DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed on 04/13/2026 and claims filed on 04/03/2026 have been acknowledged. Claims 1, 2, 11, 15 and 16 have been amended. Claim 6-7, 10, 21, 23-24 are cancelled. Claim 1, 11 and 16 are independent claim.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The application is a section 371 national stage application of International Application No. PCT/IB2013/054586 filed on June 4, 2013, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No.61/655,029, filed on June 4, 2012.
Remarks and Response
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendments on 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but moot in view of new ground of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 11 recites “a lighting control system comprising: an interface”. The claim recites “system” without having any hardware positively recited. No component is recited in the claim or nothing is defined as hardware component in the claim. Interface is not defined as hardware anywhere in the specification. Thus, the system cannot be implemented in software or tangible component. If the system is considered as machine, then the machine needs to consist of some concrete part or structure which is absent in the claim. See MPEP 2106.
A claim that covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim when read in light of the specification and in view of one skilled in the art) embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The dependent claims 12-15 inherit the deficiency of the parent claim and are rejected for the same rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 11 recite “a method for protecting privacy/identity information of an individual of data collected using one or more devices”. The claim language is not correct and thus incomprehensible. The limitation “of an individual of data” does not make any sense. Thus the claim is vague and indefinite.
Claim 1 further recites “in the individual’s space”. There is antecedent basis issue with the claim language.
Claim 3 recites “data is collected by one or more devices”. Claim 3 further recites “said devices are selected from the group”. There are antecedent basis issue.
Claim 5 recites “in accordance with the recorded selections”.
Claim 9 recites “which data associated with the individual’s work space”.
Claim 11 recites “an individual of data collected using one or more devices, the lighting control system comprising…”. Claim 11 further recites “…configuring the control system to store…”.
Claim 12 recites “one or more the plurality of devices”. Claim 12 depends on claim 11. No plurality of devices is recited in claim 11.
Claim 14 depends on claim 11 and recites “wherein the computer generates collected data”. There is antecedent basis issue.
Claim 15 recites “with a menu is selected”. Claim 15 depends on claim 11 and claim 11 recites “with a menu”.
Claim 16 recites “a method for protecting the privacy/identity information”, “configuring the control system”.
Claim 17, 20 and 22 recite “the lighting control system”.
Claim 22 recites “the collected data in the space to an operational management system for analysis”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11-16 and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boleko Ribas (US Patent application Publication No. 2010/0181938 A1) in view of Hurwitz (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0132330 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Boleko Ribas discloses a method for protecting privacy/identity information of an individual of data collected using one or more devices, in the individual’s space, the method comprising (Boleko Ribas, Fig-1, ¶[0089]):
providing an interface, via a control system, to the individual wherein the individual can select one or more privacy settings pertaining to the collected data, wherein the one or more privacy settings include (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. ¶[0092], the interface is configured to provide a choice of possible work surface parameters to the user. The interface may be configured to allow the user to input the work surface parameters by selecting the intended work surface parameters),
Boleko Ribas does not explicitly disclose the following limitation that Hurwitz discloses:
configuring the control system to store the collected data but disabling logging of the privacy/identity information of the individual or removing privacy/identity information of the individual from the collected data (Hurwitz, ¶[0003], prohibit data analysis when the device is located in residential zone. ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data);
Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing interaction with controllable networks to relate to the management and handling of preference settings for users”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Boleko Ribas with the teaching in Hurwitz to include the idea of managing privacy setting. Personal privacy settings allow a user to designate whether or not certain types of information can be collected, uploaded. The user may allow data to be collected or prefer to limit or prohibit data collection (Hurwitz, ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the data is collected by one or more devices, wherein said non-lighting devices are selected from the group consisting of a camera, a sensor, a dimming ballast, a user interface, motorized blinds, and combinations thereof (Boleko Ribas, Fig-2, interface, ¶[0033], sensors. ¶[0032], camera).
Regarding claim 4, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 3 wherein said sensors are selected from the group consisting of an occupancy sensor, a motion detector, a light sensor, a thermal sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, and combinations thereof (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0033], sensors).
Regarding claim 5, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising reporting of any collected data in accordance with the recorded selections (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. Hurwitz, ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data).
Regarding claim 8, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the privacy settings comprise an option, whereby the individual can limit what purposes the is permitted to be used and the method further including the step of restricting use of the data for that individual to predetermined uses (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. Hurwitz, ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data).
Regarding claim 9, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the privacy settings comprise an option, whereby the individual can specify one or more data element categories for which data associated with the individual’s work space is permitted and the method further including the step of allowing use of the data from the devices collection of data for that individual to predetermined uses (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. Hurwitz, ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data).
Regarding claim 11, Boleko Ribas discloses a lighting control system that provides privacy/identity information protection of an individual of data collected using one or more devices, the lighting control system comprising (Boleko Ribas, Fig-1, ¶[0089]):
an interface to provide the individual with a menu by which the individual can select one or more privacy settings related to the collected data (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. ¶[0092], the interface is configured to provide a choice of possible work surface parameters to the user. The interface may be configured to allow the user to input the work surface parameters by selecting the intended work surface parameters);
Boleko Ribas does not explicitly disclose the following limitation that Hurwitz discloses:
configuring the control system to store the collected data but disabling logging of privacy sensitive data/identity information or removing privacy sensitive data/identity information of the individual from the collected data (Hurwitz, ¶[0003], prohibit data analysis when the device is located in residential zone. ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data);
Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing interaction with controllable networks to relate to the management and handling of preference settings for users”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Boleko Ribas with the teaching in Hurwitz to include the idea of managing privacy setting. Personal privacy settings allow a user to designate whether or not certain types of information can be collected, uploaded. The user may allow data to be collected or prefer to limit or prohibit data collection (Hurwitz, ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the lighting control system of claim 11 wherein one or more the plurality of devices are selected from of a camera, a sensor, a user interface, motorized blinds, and combinations thereof (Boleko Ribas, Fig-2, interface, ¶[0033], sensors. ¶[0032], camera).
