DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 10/20/2025. Claims 22 and 24-42 are considered in this office action. Claims 22, 31, and 39 have been amended. Claims 1-21 and 23 have been cancelled. Claims 22 and 24-42 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action:
“The Examiner fails to show that Attard teaches any confidence levels that are a function of a measurable metric relating to the environmental conditions.”
Applicant's argument A. has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument A. that “The Examiner fails to show that Attard teaches any confidence levels that are a function of a measurable metric relating to the environmental conditions,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Attard teaches confidence assessments 118 are generated and evaluated by a computing device 105. The computing device 105 receives collected data 115 (measurable metrics) from one or more data collectors 110 and uses the collected data 115 to generate one or more confidence assessments 118 (Attard, Par. [0009]). Collected data 115 may include information about an external environment (environmental conditions) in which the vehicle 101 is traveling (Attard, Par. [0028]). In other words, Attard teaches confidence assessments 118 are generated as a function of collected data 115 which includes measurable metrics on the external environment. Therefore, Examiner maintains that the cited references teach the above stated limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 24-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attard et al. (US 2015/0178998 A1) in view of Slusar (US 9,587,952 B1).
Regarding claim 22, Attard teaches “A computer generated method comprising:
retrieving, by the one or more processors, one or more physical properties of a road segment of the first route (Par. [0016] lines 9-17 teaches data collectors 110 which include sensors for detecting conditions outside the vehicle 101 and/or for detecting road attributes, such as curves, pot-holes, dips, changes in grade, lane boundaries, etc.; Par. [0018] lines 12-15 teaches collected data 115 could include data 115 concerning detection of road attributes, weather conditions, etc.);
predicting, by the one or more processors, one or more known failure modes of one or more sensors of the vehicle related to traversal of the road segment by the vehicle, wherein features of the road segment cause the one or more known failure modes;
predicting, by the one or more processors, a level of performance of the one or more sensors based on the physical properties of the road segment and the one or more known failure modes, wherein the level of performance is a rate of true or false positives when detecting objects using respective sensor data from the one or more sensors;
determining, by the one or more processors, whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment based on the predicted level of performance, wherein road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors are avoided (Par. [0023] lines 1-4 teaches storing one or more parameters 117 for comparison to confidence assessments 118 where a parameter 117 may define a set of confidence intervals; Par. [0025] lines 1-3 teaches various mathematical, statistical, and/or predictive modeling techniques could be used to generate and/or adjust parameters 117; Par. [0027] lines 1-10 teaches one or more vectors of autonomous attribute assessments 118 may be provided, where each value in the vector relates to an attribute of the vehicle 101 and/or a surrounding environment related to autonomous operation of the vehicle 101, e.g., attributes such as weather conditions, road conditions, etc.; Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy (which is necessarily based on the rate of true/false positives regarding the ability of the sensor to detect objects), from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0028] lines 15-22 teaches by assessing such collected data 115, and weighting various determinations, e.g., a determination of a sensor data collector 110 accuracy (failure modes) and one or more determinations relating to external and/or environmental conditions, e.g., presence or absence of precipitation, road conditions, etc. (physical properties of the road segment) (i.e., conditions and circumstances where the sensor will reliably degrade), one or more confidence assessments 118 (predicted level of performance) may be generated regarding the ability of the vehicle 101 to operate autonomously (whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment));” however Attard does not explicitly teach “selecting, using one or more processors of a vehicle, a first route” and “in response to determining that the vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment based on road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors, selecting, by the one or more processors, a second route excluding the road segment.”
