DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed December 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12, 14, 16, 18-32, 34, 36, 38-43, 45-47, 49, 50, 52, 54, and 56 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 13, 15, 17, 33, 35, 37, 44, 48, 51, 53, 55, and 57 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 17, 33, 37, 44, 48, 53, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (hereinafter Jeong) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0320842 A1) in view of Bajzec et al. (hereinafter Bajzec) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0329701 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong teaches and discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (low-power terminal/UE, figure 1), comprising: setting a transmission power level parameter for a random access channel (RACH) preamble transmission ([0039]; “…a UE acquires information needed to access an RACH from system information broadcast…the information acquired from the system information contains…power control information…The power control information is used to control the transmission power of an RACH preamble…”; [0114]; “…the low-power terminal determines the format and transmission power of a PRACH preamble for transmission of the random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource allocation information…”) based, at least in part, on transmission time interval (TTI) bundling for the RACH preamble transmission ([0149]; [0151]; “…Upon completion of determining as to whether to use TTI bundling in step 814 or 820, the eNB configures system information according to the determinations…”; figure 8; teaches setting the transmission power of an RACH preamble transmission according to the power control information includes transmission power of the RACH preamble which is based in part on the determination, by the eNB, that TTI bundling is used) and sending the RACH preamble transmission, based at least in part on the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission (figure 8; [0149]; [0151]; further show transmitting the RACH preamble, by the terminal, based on the power control information and transmission power of the RACH preamble transmission).
While Jeong discloses transmission of RACH preamble both with and without TTI bundling and the power required to transmit the RACH preamble, as shown above, Jeong does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Bajzec teaches and suggests wherein the transmission power level parameter (RRC Reconfiguration Request) for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling ([0008]; “…in the RRC Reconfiguration Request signal…toggling its TTI bundling mode. More specifically, the UE sends Random Access (RA) preambles…the UE has successfully toggled its TTI bundling mode, and it can schedule the UE according to the new TTI transmission mode…UEs increasing their transmit power in response to failed RA attempts…”; [0047]; “…transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 to the UE 110. Among other parameters, the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 may comprise the information element ttiBundling which is either set to `true` or `false`. Upon receiving the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, the UE 110 attempts to toggle 202 its TTI bundling mode. Depending on the value of ttiBundling received with the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, and the current TTI bundling mode of the UE 110, the UE 110 attempts to switch TTI bundling on or off…”; teaches and suggests the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong by the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode as taught by Bajzec, when setting the transmit power for RACH preamble transmission as disclosed by Jeong for the purpose of controlling transmit power for uplink transmission such that the base station can receive information with appropriate reception characteristic and for improving TTI bundling, as suggested by Bajzec.
Regarding claims 17, 37, 53, and 57, Jeong, as modified by Bajzec, further teaches receiving at least one of the first and second values in a broadcast system information block (SIB) ([0039]; “…a UE acquires information needed to access an RACH from system information broadcast…the information acquired from the system information contains…power control information…The power control information is used to control the transmission power of an RACH preamble…”; [0114]; [0151]; “…Upon completion of determining as to whether to use TTI bundling in step 814 or 820, the eNB configures system information according to the determinations…”; teaches the terminal receives system information for receiving and communicating power control information regarding transmit power related to TTI bundling).
Regarding claim 33, Jeong teaches and discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (low-power terminal/UE, figures 1 and 12), comprising: at least one processor (inherent component of the low-power terminal; figure 12), and memory (inherent component of the low-power terminal; figure 12) couped to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
set a transmission power level parameter for a random access channel (RACH) preamble transmission ([0039]; “…a UE acquires information needed to access an RACH from system information broadcast…the information acquired from the system information contains…power control information…The power control information is used to control the transmission power of an RACH preamble…”; [0114]; “…the low-power terminal determines the format and transmission power of a PRACH preamble for transmission of the random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource allocation information…”) based, at least in part, on transmission time interval (TTI) bundling for the RACH preamble transmission ([0149]; [0151]; “…Upon completion of determining as to whether to use TTI bundling in step 814 or 820, the eNB configures system information according to the determinations…”; figure 8; teaches setting the transmission power of an RACH preamble transmission according to the power control information includes transmission power of the RACH preamble which is based in part on the determination, by the eNB, that TTI bundling is used) and send the RACH preamble transmission, based at least in part on the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission (figure 8; [0149]; [0151]; further show transmitting the RACH preamble, by the terminal, based on the power control information and transmission power of the RACH preamble transmission).
