DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Upon further consideration, Examiner recognized that Holter is a registered trademark (US Serial Number: 72335218; US Registration Number: 924766), in view of this the current action is a Non-Final action.
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at www.uspto.gov/FindPatentAttorney.
With regards to the objection for “Claim 28 recites “[or the monitor)” the parentheticals appear to be a typographical error.” It is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With regards to the objection for “Claim 28 recites “control module, the displaying module, the evaluation module” the claim is missing the ‘and/or” or the “or”.” it is withdrawn.
With regards to the 112b rejection for “Claim 28 recites “configured to store the digital heart signals for later processing into holter record and for live displaying of the ECG on nearby cooperating units””, the rejection is withdrawn upon further consideration. While the memory is configured to store the digital heart rates, memory does not take the actions after the “for . . .” elements which are uses for the data (i.e. waiting or live streaming etc.) and those uses are intended uses. As the data on the memory is capable of being used for either of these, thus the memory fulfilled.
With regards to the 112b rejection for “Claim 28 recites “of the heart signals from the front end [or the monitor)”.” the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With regards to the 112b rejection for “Claim 28 recites “of the processed hearts signals in to an ECG curve.”” the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With regards to the 112b rejection for “Claim 30 contains the trademark/trade name “SD” card . . .” the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
To the extent Applicants arguments are not specific and are mere conclusory statement toward patentability or their device is an improvement. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
With regards to the discussion “We think that it is clear . . .”, the term “holter” does not have a set definition; “holter monitors” are “monitors” with a general functional outline but again there is no set definition. The term “holter monitor” applies to various actual “monitors” with varying numbers of leads and capabilities (wireless, nonwireless etc.). Therefore, the argument is not persuasive. As stated in the arguments, Applicants mean for it to be a system then the preamble should be amended to include an indication of this, one example if this could be a “Live Holter System . . .”. For the above reasons to the extent this may be an argument it is not persuasive.
With regards to the discussion of “concerning question . . .”, Examiner notes there are different ways of referencing elements. The device with electronics components encompassing ADC, processor etc. on a chest band/strap is sometimes referred to as “monitor”. Upon further consideration in view Applicants arguments it seems the monitor is the processor/controller. To clarify the rejection, it has been amended but maintained for the reasons discussed in the above paragraph.
With regards to the 102/103 rejections Applicants first make several statements/arguement they are “new”, without arguments as to how the references differentiate from the prior art recited (see “general allegation” paragraph above).
Next Applicants state only one “relevant document contains the feature “holter”” and “cellular transmission holter monitors”. This is not persuasive, it is not necessary to recite the term “holter” explicitly for the reference to be relevant. Holter does not have an exclusive definition and is used as a general functional term. As such this argument is not persuasive. For the above reasons Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Examiner reminds Applicant that for claim amendments in response to this action, Applicants are to follow 37 CFR § 1.121 which discusses the formalities of indicating added and deleted subject matter among other elements regarding amendments. Specifically, Examiner notes that ”[t]he text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“front-end unit” in claim 28 see [0017], [0191], [0182], [0191], [0194], Figs. 2-3 – analog signal processing filters or digitization and filters (using PG Pub for paragraph numbers).
“cooperating units” in claim 28 see [0025] “cooperating units preferably formed of watch, mobile phone with auxiliary functions, auxiliary device with mobile phone standard, control unit and in case that selected cooperating unit preferably is transmitting alarm to selectable remote unit preferably formed by server and/or suitable device at other participants preferably PC or mobile phone standard.”.
“control module” in claim 28 see [0008], [0011] wrist device, mobile phone, PC.
“displaying module” in claim 28 see [0012], [0014], [0016] – display on mobile phone, PC, laptop etc.
“a communication unit” in claim 28 see [0017], [0192], [0194].
