DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13, 18, and 46-48 are pending, claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-17, and 19-45 have been cancelled, and claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13, 18, and 46-48 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 13, 16, 18, and 46-48 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “wire spin” to “wire spine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a steering and brake assembly in claim 1; a steering assembly in claims 7 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13, and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Danieli (US 4,873,965), in view of Danitz (US 2004/0236316) and Chiba (US 5,860,912) and Tanaka (US 2009/0209820) and Tilson (US 2010/0099949).
Regarding claim 1, Danieli discloses a steerable stereoscopic endoscope (see figure 11) comprising: a shaft (see 1a-3a, figure 6) having a distal end (see distal end of 1a, figure 6), a proximal end (see proximal end of 3a, figure 6), and an articulating region (see articulated lengths 1a and 2a, figure 6) therebetween, wherein the articulating region comprises a first longitudinal hole (channel for the endoscope electrical cables; Col. 5, line 38) for electronic leads (Col. 5, line 38) and a second longitudinal hole (channel for bundle of optic fibers; Col. 5, line 40) for optical fibers separately passing therethrough (bundle of optic fibers for the lighting means; Col. 5, line 40), wherein at least one electronic lead passes through the first longitudinal hole and at least one optical fiber passes through the second longitudinal hole (interpreted as functional language | Col. 5, lines 38-40), a plurality of stacked spacer elements (see 4I and 4II, figure 6), a first deck (tip P, figure 6), a second deck (8’A, figure 6), and a third deck (8A, figure 6) disposed intermediate the first deck and the second deck. Danieli is silent regarding wherein the articulating region further comprises a wire spine having a distal end and a proximal end; the plurality of stacked spacer elements, each of which is coaxially mounted on the wire spine; the first deck mounted to the distal end of the wire spine and the second deck mounted to the proximal end of the wire spine, and the third deck slidably supported by the wire spine, the third deck being axially translatable relative to both the first deck and the second deck; a pair of electronic image sensor assemblies optically aligned and fixedly bonded at the distal end of the shaft for acquiring stereo images of a remote site; a steering and brake assembly mounted to the proximal end of the shaft for controlling the disposition of the portion of the shaft distal to the articulating region; a first flexible metal bellows sealably connecting the first deck and the third deck; a second flexible metal bellows sealably connecting the second deck and the third deck, the first and second flexible metal bellows being coaxially arranged with the wire spine and the stacked spacer elements and defining, together with the first, second, and third decks, a hermetically sealed enclosure surrounding the third deck and the first and second longitudinal holes as they pass through the third deck; and wherein the sealed enclosure maintains sealed isolation of the at least one electronic lead and at least one optical fiber during articulation and axial translation of the third deck.
Danitz teaches an articulating mechanism for endoscopes ([0009]). The articulating mechanism (100, figure 1a) has a plurality of links (A-D, figure 1a) with a spacer element (112, figure 1a). The proximal links are connected to the distal links by cables (104, figure 1a | [0033]). Each link or segment at the proximal end of the articulating mechanism is connected to its corresponding link or segment at the distal end by two or more cables ([0040]). By combining a plurality of link or segment pairs, multiple degrees of freedom are achieved, allowing the articulating mechanism to be shaped into various complex configurations ([0040]).
Chiba teaches a stereoscopic vision endoscope with two CCDs and two corresponding objective lens systems (abstract; 21R and 21L, figure 6). Two light guides (10, figure 6) corresponding to two illumination lens (18a-b, figure 6) illuminate an object.
Tanaka teaches an endoscope device (figure 1) with a control unit (2, figure 1) and distal probe unit (5, figure 1). The probe unit (5, figure 1) is connected to the control unit by four wires inserted within the flexible tube (3, figure 1). The endoscope device has a control lever (8, figure 2) arranged on a ball shaft (7, figure 2). A frame (6, figure 2) has four vertically arranged plates (9a-d, figure 2). The proximal ends of the wires are attached to the outer peripheral surface of the outer case (13, figure 2) with connectors (40, figure 2). The operator can turn the knob member (21, figure 5) of the control lever to rotate and move a stopper shaft (23, figure 4) downward ([0039]). This causes the rolling elements (32, figure 5) at the bottom surface of the stopper shaft to be pressed against the upper outer peripheral surface of the ball member (12, figure 5), where friction between the ball member and the rolling elements restricts movement of the outer case (braked; [0039]). A semi-braked state may occur, where the operator turns the knob member to a degree where the rolling elements are light pressed against the upper outer peripheral surface of the ball member ([0039]).
