DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Reopened
In view of the appeal brief filed on 8/24/26, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 10 -16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicants amended limitation of the solid particles in the non-settling slurry are sufficiently small to remain in suspension is new matter. Applicants’ original specification does not include any discussion or mention of particle size or any mention of being “sufficiently small”.
The claim 16 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicants amended limitation of the mixture is a non-settling slurry is new matter. Applicants’ original specification does not include the term “non-settling slurry”, specifically applicant is bringing a term they defined specifically in their affidavit of 7/24/20 item “4” which imparts the term with specific meaning not supported by the original specification including the definition of “particles being sufficiently small” as the original specification included no discussion or mention of particle size or any mention of being “sufficiently small”. It is further noted that applicant cites “The difference between Settling and Non-Settling Slurries” as evidence, but this reference cannot be used to show knowledge at the time of invention as it is published 6 years after applicants’ filing priority.
Claims 2-6 and 10-15 are rejected for dependence from rejected claim 1.
Claims 1-6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “sufficiently small” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficiently small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One skilled in the art would not be appraised of what size is required by the claim. The specification includes no description or explanation of how or what is about the size that keeps the particles or liquid from sinking as and prevents a separation between the liquid and solid particles. So not just "sufficiently small" being an issue but how that "sufficiently small" feature provides the slurry property they're claiming.
Claims 2-6 and 10-15 are rejected for dependence from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) in view of Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21.
Regarding claim 1, Kolowich teaches a container (element 10) comprising an inner container wall (element 16) and an outer container wall (element 18) wherein an intermediate space (element 20) is between the container walls, wherein the intermediate space is filled with a mixture (Para. 0080) that comprises a phase-change material and graphite powder (para. 0080), wherein the graphite powder comprises a plurality of solid particles of graphite (inherent in the “graphite powder as a powder is inherently a solid and is made of graphite).
Kolowich does not expressly teach the mixture is a non-settling slurry at a temperature at which the phase-change material is liquid. It would be inherent feature that the mixture would be a non-settling slurry at a temperature at which the phase change material is liquid as the graphite powder would have a different melting point, which is a known inherent characteristic of the powder, from the phase change material which is taught in Para. 0052 thus creating slurry.
Kolowich does not expressly teach that the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite power and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container because the solid particles in the non-settling slurry are sufficiently small to remain in suspension, thus is a non-settling slurry. Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21 applicant admits that:
3. One skilled in the art at the time of the invention would have known that phrase "a mixture comprising a phase-change material and a graphite powder, wherein the mixture is a slurry at a temperature at which the phase-change material is liquid and the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite power and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container" refers to what is known in the art as a "non-settling slurry."
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate this known technology into the mixture of Kolowich, the motivation to do so would be to Kolowich’s teachings and goals of maintaining the powder dispersed in the phase change material (para. 0080,) and it also teaches this is to be reusable (para. 0009), the size of the particles having a size that does not separate out would be inherent feature of the non-separation as would all physical aspects that would lead to such non-separation (size, density, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Kolowich teaches the phase-change material comprises a fatty acid (Para. 0052).
Regarding claim 4, Kolowich teaches the phase-change temperature of the phase-change material lies in a range of about 60 degrees Celsius to about 70 degrees Celsius (Para. 0052 teaches an overlap with this range).
Regarding claim 6, Kolowich teaches the inner container wall has a thermal conductivity of at least 10 W/mK (Para. 0050 teaches it having a thermal conductivity of 237 W/mK).
Regarding claim 10, Kolowich teaches the container is a beverage container (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kolowich teaches the phase-change material consists of stearic acid (para. 0052).
Regarding claim 13, Kolowich teaches the inner container wall has a thermal conductivity of at least 20 W/mK (Para. 0050 teaches it having a thermal conductivity of 237 W/mK).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) in view of Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21, and in further view of Bernardi (U.S. Patent 4,151,923).
