DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11, and 21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Saul et al. (US 2008/0160538 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saul discloses a method of generating a definitive test result from an assay for detecting the presence or absence of an analyte when contacted with a sample (EXAMPLE 1; EXAMPLE 4; EXAMPLE 5), the method comprising:
incubating said assay in an incubation environment for at least a predetermined incubation time tailored to said analyte-specific assay (see: incubation at 40 °C; [0076], see: incubation for “8 minutes” and “10 minutes”, “incubation at room temperature for an additional 2 minutes”);
during said incubation, signaling an optical reader to perform continuous or periodic image detection, synchronized with incubation, of transmission of light on at least one control line and at least one test line site of said assay ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip; [0029], see: test zone and control zone configured as lines; EXAMPLE 4, see: test area and control area; EXAMPLE 5, see: test area and control area) concurrently as incubating said assay and identifying a nondefinitive borderline test result, said nondefinitive borderline test result triggering further development in the test sequence for generating said definitive test result (EXAMPLE 4, see: 10 minute incubation result; EXAMPLE 5, see: 8 minute incubation results; [0076], see: “incubation at room temperature”);
in response to said nondefinitive borderline test result, initiating continued incubation of said assay and generating a subsequent image detection of said borderline test result at said at least one control line and said at least one test line (EXAMPLE 4, see: 12 minute incubation results; EXAMPLE 5, see: 10 minute incubation results); and
synchronizing transmissions of light with imaging from said reader on said at least one control line and said at least one test line ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip; [0029], see: test zone and control zone configured as lines; EXAMPLE 4, see: test area and control area; EXAMPLE 5, see: test area and control area) and ending said incubation and image detection upon generating said definitive presence or absence test result from said borderline test result on said diagnostic test (EXAMPLE 4, see: 12 minute incubation time; EXAMPLE 5, see: 8 minute incubation time plus two minutes; [0076], see: “incubation at room temperature”; Regarding the intent of the method to end detection and incubation, the prior art method is directed towards maximizing accuracy and minimizing processing/incubation time of a single use assay, therefore it inherently is intended to end detection and incubation upon determining the assay is complete).
Regarding claim 3, Saul further discloses generating a definitive test result includes reading a predetermined difference between a reflectance value on a control line and a reflectance value on a test line ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip; EXAMPLE 1; EXAMPLE 4; EXAMPLE 5).
Regarding claim 4, Saul further discloses generating a definitive test result includes reading a predetermined difference between a reflectance value of a control line and a reflectance value of a test line, and a predetermined reflectance value on said control line ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip; EXAMPLE 1; EXAMPLE 4; EXAMPLE 5).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the method and apparatus disclosed by Saul would inherently be deactivated upon completion of its use.
Regarding claim 7, Saul further discloses monitoring a pre-test analysis on said assay (EXAMPLE 1).
Regarding claim 8, Saul further discloses decoding a reference coding on said assay (EXAMPLE 1, see: formula for the calibration of the reader and conversion of reader results to a ppb value).
Regarding claim 9, Saul further discloses activating a corresponding channel in a multichannel reader ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip).
Regarding claim 11, Saul further discloses monitoring a pre-flow development along said assay.
Regarding claim 21, Saul discloses a method of generating a definitive test result from an assay for an analyte when contacted with a sample and having an initial borderline rest result (EXAMPLE 1; EXAMPLE 4; EXAMPLE 5), the method comprising:
incubating said assay in an incubation environment (see: incubation at 40 °C; [0076], see: “incubation at room temperature”);
imaging a first transmission of light on at least one control line and at least one test line site of said assay ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip; [0029], see: test zone and control zone configured as lines; EXAMPLE 4, see: test area and control area; EXAMPLE 5, see: test area and control area) as an incubator incubates said assay in said incubation environment and generating at least one initial nondefinitive borderline test result (EXAMPLE 4, see: 10 minute incubation result; EXAMPLE 5, see: 8 minute incubation results; [0076], see: “incubation at room temperature”);
imaging a subsequent transmission of light on said assay following said nondefinitive borderline test result (EXAMPLE 4, see: 12 minute incubation results; EXAMPLE 5, see: 10 minute incubation results); and
synchronizing imaging said subsequent transmission of light on said same at least one control line and said at least one test line site of said assay in said incubation environment ([0067], see: results were read using a ROSA reader to read reflectance on the strip; [0029], see: test zone and control zone configured as lines; EXAMPLE 4, see: test area and control area; EXAMPLE 5, see: test area and control area) and extending incubating of said assay, and ending imaging of transmission of light and incubating when generating said definitive test result following said initial nondefinitive borderline test result on said diagnostic test (EXAMPLE 4, see: 12 minute incubation time; EXAMPLE 5, see: 8 minute incubation time plus two minutes; [0076], see: “incubation at room temperature”; Regarding the intent of the method to end detection and incubation, the prior art method is directed towards maximizing accuracy and minimizing processing/incubation time of a single use assay, therefore it inherently is intended to end detection and incubation upon determining the assay is complete).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saul et al. (US 2008/0160538 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Saul discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not explicitly disclose the diagnostic reading period being one minute long. As the accuracy of assay results is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said diagnostic reading period, with said accuracy of assay results increasing as the timing of the diagnostic reading is increased, the precise diagnostic reading period would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed diagnostic reading period cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the diagnostic reading period in the method and apparatus of Saul to obtain the desired assay accuracy (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). It is further noted that the Applicants do not disclose or provide evidence for the criticality of the recited diagnostic reading period in the originally filed disclosure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J EOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797