While Jeong discloses transmission of RACH preamble both with and without TTI bundling and the power required to transmit the RACH preamble, as shown above, Jeong does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Bajzec teaches and suggests wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling ([0008]; “…in the RRC Reconfiguration Request signal…toggling its TTI bundling mode. More specifically, the UE sends Random Access (RA) preambles…the UE has successfully toggled its TTI bundling mode, and it can schedule the UE according to the new TTI transmission mode…UEs increasing their transmit power in response to failed RA attempts…”; [0047]; “…transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 to the UE 110. Among other parameters, the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 may comprise the information element ttiBundling which is either set to `true` or `false`. Upon receiving the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, the UE 110 attempts to toggle 202 its TTI bundling mode. Depending on the value of ttiBundling received with the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, and the current TTI bundling mode of the UE 110, the UE 110 attempts to switch TTI bundling on or off…”; teaches and suggests the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong by the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode as taught by Bajzec, when setting the transmit power for RACH preamble transmission as disclosed by Jeong for the purpose of controlling transmit power for uplink transmission such that the base station can receive information with appropriate reception characteristic and for improving TTI bundling, as suggested by Bajzec.
Regarding claim 44, Jeong teaches and discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (low-power terminal/UE, figures 1 and 12), comprising: means for (1212, figure 12) setting a transmission power level parameter for a random access channel (RACH) preamble transmission ([0039]; “…a UE acquires information needed to access an RACH from system information broadcast…the information acquired from the system information contains…power control information…The power control information is used to control the transmission power of an RACH preamble…”; [0114]; “…the low-power terminal determines the format and transmission power of a PRACH preamble for transmission of the random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource allocation information…”) based, at least in part, on transmission time interval (TTI) bundling for the RACH preamble transmission ([0149]; [0151]; “…Upon completion of determining as to whether to use TTI bundling in step 814 or 820, the eNB configures system information according to the determinations…”; figure 8; teaches setting the transmission power of an RACH preamble transmission according to the power control information includes transmission power of the RACH preamble which is based in part on the determination, by the eNB, that TTI bundling is used) and means for (1214, figure 12) sending the RACH preamble transmission, based at least in part on the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission (figure 8; [0149]; [0151]; further show transmitting the RACH preamble, by the terminal, based on the power control information and transmission power of the RACH preamble transmission).
While Jeong discloses transmission of RACH preamble both with and without TTI bundling and the power required to transmit the RACH preamble, as shown above, Jeong does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Bajzec teaches and suggests wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling ([0008]; “…in the RRC Reconfiguration Request signal…toggling its TTI bundling mode. More specifically, the UE sends Random Access (RA) preambles…the UE has successfully toggled its TTI bundling mode, and it can schedule the UE according to the new TTI transmission mode…UEs increasing their transmit power in response to failed RA attempts…”; [0047]; “…transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 to the UE 110. Among other parameters, the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 may comprise the information element ttiBundling which is either set to `true` or `false`. Upon receiving the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, the UE 110 attempts to toggle 202 its TTI bundling mode. Depending on the value of ttiBundling received with the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, and the current TTI bundling mode of the UE 110, the UE 110 attempts to switch TTI bundling on or off…”; teaches and suggests the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong by the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode as taught by Bajzec, when setting the transmit power for RACH preamble transmission as disclosed by Jeong for the purpose of controlling transmit power for uplink transmission such that the base station can receive information with appropriate reception characteristic and for improving TTI bundling, as suggested by Bajzec.
