DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16, 19, 23-29, 31-35, 37-50, 52-69, 71, and 72 are canceled.
Claims 17, 18, 20-22, 30, 36, 51, 70, and 73-78 are pending. Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Claims 17, 18, 21, 22, 30, 36, 51, 70, and 73-78 are examined on the merits to the extent they are directed to the elected subject matter (the elected species ‘FGF protein or functional fragment thereof’ for the FGF receptor agonist).
Notice Re: Prior Art Available Under Both Pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 18, 21, 30, 51, 70, and 73-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (WO 2011/126790. Listed on IDS filed 11/7/16. Previously cited) in view of Ordovas (Kidney Int. Suppl. December 2008. 111: S10-S14. 8 pages. Previously cited) and Gesta (Cell. 2007. 131: 242-256. Previously cited), and in light of Maurer (The FEBS Journal. 2020. 19 pages. Previously cited).
Kahn discloses that FGF6 and FGF9 are therapeutic for adipose-related disorders, such as obesity and related disorders such as diabetes, insulin resistance, hyperglycemia, hyperlipidemia, and hypercholesterolemia (page 5, lines 25-27). In some cases, other FGFs, such as FGF2, can be used in the methods of Kahn (page 6, lines 30-31), and Kahn teaches combinations of FGF6 and/or FGF9 with FGF2 (page 7, lines 3-4). Kahn also states that FGF2 can be used in addition to or in place of FGF6 or FGF9 for the practice of their invention (page 41, lines 10 through page 42, line 1. FGF6, FGF9, and FGF2 each meeting the claimed limitation of the FGF receptor agonist of instant claims 17, 51, and 70, specifically ‘an FGF2 protein,’ ‘an FGF6 protein,’ and ‘an FGF9 protein’ (directed to the elected species ‘FGF protein or functional fragment thereof’). Kahn further teaches that the agent (such as the FGF6 and/or FGF9 polypeptide) can be administered to a subject by standard methods, such as being administered in vivo by any of a number of different routes while include the subcutaneous route (page 10, lines 7-10). Additionally, the agent can be encapsulated or injected for delivery to a chosen site, such as a site of adipose tissue, e.g. a subcutaneous or intra-abdominal adipose pad (page 10, lines 24-26). Kahn also discloses that in some embodiments, the pharmaceutical composition is injected into a tissue, e.g. an adipose tissue (page 14, lines 3-4). Further still, it is disclosed that the agent (e.g. FGF6, FGF9) can be incorporated into pharmaceutical compositions “suitable for administration to a subject, e.g. a human” (page 11, lines 1-4). Therefore, the ‘subject’ administered the treatment of Kahn can be a human subject.
As such, Kahn discloses administering a composition comprising FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2 to tissue of a human subject by subcutaneous injection (meeting a limitation of instant claim 18), such that a disorder (obesity, diabetes, insulin resistance, hyperglycemia, hyperlipidemia, hypercholesterolemia) is treated in the human subject, wherein the tissue is adipose tissue. Regarding instant claim 51, given that the invention of Kahn is for treating obesity (page 5, lines 25-26) and that their invention is for decreasing fat stores or weight in a subject (page 2, lines 30-31), it follows that the invention of Kahn meets the limitation of instant claim 51 of ‘lowering the weight’ of a human subject, and the limitation of instant claim 51 of selecting a human subject in need of weight loss. With respect to instant claim 30, Kahn discloses treating a subject with insulin resistance (page 5, lines 25-26).
Kahn differs from the claimed invention in that Kahn does not expressly disclose:
treating a human subject having metabolic syndrome and treating metabolic syndrome as recited in instant claims 17 and 70, or selecting a human subject having metabolic syndrome as recited in instant claim 51 for Kahn’s method of treating obesity (meeting the limitation of ‘lowering the weight’ of a human subject of instant claim 51);
the adipose tissue to which the composition is administered is white adipose tissue; and
the method induces UCP1 expression in the white adipose tissue without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation in the tissue (as recited in instant claim 17), or the method induces UCP1 expression in the white adipose tissue without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation (as recited in instant claims 51 and 70).