Tilson teaches a longitudinally expandable tube (12, figures 1-2) with one or more longitudinally extendable cells (14, figures 1-2). Each cell can have one or more fluid-tight bladders (16, figures 1-2), and each cell can have one or more bellows (18, figures 1-2) on the outer walls ([0078]). The cells can have cell seals (40, figure 5) between each adjacent cell ([0085]). The device may be made from stainless steel ([0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the endoscope of Danieli to have cables (104, figure 1a) to fix a proximal link with a corresponding distal link as taught by Danitz ([0043]). Doing so would achieve multiple degrees of freedom and allow the endoscope to be shaped into various complex configurations ([0040]). Further, it would have been obvious to modify Danieli to have stereoscopic imaging capabilities as taught by Chiba. Doing so would provide a stereoscopic image that is superior in quality (Col. 5, lines 28-36). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Danieli with the steering and brake mechanism (see figure 2) comprising a control lever (8, figure 2), ball shaft (7, figure 2), and frame (6, figure 2) as taught by Tanaka. Doing so provide a braked and semi-braked state ([0039]; Tanaka). Also, it would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Danieli with the cells (14, figures 1-2), bellows (18, figures 1-2), and cell seals (40, figure 5) as taught by Tilson between the first deck to the third deck and from the third deck to the second deck. Doing so would provide longitudinally extensible cells that can be selectively inflated (abstract). The modified endoscope would have the articulating region further comprises a wire spine (104, figure 1a; Danitz) having a distal end and a proximal end (proximal links connected to the distal link [0033]; Danitz); the plurality of stacked spacer elements, each of which is coaxially mounted on the wire spine (see figure 1a; Danitz | see figures 7-8; Danieli); the first deck mounted to the distal end of the wire spine and the second deck mounted to the proximal end of the wire spine (proximal link…distal link…cable [0033]; Danitz), and the third deck disposed slidably supported by the wire spine (see cable 104 run through 112, figure 1a; Danitz), the third deck being axially translatable relative to both the first deck and the second deck (112…hollow…[0033]; Danitz | the third deck can be axially translatable over the wire spine and relative to the first and second decks); a pair of electronic image sensor assemblies (two CCDs; Abstract; Chiba) optically aligned and fixedly bonded at the distal end of the shaft for acquiring stereo images of a remote site (see 21-22R and 21-22L, figure 7; Chiba); a steering and brake assembly (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a base having a spherical seat; a bearing ball, a joystick core, a swash plate, a brake, and a means for actuating the brake | a base 50 having a spherical seat; a bearing ball 12, a joystick core 14, a swash plate 40, figure 4 and a brake 32, and a means for actuating the brake 33, figure 5; Tanaka) mounted to the proximal end of the shaft for controlling the disposition of the portion of the shaft distal to the articulating region ([0011]; Tanaka); a first flexible metal bellows (14, figures 1-2; Tilson) sealably connecting the first deck and the third deck (cell seal 40, figure 5; Tilson); a second flexible metal bellows (14, figures 1-2) sealably connecting the second deck and the third deck (cell seal 40, figure 5), the first and second flexible metal bellows being coaxially arranged with the wire spine and the stacked spacer elements (see location of 14, figure 5) and defining, together with the first, second, and third decks, a hermetically sealed enclosure surrounding the third deck and the first and second longitudinal holes as they pass through the third deck (cell seals 40, figure 5; [0085]); and wherein the sealed enclosure maintains sealed isolation of the at least one electronic lead and at least one optical fiber during articulation and axial translation of the third deck (fluid-tight…[0077]; Tilson).
Regarding claim 5, Danieli further discloses fiber optic illumination bundles (bundle of optic fibers for the lighting means; Col. 5, line 40; Danieli) for delivering light to the distal end of the shaft.
