DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Claims 49, 51-68, 70, 71, 73-76, and 78 are pending.
3. Claims 66 and 67 remain withdrawn.
4. Claims 49, 51-65, 68, 70, 71, 73-76, 78 are examined.
5. The rejection of claim 69 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is moot in view of its cancellation by Applicant.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
7. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 49-65, in the reply filed on June 19, 2017 is acknowledged. In the Non-Final Office Action mailed on July 13, 2017, the traversal was not found persuasive and the requirement was therefore made FINAL. Claims 66 and 67 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 19, 2017. Given that the previously added claims 77-78 would have been included in the elected group, they were examined.
Claim Interpretation
8. The following is noted with regard to claim interpretation. In the previous amendments, Applicant added the following limitation to claim 49: “the polynucleotide being free of site-directed mutation.” The structure of a polynucleotide is determined by its nucleotide sequence. Any function, such as the ability to encode a specific polypeptide is inherent in said sequence. The manner in which said polynucleotide was obtained does not affect its structure and, therefore, patentability. It is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2113.
In the instant case, whether the claimed “mutagenized” AHASL polynucleotide was obtained using “site-directed” mutagenesis or another method, does not affect the structure of said polynucleotide. In the instant claim 49, said structure is determined only by the nucleotide sequence and the inherent ability of said polynucleotide to encode a mutant AHASL protein comprising the two recited substitutions.
Claims 70 and 71 are given their broadest reasonable interpretation as encompassing the plant of claim 49 comprising a detectable amount of the herbicide on any portion of the plant. The term “no injury,” in claim 71, is interpreted as encompassing the absence of any kind of herbicidal injury, however determined, on any portion of the plant. The term is not defined in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant takes issue with Examiner’s claim interpretation and argues as follows: “The present claims include express exclusions of transgenic subject matter (Class 2), and gene-edited subject matter (Class 3); specifically, in these claims, the mutagenized Brassica napus AHASL polynucleotide must contain two mutations (A122T and S653N), must be non-transgenic, and must be free of site-directed mutation(s). The claimed subject matter solves, e.g., the problem of providing a non-transgenic, non-gene-edited AHASL biomolecule providing to a Brassica napus plant an unexpectedly strong tolerance to imazamox herbicide. Such a plant is useful in Class 1 agriculture” (pages 6-7 of the Remarks).
This argument is not found to be persuasive. The above claim interpretation focuses on the structure of a polypeptide and a polynucleotide encoding it. A “relevant field” or a “class” in which Applicant may categorize the claimed invention does not affect nor address the substance of the Examiner’s claim interpretation, which interpretation is directed specifically to the structure recited in the claims. The Examiner maintains that the structure of a polynucleotide is determined by its nucleotide sequence, and not its method of production.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 49, 51-65, 68, 70-71, and 73-76, and 78 remain rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sala et al (WO 2007/005581, published January 11, 2007, filed on July 1, 2005) in view of Cheung et la (US Patent Publication 2004/0142353, published on July 22, 2004), Tan et al (Tan et al (Pest Manag. Sci. (2005) 61:246-257), Arntzen et al (US Patent 7,094,606, filed on August 5, 1997), and Penner et al (US Patent No. 5,859,348, issued January 12, 1999). Applicant's arguments filed on October 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claims are drawn to a non-transgenic Brassica napus plant comprising a mutagenized Brassica napus polynucleotide encoding an AHASL polypeptide having a threonine substitution at a position corresponding to position 122 of SEQ ID NO: 1 and an asparagine substitution at a position corresponding to position 653 of SEQ ID NO: 1; to a cell, plant part, or seed of said plant, and to a method of using said plant. The instant specification teaches that SEQ ID NO: 1 is the amino acid sequence of the AHASL from Arabidopsis.
