DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19, 22-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deblander (US 8424262) in view of Gross (US 7878301), optionally further in view of Nakayama (US 4702940), and optionally further in view of Schabert (US 3450809).
Regarding claim 18, Deblander teaches a flexible non-woven fabric comprising a consolidated veil made with fibers obtained from polymers of different chemical nature (column 6, lines 49-57; column 9, lines 22-25 and 60-67; column 10, lines 1-9; column 11, lines 9-37). The fibers comprise a mixture of fine fibers having a denier of 0.2 to 1.4 (5 to 12 µm diameter, assuming a density of 1.38 g/cm3 which is the density of the polyester PET; column 6, line 57; column 9, lines 1-31), and coarse fibers having a denier ranging from 3 up to 17 (20-50 µm diameter, assuming a density of 0.94 g/cm3 which is the approximate density of polyolefins; 3-20 denier assuming a density of 1.15 g/cm3 which is the approximate density of polyamides; 4-24 denier assuming a density of 1.38 g/cm3 which is the approximate density of polyesters; column 6, lines 58-67; column 7, lines 1-17; column 9, lines 1-17). It is noted that a claimed range which overlaps, lies within, or is near a prior art range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness for using values in the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05. Deblander indicates the veil is sufficiently flexible to be rolled (column 11, lines 32-37), which satisfies the claimed flexible nonwoven.
Deblander differs from claim 18 in that:
i. Deblander does not teach polymer particles incorporated throughout said consolidated veil by saturating said consolidated veil with a thermally sensitive polymer resin suspension to provide the flexible non-woven fabric with a higher tension resistance than said veil, wherein the mixture of fine fibers and coarse fibers creates structures and spaces that break up sound waves, provide high acoustic absorption, promote separation of micrometric particles in an air flow and provide high filtration, cleaning, comfort and thermal insulation properties.
ii. Deblander does not teach the consolidated veil is free of low melting point fibers.
(i) Deblander is directed to a fiber insulation material having thermal insulation and acoustic damping properties (Abstract; column 3, lines 9-12). Deblander consolidates the veil by thermal bonding using binder fibers. In an acoustically and thermally insulating nonwoven material, Gross suggests thermoplastic resin latex impregnation and thermal activation to soften and fuse the binder and bond the nonwoven, and further indicates that such bonding may be provided as an alternative to binder fiber bonding. The binder is introduced so as to effect a substantially uniform impregnation. See Gross (Abstract; column 13, lines 35-67; column 14, lines 1-27; column 22, lines 50-65; column 24, lines 12-26; column 25, lines 4-23). It is clear from Gross that the binder resin provides the desired fiber bonding and nonwoven consolidation. Additionally, the binder resin enables a desired level of stiffness to be achieved (column 22, lines 50-64), while still being sufficiently flexible to be rolled (column 25, lines 4-23). It is noted that a latex is a dispersion of polymer particles in water. Accordingly, such application before and/or after thermal activation as suggested by Gross naturally satisfies the claimed particles. The claimed product is not limited to a particular method of manufacture, but rather is only limited to the structure implied by limitations associated with a method of manufacture. See MPEP § 2113.
Alternatively, Gross is not limited to particular forms of the binder and suggests thermoplastic binder in latex or emulsion form (column 13, lines 35-67). Nakayama teaches that thermoplastic binders for nonwovens applied by impregnation may be in emulsion form or alternatively in the form of a suspension comprising thermoplastic resin dispersed in a dispersing medium (column 2, lines 62-68). Naturally such a dispersion comprises thermoplastic particles dispersed in the dispersing medium. Nakayama is only applied here as an alternative suitable form for the binder which yields the claimed particles before and/or after thermal activation as suggested by Gross.
While the claimed product is not limited to a particular method of manufacture, it is reasonably clear from Gross, or the combined teachings of Gross and Nakayama, that impregnating the nonwoven uniformly with a thermoplastic binder latex or suspension would provide the claimed particles, as detailed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Deblander with the claimed polymer particles incorporated throughout said consolidated veil because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to suitably provide the desired fiber bonding and consolidation, and/or to achieve a desired level of stiffness while maintaining sufficient flexibility for rolling in accordance with the above noted teachings of Gross, optionally further in view of the teachings of Nakayama.
Naturally, in the modified nonwoven web of Deblander, the claimed higher tension resistance is achieved upon thermal activation and the mixture of fine fibers and coarse fibers creates structures and spaces that break up sound waves, provide high acoustic absorption, promote the separation of micrometric particles in an air flow, and provide high filtration, cleaning, comfort and thermal insulation properties. The modified nonwoven web of Deblander has the same structure as claimed and suggests fibers having deniers in the claimed range. Accordingly it is reasonable to expect the modified nonwoven web of Deblander has these same broadly recited properties upon thermal activation. Additionally, Deblander’s nonwoven web clearly possesses high thermal insulation properties (Abstract).