Regarding claim 7, Danieli discloses a steerable endoscope (see figure 11) comprising: a shaft (see 1a-3a, figure 6) having a distal end (see distal end of 1a, figure 6), a proximal end (see proximal end of 3a, figure 6), and an articulating region (see articulated lengths 1a and 2a, figure 6) therebetween, wherein the articulating region comprises a first longitudinal hole (channel for the endoscope electrical cables; Col. 5, line 38) for electronic leads (Col. 5, line 38) and a second longitudinal hole (channel for bundle of optic fibers; Col. 5, line 40) for optical fibers separately passing therethrough (bundle of optic fibers for the lighting means; Col. 5, line 40), wherein at least one electronic lead passes through the first longitudinal hole and at least one optical fiber passes through the second longitudinal hole (interpreted as functional language | Col. 5, lines 38-40), a plurality of stacked spacer elements (see 4I and 4II, figure 6), a first deck (tip P, figure 6), a second deck (8’A, figure 6), and a third deck (8A, figure 6) disposed intermediate the first deck and the second deck. Danieli is silent regarding a pair of electronic image sensor assemblies optically aligned and fixedly bonded at the distal end of the shaft for acquiring an image of a remote site; a wire spine having a distal end and a proximal end; the plurality of stacked spacer elements, each of which is coaxially mounted on the wire spine; the first deck mounted to the distal end of the wire spine, the second deck mounted to the proximal end of the wire spine, and the third deck slidably supported by the wire spine, the third deck being axially translatable relative to both the first deck and the second deck; a steering assembly mounted to the proximal end of the shaft for controlling the disposition of the portion of the shaft distal to the articulating region, and a first flexible metal bellows sealably connecting the first deck and the third deck; a second flexible metal bellows sealably connecting the second deck and the third deck; and wherein the first and second flexible metal bellows are coaxially arranged with the wire spine and the stacked spacer elements and defining, together with the first, second, and third decks, a hermetically sealed enclosure surrounding the third deck and the first and second longitudinal holes as they pass through the third deck, the sealed enclosure maintaining sealed isolation of the electronic leads and optical fibers during articulation and axial translation of the third deck.
Danitz teaches an articulating mechanism for endoscopes ([0009]). The articulating mechanism (100, figure 1a) has a plurality of links (A-D, figure 1a) with a spacer element (112, figure 1a). The proximal links are connected to the distal links by cables (104, figure 1a | [0033]). Each link or segment at the proximal end of the articulating mechanism is connected to its corresponding link or segment at the distal end by two or more cables ([0040]). By combining a plurality of link or segment pairs, multiple degrees of freedom are achieved, allowing the articulating mechanism to be shaped into various complex configurations ([0040]).
Chiba teaches a stereoscopic vision endoscope with two CCDs and two corresponding objective lens systems (abstract; 21R and 21L, figure 6). Two light guides (10, figure 6) corresponding to two illumination lens (18a-b, figure 6) illuminate an object.
Tanaka teaches an endoscope device (figure 1) with a control unit (2, figure 1) and distal probe unit (5, figure 1). The probe unit (5, figure 1) is connected to the control unit by four wires inserted within the flexible tube (3, figure 1). The endoscope device has a control lever (8, figure 2) arranged on a ball shaft (7, figure 2). A frame (6, figure 2) has four vertically arranged plates (9a-d, figure 2). The proximal ends of the wires are attached to the outer peripheral surface of the outer case (13, figure 2) with connectors (40, figure 2). The operator can turn the knob member (21, figure 5) of the control lever to rotate and move a stopper shaft (23, figure 4) downward ([0039]). This causes the rolling elements (32, figure 5) at the bottom surface of the stopper shaft to be pressed against the upper outer peripheral surface of the ball member (12, figure 5), where friction between the ball member and the rolling elements restricts movement of the outer case (braked; [0039]). A semi-braked state may occur, where the operator turns the knob member to a degree where the rolling elements are light pressed against the upper outer peripheral surface of the ball member ([0039]).
