DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Continued Examination Under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on December 30, 2025 has been entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 57-73 are pending. New claims 57-73 have been added; claim 73 has been withdrawn; claims 36-56 have been cancelled; and claims 1-35 were previously cancelled. Claims 57-72 are currently under consideration. This Office Action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on December 30, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Office Action: Non-Final.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the claims of Group I in the response filed on November 14, 2016 (to the September 16, 2016 Requirement for Restriction) is acknowledged. In response to applicant’s election, instant claim 73 relating to of Group II is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Accordingly, claims 57-72 are examined as follows.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 58 is objected to because:
“benzyl alcohol DD” should be first recited as “benzyl alcohol DD (benzyl alcohol double distilled),” and
“menthyl PCA” should be first recited as “menthyl pyrrolidone carboxylate (menthyl PCA),”
because the first recitation of an acronym should be spelled completely, followed by a parenthetical acronym, e.g., “benzyl alcohol DD (benzyl alcohol double distilled),” with subsequent recitations of the acronym, alone.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claims 57-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or, for pre-AIA , that applicant regards as the invention.
A. Claim 57 is drawn to:
57. (new) A cosmetic or dermatological preparation, wherein the preparation comprises one or more alkylamidothiazoles which comprise N-(4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide and two or more fragrances which comprise isoeugenol.
wherein the recitation, “two or more fragrances which comprise isoeugenol,” is indefinite because it is unclear whether:
the “two or more fragrances” require “isoeugenol” and at least one additional fragrance, OR
the “two or more fragrances” are two or more selected from “isoeugenol” and at least one further fragrance that is an “isoeugenol” derivative.
In this regard, it is noted that the Board has held: “if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (expanded panel). Subsequent claims 58-72 depend on claim 57 and are thus, indefinite as well.
B. Claims 58-59 contains the trademark/trade name “Florosa.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “tetrahydro-4-methyl-2-(2-methylpropyl)-2H-pyran-4-ol” or “floral pyranol,” and accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
C. Claims 58-59 contains the trademark/trade name “lilial.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “butylphenyl methylpropional,” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
D. Claims 58-59 contains the trademark/trade name “Florosa.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “florosol,” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
E. Claims 58-59 contains the trademark/trade name “Macrolide Supra.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “pentadecan-15-olide,” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
F. Claims 58-59 contains the trademark/trade name “lyral.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “(4-(4-hydroxy-4-methylpentyl)-3-cyclohexene-1-carboxaldehyde),” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
G. Claims 58-59 contains the trademark/trade name “tetrahydromuguol.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “3,7-dimethyloctan-3-ol,” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
H. Claims 58-59 and 64 contains the trademark/trade name “Iso E Super.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “1-(2,3,8,8-tetramethyl-1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8-octahydronaphthalen-2-yl)ethenone” or “patchouli ethenone,” and accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 57-63 and 69-72 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over KOLBE (WO 2013/041526 A1, Publ. Mar. 28, 2013; as evidenced by US 2014/0121250 A1; hereinafter “Kolbe”; of record), in view of FULLER (US 2010/0249244 A1, Publ. Sep. 30, 2010; hereinafter, “Fuller”; of record).
Paragraph numbers for Fuller refer to US 2014/0121250 A1 as an English language translation of WO 2013/041526 A1.
Kolbe is directed to:
ALKYLAMIDOTHIAZOLES, COSMETIC OR DERMATOLOGICAL PREPARATIONS CONTAINING SAID ALKYLAMIDOTHIAZOLES, AND USE THEREOF TO COMBAT OR PREVENT UNDESIRED PIGMENTATION OF THE SKIN
ABSTRACT
Alkylamidothiazoles of general formula (I), wherein R 1= -C1-C24 alkyl (linear and branched), —C1-C24 alkenyl (linear and branched), —C1-C8 cycloalkyl, —C1-C8 cycloalkyl-alkylhydroxy, —C1-C24 alkylhydroxy (linear and branched), —C1-C24 alkylamine (linear and branched), —C1-C24 alkylaryl (linear and branched), —C1-C24 alkylaryl-alkyl-hydroxy (linear and branched), —C1-C24 alkyl-heteroaryl (linear and branched), —C1-C24-alkyl-O—C1-C24-alkyl (linear and branched), —C1-C24 alkyl morpholino, —C1-C24 alkyl piperidino, —C1-C24 alkyl piperazino, —C1-C24 alkyl-piperazino-N-alkyl, as well as cosmetic or dermatological preparations having an effective content of one or more alkylamidothiazoles, as well as the use thereof for the cosmetic or dermatological treatment and/or prophylaxis of undesired skin pigmentation.