From the same field of endeavor, Slusar teaches “selecting, using one or more processors of a vehicle, a first route (Col. 13 lines 49-58 teaches the personal navigation device 110 initially provides the quickest/shortest route from a start location A to an end location B (selects a first route), and then determines the route traversal values using traffic and weather conditions)” and “in response to determining that the vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment based on road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors, selecting, by the one or more processors, a second route excluding the road segment (Col. 13 lines 60-62 teaches the driver may be presented with an alternate route which is less risky than the initial route calculated; Col. 22 lines 47-61 teaches the processor receiving hazard information (Col. 6 lines 57-58 and 62-64 teaches information includes road features and condition of road) which it analyzes in order to determine the size and type of hazard and assign it a route traversal value, which is then used to recalculate the route traversal value for the driving route; after making the determination (determining if vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment), the processor communicates to the vehicle navigation device to stay on the current driving route or to alter the driving route in order to reduce the route traversal value).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to modify the teachings of Attard to incorporate the teachings of Slusar with a reasonable expectation of success to have the method taught by Attard include choosing a first route and upon determining the vehicle cannot travel a segment of the first route, selecting a second route excluding the segment as taught by Slusar.
The motivation for doing so would be to optimize travel along a given route (Slusar, Col. 23 lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 22 above, and further teaches “wherein determining whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment is further based on software processes that process data representing the properties of the one or more sensors (Attard, Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future; Par. [0034] lines 1-3 teaches confidence attribute sub-assessments 118, e.g., one or more values in a vector ΦPL or ΦAL, may relate to particular collected data 115 (properties of the one or more sensors)).”
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 22 above, and further teaches “in which the predicted level of performance of the one or more sensors comprises an actual or estimated level of performance as a function of current or predicted future conditions (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above).”
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 22 above, and further teaches “wherein the predicted level of performance comprises a capability of the one or more sensors to yield a data product at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 22 above, and further teaches “wherein determining whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment is further based on characteristics of software processes used by the vehicle (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115 (characteristics of software processes including ability to yield data product of interest), which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) (software characteristics including ability to yield data product of interest) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 27 above, and further teaches “in which the characteristics of the software processes comprise the ability of the software processes to yield a data product at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115 (characteristics of software processes including ability to yield data product of interest), which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) (software characteristics including ability to yield data product of interest) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 27 above, and further teaches “in which the characteristics of the software processes comprise an ability of a data fusion network to yield a data product at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0029] lines 1-5 teaches a vector of confidence estimates 118 include a vector ΦPL=(Φ1PL,Φ2PL,…,ΦnPL), relating to the vehicle 101 perceptual layer (PL), where n is a number of perceptual sub-systems, e.g., groups of one or more sensor data collectors 110, in the PL).”
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 27 above, and further teaches “in which the software processes comprise one of motion planning processes, decision making processes, and motion control processes (Attard, Fig. 2 step 205 Autonomous driving (motion planning process), step 215 Compute confidence estimates and step 225 Provide alert? (decision making process and motion control process); Par. [0055] lines 1-5 teaches in block 205 the vehicle 101 commences autonomous driving operations and is operated in a manner partially or completely controlled by the autonomous driving module (motion planning process); Par. [0061] lines 1-3 teaches in block 225 the computer 105 determines whether the overall confidence assessment 118 meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold, and Par. [0063] lines 1-8 teaches in block 225 the computer determines whether to provide a message 116 (decision making process) relating to a recommendation that autonomous operations of the vehicle 101 be ended or is to be ended after some period of time has elapsed (motion control process)) (Slusar, Fig. 8 step 802 Receive a First Travel Route and a Second Travel Route for an Autonomous Vehicle (motion planning process), step 804 Determine a First Route Risk Value for the First Travel Route and a Second Route Risk Value for the Second Travel Route and step 806 Compare the First and Second Route Risk Values to Determine Which of Travel Routes Provides Less Risk (decision making process), step 808 Select the Travel Route that Provides Less Risk (motion control process); Col. 13 lines 49-62 teaches a personal navigation device 110 initially provides the quickest/shortest route from a start location A to an end location B (motion planning process), then determines the route traversal value based on the risk types on the route, with traffic and weather conditions being included in the determination of the route traversal value for comparison of routes (decision making process), and provides the driver with an alternate route which is less risky than the initial route calculated (motion control process)).”
