DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response, filed 23 Feb. 2026 has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 15-27 are cancelled.
Claims 10, 12, and 14 are pending.
Claims 10, 12, and 14 are rejected.
Priority
The effective filing date of the claimed invention is 08 Oct. 2013.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10 recites “(c) fragmenting the isolated nucleic acid from the microbiome stool sample and performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the fragmented nucleic acid to sequence one or more sets of nucleic acid octamers selected from the group consisting of:….”. Therefore, claim 10 involves performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing on nucleic acid isolated from a stool sample. Given whole-genome shotgun sequencing sequences all nucleic acid fragments in the genome, by definition, the limitation “to sequence one or more sets of nucleic acid octamers” is interpreted to recite an intended result of performing whole-shotgun sequencing on the isolated nucleic acid octamers. See Kaiser et al. (Whole genome shotgun sequencing guided by bioinformatics pipelines- an optimized approach for an established technique, 2003, Journal of Biotechnology, pg. 121-133; previously cited) at FIG. 1, in which the entire genome is fragmented into pieces and then sequenced.
Claim 14 similarly recites “wherein said method sequences all of the sets i) to xvii) of the octamers in the microbiome stool sample”. As discussed above for claim 10, the limitation regarding which octamers are sequenced is interpreted as an intended result of performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the nucleic acid of the stool sample. It is inherent that all octamers present “in the microbiome stool sample” are necessarily sequenced in whole-genome shotgun sequencing (see Kaiser above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 recites “The method of claim 10, wherein said method sequences all of the sets i) to xvii) of the octamers in the microbiome stool sample”. As discussed above in claim interpretation, claim 14 does not serve to further limit the actual process of performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing, and instead only recites the intended result of the active step of “performing metagenomic whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the fragmented nucleic acid” in claim 10. MPEP 2111.04 I states a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Therefore, the limitation of claim 14 does not have patentable weight, and claim 14 fails to further limit the claimed subject matter of claim 10, from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection of claims 11, 15-27, and 26-27 under 35 U.S.C. 101 in the Office action mailed 22 Aug. 2025 has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of these claims received 23 Feb. 2026.
The rejection of claims 10-12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 101 in the Office action mailed 22 Aug. 2025 has been withdrawn in view of claim amendments received 23 Feb. 2026. As presently recited, the claims are directed to a method of sequencing and do not recite a judicial exception. The claims do not require detecting (e.g. by analyzing sequencing) the recited octamers, and instead only require performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the fragmented nucleic acid with the intended result of sequencing the one or more sets of octamers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 10-12, 14, 18-20, 22, and 26-27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baran (2012) in view of Morgan (2012) in the Office action mailed 22 Aug. 2025 has been withdrawn in view of claim amendments and cancellations received 23 Feb. 2026. However, after further consideration of the claims, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morgan (2012), as evidenced by Kaiser (2003). This rejection is newly recited and necessitated by claim amendment.
Cited references:
Morgan et al., Dysfunction of the intestinal microbiome in inflammatory bowel disease and treatment, 2012, Genome Biology, 13(R79), pg. 1-18; cited in IDS filed 17 July 2023; previously cited; and
Kaiser et al. (Whole genome shotgun sequencing guided by bioinformatics pipelines- an optimized approach for an established technique, 2003, Journal of Biotechnology, pg. 121-133; previously cited).
Morgan discloses a method for analyzing the gut microbiome in inflammatory bowel disease (Abstract), which comprises the following steps:
Morgan discloses (a) collecting fecal samples from subjects having inflammatory bowel disease, including ulcerative colitis (UC) or Crohn’s disease (CD) (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2).
Morgan discloses (b) extracting DNA from the fecal samples (i.e. isolating microbiome nucleic acid from the stool sample) (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2; pg. 7, col. 1, para. 4).
Morgan discloses (c) performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the extracted DNA (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2; pg. 15, col. 1, para. 1), which inherently sequences the entire microbiome of the fecal sample, including all octamers present. As discussed above in claim interpretation, since the claim only requires performing shotgun sequencing on the fragmented nucleic acid, the limitation “to sequence one or more sets of nucleic acid octamers” is interpreted as an intended result of performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the sample.
While Morgan does not explicitly disclose fragmenting the isolated nucleic acid from the microbiome stool sample, this is inherent in performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing, as evidenced by Kaiser; Kaiser overviews whole genome shotgun sequencing and discloses the shotgun procedure starts by fragmenting the genome into pieces (Abstract; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Morgan discloses the nucleic acid is DNA (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2; pg. 15, col. 1, para. 1).
Regarding claim 14¸ Morgan discloses performing whole-genome shotgun sequencing, as discussed above for claim 10, which inherently discloses sequencing all octamers present in the sample. The limitation of claim 14 is interpreted as an intended result of performing the whole-genome shotgun sequencing, which does not have patentable weight. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above for claim 10.
Therefore, Morgan as evidenced by Kaiser anticipates the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 Feb. 2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103, as applicable to the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 set forth above, have fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks that there is not disclosure of the recited set of octamers in the cited art, and therefore, there would not be a reasonable expectation of achieving success in sequencing the claimed sequences of these particular sets of octamers (Applicant’s remarks at pg. 7, para. 2-3).
This argument is not persuasive. As discussed above in claim interpretation, claim 10 only requires “performing metagenomic whole-genome shotgun sequencing on the fragmented nucleic acid to sequence one or more sets of nucleic acid octamers”, which simply recites an intended result of the positively recited step of performing metagenomic whole-genome shotgun sequencing. Performing whole genome shotgun sequencing on DNA extracted from a stool sample, as shown by Morgan, necessarily sequences all octamers present in the DNA sample.
While Applicant states there would not be a reasonable expectation of success in sequencing the claimed sequences because the specific set was not known in the art, knowing which exact sequences are present in a sample prior to sequencing is not a prerequisite for performing shotgun sequencing and sequencing those exact “unknown” sequences. In fact, the purpose of sequencing is to determine which sequence(s) are present in a given sample.
Applicant further remarks the amended claims are not anticipated by the prior art as the Examiner alluded to in the interview summary, because Baran does not disclose a stool sample (Applicant’s remarks at pg. 7, para. 5 to pg. 8, para. 2).
This argument is not persuasive because Baran is not relied upon in the above rejection. Morgan does anticipate the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above. It is noted that in the interview summary mailed 24 Nov. 2025, it was not stated that Baran would anticipate the claimed invention. It was stated that if the claims were amended to only require performing shotgun sequencing (rather than detecting specific octamers from the sequencing data), there would likely be a 102 rejection. Morgan anticipates the method as claimed.
Double Patenting
The provisional rejection of claims 11, 20, 22, and 26-27 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-11, 15-16, 19, 21, and 25-26 of copending Application No. 15/489,658 (reference application) in the Office action mailed 22 Aug. 2025 has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of these claims received 23 Feb. 2026.
Claims 10, 12 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-38 of copending Application No. 15/489,658 (reference application). Any newly recited portion is necessitated by claim amendment.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 10, reference claim 31, 32, and 33 disclose the method of obtaining a microbiome sample of a subject, isolating a microbiome of a stool sample of the sample, and using whole genome shotgun sequencing of total DNA isolated from the microbiome sample, which shows steps (a)-(c).
Regarding instant claim 12, reference claim 33 discloses the nucleic acid is DNA.
Regarding instant claim 14, reference claim 31 discloses these octamer sets.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 Feb. 2026 regarding Double Patenting have at pg. 8, para. 3-4 been fully considered but they are not persuasive because they do not present any arguments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685