Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 27 and 30-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lamm (D622, 763) in view of Galm (US 5,884,770), Slater (US 6,886,685), Offenhauer (US 6,112,441) Stich (US 5,760,381), Clark (US 6,732,459), Cole (US 7,490,720) and Glosh (US 7,654,577).
Regarding claims 27 and 31, Lamm (figs. 1-8) discloses a holder for a transaction card comprising:
a forming sheet, the sheet initially having an upper first portion (i.e., portion with a bow), a second portion below the first portion, a third portion (i.e., portion with two curved cutouts) below the second portion,
the front of the third portion including an area to which the transaction card is securable;
a hanging tag (see fig. 2) attached to the back side of the second portion, the hanging tag comprising an upper portion and a lower portion, the lower portion attached to the back side of the second portion of the sheet, the upper portion comprising a peg hole for hanging the notepad and gift card in a transaction card display;
each of the portions having a front and back side;
wherein the holder is configured to be disposed in a concealed state wherein the third portion is folded up and over the front of the second portion thus sandwiching the card between the back face of the third portion and the back face of the second portion, and
the front of the first portion being folded over and configured to be received into a slot existing in the third portion to maintain the concealed state;
a ribbon disposed in the first portion, wherein the ribbon is configured to be grasped in removing the first portion from the concealed state thus opening the holder while the ribbon remains in a tied configuration.
Lamm fails to disclose a fourth portion below the third portion, wherein the front of the fourth portion is folded onto the front of the third portion and adhered to the front of the third portion, forming a reinforcing arrangement by folding so as to allow the holder to be die cut from a single forming sheet;
a notepad secured to the second portion configured for immediate enjoyment by a recipient;
the notepad and the gift card being both displayed to the recipient upon removal from the concealed state or upon opening;
the ribbon disposed through at least one aperture in the first portion and tied to form a bow; the ribbon configured to be pulled to disengage the first portion from the slot while the ribbon remains in a tied configuration;
wherein paper or material in the notepad provides customizable surface for receiving decorations, images, or messages to the recipient;
wherein when the holder is in the concealed state, the holder, notepad, and transaction card fit in a transaction card display; and
the hanging tag comprising an upper portion and a lower portion divided from each other by a line of perforations, the lower portion attached to the back side of the second portion of the sheet using permanent adhesive;
the main panel having a machine readable indicia printed on a first side, the machine readable indicia comprising a bar code for facilitation purchase of the holder; and
the notepad comprising a backer made of a rigid material, the backer adhered to a second side of the main panel.
However, Glam teaches a double-walled flap formed from two portions being adhered together; wherein a non-adhered face of the flap is configured to receive a transaction card (col. 2, lines 35-38 and col. 3, lines 58-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the bottom flap of Lamm, double-walled so that portions can be cut from the inside of the panel without being visible at the exterior as taught by Glam in col. 3, lines 58-61. This would provide an astatically pleasing package that also minimizes damage to the card by accidental tearing of the cut.
Regarding the fourth portion being folded onto the front of the third portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the third and fourth portions integral since it has been held “that the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); but see Schenck v. Nortron Corp.,713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) MPEP 2144.04 V. B.
Regarding the bottom flap being double walled such that the top flap can be inserted without striking the transaction card, it is noted that the top flap of the modified device of Lamm is capable of being inserted without striking the transaction card.
Further, Slater teaches notepad being attached to a panel of an enclosure at note pad attachment site 40, 50, the panel being opposite to a panel having card holder site 30; wherein the notepad is sandwiched between the card and the front of the enclosure when the enclosure is in the concealed state or closed state; and
the notepad and the card being both displayed to the recipient upon removal from the concealed state or upon opening (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the front side of the main panel of the modified Lamm (i.e., the side opposite to the card), a notepad, for continence as taught by Slater in col. Col. 1, lines 6-12. The convenience could for example be determining what gifts, offers, and/or rewards are remaining on the gift card.