Tilson teaches a longitudinally expandable tube (12, figures 1-2) with one or more longitudinally extendable cells (14, figures 1-2). Each cell can have one or more fluid-tight bladders (16, figures 1-2), and each cell can have one or more bellows (18, figures 1-2) on the outer walls ([0078]). The cells can have cell seals (40, figure 5) between each adjacent cell ([0085]). The device may be made from stainless steel ([0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the endoscope of Danieli to have cables (104, figure 1a) to fix a proximal link with a corresponding distal link as taught by Danitz ([0043]). Doing so would achieve multiple degrees of freedom and allow the endoscope to be shaped into various complex configurations ([0040]). Further it would have been obvious to modify Danieli to have stereoscopic imaging capabilities as taught by Chiba. Doing so would provide a stereoscopic image that is superior in quality (Col. 5, lines 28-36). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Danieli with the steering and brake mechanism (see figure 2) comprising a control lever (8, figure 2), ball shaft (7, figure 2), and frame (6, figure 2) as taught by Tanaka. Doing so provide a braked and semi-braked state ([0039]; Tanaka). Also, it would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Danieli with the cells (14, figures 1-2), bellows (18, figures 1-2), and cell seals (40, figure 5) as taught by Tilson between the first deck to the third deck and from the third deck to the second deck. Doing so would provide longitudinally extensible cells that can be selectively inflated (abstract). The modified endoscope would have a pair of electronic image sensor assemblies (two CCDs; abstract; Chiba) optically aligned and fixedly bonded at the distal end of the shaft for acquiring an image of a remote site (see 21-22R and 21-22L, figure 7; Chiba); a wire spine (104, figure 1a; Danitz) having a distal end and a proximal end (proximal links connected to the distal link [0033]; Danitz); the plurality of stacked spacer elements, each of which is coaxially mounted on the wire spine (see figure 1a; Danitz | see figures 7-8; Danieli); the first deck mounted to the distal end of the wire spine (proximal link….distal link…cable [0033]; Danitz), the second deck mounted to the proximal end of the wire spine (proximal link….distal link…cable [0033]; Danitz), and the third deck slidably supported by the wire spine (see cable 104 run through 112, figure 1a; Danitz), the third deck being axially translatable relative to both the first deck and the second deck (112…hollow…[0033]; Danitz | the third deck can be axially translatable over the wire spine and relative to the first and second decks); a steering assembly (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a base having a spherical seat; a bearing ball, a joystick core, a swash plate, a brake, and a means for actuating the brake | a base 50 having a spherical seat; a bearing ball 12, a joystick core 14, a swash plate 40, figure 4 and a brake 32, and a means for actuating the brake 33, figure 5; Tanaka) mounted to the proximal end of the shaft for controlling the disposition of the portion of the shaft distal to the articulating region ([0011]; Tanaka), and a first flexible metal bellows (14, figures 1-2; Tilson) sealably connecting the first deck and the third deck (cell seal 40, figure 5; Tilson); a second flexible metal bellows (14, figures 1-2) sealably connecting the second deck and the third deck (cell seal 40, figure 5); and wherein the first and second flexible metal bellows are coaxially arranged with the wire spine and the stacked spacer elements (see location of 14, figure 5) and defining, together with the first, second, and third decks, a hermetically sealed enclosure surrounding the third deck and the first and second longitudinal holes as they pass through the third deck (cell seals 40, figure 5; [0085]; Tilson), the sealed enclosure maintaining sealed isolation of the electronic leads and optical fibers during articulation and axial translation of the third deck (fluid-tight…[0077]; Tilson).
Regarding claim 11, Danieli further discloses fiber optic illumination bundles (bundle of optic fibers for the lighting means; Col. 5, line 40; Danieli) for delivering light to the distal end of the shaft.
