DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 7, and 11-12 are pending (claim set as filed on 06/29/2026).
Priority
This application is a DIV of 14/434,963 (now abandoned), which is a 371 of PCT/FR2010/052670 filed on 12/10/2010, which has a foreign application to FR 09-58887 filed on 12/11/2009.
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 06/29/2026 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated herein for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality corrections and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, and/or maintaining if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s response to arguments section.
Briefly, the previous obviousness rejection over Berdel in view of Gruber has been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to delete the scope of ‘gingival fibroblast-derived product’. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103, Obviousness
Claims 1, 7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moore (Induction of collagenase-3 (MMP-13) in rheumatoid arthritis synovial fibroblasts, 2000 - cited in the IDS filed on 08/17/2020) in view of Gogly (US Patent no. 8,303,948 B2) and Gruber (WO 1993/018794 - cited in the IDS filed on 08/17/2020).
Moore discloses that “alterations of the levels of MMP expression, activation, and inhibition by tissue inhibitors of metalloproteinases (TIMPs) may contribute to the progression of numerous diseases” and “improper management of MMP expression and activation has been suggested to play major roles in a number of disease conditions such as osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, tumor invasion and metastasis, and Alzheimer’s disease” (see page 308: Introduction). Moore discloses that “MMPs can be inhibited by the TIMPs and α2-macroglobulin” (see page 308, left col.). Moore teaches “RA synovial fibroblasts were isolated from synovial membrane tissue excised from patients with clinical rheumatoid arthritis” where RA synovial fibroblast showed expression for TIMPs (see page 313: Section 3.4., & page 317, left col.).
However, Moore does not teach: injecting gingival fibroblast whole cells at an injection site characterized by a cytokine-induced inflammatory environment.
Regarding the gingival fibroblast whole cells, Gogly teaches “Gingival fibroblasts synthesize collagens (e.g. types I, III, V, VI, VII, XII) elastic fibers (oxytalan, elaunin and elastin), proteoglycans and glycosaminoglycans (e.g. decorin, biglycan), glycoproteins ( e.g. fibronectin, tenascin). Simultaneously, gingival fibroblasts synthesize enzymes that are able to degrade the macromolecular compounds (matrix metalloproteinases; MMPs), but also enzymes inhibiting active forms of MMPs (Inhibitors of metalloproteinases; TIMPs). Gingival fibroblasts are thus important actors of extracellular matrix remodeling” (see bridging col. 2-3, lines 61-3). Gogly further teaches that “gingival fibroblasts are easily sampled and cultured. Besides, gingival fibroblasts possess a high expansion rate” (see col. 3, lines 33-35). Gogly teaches “the gingival fibroblasts can be directly deposited in the wound as a liquid or gel cell suspension, as a spray, or as a cell culture on a gel or solid medium” (see col. 4, lines 22-25) and “the quantities of gingival fibroblasts to be applied to the wounds can be easily determined by the person skilled in the art depending on the mode of application” (see col. 4, lines 54-56). Gogly teaches the gingival fibroblast are preferably autologous but can also be allogeneic (see col. 3, lines 33-43). Gogly teaches “depending on environmental conditions, gingival fibroblasts are capable to modulate their phenotype, and to respond by proliferating, migrating, synthesizing matrix components or matrix-related enzymes” (see col. 2, lines 57-60, & col. 4, lines 43-47).
Regarding the administration site, Gruber discloses “other inhibitory polypeptides of proteinases are useful in treatment and prevention of arthritis and other inflammatory conditions, including rheumatoid arthritis and osteoarthritis. For example, joint destruction in rheumatoid arthritis and other inflammatory joint diseases is reported to be mediated by various proteases. One group of degradative enzymes that is particularly important is the metalloproteinase family (including stromelysin and collagenase). The putative role of metalloproteinases in joint destruction is supported by the observation that they are produced by synovium in arthritis and are present in synovial fluid. Normally, the destructive action of metalloproteinases is thought to be balanced in vivo by a family of naturally-occurring inhibitors, known as tissue inhibitors of metalloproteinases (TIMP), that reportedly bind to metalloproteinases and prevent them from degrading their substrate. The ratio of metalloproteinase and TIMP gene expression is thought to be a critical determinant of the net tissue destruction in arthritis. Although the TIMP-1 gene is expressed by the rheumatoid arthritis synovium, the amount of protein produced appears to be insufficient to block extracellular matrix destruction” (see pages 8-9, lines 18-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to inject a therapeutically effective amount of gingival fibroblast whole cells at an injection site characterized by a cytokine-induced inflammatory environment including chondrocytes, osteoblasts and/or myocytes following the guidance of the cited references. The ordinary artisan would have been first motivated to use gingival fibroblast whole cells is because Gogly suggests that “gingival fibroblasts are easily sampled and cultured. Besides, gingival fibroblasts possess a high expansion rate” (see col. 3, lines 33-35) and whole cells can be administered or deposited at a wound site. Moreover, the ordinary artisan would have been further motivated to inject the fibroblast at, for example, an arthritic synovial joint (i.e., the site of orthopedic defect) because Gruber teaches that, in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) patients, cytokine-inflammatory processes involving degradative enzymes for ECM repair is primarily observed in the joints. Gruber discloses that there is an imbalance of metalloproteinases (MMPs) and naturally-occurring inhibitors, known as tissue inhibitors of metalloproteinases (TIMP) thereby causing the disorder. In other words, the nexus is being that Gogly discloses gingival fibroblast produce TIMP which can be used to inhibit MMPs thereby, restoring balance and treating rheumatoid arthritis. Thus, it would have been reasonably apparent to ordinary artisan to inject gingival fibroblast in the affected joint site of RA patient to restore homeostasis between MMPs and TIMPs to treat the condition.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and deemed insufficient to overcome the prior arts of record.