Regarding the limitation “wherein paper or material in the notepad provides customizable surface for receiving decorations, images, or messages to the recipient”, it is noted that the notepad of the modified device of Lamm provides a surface capable of receiving a decorations, images, or messages to the recipient. It has been held that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Further, Offenhauer teaches a card having a ribbon passing through apertures (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided the first panel of the modified device of Lamm apertures, for attaching the ribbon through the apertures as taught by Offenhauer, for decorative purposes. Also, it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art (i.e., attaching ribbons through apertures) that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
It is noted that the ribbon (taught by Offenhauer) of the modified Lamm is capable of being pulled to disengage the top flap from the lateral slot while the ribbon remains in a tied configuration since it is there for decorative purposes.
Regarding the limitation “wherein when the holder is in the concealed state, the holder, notepad, and transaction card fit in a transaction card display”, Stich teaches mounting or fitting a card holder or envelope (in a transaction card display) for display at a point of purchase location (col. 8, lines 58-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to have mounted/fitted the transaction card of the modified Lamm in a transaction card display, for display at a point of purchase location, as taught by Stich in col. 8, lines 58-59. This would allow a purchaser to easily find and pick a card.
Regarding the hanging tag, Clark teaches at the time the invention was filed, it was well known to attach two panels with adhesive and to have provided a hanging tag a perforated line 38 (fig. 6 and col. 5, lines 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have attached the hanging tag of the modified Lamm with an adhesive and have provided the hanging tag, a perforated line, for detaching the tag after purchase by a consumer/sender of the holder and before giving the holder to a recipient as taught by Clark in col. 3, lines 3-7.
Regarding the barcode, Cole teaches a greeting card system having a barcode 107 on a panel (fig. 1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the modified device of Lamm, a barcode, to manage the sale of the device and to provide for activation of the card, as taught by Cole in col. 2, lines 41-44.
Regarding the location of the barcode, It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding the notepad having a backing material, Glosh teaches notepads having backing material 34 (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the notepad of the modified Lamm, a backing material adhered to the panel, to add rigidity to prevent the notepad from flexing when writing on it.
Regarding claim 30, Galm further teaches a card held by two tabs T (fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have held the card of the modified Lamm by two tabs, as further taught by Galm, since it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art (i.e., attaching a gift card by silts) that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
Regarding claim 32-33, the modified Lamm fails to disclose the sheet comprising cardboard or card stock.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the modified device of Lamm, of cardboard or card stock, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 35, it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than a prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 1, 8, 22, 25-26 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lamm (D622,763) in view of Galm (US 5,884,770), Slater (US 6,886,685) and Offenhauer (US 6,112,441), Stich (US 5,760,381) and Clark (US 6,732,459) further in view of Crofton (US D421,457), Cole (US 7,490,720) and Glosh (US 7,654,577).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Lamm (figs. 1-8) discloses a holder formed from a sheet, the holder comprising:
the sheet including a first portion (i.e., portion with a bow) , a second portion below the first portion, a third portion (i.e., portion with two curved cutouts) below the second portion, each of the portions having a front and back side;
a top flap formed from the first portion of the sheet;
a main panel formed from the second portion of the sheet;
a bottom flap formed from the third portion;
wherein the bottom flap is preconfigured to receive a transaction card; and
a lateral slot existing in the third potion being configured to receive an edge of the top flap;
a hanging tag (see fig. 2) attached to the back side of the second portion, the hanging tag comprising an upper portion and a lower portion, the lower portion attached to the back side of the second portion of the sheet, the upper portion comprising a peg hole for hanging the notepad and gift card in a transaction card display;
wherein the top flap and the bottom flap are selectively foldable over the main panel into a closed position in which: (i) the transaction card is enclosed between the bottom flap and the main panel when the bottom flap is folded up over the main panel, and, (ii) wherein the closed position is completed by the edge of the upper flap being received in the slot in the bottom flap;