Regarding claim 48, Jeong teaches and discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (low-power terminal/UE, figures 1 and 12), the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising code executable by at least one processor (inherent component of the low-power terminal; figure 12) for causing the UE to:
set a transmission power level parameter for a random access channel (RACH) preamble transmission ([0039]; “…a UE acquires information needed to access an RACH from system information broadcast…the information acquired from the system information contains…power control information…The power control information is used to control the transmission power of an RACH preamble…”; [0114]; “…the low-power terminal determines the format and transmission power of a PRACH preamble for transmission of the random access preamble based on the selected PRACH resource allocation information…”) based, at least in part, on transmission time interval (TTI) bundling for the RACH preamble transmission ([0149]; [0151]; “…Upon completion of determining as to whether to use TTI bundling in step 814 or 820, the eNB configures system information according to the determinations…”; figure 8; teaches setting the transmission power of an RACH preamble transmission according to the power control information includes transmission power of the RACH preamble which is based in part on the determination, by the eNB, that TTI bundling is used) and send the RACH preamble transmission, based at least in part on the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission (figure 8; [0149]; [0151]; further show transmitting the RACH preamble, by the terminal, based on the power control information and transmission power of the RACH preamble transmission).
While Jeong discloses transmission of RACH preamble both with and without TTI bundling and the power required to transmit the RACH preamble, as shown above, Jeong does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Bajzec teaches and suggests wherein the transmission power level parameter for the RACH preamble transmission is set to the second value based on the RACH preamble transmission being with TTI bundling, the second value different from the first value for setting the transmission power level parameter based on the RACH preamble transmission being without TTI bundling ([0008]; “…in the RRC Reconfiguration Request signal…toggling its TTI bundling mode. More specifically, the UE sends Random Access (RA) preambles…the UE has successfully toggled its TTI bundling mode, and it can schedule the UE according to the new TTI transmission mode…UEs increasing their transmit power in response to failed RA attempts…”; [0047]; “…transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 to the UE 110. Among other parameters, the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210 may comprise the information element ttiBundling which is either set to `true` or `false`. Upon receiving the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, the UE 110 attempts to toggle 202 its TTI bundling mode. Depending on the value of ttiBundling received with the RRC Reconfiguration Request 210, and the current TTI bundling mode of the UE 110, the UE 110 attempts to switch TTI bundling on or off…”; teaches and suggests the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong by the UE receives TTI bundling information from the eNB and then subsequently transmits a preamble during a random access procedure, in which the transmission power of the preamble is different based on the received TTI bundling information, such as increasing the transmit power based on the TTI bundling mode as taught by Bajzec, when setting the transmit power for RACH preamble transmission as disclosed by Jeong for the purpose of controlling transmit power for uplink transmission such that the base station can receive information with appropriate reception characteristic and for improving TTI bundling, as suggested by Bajzec.
Claims 15, 35, 51, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (hereinafter Jeong) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2012/0320842 A1) in view of Bajzec et al. (hereinafter Bajzec) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0329701 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2014/0098761 A1).
Regarding claims 15, 35, 51, and 55, Jeong, as modified by Bajzec, discloses setting transmit power levels for uplink transmission, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the RACH preamble transmission comprises a RACH repetition sequence.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lee further teaches and suggests wherein the RACH preamble transmission comprises a RACH repetition sequence ([0227]; [0228]; [0252]; teaches PRACH preamble repetition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PRACH preamble repetition as taught by Lee with the method as disclosed by Jeong, as modified by Bajzec, for the purpose of improving service coverage and transmitting uplink data and supporting transmission of control signals, as suggested by Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 10, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 13, 15, 17, 33, 35, 37, 44, 48, 51, 53, 55, and 57 specifically regarding the Kim reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bajzec et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2013/0329701 A1).
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
March 20, 2026