“the evaluation module” in claim 28 see [0007], [0009], [0015]-[0016] –PC and/or server.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 contains the trademark/trade name “Holter”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a memory card and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 28 recites “a live holter” which is “comprising: a monitor of heart signals on a chest strap . . . a front end unit . . . a memory . . . a communication unit . . .” etc. causes confusion. It’s unclear what the scope of “live holter” is, is it a device or a system? Is the holter a system with the combination of the strap with electrodes and the monitor? Is it just meant to be claiming elements attached to the strap? Is it a system with the monitor etc. on the the strap and a separate device (i.e. the evaluating and displaying device; or, “cooperating units”). Holter does not provide a plain and ordinary meaning to clearly recite this is a system etc. As discussed in the arguments section, Applicants indicate it is meant to be a system, this should be clearly indicated in the preamble. For the above reasons the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of what is claimed and is indefinite. The claims which depend from this claim share this issue and are also rejected. Examiner would recommend an interview to clarify this.
Claim 28 recites “cooperating units formed by a control module or a displaying module” and “an evaluating and displaying device formed by at least one of a control module, a displaying module, an evaluation module, and further comprising at least one of the control module, the displaying module, the evaluation module” its unclear what the scope of these are. Are the “corresponding units” the same as the “evaluating and displaying device” or something else? Therefore, the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite. The claims which depend from this claim share this issue and are also rejected.
Claim 28 recites “at least one of the control module, the displaying module, the evaluation module for generating of a holter record and live displaying” What the scope of this is as its reciting “at least one” which means control module, the displaying module and/or the evaluation module. Therefore, in one interpretation it just requires a display module (as interpreted under the 112f); which if so, what is capable of performing the intended use of “generating”. Likewise in one interpretation the “control module” or “evaluation module” could be the element and then what is “displaying”. Therefore, the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite. The claims which depend from this claim share this issue and are also rejected.
Claim 30 recites “at least one of . . . a control module, a displaying module, an evaluation module, for processing into holter report and/or for displaying of the processed heart signals.” Claim 28 recites “at least one of a control module, a displaying module, an evaluation module” which causes confusion. It is unclear if the control module, displaying module and evaluation module are the same ones as recited earlier? Or are Additional elements? For the above reasons the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds and the claim is rejected.
Claim 32 recites “external electrodes located externally with regard to the monitor” however this is unclear. In view of Applicants arguments referring to fig. 2 (and related discussion), which seemingly recites the monitor as the equivalent of a processor, then all of the electrodes are “external” to the monitor. Examiner believes this would more accurately be external to the chest strap. This is unclear in view of the recitation of “with electrodes on the chest strap for sensing of an analog heart signals for an ECG”. Phrased differently it is unclear what the scope of “monitor” is based on this claim? and the scope of “external”. Therefore, the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite.
Claim 33 recites “live holter is expandable from holter for basic functions to holter for communication with control module and further to holter for communication with displaying module and further to holter for communication with evaluation module.” but it’s unclear what the scope of this claim is. It is unclear what the scope of “expandable” is in view of claim 28 from which this claim depends. Claim 28 recites a communication element which provides communication with external devices (aka the modules) and that seems to be the structural element which provides the expansion. Additionally, does this require all three (control module, displaying module, evaluation module) or do you just need communication with one of the three to be expanded (Examiner also notes that a single device such as a smartphone can include one or more of the recited modules based on Applicants specification see 112f) and thus have an ”expandable” live holter. Therefore, the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite. The claims which depend from this claim share this issue and are also rejected.
Claim 34 recites “wherein the monitor of heart signals is adapted for backup operation realized by doubling at least one of: . . .display for comparing of results visually and/or advantageously automatically by comparing unit” which causes confusion. Examiner is unsure what the scope of this element is. Is the doubling, the “display”? the “comparing unit”? both? Doubling the number of displays is understandable, but the elements added after the intended use “for” causes confusion as to what the scope of it is. For the above reason the claims do not clearly define the metes and bounds, and claim is indefinite.