a ribbon disposed in the top flap;
Lamm fails to disclose:
a fourth portion below the third portion, wherein the bottom flap is a double-walled bottom flap formed from the front side of the fourth portion being folded over and adhered to the front side of the third portion;
wherein the bottom flap is formed by folding so as to allow the holder to be die cut from a single sheet;
wherein the fourth portion is preconfigured such that the still exposed back side of the fourth portion is able to receive the transaction card;
and
wherein the bottom flap is double walled such that the top flap can be inserted without striking a transaction card;
and the lateral slot discussed above configured into a centralized area in the third portion such that the still exposed back side of the third portion optionally receives an edge of the top flap;
a notepad attached to the main panel;
wherein the note pad is sandwiched between the card and the front of the second portion when the holder is in the concealed state or closed state, such that neither the notepad nor the card can be used when the holder is in the concealed state; and
the notepad and the gift card being both displayed to the recipient upon removal from the concealed state or upon opening and are available for use by the recipient, the notepad available for immediate use and the gift card available for subsequent use; and
the ribbon discussed above being disposed through two or more apertures in the top flap and tied at a front surface of the top flap to form a bow; the ribbon serving as a structure to grasp and being configured to be pulled to disengage the top flap from the lateral slot; and
the hanging tag comprising an upper portion and a lower portion divided from each other by a line of perforations, the lower portion attached to the back side of the second portion of the sheet using permanent adhesive; and
the main panel having a machine readable indicia printed on a first side, the machine readable indicia comprising a bar code for facilitation purchase of the holder; and
the notepad comprising a backer made of a rigid material, the backer adhered to a second side of the main panel.
However, Glam teaches a double-walled flap formed from two portions being adhered together; wherein a non-adhered face of the flap is configured to receive a transaction card (col. 2, lines 35-38 and col. 3, lines 58-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the bottom flap of Lamm, double-walled so that portions can be cut from the inside of the panel without being visible at the exterior as taught by Glam in col. 3, lines 58-61. This would provide an astatically pleasing package that also minimizes damage to the card by accidental tearing of the cut.
Regarding the fourth portion being folded onto the front of the third portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the third and fourth portions integral and folded since it has been held “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); but see Schenck v. Nortron Corp.,713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) MPEP 2144.04 V. B.
Regarding the bottom flap being double walled such that the top flap can be inserted without striking the transaction card, it is noted that the top flap of the modified device of Lamm is capable of being inserted without striking the transaction card.
Further, Slater teaches notepad being attached to a panel of an enclosure at note pad attachment site 40, 50, the panel being opposite to a panel having card holder site 30; wherein the notepad is sandwiched between the card and the front of the enclosure when the enclosure is in the concealed state or closed state; and
the notepad and the card being both displayed to the recipient upon removal from the concealed state or upon opening (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have provided the front side of the main panel of the modified Lamm (i.e., the side opposite to the card), a notepad, for continence as taught by Slater in col. Col. 1, lines 6-12. The convenience could for example be determining what gifts, offers, and/or rewards are remaining on the gift card.
Offenhauer teaches a card having a ribbon passing through apertures (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided the first panel of the modified device of Lamm apertures, for attaching the ribbon through the apertures for decorative purposes. Also, it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art (i.e., attaching ribbons through apertures) that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
It is noted that the ribbon (taught by Offenhauer) of the modified Lamm is capable of serving as a structure to grasp and capable to be pulled to disengage the top flap from the lateral slot.
Regarding the limitation “wherein when the holder is in the concealed state, the holder, notepad, and transaction card fit in a transaction card display”, Stich teaches mounting or fitting a card holder or envelope (in a transaction card display) for display at a point of purchase location (col. 8, lines 58-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to have mounted/fitted the transaction card of the modified Lamm in a transaction card display, for display at a point of purchase location, as taught by Stich in col. 8, lines 58-59. This would allow a purchaser to easily find and pick a card.
