DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment to claims filed on 7/12/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11, 17 and 25 are amended. Currently, claims 11, 17, 19-20, 25-31, 34, and 36-42 are pending in the application.
Previous objection is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Previous prior art rejection is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Claims 11, 17, 19-20, 25-31, 34 and 36-42 are rejected on a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 17, 19-20, 25-31, 34 and 36-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “each of the plurality of wiring members having a diameter of 250mm to 500mm” (emphasis added) in line 34, and also recites “a width of each of the plurality of wiring members in the first direction, the second width of each of the plurality of first extension pads in the first direction is greater than the width of each of the plurality of wiring members in the first direction…” (emphasis added) in lines 26-30. It is unclear a diameter of each of the plurality of wiring members is the same as or different from “a width of each of the plurality of wiring members in the first direction”. It is unclear what shape of the wiring members being claimed, since a width is for rectangular shape while a diameter is for circular shape.
Claims 17, 19-20, 25-31, 34, and 36-42 are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 17, 19-20, 25-30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaguchi et al. (US 2014/0251409) in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2011/0297224) and Gray et al. (2010/0000602), and further in view of Yamada et al. (US Patent 6,034,323) and Wakefield et al. (US Patent 4,487,898).
Regarding claim 11, Hamaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module (figs. 1-2) comprising
a plurality of solar cells (body 1 with front 3/4 and back electrode 5), each including a semiconductor substrate (1, figs. 1-10, [0052]), a first electrode (grid 3/ bus 4, figs. 1-10) on a front surface (or light receiving surface 1a, figs. 1-10) of the semiconductor substrate (1), and a second electrode (5, fig. 1) on a back surface (or back surface 1b) of the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1, [0041-0042]); and
a plurality of wiring members (2, figs. 1-2, [0041-0042])
wherein the first electrode (3/41 or 3/42, figs. 9-1 or 9-2 and 10) comprises:
a plurality of finger electrodes (3, figs. 9-1 or 9-2) extending in a first direction (or horizontal direction) having a first pitch in a second direction crossing the first direction (or vertical direction),
a plurality of first pads (or discrete sections of collecting electrodes 41 or 42 in figs. 9-1 or 9-2) arranged in the second direction (or vertical direction, see figs. 9-1 and 9-2) and having a second pitch (or spacing) in the second direction (see figs. 9-1 and 9-2);
a plurality of first connection electrodes (or thermosetting 7 or more specifically 72 in fig. 10 filling in the removed portions 8 in figs. 9-1 and 9-2) connecting the plurality of first pads and extending in the second direction (see figs. 9-1, 9-2 and 10, [0110-0117]);
wherein the plurality of first wiring members (2) extending in the second direction (e.g. direction along the collecting electrode 4, figs. 1-2 and 10) and configured to connect the first electrode (3/4) of a first solar cell of the plurality of solar cells to the second electrode (5) of a second solar cell adjacent to the first solar cell (see figs. 1-2, [0041-0042]);
wherein the first pads include the first auxiliary pads (or middle sections of collecting electrodes 41 or 42) each having a first width in the first direction (or horizontal direction) and a first length in the second direction (or vertical direction), and a plurality of extension pads (e.g. the end sections of collecting electrodes 41 or 42) each having second width in the first direction and a second length in the second direction (see figs. 9-1 and 9-2);
wherein the first extension pads are positioned closer to an end portion of the semiconductor substrate than to the auxiliary pads along the second direction of each of the plurality of solar cells;
wherein the second length of each of the plurality of first extension pads (or end sections of collecting electrode 41 or 42) in the second direction (or vertical direction) is greater than the first length of the plurality of first auxiliary pads (or the end sections of collecting electrode 41 or 42) in the second direction (see figs. 9-1 and 9-2);
Hamaguchi et al. shows each wiring member (2) fully overlaps and covers the corresponding connecting electrode (or thermosetting 7) and the collecting electrode (4) in figs. 2-3, 4-1, 5-4; such that the width of the connection electrode (or thermosetting 7) is smaller than a width of each wiring member (2), the width of the collecting electrode (4) is smaller than the width of each wiring member (2), and the number of the wiring members is the same as the number of connection electrodes (or thermosetting 7, see figs. 4-1 and 5-4).
Hamaguchi et al. teaches the configuration of the first electrode (3/41 in fig. 9-1 or 3/42 in fig. 9-2) are island-like manner ([0110-0120]) having benefits of reducing metal usage and thus the cost and suppress separation of the wiring members at the end portion (see [0119-0120]). Hamaguchi et al. also teaches forming the second electrode (or back surface electrodes 5) in an island-like manner (see [0065-0066]).