Sala et al teach herbicide-resistant sunflower plants comprising nucleic acid sequences encoding a double-substituted mutant AHASL. The first mutation is A107T (in sunflower numbering), which corresponds to position 122 of the instant SEQ ID NO: 1, which represents the Arabidopsis AHASL (claim 19). The second mutation is an asparagine substitution at the relative position 638, which corresponds to the position corresponding to position 653 of the instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (claims 19 and 20). Sala et al teach an expression cassette comprising a promoter operably linked to the polynucleotide encoding the above double-mutated sunflower AHASL (claims 21-22; pg. 7, lines 13-14). Sala et al teach a method comprising the steps of transforming a plant cell with the expression cassette comprising a plant promoter, operably linked to a mutated polynucleotide, such as the double mutated one above; and regeneration a transformed plant from the transformed plant cell (pg. 7, lines 20-27). Sala et al teach that their invention could be used for transformation of any plant species, including Brassica napus (pg. 45, lines 10-29).
Sala et al teach a method comprising transforming a host cell the with a transformation vector comprising the polynucleotides of their invention, including the above double mutated AHAS; exposing the cell to a level of an imidazolinone herbicide that would kill or inhibit the growth of a non-transformed host cell, and identifying the transformed host cell by its ability to grow in the presence of the herbicide (pg. 9, lines 3-10; claims 19-23). Sala et al teach treating resistant seeds with seed treatment, which includes seed coating and comprises AHAS inhibiting herbicides such as imazapyr and imazethapyr, among others (paragraph spanning pg. 54 and 55). Sala et al teach methods of combating undesired vegetation, wherein the seeds of the resistant plants are contacted before sowing and/or after pregermination with an AHAS-inhibiting herbicide; Sala et al teach said method wherein the weeds include dicot weeds such as those from the genera Datura, Sinapis, and others. (pg. 56, lines 12-28). Sala et al teach applying herbicide in a composition with other herbicides and adjuvants (page 46, first full paragraph).
Sala et al teach that the regions of AHASL comprising the herbicide resistance mutations are conserved, and teach that “Using the AHASL sequences of the invention and methods known to those of ordinary skill in art, one can produce additional polynucleotides encoding herbicide resistant AHASL polypeptides having one, two, three, or more amino acid substitutions at the identified sites in these conserved regions.” (pg. 62, lines 13-28; Table 4). Sala et al teach, at SEQ ID NO: 13 and 14, a nucleic acid and an amino acid sequence of the wild-type AHASL from Arabidopsis thaliana (see Sequence Listing on pg. 12-13 and following the Drawings).
Sala et al teach the sunflower plants comprising the A122T mutation showed resistance to imazamox at up to 300 g ai/ha; and that very little injury was observed at the highest rate doses of imazamox and imazapyr (Example 5 on pg. 60-61; Fig. 3 and 5). Sala et al teach crossing the herbicide resistant plants of their invention with a second plant that is not resistant to said herbicide and obtaining resistant progeny (paragraph spanning pages 46 and 47). Sala et al teach that herbicides could be used in a wet or dry formulation, and applied using spraying or dusting (pg. 46, lines 12-18).
Sala et al do not expressly teach a Brassica napus plant comprising said double-mutated AHASL comprising the above mutations.
Cheung et al teach Brassica napus plants comprising the “PM1” mutation in AHAS1 and methods of detecting a mutation resulting in said substitution in a plant (Abstract; Examples 4-6). Cheung et al teach that the mutation confers “commercially relevant imidazolinone tolerance” to the canola plants (Abstract; paragraph 11; Figures 4 and 5).
Tan et al teach that “PM1” is a canola mutation resulting in the S653N substitution. Tan et al teach that it is one of the two known substitutions in canola (the other one being W574L or “PM2”) confers high levels of imidazolinone tolerance and has been used commercially since 1995 (Table 2; paragraph spanning pages 249-250). Tan et al teach that PM1 confers tolerance to imidazolinones only and can be stacked with PM2 (page 250, left col.). Tan et al teach that “Mutations at Ala122 and Ala205 exhibit acceptable tolerance to imidazolinones and are also a good choice for the development of imidazolinone-tolerant crops” (page 248, right col.).