As to the limitation of “saturating said consolidated veil”, as noted above, the claimed product is not limited to a particular method of manufacture, but rather is only limited to the structure implied by limitations associated with a method of manufacture. See MPEP § 2113. The examiner’s first position is that the thermally activated resin binder particles in the modified nonwoven web of Deblander satisfy both the claimed consolidated veil limitation and the polymer particles because the claimed “consolidated veil” is rather broad and is limited to any type of consolidation. Alternatively, it is known in the related art to consolidate a nonwoven web prior to impregnation with binder. Schabert suggests needling, which satisfies consolidation, prior to impregnation with binder to improve resistance to planar delamination (column 1, lines 34-37). Schabert is drawn to filtration and sound absorbing applications (column 1, lines 38-41). To the extent that “saturating said consolidated veil” distinguishes over the modified nonwoven web of Deblander as detailed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide needling consolidation prior to saturation with the polymer resin suspension, and thereby provide the associated structure in the modified nonwoven web of Deblander, because one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve resistance to planar delamination in accordance with the teachings of Schabert.
(ii) Deblander is directed to a fiber insulation material having thermal insulation and acoustic damping properties (Abstract; column 3, lines 9-12). Deblander uses binder fibers which are excluded by the claimed limitation of being free of low melting point fibers. Although Deblander does provide such binder fibers, a focus of Deblander is to use a mixture of fibers having a particular average fiber diameter in order to achieve a balance between desired insulation, loft and compression recovery (column 8, lines 8-67). Deblander does not teach that particulate binders are unacceptable. In related art, Gross makes it clear that bonding may be achieved by thermoplastic particle binders as an alternative to binder fibers (column 13, lines 35-67). Accordingly, Applicant has simply used an art recognized suitable alternative binder, i.e. a polymer particle binder rather than binder fibers. Only the expected result of bonding the veil has been achieved. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide this limitation in Deblander because one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a known suitable binder in view of the teachings of Gross, for the reasons provided above.
As to using fibers obtained from polymers of different chemical nature which are not low melting point fibers, Deblander teaches the use of one or more thermoplastic polymers for the fibers and recites polyethylene terephthalate (PET, a polyester), which is high melting. In an acoustically and thermally insulating nonwoven material, Gross suggests PET and additionally suggests acrylic and polyamide as suitable fiber polymers (column 11, lines 51-64). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide such fibers in Deblander because one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to known suitable fiber materials in an acoustically and thermally insulating nonwoven material, as evidenced by Gross.
Regarding claim 19, Deblander teaches a thermal conductivity of 0.03 to 0.05 W/m·K (30-50 mW/m·K; Abstract). Deblander teaches a thickness of 25 to 300 mm and a density of 5 to 15 kg/m3 (column 9, lines 60-67; column 10, lines 10-18). The basis weight is readily calculated by multiplying the density by the thickness. This corresponds to a basis weight of about 125 to 4500 g/m2, which substantially overlaps with the claimed range. Deblander’s most preferred ranges of density (7-13 kg/m3) and thickness (75 to 200 mm) correspond to a basis weight of about 525 to 2600 g/m2. It is noted that a claimed range which overlaps, lies within, or is near a prior art range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness for using values in the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 22 is satisfied for the reasons provided above.
Regarding claim 23, the thermally activated resin suggested by Gross satisfies thermal bonding.
Regarding claim 24, Gross teaches the thermally sensitive resin may be a latex resin or acrylic resin (column 13, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 25, the PET fibers of Deblander satisfy the fibers made of polymers of the same chemical nature, i.e. a plurality of PET fibers comprise fibers made of polymers of the same chemical nature (column 6, line 57).
Regarding claim 29, Gross teaches the thermally sensitive latex or vinyl resin may further include surfactant (column 13, lines 57-61).
Claim 30 is satisfied for the reasons provided above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims require the veil is already consolidated before the polymer particles are added. The examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. The claims are directed to a product and accordingly are only limited to the structure implied by limitations associated with a method of manufacture. See MPEP § 2113. As detailed in the grounds of rejection, this limitation is satisfied by the thermally activated particles. The broadly claimed consolidation does not distinguish over such thermally activated particles. Alternatively, Schabert has been applied to suggest needling in addition to added polymer particles, which also satisfies the claimed consolidation.
Applicant agues Deblander teaches away from replacing binder fibers with particle binders and points to Deblander’s teaching of the binder fibers contributing to loft of the batt and ability to recover from compression. The examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. There is no teaching in Deblander that particle binders should not be used or that binder fibers must be used and alternative bonding methods must be avoided. To the contrary, Deblander teaches that batts having binder fibers or multicomponent binder fibers are preferred (column 7, lines 20-28). As noted in the rejection, in an acoustically and thermally insulating nonwoven material, Gross suggests thermoplastic resin latex impregnation and thermal activation to soften and fuse the binder and bond the nonwoven, and further indicates that such bonding may be provided as an alternative to binder fiber bonding. See Gross (Abstract; column 13, lines 35-67; column 14, lines 1-27; column 22, lines 50-65; column 24, lines 12-26; column 25, lines 4-23). Applicant has simply used an art recognized suitable alternative binder, i.e. a polymer particle binder rather than binder fibers. Only the expected result of bonding the veil has been achieved. It is also noted that Deblander’s teaching of the binder fibers contributing to loft of the batt and ability to recover from compression is directed to multicomponent binder fibers (column 6, lines 7-13), which are not required by Deblander (column 5, lines 40-59; column 6, lines 58-61; column 7, lines 20-28).
Regarding the argument of unexpected results, there is no evidence of record that using particle binder instead of binder fibers provides such results. Accordingly, the current evidence of unexpected results does not outweigh the evidence of obviousness detailed in the grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745