DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on April 16, 2026. Claims 1 and 22 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. No further claims have been cancelled. Claims 13 and 32 were previously withdrawn. Claim interpretation previously made under 35 USC 112(f) is maintained.
The previous provisional rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, in light of copending application 15/106,221, is maintained.
Claims 22-26, 29-31 and 33, as filed August 12, 2024, were considered allowable as claim 22 was written in independent form.
Claims 1-2,8-14,16-18,22-26, 29-33 and 70-73 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to the claims filed on April 16, 2026.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 22 address the 112(b) rejection presented in set in the previous rejection. As the limitation language was addressed, the 112(b) rejection no longer applies.
The applicant’s amendments to claim 1 are considered sufficient to overcome the rejection of the U.S.C. 35 102 rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Madsen (US Patent No. 3351116).
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed April 16, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims being unsustainable due to amendment, based upon the U.S.C. 35 102 rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Madsen (US Patent No. 3351116), have been fully considered.
First, the amendments, by employing language present within the applicant’s specifications, has addressed the 112(b) rejection set forth in the previous action.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the contended features and descriptions, amended in the presently filed claims were not recited in the previously rejected claims.
Resultant of the amendments, a new rejection is set forth in this action. The amendment now recites that the top surface has a relatively lower surface friction against the threaded fastener than the flat bottom surface has against an adjacent surface. As the bottom surface of Madsen discloses the scored grooves, whereas the top surface lacks any surface roughening features, a skilled artisan would recognize the bottom surface of Madsen would have a relatively higher friction coefficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-12, 16, and 70-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of Madsen (US Patent No. 3351116).
Regarding claim 1, Madsen discloses a reaction washer (15, Figs 3-6, below, 1:70-2:7) capable of receiving counter torque generated due to tightening or loosening of a threaded fastener 10 (Examiner indicating the fastener is not positively recited) including:
a top surface (see annotated fig. 3), having relatively lower surface friction against the threaded fastener than a flat bottom surface has against an adjacent surface (as the bottom surface has friction coefficient increasing treatment means, a skilled artisan would recognize its coefficient of friction would be larger than a smooth surface),
on which the threaded fastener turns freely (the fastener can turn to an extent without obstruction due to flat surface of the top surface until locked in place by protrusions 19 or until washer 15 can no longer rotate due to tightening of a bolt or nut)
col. 2 lines 20-24: As described above one will note that when the bead 12 o bolt 10 is placed adjacent the rectangular opening 18 the head 12 is allowed to rotate slightly until the side wall of hexagonal head 12 are substantially parallel with portions of the protrusions 19.
an outer edge (outer peripheral edge, Figs 3-4) having a geometric shape that allows for rotational coupling with a power tool,
a threadless center bore 20 (2:30-43), and
a flat bottom surface (Figs 5-6, below) having friction coefficient increasing treatment means (scored grooves 21, Fig 4, 2:37-43) disposed about an outer peripheral portion of the flat bottom surface and extending inwardly toward, but not near, the center bore to a width less than a total width of the flat bottom surface.
Regarding claim 2, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses that the friction coefficient increasing treatment means are selectively biased towards the outer edge (scored grooves are disposed (biased) closer to outer edge than inner edge, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 8, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses an effective friction radius of the washer (outermost radius of 15) as being greater than an effective friction radius of the threaded fastener 10 (Figs 5-6, above; and capable of being greater than an effective friction radius of any threaded fastener, depending on a particular size thereof, since the fastener is not positively recited).
Regarding claim 9, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses that the washer outer edge extends substantially beyond an outer edge of the threaded fastener (as described above, Figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 10, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 9, as described above, and further discloses that the washer is capable of receiving a reaction abutment force, received by outer edge, the force capable of being of larger magnitude than an action torque received by an outer edge of the threaded fastener (because the device of Madsen meets the previous structural limitations of the claims).