Arntzen et al teach an oligonucleotide-based method of making a localized point mutation in a plant cell, including a canola, soybean, potato, cotton, or tomato cell, to an AHAS gene causing the plant to be herbicide resistant (Arntzen et al, claim 1; col. 8, line 32 - col. 9, line 3). Arntzen et al teach regenerating a plant from said resistant cells and obtaining seeds and progeny of said plant (claims 1-8). Arntzen et al teach that using the method, a mutation may be introduced into any allele of the AHAS gene (col. 8, lines 46-48).
Penner et al teach sugar beet plants comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a mutated AHASL comprising two mutations: A113T (in sugar beet; 122 in Arabidopsis) and P188S (in sugar beet; 197 in Arabidopsis) (Penner et al col. 9, lines 35-55). Penner et al teach that said double mutation provides enhanced resistance to a combination of sulfonylureas and imidazolinones (Penner et al, col. 9, lines 56-59; Fig. 4). Penner et al teach that the resultant resistance is synergistic when compared to the level of resistance afforded by the two mutations individually (Penner et al, col. 10, lines 9-14; Table 2 in col. 10).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the mutagenesis method of Arntzen et al to introduce, using the sequence information taught by Sala et al, the S653N (PM1) substitution (taught by Sala et al, Tan et al, and Cheung et al) together with The A122T substitution (taught by Sala et al and Tan et al) onto the AHASL gene of any of the agriculturally significant species, including Brassica napus. It would have been obvious to use the resultant plant in a standard method of controlling undesired vegetation, including the method of Sala et al, wherein the plants are treated with an imidazolinone herbicide, including imazamox, imazethapyr, or imazapic. It would have been obvious to apply the herbicide in composition with an additive, such as adjuvant, and to apply said herbicide to a dicot weed, such as those taught by Sala et al. It would have been obvious to apply the herbicide in wet or dry formulation by spraying or dusting as taught by Sala et al.
It would have been obvious to use the seeds of resistant plants in a method of controlling undesired vegetation of Sala et al wherein the seeds are treated with an herbicide before sowing and/or after pregermination, wherein the herbicide is an imidazolinone, such as imazethapyr, imazamox, or imazapyr. It would have been also obvious, in view of the teachings of Sala et al and as a matter of standard industry practice, to use said method pre-emergence by applying an appropriate imidazolinone to the seeds of said resultant tolerant plants. The resultant prima facie obvious Brassica plant, when used in said method of weed control, would comprise “herbicide residue” and show “no injury,” at least on a portion of the plant, under the above claim interpretation.
Using the herbicide resistant plant in a breeding method, such as the method of Sala et al, to introgress herbicide resistance into a second plant would have been obvious as well.
It would have been obvious to use the S653N substitution, which was commercially used in canola at the time of filing, as taught by Tan et al and Cheung et al, in combination with another commercially used substitution, A122T.
One would have been motivated to do so because Sala et al expressly teach making sunflower plants comprising the two known point mutations, A122T and S653N, on the same AHASL protein, and teach applying their invention to any plant species, including canola. One would have been motivated to combine said two substitutions, specifically, on the AHASL of canola in view of the teachings of Tan et al and Penner et al, including the teachings of Penner et al that combining a mutation at position 122 with another point mutation results in a synergistic level of resistance to imidazolinones.
The specific levels of herbicide resistance to imidazolinones, including tolerance to 100 g ai/ha or 35 g ai/ha of imazamox would have naturally flowed from the prima facie obvious structure of said double-mutated AHASL and the plant comprising it. “The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.” Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Moreover, given the teachings of Cheung et al, Penner et al and Sala et al, said levels would not have been unexpected, specifically given the teachings of Sala that the sunflower plants comprising the A122T mutation showed resistance to imazamox at up to 300 g ai/ha. Given the teachings of Penner et al, and the fact that both A122T and S653N substitution confer tolerance to imidazolinones, at least some degree of greater than additive tolerance to imazamox in the double mutant AHAS and the Brassica napus plant comprising it would not have been unexpected.