Kolbe, title & abstract. In this regard, Kolbe teaches alkylamidothiazoles corresponding to those of the instantly claimed invention, including applicant’s elected species N-(4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide (Kolbe, par. [0032]), and compositions comprising said compounds for treatment of undesired skin pigmentation (Kolbe, claim 27).
Regarding independent claim 57 and the requirements:
57. ([…]) A cosmetic or dermatological preparation, wherein the preparation comprises one or more alkylamidothiazoles which comprise N-(4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide and two or more fragrances which comprise isoeugenol.
Kolbe clearly teaches N-(4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide (Kolbe, par. [0032]), and compositions thereof (Kolbe, claim 27), which meets the requirements of claim 57 for “one or more alkylamidothiazoles which comprise N-(4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide.” However, Kolbe DOES NOT TEACH “two or more fragrances which comprise isoeugenol” as required by claim 57, which is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Fuller, for instance, is directed to:
METHODS AND COMPOSITIONS FOR TREATING DERMATOLOGICAL DISEASES AND CONDITIONS
ABSTRACT
The presently claimed and disclosed inventive concept(s) contemplates compositions comprising compounds, in particular dihydroeugenol (DHE) and/or isoeugenol (IE) and/or ethyl vanillin (EV) or salts, esters, ethers, or derivatives thereof, and methods for topically or systemically delivering them for treatment against inflammation-related and other dermatological conditions such as described herein. These DHE and/or IE and/or EV or salts, esters, ethers or derivatives thereof also are delivered to a measurable extent transepidermally or transdermally. In one of its method aspects, this presently claimed and disclosed inventive concept(s) is directed to a method for treating a patient with a dermatological disease or condition by topically administering to said patient a pharmaceutical or cosmetic composition comprising a pharmaceutically or cosmetically acceptable topical carrier and an effective dermatological disease, disorder or condition-treating amount of a formulation of DHE and/or IE and/or EV, or salts, esters, ethers, or derivatives thereof. In particular, the presently claimed and disclosed inventive concept(s) is directed to a method of using a composition comprising one or more of DHE and/or IE and/or EV or salts, esters, ethers, or derivatives for treating dermatologic diseases, disorders or conditions, aging effects related to decreasing production of collagen, elastin, or hyaluronic acid, or to hyperpigmentation. The formulations may further contain cinnamaldehyde.
(Fuller, title & abstract), wherein “isoeugenol (IE)” and “cinnamaldehyde” are noted as “two or more fragrances which comprise isoeugenol” as required by claim 57, as well as claims 58-59:
58. (new) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the two or more fragrances comprise one or more of coumarin, Iraldein alpha iff, farnesol, lilial, bitter orange oil, Florosa, hexylsalicylate, phenylethyl alcohol, benzyl benzoate M, hydroxycitronellal, Macrolide Supra, phenoxanol, Geraniol Supra, dihydromyrcenol, cinnamaldehyde, lyral, isoeugenol, anis alcohol, terpineol pure, bergamot oil, hedione, vanillin, thymol, linalyl acetate, linalool aroma, hexenol cis-3, tetrahydromuguol, Limonene D pure, benzyl salicylate, benzyl cinnamate, Iso E Super, citronellol 950, benzyl alcohol DD, ethylvanillin, eugenol, methyl heptine carbonate, Citral 95, hexylcinnamaldehyde alpha, benzyl acetate, ethyllinalool, Iraldein gamma Coeur 262654, amyl cinnamaldehyde, alpha-isomethylionone, methyl benzoate, alpha-methylionone, 2-tertpentylcyclohexyl acetate, 7-acetyl-1,1,3,4,4,6-hexamethyltetralin, adipic diester, amyl salicylate, amyl cinnamyl alcohol, amyl C butylphenylmethylpropionalcinnamal, benzoin, bitter orange oil, sweet orange oil, cardamom oil, cedrol, cinnamyl alcohol, citronellyl methyl crotonate, lemon oil, diethyl succinate, Evernia Furfuracea Extract, Evernia Prunastri Extract, guaiac wood oil, hexylcinnamal, lavender oil, lime oil, mandarin oil, menthyl PCA, methylheptenone, nutmeg oil, rosemary oil, Tonka bean oil, triethyl citrate.