Regarding claim 13, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the lighting control system of claim 12 wherein the sensors are selected from an occupancy sensor, a motion detector, a light sensor, a thermal sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, and combinations thereof (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0033], sensors).
Regarding claim 14, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the lighting control system of claim 11 wherein the computer generates collected data reports in accordance with said selections (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. Hurwitz, ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data).
Regarding claim 15, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the lighting control system of claim 11 wherein the interface for providing the individual with a menu is selected from a special purpose or general purpose processing system, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a palm computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a smart phone, and combinations thereof (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. Also Hurwitz, ¶[0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Boleko Ribas discloses a computer-readable, non-transitory medium having stored therein instructions for causing at least for protecting the privacy/identity information of an individual in which data is collected using one or more devices, the method comprising (Boleko Ribas, Fig-1, ¶[0089]):
providing an interface to the individual by which the individual can select one or more privacy settings pertaining to the collected data (Boleko Ribas, ¶[0057], defining a range of values for the desired illumination instead of exact values allows taking into account different visual performances of young and elderly people. ¶[0092], the interface is configured to provide a choice of possible work surface parameters to the user. The interface may be configured to allow the user to input the work surface parameters by selecting the intended work surface parameters);
Boleko Ribas does not explicitly disclose the following limitation that Hurwitz discloses:
wherein the privacy settings include, configuring the control system to store the collected data but disabling logging of the privacy/identity information of the individual or removing privacy/identity information of the individual from the collected data (Hurwitz, ¶[0003], prohibit data analysis when the device is located in residential zone. ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data);
Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing interaction with controllable networks to relate to the management and handling of preference settings for users”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Boleko Ribas with the teaching in Hurwitz to include the idea of managing privacy setting. Personal privacy settings allow a user to designate whether or not certain types of information can be collected, uploaded. The user may allow data to be collected or prefer to limit or prohibit data collection (Hurwitz, ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz discloses the method of claim 1, further including providing, by the lighting control system, the collected data in the space to an operational management system for analysis, with or without identity information of the individual associated to the collected data based on the recorded selection (Hurwitz, ¶[0003], prohibit data analysis when the device is located in residential zone. ¶[0025], each analytics system obtains and processes information and data that is associated with the current contextual operating scenario of the user device. For example, for the detected contextual scenario, a given privacy policy prediction might require the collection of global positioning system data and prohibit the collection of address data).
Claim 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boleko Ribas (US Patent application Publication No. 2010/0181938 A1) in view of Hurwitz (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0132330 A1) and further in view of Lee (US Patent Publication No. US 2003/0227439 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz does not disclose the following limitation that Lee discloses:
the method of claim 1 wherein the control system is a Hybrid Integrated Lighting and Daylight Control system (Lee, ¶[0021], Rooms R1 and R2 have cameras, heating units, speakers lights. ¶[0023], lines may be input to a separate lighting controller that provides the appropriate dimming control signals to L1 and L2).
Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz and Lee are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing interaction with controllable lighting networks”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Boleko Ribas with the teaching in Hurwitz and Lee to include the idea of preferred level of interactivity with controllable lighting network to exercise the control of network’s reaction to user’s preference to achieve better efficiency of the existing system.
Claim 17-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boleko Ribas (US Patent application Publication No. 2010/0181938 A1) in view of Hurwitz (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0132330 A1) and further in view of Verfuerth (US Patent Publication No. US 2012/0040606 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz does not disclose the following limitation that Verfuerth teaches:
the method of claim 1 wherein the lighting control system relates to an outdoor lighting facility (Verfuerth, abstract, outdoor lighting fixture includes a first ballast for controllably providing power to at least a lamp for illuminating an outdoor area).
Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz and Verfuerth are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing interaction with controllable lighting networks”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Boleko Ribas with the teaching in Hurwitz and Verfuerth to include the idea of preferred level of interactivity with controllable lighting network to exercise the control of network’s reaction to user’s preference to make the existing system more efficient.
Regarding claim 18, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz does not disclose the following limitation that Verfuerth teaches:
the method of claim 17 wherein the data relates to one or more outdoor areas in proximity to an individual's home (Verfuerth, abstract, outdoor lighting fixture includes a first ballast for controllably providing power to at least a lamp for illuminating an outdoor area).
Regarding claim 19, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz does not disclose the following limitation that Verfuerth teaches:
the method of claim 17 wherein the data relates to one or more outdoor areas in proximity to an individual's workplace (Verfuerth, abstract, outdoor lighting fixture includes a first ballast for controllably providing power to at least a lamp for illuminating an outdoor area).
Regarding claim 20, Boleko Ribas in view of Hurwitz does not disclose the following limitation that Verfuerth teaches:
the system of claim 11 wherein one or more of the plurality of devices is located within outside lighting units (Verfuerth, abstract, outdoor lighting fixture includes a first ballast for controllably providing power to at least a lamp for illuminating an outdoor area).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-Form 892).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Pwu can be reached on 571-272-6798. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433