Hamaguchi et al. does not explicitly show a width of each of the plurality of first connection electrodes (or thermosetting portions 72 shown in fig. 10 filling in the removed portions 8 between the sections of the collecting electrodes 41 or 42 in figs. 9-1 and 9-2) in the first direction is smaller than a width of each of the plurality of wiring members (2) in the first direction, the first width of each of the plurality of first auxiliary pads (or collecting electrodes 41 or 42) in the first direction is equal to or smaller than the width of each of the plurality of wiring members (2) in the first direction, so that each of the plurality of first connection electrodes (thermosetting 72) and the plurality of first auxiliary pads (41/42) is fully overlapped with a corresponding one of the plurality of wiring members (2); nor do they teach the second electrode includes a plurality of second finger electrodes extending in the first direction, a plurality of second pads including a plurality of second auxiliary pads and a plurality of second extension pads having a different size than the plurality of second auxiliary pads as claimed in figs. 1-3 and 9-10 (or the embodiment of island manner configuration).
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the width of first connection electrodes and the width of the first auxiliary pads smaller than the width of each wiring members so that each of the plurality first connection electrode and the plurality of first auxiliary pads is fully overlapped with a corresponding one of the plurality of wiring members and a number of the plurality of wiring members is the same as a number of the plurality of first connection electrodes; and incorporating the island like manner electrode comprising a plurality of (second) finger electrodes, a plurality of (second) pads including a plurality of (second) auxiliary pads and a plurality of (second) extension pads having different size than the plurality of (second) auxiliary pads, and a plurality of (second) connection electrodes as claimed in the embodiment shown in figs. 1-3 and 9-10, because Himaguchi et al. explicitly suggests doing so.
Himaguchi et al. teaches the island-like manner configuration having different patterns (see figs. 9-1 and 9-2) and with different design (see [0117]). Himaguchi et al. does not teach the second pitch in the second direction is greater than the first pitch in the second direction, nor do they teach a number of the plurality of first pads is more than a number of the second pads.
Miyamoto et al. shows a pattern of island-like manner configuration having a second pitch (or the spacing between pads 3 or 7) is greater than the first pitch (or spacing between fingers 2, see figs. 1, 4, 7-9) such that a number of the first pads (3) is more than a number of the second pads (7, see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pattern of the first electrode and second electrode of Himaguchi et al. by using a pattern having a second pitch (or spacing between two adjacent first pads) greater than a first pitch (or spacing between two adjacent first finger electrodes) and a number of the first pads is more than a number of the second pads as taught by Miyamoto et al.; because Himaguchi et al. explicitly teaches having different designs of island-like manner electrodes and Miyamoto et al. such configuration of pads would decrease the occurrence of breakage of the cells, suppress local excessive deformation, and suppress cost increase (see [0012-0013]).
Himaguchi et al. shows using 2 wiring members (2). Himaguchi et al. does not teach the number of wiring members is 6 to 30.
Gray et al. shows the number of wiring members (or tab 22) to be 7 in fig. 1A, 20 in fig. 1B, 19 in fig. 2B, 15 in figs. 5A-B. 7, 20, 19 and 15 are right within the claimed range of 6 to 30.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell module of modified Himaguchi et al. by using 7, 20, 19 and 15 wiring members as taught by Gray et al., because Gray et al. teaches such use permit thinner wiring members (or tabs) and thus improve cell efficiency (see [0039]).
Himaguchi et al. teaches using copper coated solder for the wiring members (2, see [0042]). Himaguchi et al. does not teach of the wiring members (2) having a diameter of 250 mm to 500mm.
Yamada et al. teaches a wiring member of copper coated with solder having a diameter of 400mm (see col. 7, lines 10-12). 400mm is right within the claimed range of 250 mm to 500mm.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell module of modified Himaguchi et al. by using wiring members (2) each having a diameter of 400mm as taught by Yamada et al.; because Himaguchi et al. explicitly teaches using copper coated solder as a good conductor (see [0042]).
Hamaguchi et al. shows at connection point the width of the pads (4 and thermosetting resin 70) is greater than the width of the wiring member (2, see fig. 6), and teaches enlarging extension pads (or the end portions of discrete bus bar) to suppress separation of the wiring members from the end portion due to the difference in thermal expansion with respect to the solar cells (see [0120]).
Hamaguchi et al. does not explicitly teaches enlarging the extension pads (or the end portions) by having the second width of each of the plurality of first extension pads in the first direction is greater than the first width of each of the plurality of first auxiliary pads in the first direction such that the second width of each of the plurality of first extension pads in the first direction is greater than the width of each of the plurality of wiring members in the first direction.
