals to the receiver(col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 52, Runge teaches further comprising a sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling(col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 53, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit further comprising a sensor which is capable of measuring a quantity of accumulated rainfall(col. 3 lines 30-31). As to claim 54, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a battery indicator(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 55, Runge teaches wherein said user adjustable rainfall threshold is an amount of rainfall (col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 3, col. 2 lines 18-21, 24-25). As to claim 56, Runge teaches wherein a rainfall accumulation sensor switch is disposed in a body of said local wireless sensor unit and is connected mechanically to a hygroscopic material and electrically to a sensor transmitter(fig. 2); said sensor transmitter being wirelessly connected to said receiver portion (element 6), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch being responsive to said hygroscopic material expanding a given amount indicative of a predetermined level of atmospheric precipitation (fig 2), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch enabling said transmitter to transmit signals to said receiver unit indicative of an atmospheric precipitation condition(col. 6 line 64- col. 7 line 23). As to claim 57, Runge teaches wherein the irrigation controller system interface is connected to the irrigation system by wiring(claim 10).
Examiner would like to point out that any reference to specific figures, columns and lines should not be considered limiting in any way, the entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 47-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Runge (U.S. Pat. 7,010,394) in view of Klever (U.S. Pat. 5,836,339).
As to claim 1, Runge teaches a regulator system for regulating the operation of an irrigation system, responsive to user programmed information, comprising: a receiver portion capable of interrupting watering control signals from an irrigation controller (fig. 6); a wireless transceiver located within said receiver portion for receiving temperature and rainfall data transmitted directly from a local wireless sensor unit (fig. 4 element 10); an irrigation controller system interface externally exposed on said receiver portion for connecting said receiver portion with said irrigation controller (fig. 4, 6); a switch for bypassing the control signals from the receiver portion to the irrigation controller via the irrigation controller interface (col. 5 lines 26-30), for either permitting or prohibiting watering by the irrigation controller(col. 5 lines 26-30), and; a user interface disposed on said receiver portion for modifying and displaying a user adjustable rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller and a user adjustable temperature threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller (col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 9, Col. 2 lines 18-27, 41-44, 58-67). Runge teaches an irrigation controller that controls an irrigation system based on sensors and thresholds. Specifically, Runge teaches a user interface for modifying and displaying user adjustable limits such as rain and temperature thresholds.
As shown above, the examiner firmly believes that the claimed invention is taught as a whole within Runge, however, even if one were to interpret that the reference is lacking, the present claims are still not allowable. In support of the disclosure of Runge, Examiner has included Klever which shows unequivocally that Applicant's claimed invention at the time it was invented is not patentable.
As to claims 1, 12, 16, 24, 39 and 47 Klever teaches a user interface disposed on said receiver portion for modifying and displaying a user adjustable rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller (abstract fig. 2 element 58 col. 4 line 66-col. 5 line 5). Klever teaches a rainfall sensor which is user adjustable at a user interface for controlling irrigation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was created to include the teachings of Klever into the system and methods of Runge. The motivation to combine is that Klever teaches using this type of precipitation detection gives the user fully automated operations of irrigation system in any weather condition(col. 3 lines 30-37) . This allows a user to make changes at a controller to the level of rainfall needed prior to shut off. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Runge with Klever since the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007). In this specific case it substitutes Runge’s rainfall sensor adjustment with the adjustment made at the controller of Klever.