Regarding difference (a) (Kahn does not expressly disclose treating a human subject having metabolic syndrome and treating metabolic syndrome as recited in instant claims 17 and 70, or selecting a human subject having metabolic syndrome as recited in instant claim 51 for Kahn’s method of treating obesity (meeting the limitation of ‘lowering the weight’ of a human subject of instant claim 51)):
Ordovas discusses metabolic syndrome, explaining that it comprises a set of metabolic and physiological risk factors associated with elevated cardiovascular disease risk (abstract). In particular, Ordovas indicates that hypertension, hyperlipidemia, impaired glucose tolerance, and obesity are established traditional cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk factors (page 2, second full paragraph). The combined phenotype of these four risk factors in one individual has been known as the ‘metabolic syndrome’ (page 2, second full paragraph). Ordovas points out that a major effort should be placed on the detection, prevention, and therapy of metabolic syndrome (page 3, first paragraph). Ordovas lists individual components of metabolic syndrome as being hypertension, insulin resistance/diabetes, and dyslipidemia (page 3, first paragraph). Therapeutic tools have been successful in dealing with some of the individual components of metabolic syndrome, wherein efficient drugs have been determined for lowering blood pressure, several drugs have been used to improve insulin sensitivity, and dyslipidemia has been treated with fibrates and statins (page 3, first paragraph). Then, Ordovas emphasizes that, “However, such therapeutic success has not been shared by the other major component of the metabolic syndrome, obesity and, more specifically, central obesity, which may be a key etiological factor in de-development of the underlying insulin resistance, and it may be the ‘trigger for the loaded gun’ of its genetic predisposition. Therefore, obesity may be at the root of the metabolic syndrome with the aggravated situation of being an unresolved and fast-growing problem all over the world” (page 3, first paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art that in performing the method of Kahn, then metabolic syndrome is also being treated. As pointed out in Kahn, their invention treats adipose-related disorders, such as obesity, and related disorders which include diabetes, insulin resistance, and hyperlipidemia (page 5, lines 25-27). Since Kahn teaches treating major components of metabolic syndrome as recognized in Ordovas (obesity, insulin resistance, diabetes, hyperlipidemia – this is considered a component given page 2, second full paragraph of Ordovas), then it is obvious that Kahn treats metabolic syndrome when treating obesity, insulin resistance, diabetes, and/or hyperlipidemia. Thus it also would have been obvious to have selected a human subject having metabolic syndrome and in need of weight loss (a person with obesity) when performing the method of Kahn.
Regarding difference (b) (Kahn does not expressly disclose the adipose tissue to which the composition is administered is white adipose tissue):
Kahn teaches the administration of their pharmaceutical composition (FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2) to the adipose tissue (e.g., page 14, lines 3-4). Kahn also teaches that their agent can be encapsulated or injected for delivery to a chosen site, e.g., a site of adipose tissue, e.g., a subcutaneous or intra-abdominal adipose pad (page 10, lines 24-26).
Gesta discloses that in humans, white adipose tissue (WAT) is dispersed throughout the body with major intra-abdominal depots around the omentum, intestines, and perirenal areas, as well as in subcutaneous depots in the buttocks, thighs, and abdomen (page 242, right column, last paragraph). Figure 1 (bottom) of Gesta shows fat distribution in the human body, indicating that subcutaneous and intra-abdominal depots represent the main compartments for fat storage (legend of Figure 1). In that figure, white adipose depots are displayed as being in the subcutaneous and intra-abdominal depots, while the brown adipose depots are displayed as being in the cervical, supraclavicular, and paravertebral depots. Additionally, Gesta states that in human fetuses and newborns, brown adipose tissue (BAT) is found in axillary, cervical, perirenal, and periadrenal regions, but decreases shortly after birth and has traditionally been considered insignificant in adults (page 244, left column, second paragraph).
Based on Gesta, it is obvious that the subcutaneous or intra-abdominal adipose pad disclosed by Kahn as an example of the chosen site of delivery of the agent (page 10, lines 24-26) is white adipose tissue in the human subject. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the subcutaneous or intra-abdominal adipose pad of the human subject to be white adipose tissue given that Gesta points out that white adipose tissue occurs in the subcutaneous and intra-abdominal depots in a human subject, whereas brown adipose tissue is found in the cervical, supraclavicular, and paravertebral depots in a human subject, and brown adipose tissue is insignificant in human adults. As such, in performing the method of Kahn in which the chosen site of delivery is a subcutaneous or intra-abdominal adipose pad of the human subject, then the agent (FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2) is administered to white adipose tissue of the human subject.
Moreover, Kahn teaches an embodiment in which the target tissue comprises white preadipocytes or white adipocytes (claim 9 of Kahn), wherein the target tissue is contacted with FGF6 or FGF9 (see claims 1 and 2 of Kahn which claim 9 of Kahn depends therefrom). Tissue comprising white adipocytes is white adipose tissue. This is evidenced by Maurer which states that white adipocytes reside in white adipose tissue (page 1, first paragraph). Moreover, Kahn refers to “white fat cells” as “white adipose tissue (WAT) cells” (page 1, lines 14-15), further demonstrating that tissue comprising white adipocytes is white adipose tissue.