Regarding claim 31, Attard teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (Par. [0084] lines 1-3 teaches a computer-readable storage medium which includes any medium that participates in providing data (e.g., instructions), which may be read by a computer) which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
retrieve one or more physical properties of a road segment of the first route (Par. [0016] lines 9-17 teaches data collectors 110 which include sensors for detecting conditions outside the vehicle 101 and/or for detecting road attributes, such as curves, pot-holes, dips, changes in grade, lane boundaries, etc.; Par. [0018] lines 12-15 teaches collected data 115 could include data 115 concerning detection of road attributes, weather conditions, etc.);
predict one or more known failure modes of one or more sensors of the vehicle related to traversal of the road segment by the vehicle, wherein features of the road segment cause the one or more known failure modes;
predict a level of performance of the one or more sensors based on the physical properties of the road segment and the one or more known failure modes, wherein the level of performance is a rate of true or false positives when detecting objects using respective sensor data from the one or more sensors;
determine whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment based on the predicted level of performance, wherein road features that induce false reading from the one or more sensors are avoided (Par. [0023] lines 1-4 teaches storing one or more parameters 117 for comparison to confidence assessments 118 where a parameter 117 may define a set of confidence intervals; Par. [0025] lines 1-3 teaches various mathematical, statistical, and/or predictive modeling techniques could be used to generate and/or adjust parameters 117; Par. [0027] lines 1-10 teaches one or more vectors of autonomous attribute assessments 118 may be provided, where each value in the vector relates to an attribute of the vehicle 101 and/or a surrounding environment related to autonomous operation of the vehicle 101, e.g., attributes such as weather conditions, road conditions, etc.; Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy (which is necessarily based on the rate of true/false positives regarding the ability of the sensor to detect objects), from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0028] lines 15-22 teaches by assessing such collected data 115, and weighting various determinations, e.g., a determination of a sensor data collector 110 accuracy (failure modes) and one or more determinations relating to external and/or environmental conditions, e.g., presence or absence of precipitation, road conditions, etc. (physical properties of the road segment) (i.e., conditions and circumstances where the sensor will reliably degrade), one or more confidence assessments 118 (predicted level of performance) may be generated regarding the ability of the vehicle 101 to operate autonomously (whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment));” however Attard does not explicitly teach causing the processors to “select a first route for a vehicle” and “in response to determining that the vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment based on road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors, select a second route excluding the road segment.”
From the same field of endeavor, Slusar teaches causing the processors to “select a first route for a vehicle (Col. 13 lines 49-58 teaches the personal navigation device 110 initially provides the quickest/shortest route from a start location A to an end location B (selects a first route), and then determines the route traversal values using traffic and weather conditions)” and “in response to determining that the vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment based on road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors, select a second route excluding the road segment (Col. 13 lines 60-62 teaches the driver may be presented with an alternate route which is less risky than the initial route calculated; Col. 22 lines 47-61 teaches the processor receiving hazard information (Col. 6 lines 57-58 and 62-64 teaches information includes road features and condition of road) which it analyzes in order to determine the size and type of hazard and assign it a route traversal value, which is then used to recalculate the route traversal value for the driving route; after making the determination (determining if vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment), the processor communicates to the vehicle navigation device to stay on the current driving route or to alter the driving route in order to reduce the route traversal value).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to modify the teachings of Attard to incorporate the teachings of Slusar with a reasonable expectation of success to have the instructions taught by Attard include choosing a first route and upon determining the vehicle cannot travel a segment of the first route, selecting a second route excluding the segment as taught by Slusar.
The motivation for doing so would be to optimize travel along a given route (Slusar, Col. 23 lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches “wherein determining whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment is further based on software processes that process data representing the properties of the one or more sensors (Attard, Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future; Par. [0034] lines 1-3 teaches confidence attribute sub-assessments 118, e.g., one or more values in a vector ΦPL or ΦAL, may relate to particular collected data 115 (properties of the one or more sensors)).”
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches “in which the predicted level of performance of the one or more sensors comprises an actual or estimated level of performance as a function of current or predicted future conditions (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above).”