Claims 28-37 rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050049515 to Misczynski et al. (hereinafter Misc) in view of US 20020198473 to Kumar et al. (hereinafter Kumar).
Regarding Claim 28, an interpretation of Misc discloses Live holter comprising:
a monitor of heart signals (140 Fig. 1, [0015]) on a chest strap (100 Fig. 1, [0015]-[0016]) with electrodes on the chest strap for sensing of an analog heart signals for an ECG (110, 120, 130 Fig. 1, , [0015]-[0017]; to the extent “for sensing. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use),
a front-end unit connected to the electrodes for converting the analog heart signals into digital heart signals (320 Fig. 3, [0020]-[0021] including “The analog-to-digital converter is also a common device”; to the extent “for. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use),
a memory configured to store the digital heart signals for later processing into holter record ([0022] including “Raw digitized ECG data can also be stored in the SPU 140 and downloaded for further processing at a later time”; to the extent “for later processing . . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use. Examiner notes that “memory” stores data, what that data being stored is going to be “used” for is an intended use at least as recited here currently) and for live displaying of the ECG on nearby cooperating units formed by a control module or a displaying module placed within reach of monitored person ([0022]-[0023] including “The remote unit 360 may be a unit that is designed and dedicated to ECG processing or it may be a more generic device such as a PC, PDA or smart phone that is equipped with ECG acquisition and analysis software with which the cardiac data can be processed.”; to the extent “for live displaying. . .” is/are an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use),
a communication unit for transmission of the heart signals from the front end [or the monitor) to (340 Fig. 3, [0022] including “This transmission may be through wire 330, 350 or wireless 340 means. The transmission standard is not a limitation in that, for example, Bluetooth or Wi-Fi are both viable options.”; to the extent “for . . .” is/are an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use) an evaluating and displaying device formed by at least one of a control module, a displaying module, an evaluation module ([0022]-[0023] including “The remote unit 360 may be a unit that is designed and dedicated to ECG processing or it may be a more generic device such as a PC, PDA or smart phone that is equipped with ECG acquisition and analysis software with which the cardiac data can be processed.”), and further comprising
at least one of the control module, the displaying module, the evaluation module configured to generate a holter record ([0022]-[0023] including “The remote unit 360 may be a unit that is designed and dedicated to ECG processing or it may be a more generic device such as a PC, PDA or smart phone that is equipped with ECG acquisition and analysis software with which the cardiac data can be processed.”).
Misc may not explicitly disclose live displaying of the ECG curve locally in place of a monitored person and remotely at a surveillance center.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Kumar live displaying of the digital hearts signals processed in to an ECG curve locally in place of a monitored person and remotely at a surveillance center ([0072], [0075] including “The data may be displayed graphically on the display module 116.”, [0076] including “The data may also be simultaneously streamed to multiple remote providers over the WAN so that the remote providers can view the data in real time.”, [0077] including “The real time streaming of ECG, . . . wave-forms”, [0078] including “By receiving data from the patient-side device, a provider is able to monitor the patient's physiology for . . . diagnosing the patient, providing treatment in real-time to the patient, etc. . . . Such situations may occur, for example, when a patient or provider is in or on an airplane or ship, or when the patient or provider is located in a different part of the world.”, [0079], [0213]-[0214], Fig. 27 see also [0010], [0017], [0213], [0216]; local computing device displays real time and remote display in real time on provider side)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing and transmission of data to external device for additional processing as recited by Misc to include the live displaying of the ECG waveforms as recited by Kumar because it a healthcare provider is then able to monitor the user and provide treatment in real-time to the patient ([0078]).
Regarding Claim 31, an interpretation of Misc further discloses wherein the monitor of heart signals is placed on the chest strap ([0016]; to the extent “is placed on. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28, 31-33, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150005609 to Evans et al. (hereinafter Evans) in view of US 20140066798 to Albert (hereinafter Albert). Albert in [0002] “U.S. patent application Ser. No. 12/796,188 . . . each of which is herein incorporated by reference in its entirety.” which published as US 20110301435 to Albert et al. (hereinafter Satchwell).