Regarding claim 2, Kolowich does not expressly teach the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:1 to 10:10. Bernardi teaches the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:1 to 10:10 (example 2, Col. 6, ln 14-27; useful container volume 82.5 cu. cm. and mixture volume 53 cu. cm.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the ratio of container volume to mixture volume taught by Bernardi, the motivation to do so would be to have a predetermined cooling effect on an amount of drinking fluid (Col. 3, ln 6-10).
Regarding claim 11, Kolowich does not expressly teach the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:5 to 10:7. Bernardi teaches the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:5 to 10:7 (example 2, Col. 6, ln 14-27; useful container volume 82.5 cu. cm. and mixture volume 53 cu. cm.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the ratio of container volume to mixture volume taught by Bernardi, the motivation to do so would be to have a predetermined cooling effect on an amount of drinking fluid (Col. 3, ln 6-10).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) in view of Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21, and in further view of Sedlbauer et al. (U.S. PGPub 2010/0108694).
Regarding claim 5, Kolowich does not expressly teach a structure is present in the intermediate space which contributes to mechanical stability, wherein the structure can be a constituent of the inner and/or the outer container wall. Sedlbauer teaches a structure (element 7) is present in the intermediate space which contributes to mechanical stability (abstract). Examiner notes that the claim language “wherein the structure can be a constituent of the inner and/or the outer container wall” is not a positive limitation as the language “can be” makes it optional and not required. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use support structure of Sedlbauer, the motivation to do so would be to support the structure (Para. 0008).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) in view of Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21, and in further view of Kennedy et al. (U.S. Patent 3,120,570) and Casey (U.S. patent 8,950,154).
Regarding claim 14, Kolowich does not expressly teach the outer container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.01 m2K/W. Kennedy teaches the container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.01 m2K/W (as it teaches a container wall filled with 1/8" of foaming plastic, which is greater than applicants taught "normal plastic" of 2mm; further by calculation (it is known that polyurethane has a thermal conductivity of .02 see Casey-U.S. Patent 8,950,154) thus a thermal resistance of 0.155 m2K/W It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the insulating container elements of Kennedy, the motivation to do so would be insulate the wall form the surrounding environment (Col. 3, ln 29-31).
Regarding claim 15, Kolowich does not expressly teach the outer container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.1 m2K/W. Kennedy teaches the container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.1 m2K/W (as it teaches a container wall filled with 1/8" of foaming plastic, which is greater than applicants taught "normal plastic" of 2mm; further by calculation (it is known that polyurethane has a thermal conductivity of .02 see Casey-U.S. Patent 8,950,154) thus a thermal resistance of 0.155 m2K/W It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the insulating container elements of Kennedy, the motivation to do so would be insulate the wall form the surrounding environment (Col. 3, ln 29-31).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) and Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0274928).
Regarding claim 1, Kolowich teaches a container (element 10) comprising an inner container wall (element 16) and an outer container wall (element 18) wherein an intermediate space (element 20) is between the container walls, wherein the intermediate space is filled with a mixture (Para. 0080) that comprises a phase-change material and graphite powder (para. 0080), wherein the graphite powder comprises a plurality of solid particles of graphite (inherent in the “graphite powder as a powder is inherently a solid and is made of graphite).
Kolowich does not expressly teach the mixture is a non-settling slurry at a temperature at which the phase-change material is liquid and the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite powder and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container because the solid particles in the non-settling slurry are sufficiently small to remain in suspension. It would be obvious that the mixture taught would be a non-settling slurry at a temperature at which the phase change material is liquid as the graphite powder would have a different melting point, which is a known inherent characteristic of the powder, from the phase change material which is taught in Para. 0052 thus creating slurry.
Mehta teaches a phase change material that includes a graphite powder (Para. 0040), and that this mixture does not separate from the graphite powder and collect (Para. 0041-0042). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the pcm mixture of Kolowich could be modified use the teachings of Mehta such that the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite powder and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container, the motivation to do so would be to prevent non-uniform heating in phase change material (para. 0041). Note the size of the particles having a size that does not separate out would be inherent feature of the non-separation as would all physical aspects that would lead to such non-separation (size, density, etc.) teaching of the prior art, as Mehta results in no settling that with the binding agent the particles must be of a size that doesn’t separate as claimed.