Regarding claim 11, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses that portions of the friction coefficient increasing means 21 are positioned beyond an effective friction radius of a nut or a bolt head about the bottom surface of the washer (Figs 5-6, above).
Regarding claim 12, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses that the bottom surface includes a smooth surface formed between the center bore to capable of accepting a bolt and the friction coefficient increasing treatments (Fig 4, smooth surface adjacent bore that is also radially inside of short grooves 21).
Regarding claim 16, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses that geometric shapes include either;
concave portions extending inwardly and convex portions extending outwardly which
are alternately and repeatedly provided in a radial direction around a central point of the
washer; or
[a] geometric shape including either triangle, curvilinear triangle, square, rectangle,
parallelogram, rhombus, trapezoid, trapezium, kite, pentagon, hexagon, heptagon,
octagon, nonagon, decagon, circle with outer projections, ellipse or oval (oval, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 70, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the friction coefficient increasing treatment means are discontinuously biased in areas towards the outer edge (individual grooves are not continuous with each other and are disposed, or biased, toward the outer edge).
Regarding claim 71, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the friction coefficient increasing treatment means are not located at or adjacent the radius of the center bore (Fig 4, as described above).
Regarding claim 72, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the friction coefficient increasing treatment means include either: roughenings; polygonal surfaces; splines; knurls; spikes; grooves; slots; protruding points or corners; or any combination thereof (grooves 21, Figs 3-6, above).
Claims 14 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen and Dzus, as applied to claims 1 and 8, and in further view of Neslon (US Patent No. 3724299).
Regarding claim 14, Madsen discloses the reaction washer according to claim 8, that has an outer edge.
Madsen fails to disclose that the outer edge of the washer “is parallel with an inner edge of an outer socket”.
However, Nelson teaches “An adjustable socket for use with any standard ratchet wrench, the device being adaptable…each of the adjustable sockets having three or more variable size settings (abstract).” The adjustable jaws (30) of Nelson create an inner edge of the socket, that would run parallel to the outer edge of the washer disclosed by Madsen.
Madsen and Nelson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of hand tools related to applying torques to fasteners and similar workpieces. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Madsen to incorporate the teachings of Nelson and provide an adjustable socket with an inner edge that is parallel to the washer’s outer edge, to create an engaging connection to transfer torque from the socket to the washer in order to secure it to a workpiece.
Regarding claim 73, Madsen discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and further discloses wherein the outer edge of the washer is shaped with a geometry capable of rotatably coupling with an inner edge of an outer socket inner edge which is shaped with a corresponding geometry.
Madsen fails to disclose that the outer edge of the washer “is shaped with a geometry to rotatably couple with an inner edge of an outer socket inner edge which is shaped with a corresponding geometry”.
However, Nelson teaches an adjustable socket (10) with jaws (30) that are shaped in a manner that can receive the washer disclosed by Madsen, that the inner edge of the socket has a corresponding geometry to the outer edge of the washer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Madsen to incorporate the teachings of Nelson and provide an adjustable socket with an inner edge that has a corresponding shape to the washer’s outer edge, to create an engaging connection to transfer torque from the socket to the washer in order to secure it to a workpiece.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen in view of Dzus as applied to claims 1 and 8, and further in view of Sullivan (2007/0086874), of record.
Regarding claims 17-18, Madsen discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 8, as described above, but does not explicitly disclose the tapered bottom edge portion as particularly required by the claims. However, Sullivan also teaches a washer to be provided around a stud against a workpiece and teaches providing the reaction washer defining a flat bottom surface having tapered bottom edge portion around the surface (Fig 4C). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the tapered edge of the washer of Sullivan as a simple substitution for a known element to produce the predictable result of effective frictional engagement and fastener retention.
Allowable Subject Matter
For reasons which have been previously provided, claims 22-26 and 29-31, as presented in their August 12, 2024 filing are considered allowable.
The reasons set forth remain consistent in compliment with the applicant’s amendments to claim 22 to include limitations in consistent with the amended claim 1.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723