59. (new) The active ingredient combination of claim 57, wherein the two or more fragrances comprise one or more of coumarin, Iraldein alpha iff, farnesol, lilial, bitter orange oil, Florosa, hexyl salicylate, phenylethyl alcohol, Benzylbenzoate M, hydroxycitronellal, Macrolide Supra, phenoxanol, Geraniol Supra, dihydromyrcenol, cinnamaldehyde, lyral, isoeugenol, terpineol pure, vanillin, thymol, linalyl acetate, linalool aroma, Limonene D pure, benzyl salicylate, Iso E Super, citronellol 950, benzyl alcohol DD, eugenol, Citral 95, ethyllinalool, Iraldein gamma Coeur 262654, alpha-isomethylionone, methyl benzoate, alpha-methylionone, bitter orange oil, sweet orange oil, lemon oil, Evernia Prunastri Extract, hexylcinnamal, menthyl PCA, rosemary oil, triethyl citrate.
Also, in this regard, Fuller exemplifies treatment of hyperpigmentation with isoeugenol
Acetate. Fuller, par. [0020]-[0022], & Fig.’s 15-17.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include isoeugenol and cinnamaldehyde per Fuller, in Kolbe’s preparation, thus arriving at the claimed invention. One skilled in the art would be motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because both references are directed to the treatment of hyperpigmentation, and the addition of isoeugenol provides the benefits of additional treatment of hyperpigmentation, as taught by Fuller. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art, to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. See § MPEP 2144.06.
Thus, the prior art renders claims 57-59 obvious.
Regarding claims 60-62 and 69-72 and the requirements:
60. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation comprises a total of from 0.00001 % by weight to 10 % by weight of the two or more fragrances, based on a total weight of the preparation.
61. ([…]) The preparation of claim 60, wherein the preparation comprises a total of from 0.001 % by weight to 5 % by weight of the two or more fragrances.
62. ([…]) The preparation of claim 60, wherein the preparation comprises a total of from 0.005 % by weight to 3 % by weight of the two or more fragrances.
[…]
69. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation comprises at least 0.01 % by weight of N-( 4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide, based on a total weight of the preparation.
70. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation comprises not more than 0.35 % by weight of N-( 4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide, based on a total weight of the preparation.
71. ([…]) The preparation of claim 60, wherein the preparation comprises at least 0.01 % by weight of N-( 4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide, based on a total weight of the preparation.
72. ([…]) The preparation of claim 62, wherein the preparation comprises at least 0.01 % by weight of N-( 4-(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)thiazol-2-yl)isobutyramide, based on a total weight of the preparation.
Kolbe teaches cosmetic or dermatological preparations comprising 0.000001 to 10% by weight of alkylamidothiazole (Kolbe, claim 28), while Fuller teaches isoeugenol is present from about 0.001 to about 20% by weight (Fuller, par. [0108]) and 0.01% to 5% cinnamaldehyde (Fuller, par. [0058]). See MPEP § 2144.05 (I) regarding the obviousness of prior art overlapping claimed numerical ranges.
Thus, the prior art renders claims 60-62 and 69-72 obvious.
Regarding claims 63 and the requirements:
63. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation is an O/W emulsion.
Kolbe teaches suitable cosmetic and dermatological preparations including a “oil-in-water (O/W) type” emulsion (Kolbe, par. [0072]).
Thus, the prior art renders claim 63 obvious.
Claims 64-67 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over (WO 2013/041526 A1, Publ. Mar. 28, 2013; as evidenced by US 2014/0121250 A1; hereinafter “Kolbe”; of record), in view of FULLER (US 2010/0249244 A1, Publ. Sep. 30, 2010; hereinafter, “Fuller”; of record), as applied to claims 57-63 and 69-72, above, and further in view of WÖHRLE (US 2011/0104089 A1, Publ. May 5, 2011; hereinafter, “Wöhrle”).
The teachings of Kolbe and Fuller, as set forth above, are hereby incorporated. However, _____ does not expressly teach the compounds, “Iso E Super,” “benzyl benzoate,” “hexyl salicylate,” and “benzyl salicylate,” per the requirements of claims 64-67:
64. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation further comprises Iso E Super.
65. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation further comprises benzyl benzoate.
66. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation further comprises hexyl salicylate.
67. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation further comprises benzyl salicylate.
Based on the state of the art, an artisan of ordinary skill would have found each of these features obvious.
Wöhrle, for instance, is directed to:
COMPOSITIONS COMPRISING FRAGRANCE SUBSTANCES AND NEOPENTYL GLYCOL DIISONONANOATE
ABSTRACT
The invention relates to the use of neopentyl glycol diisononanoate (CAS No. 27841-07-2) as a fixative for perfume oils or as a fixative for (top note) fragrance substances. The invention also relates to certain compositions containing neopentyl glycol diisononanoate and one or more top note fragrance substances. Furthermore, the invention relates to a method for producing such compositions and (cosmetic) products containing a composition according to the invention. Additionally the invention relates to a method for imparting, intensifying or modifying an odor on the (human) skin. A particular aspect of the present invention relates to the improved adherence of volatile fragrance substances to (human) skin and/or (human) hair. Apart from this the invention relates to a combination (kit) comprising neopentyl glycol diisononanoate and one or more top note fragrance substances.
Wöhrle, title & abstract. In this regard, Wöhrle discloses claim embodiments directed to a composition sontaining (A) neopentyl glycol diisononanoate, and (B) one or more fragrance substances:
1. A composition comprising
(A) neopentyl glycol diisononanoate,
and
(B) one or more fragrance substances,
wherein component (B) comprises
(B)(i) one or more fragrance substances with a molecular weight in a range of 100 g/mol-175 g/mol (top note).
2. The composition as claimed in claim 1, wherein a mass ratio of component (A) to a total mass of component (B) is in a range of 1:20-200:1.
3. The composition as claimed in claim 1, wherein component (B) further comprises
(B) (ii) one or more fragrance substances with a molecular weight in a range of greater than or equal to 190 g/mol (bottom note).
4. The composition as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more fragrance substances of component (B)(i) (top note) are selected from the group consisting of:
(B)(i) n-Heptanol, trans-9-decen-1-ol, camphor, alpha-pinene, beta-pinene, gamma-terpinene, alpha-phellandrene, alpha-terpineol, borneol, limonene, 6-methyl-5-hepten-2-one, n-octanal, eucalyptol (1,8-cineol), rose oxide, 3-hexenol, dihydromyrcenol(2,6-dimethyl-7-octen-2-ol), menthone, isomenthone, 2,6-dimethyl-5-hepten-1-al (Melonal), 3-hexenyl methyl carbonate, benzaldehyde, linalool, tetrahydrolinalool, tetrahydrogeraniol, citral, neral, geranial, benzyl alcohol, benzyl acetate, methyl cinnamate, p-anisaldehyde, menthol, isoamyl acetate, isoamyl butyrate, cis-3-hexenyl acetate, trans-3-hexenyl acetate, hexyl acetate, butyl butyrate, citronellol, nerol, geraniol, 2-phenylethyl alcohol, methyl benzoate, methyl anthranilate, styrallyl acetate, 2,4-dimethyl-3-cyclohexene carboxaldehyde (vertocitral), acetophenone, p-methyl acetophenone, cinammic alcohol, cinammic aldehyde, 3-phenyl propanol (dihydrocinammic alcohol), 2-methyl-1-phenyl-2-propanol (alpha,alpha-dimethyl phenethyl carbinol), anethole, anisalcohol, heliotropin, acetanisole (p-methoxy acetophenone) and agrunitrile (3,7-dimethyl-6-octen-1-nitrile).