One would have had reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a plant resistant to imidazolinones, including imazamox or imazethapyr, given the conserved nature of the enzyme (as taught by Sala et al and Tan et al and well-known in the art), because the A122 and S653 residues are located within two of the five conserved AHASL regions, and given that Sala et al, Penner et al, and Arntzen et al successfully reduced their invention to practice. Given that the method of Arntzen et al does not involve the introduction of a transgene, the resultant plant would be considered non-transgenic.
Response to Argument.
Applicant argues that “Arntzen is directed to oligonucleotide-directed mutagenesis (ODM) methods for modifying plant genes” (page 7 of the Remarks). Applicant argues that the working examples of Arntzen are directed to tobacco and not Brassica cells, and argues that Arntzen “provides no disclosure of how to provide a randomly-mutagenized Brassica AHASL. For that reason, the present rejection: fails to articulate how the use of Arntzen’s gene-editing technology could have produced the claimed non-transgenic, non-gene-edited subject matter; and fails, in light of that fact, to articulate why one of ordinary skill in the art would have relied on Arntzen, for its teaching of such technology, in seeking to solve the problem of providing a non-transgenic, non-gene-edited biomolecule-containing plant useful in Traditional Agriculture. Applicants note that the problem solved by the present claims is not how to produce a given B. napus AHASL biomolecule’s structure, but to provide a B. napus AHASL variant that supports a phenotype of unexpected imidazolinone tolerance in a B. napus plant that is useful in the field of Traditional Agriculture. Arntzen address a different field of art. Even assuming arguendo that Arntzen, in combination with the other cited references, would provide to one of ordinary skill as basis for a reasonable expectation to obtain a similar gene-edited B. napus plant, that plant would be useful in only Genome-Edited Agriculture. Yet, given the above-described lacks in Arntzen, the fact that the other cited references — Sala, Cheung, Tan, and Penner — do not provide what Arntzen lacks, means the present Obviousness rejection fails to establish that one of ordinary skill in the art would have thereby had a basis for a reasonable expectation to obtain a gene-edited B. napus plant useful in Genome-Edited Agriculture. More importantly, the combination of cited references fails to provide a basis for a reasonable expectation to obtain a B. napus plant useful in Traditional Agriculture” (pages 8-9 of the Remarks).
Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive. To the extent that the Remarks reiterate the previously submitted arguments, those were addressed in detail in the previous Office Actions and remain not persuasive for the reasons of record.
With regard to the teachings of Arnzen, the argument is not found to be persuasive. The reference teaches and claims using the oligonucleotide-based method of making localized point mutations to introduce a mutation into an AHAS gene of a canola, soybean, potato, cotton, or tomato cell, causing the plant to be herbicide resistant (Arntzen et al, claim 1; col. 8, line 32 - col. 9, line 3). Contrary to Applicant’s position, the rejection above provides specific reasoning as to why one would have been able to use the method of Arntzen to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to the argument directed to the teachings of Arntzen and “Traditional Agriculture,” the argument remains not persuasive for the reasons of record. The Examiner maintains that since the method of Arntzen involves the modification of an endogenous gene and does not require the incorporation of a transgene, the resultant plant would be considered “non-transgenic.”
Moreover, MPEP 2141.01(a) explains as follows: “A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art.” See In re Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
The Examiner has determined and maintains that the cited art, including Arntzen et al, is analogous under the above standard. Applicant has supplied no explanation that addresses the substance of the analysis set forth in the MPEP, and provided no support for the statement in the previous Remarks that “a skilled person would not have looked to Arntzen in order to achieve what is presently claimed” - particularly given that the method of Arntzen could have been predictably used to arrive at a non-transgenic mutagenized Brassica whose structure would read on the plant of the instant invention.
It is noted that barring any evidence to the contrary, which evidence Applicant has not supplied, the recitation in claim 49 that the AHASL polynucleotide be “free of site-directed mutation” does not affect the structure, i.e., the nucleotide sequence, of said polynucleotide, which structure would have been prima facie obvious.