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches “wherein the predicted level of performance comprises a capability of the one or more sensors to yield a data product at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 31 above, and further teaches “wherein determining whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment is further based on characteristics of software processes used by the vehicle (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115 (characteristics of software processes including ability to yield data product of interest), which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) (software characteristics including ability to yield data product of interest) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 35 above, and further teaches “in which the characteristics of the software processes comprise the ability of the software processes to yield a data product at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115 (characteristics of software processes including ability to yield data product of interest), which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) (software characteristics including ability to yield data product of interest) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 35 above, and further teaches “in which the characteristics of the software processes comprise an ability of a data fusion network to yield a data product at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0029] lines 1-5 teaches a vector of confidence estimates 118 include a vector ΦPL=(Φ1PL,Φ2PL,…,ΦnPL), relating to the vehicle 101 perceptual layer (PL), where n is a number of perceptual sub-systems, e.g., groups of one or more sensor data collectors 110, in the PL).”
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 35 above, and further teaches “in which the software processes comprise one of motion planning processes, decision making processes, and motion control processes (Attard, Fig. 2 step 205 Autonomous driving (motion planning process), step 215 Compute confidence estimates and step 225 Provide alert? (decision making process and motion control process); Par. [0055] lines 1-5 teaches in block 205 the vehicle 101 commences autonomous driving operations and is operated in a manner partially or completely controlled by the autonomous driving module (motion planning process); Par. [0061] lines 1-3 teaches in block 225 the computer 105 determines whether the overall confidence assessment 118 meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold, and Par. [0063] lines 1-8 teaches in block 225 the computer determines whether to provide a message 116 (decision making process) relating to a recommendation that autonomous operations of the vehicle 101 be ended or is to be ended after some period of time has elapsed (motion control process)) (Slusar, Fig. 8 step 802 Receive a First Travel Route and a Second Travel Route for an Autonomous Vehicle (motion planning process), step 804 Determine a First Route Risk Value for the First Travel Route and a Second Route Risk Value for the Second Travel Route and step 806 Compare the First and Second Route Risk Values to Determine Which of Travel Routes Provides Less Risk (decision making process), step 808 Select the Travel Route that Provides Less Risk (motion control process); Col. 13 lines 49-62 teaches a personal navigation device 110 initially provides the quickest/shortest route from a start location A to an end location B (motion planning process), then determines the route traversal value based on the risk types on the route, with traffic and weather conditions being included in the determination of the route traversal value for comparison of routes (decision making process), and provides the driver with an alternate route which is less risky than the initial route calculated (motion control process)).”
Regarding claim 39, Attard teaches “A vehicle comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 1 computing device 105);
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (Par. [0084] lines 1-3 teaches a computer-readable storage medium which includes any medium that participates in providing data (e.g., instructions), which may be read by a computer) which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
retrieve one or more physical properties of a road segment of the first route (Par. [0016] lines 9-17 teaches data collectors 110 which include sensors for detecting conditions outside the vehicle 101 and/or for detecting road attributes, such as curves, pot-holes, dips, changes in grade, lane boundaries, etc.; Par. [0018] lines 12-15 teaches collected data 115 could include data 115 concerning detection of road attributes, weather conditions, etc.);
predict one or more known failure modes of one or more sensors of the vehicle related to traversal of the road segment by the vehicle, wherein features of the road segment cause the one or more known failure modes and the one or more known failure modes indicate that one or more sensors fail to generate data products;
predict a level of performance of the one or more sensors based on the physical properties of the road segment and the one or more known failure modes, wherein the level of performance is a rate of true or false positives when detecting objects using respective sensor data from the one or more sensors;
determine whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment based on the predicted level of performance, wherein road features that induce false reading from the one or more sensors are avoided (Par. [0023] lines 1-4 teaches storing one or more parameters 117 for comparison to confidence assessments 118 where a parameter 117 may define a set of confidence intervals; Par. [0025] lines 1-3 teaches various mathematical, statistical, and/or predictive modeling techniques could be used to generate and/or adjust parameters 117; Par. [0027] lines 1-10 teaches one or more vectors of autonomous attribute assessments 118 may be provided, where each value in the vector relates to an attribute of the vehicle 101 and/or a surrounding environment related to autonomous operation of the vehicle 101, e.g., attributes such as weather conditions, road conditions, etc.; Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy (which is necessarily based on the rate of true/false positives regarding the ability of the sensor to detect objects) (predicting ability of sensor to generate data products of interest), from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0028] lines 15-22 teaches by assessing such collected data 115, and weighting various determinations, e.g., a determination of a sensor data collector 110 accuracy (failure modes that indicate if sensor fails to generate data products of interest) and one or more determinations relating to external and/or environmental conditions, e.g., presence or absence of precipitation, road conditions, etc. (physical properties of the road segment) (i.e., conditions and circumstances where the sensor will reliably degrade), one or more confidence assessments 118 (predicted level of performance) may be generated regarding the ability of the vehicle 101 to operate autonomously (whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment));” however Attard does not explicitly teach causing the processors to “select a first route for a vehicle” and “in response to determining that the vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment based on road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors, select a second route excluding the road segment.”