Regarding Claim 28, an interpretation of Evans discloses a Live holter comprising:
a monitor of heart signals on a chest ([0026] including “ECG system 100 comprises a base unit 102 and two or more electrode units”, [0047], Figs. 4a-b see also [0085]; To the extent “on . . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use) with electrodes on the chest ([0026]-[0027], Figs. 4a-b see also [0085]; discloses electrodes integrated into chest straps. to the extent “on . . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use) for sensing of an analog heart signals for an ECG ([0026]-[0027], [0046] including “Each electrode unit 104 generates a corresponding analog signal 502”, Figs. 4a-b see also [0085]; to the extent “for sensing. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use),
a front-end unit connected to the electrodes for converting the analog heart signals into digital signals ([0029]-[0030] including “analog to digital converters”, [0045]-[0046], [0048], Fig. 4A, 5A-B; to the extent “for. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use),
a memory for storing the digital heart signals for later processing into holter record ([0029]-[0030] including “Data storage 116 may comprise any suitable memory (e.g. solid state memory) that may be used to store digital ECG data.”, Figs. 4A see also [0085]; to the extent “for. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use) and for live displaying of the ECG on nearby cooperating units formed by a control module or a displaying module placed within reach of monitored person ([0032] including “communications hardware 130 may facilitate communication of ECG data (e.g. data stored in data storage 116, real time ECG waveforms 110 and/or the like) from base unit 102 to another device 126A (e.g. a computer or the like) via a network 126 or via a direct communication link (not shown) for further processing and/or display.”, Figs. 4A see also [0085]; to the extent “for. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use),
a communication unit ([0031]-[0032], Figs. 4A see also [0085]) for transmission of the heart signals from the monitor to an evaluating and displaying device formed by at least one of a control module, a displaying module, an evaluation module, ([0031]-[0032] including “communications hardware 130 may facilitate communication of ECG data (e.g. data stored in data storage 116, real time ECG waveforms 110 and/or the like) from base unit 102 to another device 126A (e.g. a computer or the like) via a network 126 or via a direct communication link (not shown) for further processing and/or display.”, Figs. 4A see also [0085]; to the extent “for . . .” is an intended use of the device the prior art is structurally capable of performing the intended use) and further comprising
at least one of the control module, the displaying module, the evaluation module configured to generate a holter record and live displaying of the digital hearts signals processed in to an ECG curve ([0028], [0031]-[0032] including “communications hardware 130 may facilitate communication of ECG data (e.g. data stored in data storage 116, real time ECG waveforms 110 and/or the like) from base unit 102 to another device 126A (e.g. a computer or the like) . . . for further processing and/or display.”, Figs. 3, 4A see also [0085]; signals are wirelessly transmitted from base unit to external device which performs analysis and displays the ECG waveform/curve. to the extent “for generating . . . and live displaying . . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
While Evans recites the ECG electrodes and base unit attached to the chest using straps or clips, Evans may not explicitly disclose the “chest strap” carrying the electrodes and monitor; live displaying of the ECG curve locally in place of monitored person and remotely at surveillance center.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Albert teaches the monitor of heart signals on a chest strap with electrodes on the chest strap (Albert [0077] see also [0134]; Satchwell [0043] including “the ECG device 10′ is usable as a chest strap device 68 like a fitness heart rate monitor. The chest strap 69 with integrated ECG electrode assembly 18 and acquisition electronics 11 “pod””); live displaying of the digital hearts signals processed in to an ECG curve locally in place of monitored person and remotely at surveillance center (Albert [0075] including “a graphical ECG representation 22 such as the example ECG shown in FIG. 4.”, [0076] including "In addition to the display and local processing of the SCG and ECG data, the smartphone 301 can transmit, in real-time, the SCG, ECG, heart rate and rhythm data via a secure web connection for viewing, storage and further analysis via a web browser interface (using the 2G/3G/4G or WiFi connectivity of, for example, the smartphone 301)", [0079] including "real-time distant display" see also [0134]; Satchwell [0043]) .