Whether Applicant assigns the instant invention to “Traditional Agriculture” as opposed to “Genome-Edited Agriculture” is beside the point of the instant obviousness analysis. The issue is whether a Brassica plant that meets the limitations of the instant claims would have been prima facie obvious in view of the cited art. For the reasons set forth in the rejection above, it would have been. Classifying the plant in a one regulatory category or another does not obviate said finding.
Regarding the teachings of Penner et al, and the fact that Penner deals with sugar beet and not Brassica, the previously submitted argument remains not persuasive either. The residues of AHAS taught in Penner are located the domains that are conserved in all of the crop species in which the enzyme has been studied (see Tan et al, Sala et al). Moreover, B. napus plants comprising the S653N substitution were known in the prior art at the time of filing (see Tan et al and Cheung et al).
Applicant’s teaching away argument, including the previously submitted argument based on the teachings of the Chong article remains not found to be persuasive. When evaluating a teaching away argument, "the nature of the teaching is highly relevant and must be weighed in substance. A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 553, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). MPEP 2145. At the same time, any evidence supporting patentability (including the evidence supporting a teaching away argument) must be weighed against evidence supporting prima facie case: each piece of rebuttal evidence should not be evaluated for its ability to knockdown the prima facie case. All of the competent rebuttal evidence taken as a whole should be weighed against the evidence supporting the prima facie case. In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1472, 223 USPQ 785, 788 (Fed. Cir. 1984). MPEP 716.01(d).
In the instant case, Chong et al do teach that in tobacco plants, the mutation of the serine at the relative position 653 (652 in the tobacco numbering) into asparagine inactivated the enzyme. However, this is far from being the only teaching regarding the S653N substitution. The Examiner maintains that at the time of invention, the substitution was not only well-known in the art and characterized in a number of crops, but used commercially, and in canola, specifically. See Tan et al, Cheung et al, above. The preponderance of the evidence thus outweighs Applicant’s teaching away argument based on Chong et al. Applicant’s argument fails to address or reconcile these teachings with Applicant’s position.
With regard to the recited property of herbicide tolerance, the Examiner maintains that there is no evidence in the record that the observed levels of the double mutant’s tolerance to imazamox were, in fact, unexpected. At the same time, the teachings of the prior art indicate that the recited property would not have been unexpected, at least under some conditions, all of which are encompassed by the claims. Sala et al, for example, teach that the sunflower plants comprising the A122T mutation alone showed resistance to imazamox at up to 300 g ai/ha; and that very little injury was observed at the highest rate doses of imazamox and imazapyr. Applicant’s argument fails to address these express teachings of Sala et al.
Moreover, with regard to the A122T and the combination of substitutions, Tan et al teach as follows: “Mutations at Ala122 and Ala205 exhibit acceptable tolerance to imidazolinones and are also a good choice for the development of imidazolinone-tolerant crops. … The majority of commercialized imidazolinone-tolerant crops are currently developed from either one or a combination of Ala205, Trp574, and Ser653 mutations. All commercialized imidazolinone-tolerant crops have been developed through selection or mutagenesis, utilizing conventional plant-breeding techniques, and are therefore non-transgenic” (page 248, right col.).
The Examiner maintains that the herbicide tolerance properties of both substitutions recited in the independent claim 49, A122T and S653N, were well-known in the prior art. Both residues, A122 and S653, as well as the domains in which they are located, are conserved in all crop species in which the enzyme has been studied. Moreover, their combination on the same AHASL molecule was also known: Sala et al expressly teach a double mutated AHASL polypeptide, comprising the two instantly claimed substitutions.
The one limitation that Sala et al do not expressly teach is a plant other than sunflower, such as Brassica napus, comprising said AHASL. Applicant’s invention thus amounts to introducing the two substitutions, each of which was well-characterized with regard to the herbicide resistance it confers, into another crop species. This would have been obvious and readily achievable using the methods available in the art at the time the instant invention was made. In addition, B. napus plants comprising the S653N substitution were commercially used at the time of invention (see Cheung et al, Tan et al, above). The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
11. No claims are allowed.
12. All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MYKOLA V. KOVALENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662