From the same field of endeavor, Slusar teaches causing the processors to “select a first route for a vehicle (Col. 13 lines 49-58 teaches the personal navigation device 110 initially provides the quickest/shortest route from a start location A to an end location B (selects a first route), and then determines the route traversal values using traffic and weather conditions)” and “in response to determining that the vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment based on road features that induce false readings from the one or more sensors, select a second route excluding the road segment (Col. 13 lines 60-62 teaches the driver may be presented with an alternate route which is less risky than the initial route calculated; Col. 22 lines 47-61 teaches the processor receiving hazard information (Col. 6 lines 57-58 and 62-64 teaches information includes road features and condition of road) which it analyzes in order to determine the size and type of hazard and assign it a route traversal value, which is then used to recalculate the route traversal value for the driving route; after making the determination (determining if vehicle is incapable of traveling the road segment), the processor communicates to the vehicle navigation device to stay on the current driving route or to alter the driving route in order to reduce the route traversal value).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to modify the teachings of Attard to incorporate the teachings of Slusar with a reasonable expectation of success to have the instructions taught by Attard include choosing a first route and upon determining the vehicle cannot travel a segment of the first route, selecting a second route excluding the segment as taught by Slusar.
The motivation for doing so would be to optimize travel along a given route (Slusar, Col. 23 lines 53-54).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 39 above, and further teaches “wherein determining whether the vehicle is capable of traveling the road segment is further based on software processes that process data representing the properties of the one or more sensors (Attard, Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future; Par. [0034] lines 1-3 teaches confidence attribute sub-assessments 118, e.g., one or more values in a vector ΦPL or ΦAL, may relate to particular collected data 115 (properties of the one or more sensors)).”
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 39 above, and further teaches “in which the predicted level of performance of the one or more sensors comprises an actual or estimated level of performance as a function of current or predicted future conditions (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above).”
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Attard and Slusar teaches all the limitations of claim 39 above, and further teaches “wherein the predicted level of performance comprises a capability of the one or more sensors to yield the data products at a specific level of performance (Attard, Par. [0028] lines 1-11 teaches various ways of estimating confidences and/or assigning values to confidence intervals are used to generate the confidence assessments 118, including determining a data collector 110 evaluation of likely accuracy, e.g., sensor accuracy, from collected data 115, which includes information about an external environment in which the vehicle 101 is traveling, e.g., road attributes mentioned above; Par. [0031] teaches confidence estimates may be modified based on knowledge obtained about future events, such as weather along a planned route, where information about a likelihood of weather that might adversely affect the perceptual layer (PL) (e.g., heavy rain or snow) can be factored into the confidence assessments 118 in the vector ΦPL in advance of actual degradation of sensor data collector 110 signals, and the confidence assessments 118 may be adjusted to reflect not only the immediate sensor state but also a likelihood that the sensor state may degrade in the future).”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665