Further the claimed mixture would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to determine the optimum mixture claimed in claim 1 for the claimed effect of non-settling slurry (note this is based upon the broadest reasonable interpretation from the specification, but is not limited to by the affidavit as it is not part of the specification) consistency that does not separate, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II) and Mehta discusses such size in para. 0034 and0 037.
Examiner notes that the rejection based on Kolowich and Mehta is done for the purposes of compact prosecution and does not counter the 103 rejection based solely on Kolowich but is done on the expectation of arguments against the rejection (with no expectations of the detail or form of such arguments), and in the interest of compact prosecution provide alternative rejections in a timely manner to applicant.
Regarding claim 3, Kolowich teaches the phase-change material comprises a fatty acid (Para. 0052).
Regarding claim 4, Kolowich teaches the phase-change temperature of the phase-change material lies in a range of about 60 degrees Celsius to about 70 degrees Celsius (Para. 0052 teaches an overlap with this range).
Regarding claim 6, Kolowich teaches the inner container wall has a thermal conductivity of at least 10 W/mK (Para. 0050 teaches it having a thermal conductivity of 237 W/mK).
Regarding claim 10, Kolowich teaches the container is a beverage container (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kolowich teaches the phase-change material consists of stearic acid (para. 0052).
Regarding claim 13, Kolowich teaches the inner container wall has a thermal conductivity of at least 20 W/mK (Para. 0050 teaches it having a thermal conductivity of 237 W/mK).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) and Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0274928), and in further view of Bernardi (U.S. Patent 4,151,923).
Regarding claim 2, Kolowich does not expressly teach the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:1 to 10:10. Bernardi teaches the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:1 to 10:10 (example 2, Col. 6, ln 14-27; useful container volume 82.5 cu. cm. and mixture volume 53 cu. cm.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the ratio of container volume to mixture volume taught by Bernardi, the motivation to do so would be to have a predetermined cooling effect on an amount of drinking fluid (Col. 3, ln 6-10).
Regarding claim 11, Kolowich does not expressly teach the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:5 to 10:7. Bernardi teaches the ratio of a useful container volume to mixture volume amounts to 10:5 to 10:7 (example 2, Col. 6, ln 14-27; useful container volume 82.5 cu. cm. and mixture volume 53 cu. cm.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the ratio of container volume to mixture volume taught by Bernardi, the motivation to do so would be to have a predetermined cooling effect on an amount of drinking fluid (Col. 3, ln 6-10).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) and Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0274928), and in further view of Sedlbauer et al. (U.S. PGPub 2010/0108694).
Regarding claim 5, Kolowich does not expressly teach a structure is present in the intermediate space which contributes to mechanical stability, wherein the structure can be a constituent of the inner and/or the outer container wall. Sedlbauer teaches a structure (element 7) is present in the intermediate space which contributes to mechanical stability (abstract). Examiner notes that the claim language “wherein the structure can be a constituent of the inner and/or the outer container wall” is not a positive limitation as the language “can be” makes it optional and not required. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use support structure of Sedlbauer, the motivation to do so would be to support the structure (Para. 0008).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) and Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0274928), and in further view of Kennedy et al. (U.S. Patent 3,120,570) and Casey (U.S. patent 8,950,154).
Regarding claim 14, Kolowich does not expressly teach the outer container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.01 m2K/W. Kennedy teaches the container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.01 m2K/W (as it teaches a container wall filled with 1/8" of foaming plastic, which is greater than applicants taught "normal plastic" of 2mm; further by calculation (it is known that polyurethane has a thermal conductivity of .02 see Casey-U.S. Patent 8,950,154) thus a thermal resistance of 0.155 m2K/W It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the insulating container elements of Kennedy, the motivation to do so would be insulate the wall form the surrounding environment (Col. 3, ln 29-31).