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing and transmission of data to external device for processing or display as recited by Evans to include a chest band with the monitor and electrodes as well as the processing and display of ECG waveforms in various locations as recited by Albert because having the chest band with the monitor and electrodes wirelessly to additional devices for processing and display, provides isolation to the sensors and convenience for an ambulatory user (Satchwell [0043]).
Regarding Claim 31, an interpretation of Evans may not explicitly disclose wherein the monitor of heart signals is placed on the chest strap.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Albert teaches wherein the monitor of heart signals is placed on the chest strap (Albert [0077] see also [0134]; Satchwell [0043] including “the ECG device 10′ is usable as a chest strap device 68 like a fitness heart rate monitor. The chest strap 69 with integrated ECG electrode assembly 18 and acquisition electronics 11 “pod””; to the extent “is placed on. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing and transmission of data to external device for processing or display as recited by Evans to include a chest band with the monitor and electrodes as well as the processing and display of ECG waveforms in various locations as recited by Albert because having the chest band with the monitor and electrodes wirelessly to additional devices provides isolation to the sensors and convenience for an ambulatory user (Satchwell [0043]).
Regarding Claim 32, an interpretation of Evans further discloses external electrodes for sensing up to twelve lead ECG for processing in the monitor of heart signals ([0004], [0027], [0034], Figs. 4A-b; to the extent “for. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
Regarding Claim 33, an interpretation of Evans further discloses wherein live holter is expandable from holter for basic functions to bolter for communication with control module and further to holter for communication with displaying module and further to holter for communication with evaluation module ([0031]-[0032] including “communications hardware 130 may facilitate communication of ECG data (e.g. data stored in data storage 116, real time ECG waveforms 110 and/or the like) from base unit 102 to another device 126A (e.g. a computer or the like) via a network 126 or via a direct communication link (not shown) for further processing and/or display.”, Figs. 4A-b, see also [0085]; The reference discloses communication with multiple external devices both local devices such as a smartphone or PDA and remote devices such as a cloud server. To the extent the elements of the claim are intended use the system/device the elements disclosed by the prior are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
Regarding Claim 34, an interpretation of Evans further discloses wherein the monitor of heart signals is adapted for backup operation realized by doubling at least one of: wireless connection ([0062]-[0063] see also [0134]; to the extent “for . . .” is reciting an intended use the structure recited by prior art device is structurally capable of performing the intended use).
Regarding Claim 36, an interpretation of Evans further discloses comprising at least one of: detector for measuring oxygen amount in blood ([0033]-[0035] see also [0085]) for storing or live displaying in at least one of PC, the control module, the displaying module, the evaluation module ([0031]-[0033] see also [0085]; to the extent “for. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Albert in further view of Gawlick (hereinafter Gawlick).
Regarding Claim 29, an interpretation of Evans further discloses characterized in that live holter is activating a warning signal if parameters of heart signals are abnormal ([0033] including “identify abnormal ECG rhythms; . . . provide . . . alarms and/or alerts”, [0067]; discloses issuing alarm for a heart attack or similar condition. to the extent “activating. . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
an interpretation of Evans may not explicitly disclose adjustable limits for heart parameters for alarm.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Gawlick teaches adjustable limits for heart parameters for alarm ([0021]-[0022], [0055], [0061], Figs. 10-11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing and transmission of data to external device for additional processing as recited by Evans to include adjustable alarm thresholds for heart parameters as recited by Gawlick because the adjustable thresholds provide customization of the thresholds for the particular user/need ([0001], [0005]-[0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Albert in further view of US 20090306485 to Bell et al. (hereinafter Bell).