In response to Applicant’s argument (addressing pages 7-8 of the remarks) that “the foregoing ‘observations’ extracted from Moore have nothing to do with each other, misapprehend the disclosure of Moore, and absent a great deal of hindsight gleaned from Applicant’s disclosure have no relevance to the claimed invention”: this argument is not persuasive because the guidelines for making the determination of obviousness requires “Ascertaining the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art requires interpreting the claim language, see MPEP § 2111, and considering both the invention and the prior art as a whole” (MPEP 2141(II)(B)). In a basic sense, in drafting the proposed obviousness rejection of the cited combination of references, it is a storytelling approach to explain how an ordinary artisan would have arrived the claimed invention following the guidance of the cited references. “In many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle … Office personnel may also take into account the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ” (MPEP 2141(I)(C)). Here, the Moore reference was first laid out to explain the background information or the problem of how an imbalance between MMPs and TIMPs results in a number of disease conditions such as osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis. Moore then discloses the concept of how fibroblasts can be isolated and also have the capability of being able to produce TIMPs. In other words, this is the initial inference that fibroblast cells may have therapeutic application to restore the balance between MMPs and TIMPs to remediate the disease or disorder. Now turning to the secondary or teaching reference by Gogly which provides a confirmation that fibroblast cells are able to synthesize enzymes “inhibiting active forms of MMPs (Inhibitors of metalloproteinases; TIMPs). Gingival fibroblasts are thus important actors of extracellular matrix remodeling” (see Gogly at bridging col. 2-3, lines 61-3). This is a teaching-suggestion-motivation (TSM) to use gingival fibroblast whole cells is because Gogly suggests that “gingival fibroblasts are easily sampled and cultured. Besides, gingival fibroblasts possess a high expansion rate” (see col. 3, lines 33-35) and whole cells can be administered or deposited at a wound site. Thus, an ordinary artisan is starting to put one and one together from a fair reading of the cited references instead of Applicant’s alleged hindsight reasoning. MPEP 2145(X)(A) states that “Applicants may argue that the Examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based on improper hindsight reasoning. However, any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from Applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper”.
In response to Applicant’s argument (addressing page 8, 1st-2nd ¶, of the remarks) that “Applicant does not understand why the Office action appears to contend that Moore suggests that gingival fibroblasts not treated with PMA, but instead introduced into an inflammatory environment will be induced to express TMP proteins that inhibit the degradation of MMPs”: this argument is not persuasive because note that the prior Office action is not suggesting the use of Moore’s RA synovial fibroblasts but rather to employ Gogly’s gingival fibroblasts which has been asserted to synthesize enzymes inhibiting active forms of MMPs (Inhibitors of metalloproteinases; TIMPs). In other words, the obviousness combination is not proposing using a PMA-induced RA synovial fibroblast (as taught by Moore) but instead employing Gogly’s gingival fibroblast because there was a strong reason to do so where Gogly teaches “Gingival fibroblasts are thus important actors of extracellular matrix remodeling”, “gingival fibroblasts are easily sampled and cultured. Besides, gingival fibroblasts possess a high expansion rate”, and “the gingival fibroblasts can be directly deposited in the wound” (see prior Office action on page 9). The disclosure of Gogly is called a secondary reference or a teaching reference that was relied upon to demonstrate a teaching-suggestion-motivation (TSM) reason for combining references where the MPEP 2144(II) states that “the strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination”.
In response to Applicant’s argument (addressing page 8, last ¶, of the remarks) that “Moore teaches nothing of relevance to the claimed invention, with or without Gogly or Gruber, which add nothing of relevance to Moore”: this argument is not persuasive because first note that Moore and Gruber were references that Applicant provided in the information disclosure statement so it should be somewhat relevant to the claimed invention. Nonetheless, the Moore reference is directed to pathological conditions of osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis which are the target patient populations or conditions of the claimed invention. Additionally, both the claimed invention and Moore reference are directed to fibroblast’s TIMPs and its counteraction to MMPs.
In response to Applicant’s argument (addressing page 9, 1st ¶, of the remarks) that Gogly is directed to gingival fibroblasts for skin wounds and not orthopedic lesion: this argument is not persuasive for the reasons stated above. The disclosure of Gogly is called a secondary reference or a teaching reference that was relied upon to demonstrate a teaching-suggestion-motivation (TSM) reason for combining references where Gogly provides a myriad of reasons to employ gingival fibroblast cells. The MPEP 2123 states “the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain … A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments”. In other words, the obviousness combination is a proposal to employ gingival fibroblast cells as a source material or active ingredient and moreover, it is not limited to a preferred embodiment of skin wounds.
In response to Applicant’s argument (addressing page 9, 2nd ¶, of the remarks) that “Gruber does not teach or suggest that injecting gingival fibroblast cells into an inflammatory environment will enhance TIMP expression”: this argument is not persuasive because the Gruber reference is reinforcing the notion that there is an imbalance of metalloproteinases (MMPs) and naturally-occurring inhibitors, known as tissue inhibitors of metalloproteinases (TIMP) thereby causing the disorder. In other words, the nexus is being that Gogly discloses gingival fibroblast produce TIMP which can be used to inhibit MMPs thereby, restoring balance and treating rheumatoid arthritis. Thus, it would have been reasonably apparent to ordinary artisan to inject gingival fibroblast in the affected joint site of RA patient to restore homeostasis between MMPs and TIMPs to treat the condition.
Conclusion
No claims were allowed.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/NGHI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653