Regarding the hanging tag, Clark teaches at the time the invention was filed, it was well known to attach two panels with adhesive and to having provided a hanging tag a perforated line 38 (fig. 6 and col. 5, lines 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have attached the hanging tag of the modified Lamm with an adhesive and have provided the hanging tag, a perforated line, for detaching the tag after purchase by a consumer/sender of the holder and before giving the holder to a recipient as taught by Clark in col. 3, lines 3-7.
Regarding the slot being in a centralized area Crofton teaches a card having a centralized slot (figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided the slot of the modified Lamm in a centralized area, as taught by Crofton, for using a triangular flap for aesthetic purposes.
Regarding the barcode, Cole teaches a greeting card system having a barcode 107 on a panel (fig. 1c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the modified device of Lamm, a barcode, to manage the sale of the device and to provide for activation of the card, as taught by Cole in col. 2, lines 41-44.
Regarding the location of the barcode, It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding the notepad having a backing material, Glosh teaches notepads having backing material 34 (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the notepad of the modified Lamm, a backing material adhered to the panel, to add rigidity to prevent the notepad from flexing when writing on it.
Regarding claim 8, Galm further teaches a card held by two tabs T (fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have held the card of the modified Lamm by two tabs, as further taught by Galm, since it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art (i.e., attaching a gift card by silts) that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Lamm fails to disclose the material comprising cardboard.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the modified device of Lamm, of cardboard, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 25, the modified Lamm the top flap being generally triangular in shape ( figs. 1-3 of Crofton) and including a distal point having a tapered width, wherein the distal point is received in the slit.
Claim 34 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lamm (D622, 763) in view of Galm (US 5,884,770), Slater (US 6,886,685), Offenhauer (US 6,112,441) Stich (US 5,760,381), Clark (US 6,732,459), Cole (US 7,490,720) and Glosh (US 7,654,577) as applied to claim 27 above, further in view of Crofton (US D421,457).
Regarding claim 34, Lamm further discloses the first portion being configured to be received into the slot existing in the third portion.
However, the modified Lamm fails to disclose the first portion being formed in a generally triangular in shape that tapers upward to reach a distal point, wherein the first portion is able to be received into the slit in the third portion when the holder is in the concealed state.
Crofton teaches a card having the claimed triangular first portion (figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have made the first portion of the modified Lamm, triangular, as taught by Crofton, for aesthetic purposes.
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lamm (D622,763) in view of Galm (US 5,884,770), Slater (US 6,886,685), Offenhauer (US 6,112,441) , Stich (US 5,760,381) and Clark (US 6,732,459) further in view of Crofton (US D421,457), Cole (US 7,490,720) and Glosh (US 7,654,577) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Blank (US 7,374,095).
The modified Lamm fails to disclose the gift card being attached using a removable adhesive.
However, Blank teaches a transaction card being attached to a panel via removable adhesive (figs.3, 5, 12 and col. 5, lines 7-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute removable adhesives as, for example, taught by the Blank reference for attachment means of the modified device of Lamm, since it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant’s argument regarding the design patent of Lamm is not persuasive. The fact that Lamm is a design patent does not preclude reliance on its figures for structural features that are clearly depicted. The rejection relies on the structures and configurations shown in Lamm’s figures, not on an unsupported functional disclosure.
Regarding applicant’s argument about the ribbon limitations, it is noted that the rejection relies on the combination of Lamm and Offenhauer, not Offenhauer alone, to provide the claimed ribbon arrangement. The resulting ribbon remains graspable and pullable to open the holder.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the per se rationales do not substitute for evidence, it is noted that the rejection does not rely solely on a per se rationale, it is supported by the teachings of the references and the articulated reasoning for combining their features. Accordingly, the rejection is supported by evidence rather than by an unsupported per se assertion.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE G NEWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735