Wakefield et al. teaches having a larger size of the extension pads (or end pads 106) compared to the auxiliary pads (or the middle pads) is considered a significant advantage in addressing misalignment of the wiring members (or the connector strips; see col. 10, lines 51-64). Wakefield provides an exemplary width of the extension pads (or end pads) to be 0.064 inches compared to the width of the auxiliary pads (or middle pads) of 0.05 inches (see table in col. 11). It is noted that 0.064 inches is 1625.6 micrometers, which is greater than 400 micrometers (or the diameter – width of each plurality
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell module of modified Himaguchi et al. by using first extension pads (or end pads) each having a larger size compared to the auxiliary pads (or the middle pads), for example a width of each extension pad to be 0.064 inches as taught by Wakefield et al. such that the second width of each of the plurality of first extension pads in the first direction is greater than the first width of each of the plurality of first auxiliary pads in the first direction and the second width of each of the plurality of first extension pads in the first direction is greater than the width of each of the plurality of wiring members in the first direction; because Himaguchi et al. explicitly teaches enlarging the extension pads (or the end portions) would suppress separation of the wiring members from the end portion due to the difference in thermal expansion with respect to the solar cells and the width of pads (or busbar 4 and thermosetting resin 70) is greater than the wiring members (2) in fig. 6, and Wakefield teaches using a larger size (or larger width and length) for example 0.064 inches in width for the extension pads (or end pads) would a significant advantage in addressing misalignment of the wiring members.
Regarding claim 17, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Himaguchi et al. discloses the extension pads (or the large pads at the end portion) is located at an outermost finger electrode (3) among the plurality of first finger electrodes that is closer to the end portion of the semiconductor substrate (1) than other first finger electrodes in the second direction (see figs. 9-1 and 9-2).
Regarding claim 19, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Miyamoto et al. discloses a width of the first pads (3) is different from a width of the second pads (7, see figs. 7-8), and a length of the first pads (3) is different from a length of the second pads (7, see figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 20, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Himaguchi et al. discloses the number of the pads is more than 6 (see figs. 9-1 and 9-2), and Miyamoto et al. teaches spacing the second pads (7) such that the number of the second pads is more than 6 and less than the number of the finger electrodes (2, see figs. 7-8)
Regarding claim 25, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein the wiring members having a diameter of 250-500m (see claim 11 above). Miyamoto et al. also shows the width of the second pads (7) is slightly greater than the width of the wiring member (5 or 8, see figs. 1-6). Therefore, the width of the second pads is less than 2.5mm.
Regarding claim 26, modified Himaguchi et al. a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein the wiring members having a diameter of 250-500 mm (see claim 11 above). Himaguchi et al. shows the length of the pads (or sections collecting electrode 41 or 42, figs. 9-1 and 9-2) is in the second direction is greater than a width of the finger electrodes (3), and about the same or slightly larger than the wiring members (2, see figs. 1-3, 9-1, 9-2, and 10). As such the length of the first pads is less than 30mm.
Regarding claim 27, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein the number of the first pads is more than the number of the second pads as Miyamoto et al. discloses the number of the first pads per busbar is 8, which is more than, and the number of the second pads per busbar is 7 (see claim 1 above, or fig. 3 of Miyamoto et al.). As such, the ratio (m/n) of the number of the second pads to the number of the first pads is 0.875 which satisfies 0.5 < m/n < 1.
Regarding claim 28, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Miyamoto et al. shows the pitch between the second pads (7) is greater than the pitch between the first pads (3, see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 29, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Himaguchi et al. teaches using the island-like manner configuration for both first and second electrodes (see claim 1 above). Therefore, the first pitch between the plurality of first finger electrodes of the first electrode is equal to a pitch between the plurality of second finger electrodes of the second electrode.
Regarding claim 30, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above.
Modified Himaguchi et al. does not disclose a number of the plurality of second finger electrodes of the second electrode is more than a number of the plurality of first finger electrodes of the first electrode.
Wakefield et al. discloses a pattern of the first electrode (or front electrical contact 16, fig. 5) and the second electrode (or rear electrical contact 20) having a number of second finger electrode (or fine lines of the rear electrical contact 20) is more than a number of the plurality of first finger electrodes (or fine lines of the front electrical contact 16, see fig. 5). Wakefield et al. teaches such pattern would allow the passage of radiation through the cell which would balance a desire for transparency of radiation (that decreases the efficiency due to heat generation) with a requirement for efficient charge collection along the rear of the cell (see abstract of Wakefield et al.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pattern of the second electrode (or back surface electrode 5) of modified Himaguchi et al. by having a number of the plurality of second finger electrodes of the second electrode (5) to be more than the number of the plurality of first finger electrodes (3) of the first electrode (or the front electrical contact) as taught by Wakefield et al., because Wakefield et al. teaches such pattern would balance a desire for transparency of radiation causing the decrease in efficiency with a requirement for efficient charge collection along the rear of the solar cell.