Regarding claim 13, Danieli discloses a steerable endoscope (see figure 11) comprising: a shaft (see 1a-3a, figure 6) having a distal end (see distal end of 1a, figure 6), a proximal end (see proximal end of 3a, figure 6), and an articulating region (see articulated lengths 1a and 2a, figure 6) therebetween, wherein the articulating region comprises a first longitudinal hole (channel for the endoscope electrical cables; Col. 5, line 38) for electronic leads (Col. 5, line 38) and a second longitudinal hole (channel for bundle of optic fibers; Col. 5, line 40) for optical fibers separately passing therethrough (bundle of optic fibers for the lighting means; Col. 5, line 40), wherein at least one electronic lead passes through the first longitudinal hole and at least one optical fiber passes through the second longitudinal hole (interpreted as functional language | Col. 5, lines 38-40); a first deck (tip P, figure 6), a second deck (8’A, figure 6), a plurality of stacked spacer elements (see 4I and 4II, figure 6); a third deck (8A, figure 6) disposed intermediate the first deck and the second deck. Danieli is silent regarding a pair of electronic image sensor assemblies optically aligned and fixedly bonded at the distal end of the shaft for acquiring an image of a remote site; wherein the distal end of the shaft comprises a wire spine having a distal end and a proximal end, the first deck mounted to the distal end of the wire spine and the second deck mounted to the proximal end of the wire spine, and the plurality of stacked spacer elements, each of which is coaxially mounted on the wire spine; [[and]] the third deck slidably supported by the wire spin, the third deck being axially translatable relative to both the first deck and the second deck; and a steering assembly mounted to the proximal end of the shaft for controlling the disposition of the portion of the shaft distal to the articulating region; a first flexible metal bellows sealably connecting the first deck and the third deck, and a second flexible metal bellows sealably connecting the second deck and the third deck, the first and second flexible metal bellows being coaxially arranged with the wire spine and the stacked spacer elements and defining, together with the first, second, and third decks, a hermetically sealed enclosure surrounding the third deck and the first and second longitudinal holes as they pass through the third deck, the sealed enclosure maintaining sealed isolation of the electronic leads and optical fibers during articulation and axial translation of the third deck.
Danitz teaches an articulating mechanism for endoscopes ([0009]). The articulating mechanism (100, figure 1a) has a plurality of links (A-D, figure 1a) with a spacer element (112, figure 1a). The proximal links are connected to the distal links by cables (104, figure 1a | [0033]). Each link or segment at the proximal end of the articulating mechanism is connected to its corresponding link or segment at the distal end by two or more cables ([0040]). By combining a plurality of link or segment pairs, multiple degrees of freedom are achieved, allowing the articulating mechanism to be shaped into various complex configurations ([0040]).
Chiba teaches a stereoscopic vision endoscope with two CCDs and two corresponding objective lens systems (abstract; 21R and 21L, figure 6). Two light guides (10, figure 6) corresponding to two illumination lens (18a-b, figure 6) illuminate an object.
Tanaka teaches an endoscope device (figure 1) with a control unit (2, figure 1) and distal probe unit (5, figure 1). The probe unit (5, figure 1) is connected to the control unit by four wires inserted within the flexible tube (3, figure 1). The endoscope device has a control lever (8, figure 2) arranged on a ball shaft (7, figure 2). A frame (6, figure 2) has four vertically arranged plates (9a-d, figure 2). The proximal ends of the wires are attached to the outer peripheral surface of the outer case (13, figure 2) with connectors (40, figure 2). The operator can turn the knob member (21, figure 5) of the control lever to rotate and move a stopper shaft (23, figure 4) downward ([0039]). This causes the rolling elements (32, figure 5) at the bottom surface of the stopper shaft to be pressed against the upper outer peripheral surface of the ball member (12, figure 5), where friction between the ball member and the rolling elements restricts movement of the outer case (braked; [0039]). A semi-braked state may occur, where the operator turns the knob member to a degree where the rolling elements are light pressed against the upper outer peripheral surface of the ball member ([0039]).