5. The composition as claimed in claim 3, wherein the one or more fragrance substances of component (B)(ii) are selected from the group consisting of:
(B)(ii) a musk fragrance substance, alpha-n-amylcinnamaldeyde (MW=202.30), alpha-iso-amylcinnamaldehyde (MW=202.30), alpha-n-hexylcinnamaldehyde (MW=216.32), alpha-iso-hexylcinnamaldehyde (MW=216.32), benzyl salicylate (MW=228.25), cis-3-hexenyl salicylate (MW=220.27), isoamyl salicylate (MW=208.26), hexyl salicylate (MW=222.28), 2-methyl-3-(4-tert-butylphenyl)propanal (MW=204.31; Lilial®), 2-methyl-3-(4-isopropylphenyl)propanal (MW=190.28, cyclamen aldehyde), 2,3,8,8-tetramethyl-1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8-octahydro-2-naphthalenyl methyl ketone (MW=234.38, Iso E Super®), 1-[1,2,3,4,6,7,8,8a-octahydro-1,2,8,8-tetramethyl naphtalen-2-yl]ethanone (MW=234.38, Iso E Super®), methyl dihydrojasmonate (MW=226.32, Hedione®), linalyl acetate (MW=196.29), ethyllinalyl acetate (MW=210.31), nerolidol (MW=222.37), farnesol (MW=222.37), cedryl methyl ether (MW=236.40, Cedramber), cedryl methyl ketone (MW=246.39), cedryl acetate (MW=264.41), (4aR,5R,7aS,9R)-octahydro-2,2,5,8,8,9a-hexamethyl-4H-4-a,9-methanoazuleno(5,6-d) 1,3-dioxol) (MW=278.44, Ambrocenide®), hexahydro-1′,1′,5′,5′-tetramethyl-spiro[1,3-dioxolan,2,8′(5′H)-[2H-2,4-a]-methanonaphthalene (MW=264.41 ethylenedioxy-3H-isolongifolane, Ysamber® K), 2-methyl-4-(2,2,3-trimethyl-3-cyclopenten-1-yl)butanol (MW=196.34, Brahmanol), 5-(2,2,3-trimethyl-3-cyclopenten-1-yl)-3-methylpentan-2-ol (MW=210.36, Sandalore®), 2-ethyl-4-(2,2,3-trimethyl-3-cyclopenten-1-yl)-2-buten-1-ol (MW=208.35, Sandranol®), 3-methyl-5-(2,2,3-trimethyl-3-cyclopenten-1-yl)-4-penten-2-ol (MW=208.35, Ebanol®), 3,3-dimethyl-5-(2,2,3-trimethyl-3-cyclopenten-1-yl)-4-penten-2-ol (MW=222.37, Polysantol®), 3-isocamphylcyclohexanol (MW=236.40, Sandel 80®), 1-(2,2,6-trimethylcyclohexyl)hexan-3-ol (MW=226.41, Timberol®), cyclododecyl methyl ether (MW=198.35, Palisandin), (ethoxymethoxy)cyclododecane (MW=242.41, Boisambrene Forte®), 1-methyl-4-(4-methyl-3-penten-1-yl)-3-cyclohexene carboxaldehyde (MW=206.33, Precyclemone B®), 4-(4-hydroxy-4-methylpentyl)-3-cyclohexene carboxaldehyde (MW=210.32, Lyral®), 2-methyl-4-(2,2,6-trimethyl-1-cyclohexen-1-yl)-2-butenal (MW=206.33, Boronal), decahydro-beta-naphthyl acetate (MW=196.29), allyl-3-cyclohexyl propionate (MW=196.29), allyl (cyclohexyloxy)acetate (MW=198.26, Isoananat®), citral diethyl acetal (MW=226.36), benzyl benzoate (MW=212.25), benzyl cinnamate (MW=238.29), 3a,6,6,9a-tetramethyl dodecahydronaphtho[2,1-b]furane (MW=236.40, Ambroxid®), alpha-iron (MW=206.33), beta-iron (MW=206.33), alpha-n-methyl ionone (MW=206.33), beta-n-methyl ionone (MW=206.33), alpha-isomethyl ionone (MW=206.33), beta-isomethyl ionone (MW=206.33) and allyl ionone (MW 232.35), 2,3,8,8-tetramethyl-1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8-octahydro-2-naphthalenyl methyl ketone (MW=234.38), 1-[1,2,3,4,6,7,8,8a-octahydro-1,2,8,8-tetramethyl naphtalen-2-yl]ethanone (MW=234.38), isobornyl acetate (MW=196.29), alpha-ionone (MW=192.30), beta-ionone (MW=192.30), gamma-ionone (MW=192.30), alpha-damascone (MW=192.30), beta-damascone (MW=192.30), delta-damascone (MW=192.30), 1-(2,4,4-trimethyl-2-cyclohexen-1-yl)-2-buten-1-one (MW=192.30, isodamascone), cedrol (MW=222.40), gamma-dodecalactone (MW=198.30), 2-methyl-3-(3,4-methylenedioxyphenyl)propanal (MW=192.22, Helional) and methyl dihydrojasmonate (MW=226.31).