As to claim 2, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a signal strength indicator for displaying a wireless signal strength from said local wireless sensor unit (col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 3, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises hygroscopic material that expands upon contact with moisture from water vapor, rain, snow, or ice (element 23). As to claim 4, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor (col. 2 lines 54-56). As to claim 5, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit further comprising a rainfall detection sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling or a rate of rainfall, and which transmits control signals to the receiver(col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 6, Runge teaches further comprising a rainfall detection sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling (col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 8, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a battery indicator(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 9, Runge teaches wherein said user adjustable rainfall threshold is an amount of rainfall (col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 3, col. 2 lines 18-21, 24-25). As to claim 10, Runge teaches wherein a rainfall accumulation sensor switch is disposed in a body of said local wireless sensor unit and is connected mechanically to a hygroscopic material and electrically to a sensor transmitter (fig. 2); said sensor transmitter being wirelessly connected to said receiver portion (fig. 2 element 6), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch being responsive to said hygroscopic material expanding a given amount indicative of a predetermined level of atmospheric precipitation(fig. 2 col. 5 lines 57-63), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch enabling said transmitter to transmit signals to said receiver unit indicative of an atmospheric precipitation condition(fig. 2 col. 5 lines 57-63). As to claim 11, Runge teaches wherein the irrigation system interface is connected to the irrigation system by wiring(claim 10). As to claim 12, Runge teaches a regulator system for regulating the operation of an irrigation system (fig. 6), responsive to user programmed information(col. 2 lines 18-21), comprising: a receiver portion for interrupting an irrigation schedule of an irrigation controller(element 10); a programmable logic controller disposed within said receiver portion(element 18 fig. 4b); a wireless transceiver within said receiver portion for receiving temperature and rainfall data directly from a local wireless sensor unit and further relaying that data to said programmable logic controller(fig. 4b, col. 2 lines 59-67); an irrigation controller interface for connecting said receiver portion with the irrigation controller(fig. 4b); a user interface on an outer portion of said receiver and coupled to said programmable logic controller for modifying and displaying a user rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller and a temperature threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller(fig. 4b, col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 9, Col. 2 lines 18-27, 41-44, 58-67). As to claim 13, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a signal strength indicator for displaying a wireless signal strength from said local wireless sensor unit(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 14, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a battery indicator(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 15, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises hygroscopic material that expands upon contact with moisture from water vapor, rain, snow, or ice(element 23).
As to claim 47, Runge teaches a system for interrupting the operation of an irrigation system (fig. 6), responsive to user programmed information (col. 2 lines 18-21), comprising: a receiver portion capable of interrupting watering control signals from an irrigation controller(element 10); a wireless transceiver located within said receiver portion for receiving temperature and rainfall data transmitted directly from a local wireless sensor unit (fig. 4b, col. 2 lines 59-67); an irrigation controller system interface externally exposed on said receiver portion for connecting said receiver portion with said irrigation controller(fig. 6); a switch selectively operable to cause the interrupting of the watering control signals from the irrigation controller via the irrigation controller system interface(col. 6 lines 50-63, col. 8 lines 55-62) for either permitting or prohibiting watering by the irrigation controller (fig. 9 – watering allowed or suspended), and; a user interface disposed on said receiver portion for modifying and displaying a user adjustable rainfall threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller and a user adjustable temperature threshold for interrupting said irrigation controller(fig. 4b, col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 9, Col. 2 lines 18-27, 41-44, 58-67). As to claim 48, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a signal strength indicator for displaying a wireless signal strength (col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 49, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises hygroscopic material that expands upon contact with moisture from water vapor, rain, snow, or ice (element 23). As to claim 50, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit comprises a temperature sensor(col. 2 lines 54-59). As to claim 51, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit further comprising a sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling or a rate of rainfall, and which transmits control signals to the receiver(col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 52, Runge teaches further comprising a sensor which is capable of sensing whether rain is currently falling(col. 3 lines 24-29). As to claim 53, Runge teaches wherein said local wireless sensor unit further comprising a sensor which is capable of measuring a quantity of accumulated rainfall(col. 3 lines 30-31). As to claim 54, Runge teaches wherein said user interface further comprises a battery indicator(col. 7 lines 24-31). As to claim 55, Runge teaches wherein said user adjustable rainfall threshold is an amount of rainfall (col. 1 line 67- col. 2 line 3, col. 2 lines 18-21, 24-25). As to claim 56, Runge teaches wherein a rainfall accumulation sensor switch is disposed in a body of said local wireless sensor unit and is connected mechanically to a hygroscopic material and electrically to a sensor transmitter(fig. 2); said sensor transmitter being wirelessly connected to said receiver portion (element 6), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch being responsive to said hygroscopic material expanding a given amount indicative of a predetermined level of atmospheric precipitation (fig 2), said rainfall accumulation sensor switch enabling said transmitter to transmit signals to said receiver unit indicative of an atmospheric precipitation condition(col. 6 line 64- col. 7 line 23). As to claim 57, Runge teaches wherein the irrigation controller system interface is connected to the irrigation system by wiring(claim 10).
Response to Arguments
Only specific claimed limitation arguments were made to claims 7 and 61 and are found persuasive. All other arguments to claims 1-6, 8-15, and 47-57 were either omitted or non-specific (such as stating they have been argued before, for example) and have been answered numerous times and can be seen in the previous action(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 61-67 and 69-74 are allowed.
Conclusion
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119