Regarding claim 34, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Himaguchi et al. shows the wiring members (2) corresponds one-to-one with the connection electrodes (or thermosetting 72, see fig. 10). Therefore, the number of the plurality of wiring members (2) bonded at each of the plurality of solar cells is equal to a number of the plurality of first connection electrodes (or thermosetting 72) disposed on each of the plurality of solar cells.
Claims 31 and 36-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Himaguchi et al. (US 2014/0251409) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Asberg et al. (US 2010/0108123).
Regarding claim 31, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 11 above, wherein Gray et al. discloses the wiring members (or tabs 22) connecting the solar cells to a metallic strip connector (24) having a bar shape of a rectangular cuboid (see fig. 2B).
Modified Himaguchi et al. does not disclose a reflector positioned between a first solar cell and a second solar cell of the plurality of solar cells and connected to the plurality of wiring members.
Asberg et al. discloses using metallic interconnector (3, figs. 1-6) made of copper, silver, aluminum ([0006], [0020], [0031-0032]) as a reflector positioned between a first solar cell and second solar cell (2) and connected to the plurality of solar cells (see figs. 1-6, [0006] and [0031-0032]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell module of modified Himaguchi et al. by incorporating a reflector (or metallic strip connector) positioned between a first solar cell and a second solar cell as taught by Asberg et al. connecting the plurality of wiring members as taught by Asberg et al.; because Gray et al. teaches using metallic connector (24) for connecting the plurality of the wiring members, and Asberg et al. teaches using the connector to be a reflector positioned between the solar cells would redirect incident light from areas not covered by solar cells towards the solar cells ([0006]) to cut cost by reducing the density of the active elements within the module without interference with the cell interconnection ([0004-0005]).
Regarding claim 36, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein Asberg et al. teaches the reflector (3) is connected to a front surface (see figs. 1-6) and Gray et al. shows the connector (24, which is used as a reflector, see claim 31 above) is connected to a front surface of the plurality of wiring members (or tabs 22, see fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 37, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein Asberg et al. discloses the reflector (3) has a bar shape of a rectangular cuboid and is formed of a metal material (see claim 31 above and figs. 4a-4b of Asberg et al.), and Gray et al. shows the connector (or metallic strip 24, which is used as a reflector, see claim 31 above) has a bar shape of rectangular cuboid and is formed of a metal material, e.g. copper, silver, or aluminum.
Regarding claim 38, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein the reflector (24) is formed of silver (Ag, see claim 31 above). Himaguchi et al. discloses the first and second electrode formed of silver (see [0119] of Himaguchi et al.). As such, the reflector (24) is formed of a same material (Ag) as the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 39, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein the reflector is formed of copper (see claim 31 above) and the wiring members are made of copper (see claim 1 above). As such, the reflector (3 taught by Asberg et al.) is formed of a same material as the plurality of wiring members (2 of Himaguchi et al.).
Regarding claim 40, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein Himaguchi et al. discloses each wiring member (2) of the plurality of wiring members is inclined at a predetermined angle in an interspace between the first and second solar cells (see figs. 1-2 of Himaguchi et al.), and therefore the reflector (3) is also inclined at the predetermined angle in the interspace between the first and second solar cells.
Regarding claim 41, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein Asberg et al. discloses a portion (5b) of the reflector (3) is positioned on the first solar cell (2b) by a predetermined distance from an end of the first solar cell (2b, figs. 4b) such that the reflector having the bending down to cover the top of the solar cell (see fig. 4b), and Gray et al. discloses each wiring member (22) extending from the top of the solar cell is bending downwardly at the end of the first solar cell (see fig. 1B) and the wiring members (22) are disposed beneath the connector (24, see fig. 2B. As such, reflector will cover the bending down of wiring members extending from the solar cell, because the reflector covers the top of the solar cell.
Regarding claim 42, modified Himaguchi et al. discloses a solar cell module as in claim 31 above, wherein Asberg et al. teaches the front surface of the reflector (3) has uneven portion (see figs. 5b and 5c).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11, 17, 19-20, 25-31, 34 and 36-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues the combination of Himaguchi, Miyamoto, Gray and Yamada does not teach the amended limitation as claimed. However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726