(Wöhrle, claims 1-5), wherein (B)(ii) “bottom note” fragrances (Wöhrle, claims 3 and 5) include one or more of “Iso E Super” (Wöhrle, claim 5), “benzyl benzoate” (Wöhrle, claim 5), “hexyl salicylate” (Wöhrle, claim 5), and “benzyl salicylate” (Wöhrle, claim 5), which are the above-noted compounds of claims 64-67.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate one or more of “Iso E Super,” “benzyl benzoate,” “hexyl salicylate,” and/or “benzyl salicylate” per Wöhrle (Wöhrle, claim 5) into the composition of Kolbe per Fuller (discussed above). One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain the advantage of a bottom note fragrance (Wöhrle, claims 3 and 5) suitable for a cosmetic product (Wöhrle, abstract).
Thus, the prior art renders claims 64-67 obvious.
Claim 68 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over (WO 2013/041526 A1, Publ. Mar. 28, 2013; as evidenced by US 2014/0121250 A1; hereinafter “Kolbe”; of record), in view of FULLER (US 2010/0249244 A1, Publ. Sep. 30, 2010; hereinafter, “Fuller”; of record), as applied to claims 57-63 and 69-72, above, and further in view of CAETANO (CA 2706992 A1, Publ. May 27, 2010; hereinafter, “Caetano”).
The teachings of Kolbe and Fuller, as set forth above, are hereby incorporated. However, _the references DO NOT TEACH the incorporation of a sunscreen per the requirements of claim 68:
68. ([…]) The preparation of claim 57, wherein the preparation further comprises one or more of Butylmethoxydibenzoylmethane, Phenylbenzimidazolesulfonic acid, Octocrylene, Ethylhexyl salicylate, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate.
which is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Caetano, for instance, is directed to:
TOPICAL COSMETIC SKIN LIGHTENING COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS OF USE THEREOF
Abrege/Abstract:
Topical cosmetic compositions are provided that can comprise a Phyllanthus extract, a Bellis extract, and a licorice (Glycyrrhiza) extract. These compositions are used for topical cosmetic applications, particularly to lighten skin. Methods for lightening skin are also provided and can comprise topically administering a therapeutically effective amount of a topical cosmetic composition comprising a Phyllanthus extract, a Bellis extract, and a licorice extract, to skin of a subject in need thereof.
(Caetano, title & abstract). In this regard, teaches the incorporation of a sunscreen, inter alia, “ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate” and “octocrylene”:
[0053] In an embodiment, the present subject matter relates to a topical cosmetic composition, comprising, consisting essentially of, or consisting of a skin-lightening active component comprising, consisting essentially of, or consisting of a Phyllanthus extract, for example, a Phyllanthus embilica extract; a Bellis extract, for example, a Bellis perennis extract; and a licorice extract; at least one sunscreen; and a cosmetically acceptable carrier. The cosmetically acceptable carrier can comprise or consist of one or more cosmetically acceptable excipients.
[…]
[0068] In an additional embodiment, the present topical cosmetic compositions can comprise a sunscreen comprising one or more of methylene bis-benzotriazolyl tetramethylphenol (TINOSORB M available from CIBA), diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate, and coated zinc oxide, in an amount of from about 1% to about 20% by weight, from about 2% to about 10% by weight, or of about 5% by weight, based on the total weight of the composition. For example, the present topical cosmetic compositions can comprise a sunscreen comprising methylene bis-benzotriazolyl tetramethylphenol in an amount of from about 1% to about 20% by weight, from about 2% to about 10% by weight, or of about 5% by weight, based on the total weight of the composition
[0069] In a further embodiment, the present topical cosmetic compositions can comprise a sunscreen comprising or consisting of one or more of ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate (available from BASF), isoamyl methoxycinnamate, homosalate ethyl hexyl salicilate, octocrylene, polysilicone-15, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane, menthyl anthranilate, and ethylhexyl dimethyl PABA, in an amount of from about 1% to about 10%, from about 5% to about 9%, or of about 7.5% by weight, based on the total weight of the composition.
(Caetano, par. [0053] & [0068]-[0069]), which encompasses “Octorcrylene” and “Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate” of claim 68.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate one or more of “Octorcrylene” and/or “Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate” per Caetano (Caetano, par. [0069]) into the composition of Kolbe per Fuller (discussed above). One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to obtain the advantage of a sunscreen (Caetano, par. [0053] & [0068]-[0069]) suitable for skin-lightening composition (Caetano, abstract).
Thus, the prior art renders claims 68 obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 57-72 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/DOMINIC LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611