Regarding claim 15, Kolowich does not expressly teach the outer container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.1 m2K/W. Kennedy teaches the container wall has a thermal resistance of at least 0.1 m2K/W (as it teaches a container wall filled with 1/8" of foaming plastic, which is greater than applicants taught "normal plastic" of 2mm; further by calculation (it is known that polyurethane has a thermal conductivity of .02 see Casey-U.S. Patent 8,950,154) thus a thermal resistance of 0.155 m2K/W It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the container of Kolowich could be modified to use the insulating container elements of Kennedy, the motivation to do so would be insulate the wall form the surrounding environment (Col. 3, ln 29-31).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) in view of Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21, and Bacher et al. (U.S. PGPub 2005/0258394).
Regarding claim 16, Kolowich teaches a container (element 10) comprising an inner container wall (element 16) and an outer container wall (element 18) wherein an intermediate space (element 20) is between the container walls, wherein the intermediate space is filled with a mixture (Para. 0080) that comprises a phase-change material and graphite powder (para. 0080).
Kolowich does not expressly teach the mixture is a non-settling slurry at a temperature at which the phase-change material is liquid. It would be inherent feature that the mixture would be a slurry at a temperature at which the phase change material is liquid as the graphite powder would have a different melting point, which is a known inherent characteristic of the powder, from the phase change material which is taught in Para. 0052 thus creating a slurry.
Kolowich does not expressly teach that the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite power and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container, thus is a non-settling slurry. Applicant affidavit by Klaus Sedlbauer of submitted 7/24/21 applicant admits that:
3. One skilled in the art at the time of the invention would have known that phrase "a mixture comprising a phase-change material and a graphite powder, wherein the mixture is a slurry at a temperature at which the phase-change material is liquid and the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite power and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container" refers to what is known in the art as a "non-settling slurry."
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate this known technology into the mixture of Kolowich, the motivation to do so would be to Kolowich’s teachings and goals of maintaining the powder dispersed in the phase change material (para. 0080,) and it also teaches this is to be reusable (para. 0009).
Kolowich does not expressly teach wherein the mixture is moldable at a temperature at which the phase- change material is solidified. Bacher teaches heat storage material including graphite is moldable (para. 0013). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to make the phase change material of Kolowich to include this capability taught by Bacher, the motivation is to shape the material as needed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolowich et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0221013) and Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0274928), and Bacher et al. (U.S. PGPub 2005/0258394.
Regarding claim 16, Kolowich teaches a container (element 10) comprising an inner container wall (element 16) and an outer container wall (element 18) wherein an intermediate space (element 20) is between the container walls, wherein the intermediate space is filled with a mixture (Para. 0080) that comprises a phase-change material and graphite powder (para. 0080),
Kolowich does not expressly teach the mixture is a non-settling slurry at a temperature at which the phase-change material is liquid and the liquid phase change material does not separate from the graphite powder and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container. It would be obvious that the mixture taught would be a slurry at a temperature at which the phase change material is liquid as the graphite powder would have a different melting point, which is a known inherent characteristic of the powder, from the phase change material which is taught in Para. 0052 thus creating slurry.
Mehta teaches a phase change material that includes a graphite powder (Para. 0040), and that this mixture does not separate from the graphite powder and collect (Para. 0041-0042). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the pcm mixture of Kolowich could be modified use the teachings of Mehta such that the liquid phase change material does not separate, thus being a non-settling slurry (note this is based upon the broadest reasonable interpretation from the specification, but is not limited to by the affidavit as it is not part of the specification), from the graphite powder and collect due to the force of gravity in a bottom region of the container, the motivation to do so would be to prevent non-uniform heating in phase change material (para. 0041).
Further the claimed mixture would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to determine the optimum mixture claimed in claim 1 for the claimed effect of a non-settling slurry consistency that does not separate, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II).
Examiner notes that the rejection based on Kolowich and Mehta is done for the purposes of compact prosecution and does not counter the 103 rejection based solely on Kolowich but is done on the expectation of arguments against the rejection (with no expectations of the detail or form of such arguments), and in the interest of compact prosecution provide alternative rejections in a timely manner to applicant.
Kolowich does not expressly teach wherein the mixture is moldable at a temperature at which the phase- change material is solidified. Bacher teaches heat storage material including graphite is moldable (para. 0013). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to make the phase change material of Kolowich to include this capability taught by Bacher, the motivation is to shape the material as needed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specific arguments are addressed below.