Regarding Claim 30, an interpretation of Evans further discloses wherein the memory ([0030]-[0031] including “Data storage 116 may comprise any suitable memory (e.g. solid state memory) that may be used to store digital ECG data.”, Figs. 4A see also [0085]), is transferable for downloading the digital heart signals or the digital heart signals is downloaded wirelessly into at least one of PC, a control module, a displaying module, an evaluation module, for processing into holter report and/or for displaying of the processed heart signals ([0030]-[0031] including “Data storage 116 may comprise any suitable memory (e.g. solid state memory) that may be used to store digital ECG data.”, Figs. 4A see also [0085]; Reference discloses the wireless transmission of digitized heart signals to an external computing (with display) device for processing and/or display. To the extent “is downloaded wirelessly . . . for . . . and/or for . . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use).
While Evans recites various forms of memory it may not explicitly recite the memory is in the form of a memory card.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic devices), Bell teaches the memory is in the form of a solid state removable memory card ([0012], [0016] including “The choice of removable memory storage device is likely to be a solid-state flash type device such as SanDisk memory cards.”, [0038], Figs. 1-2). The memory card removable able to transfer the data ([0012], [0016] including “The choice of removable memory storage device is likely to be a solid-state flash type device such as SanDisk memory cards.”, [0038], Figs. 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing, memory including solid state memory and transmission of data to external device for additional processing as recited by Evans to include the solid state memory is in the form of a removable memory card as recited by Bell which is combining prior art elements (the known type of solid state memory from Evans combined with the specifics of a the SanDisk memory card as the solid state memory as recited by Bell) according to known methods to yield predictable results of solid state memory card providing storage for information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Albert in further view of US 20070142715 to Banet et al. (hereinafter Banet).
Regarding Claim 35, an interpretation of Evans may not explicitly disclose wherein the control module is placed on wrist on bracelet, advantageously removable.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Banet teaches wherein the control module is placed on wrist on bracelet, advantageously removable ([0002] including “Typically the chest strap additionally includes a short-range wireless transmitter that sends the heart rate to a body-worn component (e.g. a wrist watch)”, [0011], [0021]; To the extent “is placed . . .” is an intended use of the device the elements disclosed by the prior art are structurally capable of performing the intended use. Examiner notes, “placed on the wrist” without the intended use may represent a 101 issue for reciting a human organism and Examiner would recommend amending the claim to recite “configured to be placed” or something similar).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing, and transmission of data to external device for additional processing as recited by Evans to include the control module is on a wrist (i.e. a watch) as recited by Banet because it is merely combining prior art elements (a control module on an external device combined with the more specific external control device being a watch) according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans in view of Albert in further view of US 6454708 to Ferguson et al. (hereinafter Ferguson).
Regarding Claim 37, an interpretation of Evans may not explicitly disclose wherein the hearts signals are processed additionally in to at least one of: variability numerical value.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Ferguson teaches wherein the hearts signals are processed additionally in to at least one of: variability numerical value (Col 13:29-40, Col 15:61-Col 16:6 including “also perform other types of processing on the received ECG data such as heart rate variability analysis, atrial fibrillation detection, ST episode detection, QT analysis, and other flagging events . . . such processing techniques are believed to be known to those skilled in the art.” see also Col 18:44-Col 19:78, Col 29:1-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data gathering, processing, and transmission of data to external device for additional processing as recited by Evans to include the additional processing of determining a value for heart rate variability (HRV) which are known to those of skill in the art as recited by Ferguson because is its merely combining prior art elements (processing as recited by Evans combined with additional processing of HRV as recited Ferguson) according to known methods to yield predictable results of determining the additional heart parameter of HRV.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20090171227 see [0041] including “the system can be viewed as a remote real-time holter system”, Fig. 2
US 20150201856 see [0048], [0050], [0054]
US 20080027341 see recitation in NF dated 1/28/26
US 20090069724 see Fig. 3
US 9149229 see Figs. 9-10
US 20080287770 see Figs. 1-3
US 20140107511 see Fig. 15
/James Moss/Examiner, Art Unit 3792