Tilson teaches a longitudinally expandable tube (12, figures 1-2) with one or more longitudinally extendable cells (14, figures 1-2). Each cell can have one or more fluid-tight bladders (16, figures 1-2), and each cell can have one or more bellows (18, figures 1-2) on the outer walls ([0078]). The cells can have cell seals (40, figure 5) between each adjacent cell ([0085]). The device may be made from stainless steel ([0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the endoscope of Danieli to have cables (104, figure 1a) to fix a proximal link with a corresponding distal link as taught by Danitz ([0043]). Doing so would achieve multiple degrees of freedom and allow the endoscope to be shaped into various complex configurations ([0040]). Further, it would have been obvious to modify Danieli to have stereoscopic imaging capabilities as taught by Chiba. Doing so would provide a stereoscopic image that is superior in quality (Col. 5, lines 28-36). Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Danieli with the steering and brake mechanism (see figure 2) comprising a control lever (8, figure 2), ball shaft (7, figure 2), and frame (6, figure 2) as taught by Tanaka. Doing so provide a braked and semi-braked state ([0039]; Tanaka). Also, it would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Danieli with the cells (14, figures 1-2), bellows (18, figures 1-2), and cell seals (40, figure 5) as taught by Tilson between the first deck to the third deck and from the third deck to the second deck. Doing so would provide longitudinally extensible cells that can be selectively inflated (abstract). The modified endoscope would have a pair of electronic image sensor assemblies (two CCDs; abstract; Chiba) optically aligned and fixedly bonded at the distal end of the shaft for acquiring an image of a remote site (see 21-22R and 21-22L, figure 7; Chiba); wherein the distal end of the shaft comprises a wire spine (104 figure 1a; Danitz) having a distal end and a proximal end (proximal links connected to the distal link [0033]; Danitz), the first deck mounted to the distal end of the wire spine and the second deck mounted to the proximal end of the wire spine (proximal link…distal link…cable [0033]; Danitz), and the plurality of stacked spacer elements, each of which is coaxially mounted on the wire spine (see figure 1a; Danitz | see figures 7-8; Danieli); the third deck slidably supported by the wire spin (see objection above | see cable 104 run through 112, figure 1a; Danitz), the third deck being axially translatable relative to both the first deck and the second deck (112…hollow…[0033]; Danitz | the third deck can be axially translatable over the wire spine and relative to the first and second decks); and a steering assembly (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a base having a spherical seat; a bearing ball, a joystick core, a swash plate, a brake, and a means for actuating the brake | a base 50 having a spherical seat; a bearing ball 12, a joystick core 14, a swash plate 40, figure 4 and a brake 32, and a means for actuating the brake 33, figure 5; Tanaka) mounted to the proximal end of the shaft for controlling the disposition of the portion of the shaft distal to the articulating region ([0011]; Tanaka); a first flexible metal bellows (14, figures 1-2; Tilson) sealably connecting the first deck and the third deck (cell seal 40, figure 5; Tilson), and a second flexible metal bellows (14, figures 1-2) sealably connecting the second deck and the third deck (cell seal 40, figure 5), the first and second flexible metal bellows being coaxially arranged with the wire spine and the stacked spacer elements (see location of 14, figure 5) and defining, together with the first, second, and third decks, a hermetically sealed enclosure surrounding the third deck and the first and second longitudinal holes as they pass through the third deck (cell seals 40, figure 5; [0085]), the sealed enclosure maintaining sealed isolation of the electronic leads and optical fibers during articulation and axial translation of the third deck (fluid-tight…[0077]; Tilson).
Regarding claim 18, Danieli further discloses fiber optic illumination bundles (bundle of optic fibers for the lighting means; Col. 5, line 40; Danieli) for delivering light to the distal end of the shaft.
Claims 46-48 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Danieli (US 4,873,965) and Danitz (US 2004/0236316) and Chiba (US 5,860,912) and Tanaka (US 2009/0209820) and Tilson (US 2010/0099949) as applied to claims 1 and 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Durant (US 2009/0216083).
Regarding claims 46-48, Danieli, Danitz, Chiba, Tanaka, and Tilson disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claims 1, 7, and 13. They are silent regarding the wire spine is composed of Nitinol.
Durant teaches an elongate articulatable body (abstract) with tendons (50, figure 3a). The tendons can be made from a variety of materials, like nitinol ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to modify the wire spine to be made of nitinol as taught by Durant. Doing so would be a well-known material in the art that can be used for tendons/cables/wires ([0028]).
Conclusion
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
February 21, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795