In response to applicants argument regarding the 112(A) of “sufficiently small” not meeting the written description requirement that first the written description may be supported by the specification through implicit and/or inherent disclosure. This is unsupported applicant does not cite anything here or provide any evidence that such occurs. Applicants’ arguemtn regarding the term “non-settling slurry” supporting this is moot as this term is now rejected also. It is further noted that applicant cites “The difference between Settling and Non-Settling Slurries” as evidence, but this reference cannot be used to show knowledge at the time of invention as it is published 6 years after applicants’ filing priority..
With regards to applicants’ argument of the 112(b) of the term “sufficiently small” the examiner respectfully disagrees as MPEP 2173.05(b) “The claim is not indefinite if the specification provides examples or teachings that can be used to measure a degree even without a precise numerical measurement” applicant argues such is provided as the claim itself provides the test. The examiner notes the claim includes no test (applicant fails to cite whatever test they are refencing), further the term is not found anywhere in the specification and thus is not clearly described by example or teaching as required. Applicants affidavit was applied as it was intended for the term “non-settling slurry”, the affidavit provides no arguments for the term “sufficiently small” nor does the affidavit become part of the original specification.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Further applicants own statements about knowledge in the art , such as their affidavit may be used in a rejection of their claims. Firstly, this is not improper hindsight as it is stated by applicant to be known in the art (applicants’ own cited paragraph starts with “one skilled in the art at the time of the invention”, secondly this is not gleaned from the application but applicants’ statement during prosecution thus it is NOT improper hindsight. Applicant’s affidavit is not part of disclosure but evidence of record submitted by applicant. This was submitted as evidence of known knowledge at the time of filing (as stated by applicants’ own affidavit “one skilled in the art at the time of the invention”). Such an admission is not a matter of hindsight but an admission by applicant.
With regards to applicants argument of hindsight for Kolowich this argument is improper as it attributes a motivation requirement for the primary reference which is not necessary. Applicant may be trying to argue the combination but as the arguments are directed to Kolowich alone it is improper. Examiner further notes this argument fails due to In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, specifically Kolowich and not the combination, and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). This is also not relevant to the hindsight argument as the motivation is not based on it alone.
Examiner does note that applicants’ arguments of the goal does not counter the express statement of Kolowich “a plurality of metal or graphite particles dispersed in the phase change material”. A single mention is all that is needed for support of a finding. Examiner reiterates though that these arguments are against the primary reference and do not address the combination as required.
It is noted applicants arguemtn that the 103 using Kolowich and the Sedbauer declaration fail to teach all the features is improper as it merely argues motivation again and does not specifically point out what the combination does not teach.
Applicants’ argument against the combination with Mehta appears to incorrectly claim it is an issue of hindsight reasoning and is an argument of bodily incorporation. In response to applicant's argument the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The rejection with Mehta and the binding agent is not contrary to applicants claims as the claims are open ended “comprising” thus allowing for additional materials. The use of a binding agent to achieve the claimed result of a non-settling slurry (i.e. smaller particles not sinking) is still an applicable rejection of the claim as written.
It is further noted that as Mehta results in no settling that with the binding agent the particles must be of a size that doesn’t separate as claimed. Applicant appears to be arguing that they would separate without the agent, but their claim does not require that none be used, it merely requires the outcome taught by the prior art.
With regards to applicant arguemtn regarding the “results-effective variable”, first it is noted this is an additional rejection not the primary one with the art, secondly Mehta as cited considers this variable. Applicants argument regarding the results affective variable are further not persuasive, applicant themselves have stated that particle size is a known factor in separation (the affidavit) and as Mehta is focused on the particles not separating the known factors of such would be known results effective variables.
Applicants argument regarding claim 16 that all elements are not taught does not address the actual Mehta clearly taches this limitation (mere repeat of above arguments).
With regards to applicant argument that the examiner has not provided a counter affidavit, such is not required in evaluating the evidence provided by applicant or responding to the applicants’ arguments. Applicant has not stated what specifically an affidavit is required for or why such is required per the MPEP.
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763