Thus it would have been obvious to have practiced the method of Kahn on white adipose tissue (that is, administered the agent to white adipose tissue).
Regarding difference (c) (Kahn does not expressly disclose the method induces UCP1 expression in the white adipose tissue without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation in the tissue (as recited in instant claim 17), or the method induces UCP1 expression in the white adipose tissue without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation (as recited in instant claims 51 and 70)):
Kahn discloses in Example 2 assaying UCP-1 mRNA induction in brown adipocytes treated with test media containing each of FGF2, FGF6 and FGF9 of Example 1 (page 38, lines 14-25), wherein the brown adipocytes were formed by inducing immortalized brown preadipocytes (YHR cells) with an Induction Media (IM) prior to treatment with the test media containing FGFs (page 37, lines 11-12; page 38, lines 1-2 and 14-18). The effect of each FGF solution on UCP-1 expression is presented in Table 2 and Figure 1 (page 39, lines 23-24). Thus Kahn discloses inducing UCP1 expression in brown adipocytes.
Kahn does not expressly disclose that UCP1 expression is induced in white adipose tissue, or that this is without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation. Instead, Kahn asserts that the data of Example 2 demonstrates that FGF2, FGF6, and FGF9 induce UCP-1 mRNA expression in adipocytes (in their case, brown adipocytes) and promote brown fat cell differentiation in a dose-dependent manner (page 40, lines 14-16). However, Example 2 of Kahn arrived at the conclusion of brown fat cell differentiation based on the magnitude of the UCP-1 expression of the brown adipocytes (page 40, lines 1-5), and did not specifically assay brown adipocyte differentiation. Therefore, Kahn does not provide sufficient evidence of promoting brown fat cell differentiation.
Gesta discloses that UCP-1 mRNA can be detected in human white adipose tissue (WAT) (page 244, left column, last paragraph). Based on that teaching, then the skilled artisan would have expected the white adipose tissue (the site of delivery of the agent) to have UCP-1 mRNA when performing the method rendered obvious by Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer). In practicing the method rendered obvious by Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) on white adipose tissue of a human subject, then the expression of the UCP-1 mRNA present in the white adipose tissue would have been expected to be induced since Kahn found that FGF2, FGF6, and FGF9 induce UCP-1 mRNA expression in adipocytes (brown adipocytes). The expression of UCP-1 mRNA would have been expected to be induced by FGF2, FGF6, and FGF9 as long as the tissue comprises the UCP-1 mRNA.
Moreover, given that Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) renders obvious administering the same product (FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2) to the same tissue (white adipose tissue) as claimed, then the same effects as recited in the instant claims, specifically inducing UCP1 expression in white adipose tissue without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation in the tissue, would have necessarily occurred.
Therefore, Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer, cited as evidence) renders obvious instant claims 17, 18, 30, and 51.
Regarding instant claim 21, Kahn teaches that their therapeutic polypeptide can be formulated in a carrier system (page 9, lines 2-3), such as a biodegradable, biocompatible polymer matrix (page 9, lines 19-20). Said polymer matrix meets the claimed limitation of a ‘drug delivery matrix’ as recited in instant claim 21. Therefore, instant claim 21 is rendered obvious.
Regarding instant claim 70, Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) does not expressly disclose that the white adipose tissue does not exhibit substantial lipid accumulation following administration of the FGF receptor agonist. However, since Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) renders obvious administering the same product (FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2) to the same tissue (white adipose tissue) as claimed, then the same effects as recited in the instant claims, including that the white adipose tissue does not exhibit substantial lipid accumulation following administration of the FGF receptor agonist (FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2), would have necessarily occurred. Therefore, instant claim 70 is rendered obvious.
Regarding instant claims 73-75, as pointed out above, Kahn discloses that the agent can be encapsulated or injected for delivery to a chosen site, e.g., a site of adipose tissue, e.g. a subcutaneous or intra-abdominal adipose pad (page 10, lines 24-26). This meets the ‘abdomen’ limitation of instant claims 73-75. Therefore, instant claims 73-75 are rendered obvious.
Regarding instant claims 76-78, Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) does not expressly disclose that the administration of FGF6 improves glucose tolerance in the human subject. However, since Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) renders obvious administering the same product (including FGF6) to the same tissue (white adipose tissue) as claimed, then the same effects as recited in the instant claims, including that the FGF6 (i.e. FGF6 protein) improves glucose tolerance in the human subject, would have necessarily occurred. Therefore, instant claims 76-78 are rendered obvious.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn, Ordovas, Gesta, and Maurer as applied to claims 17, 18, 21, 30, 51, 70, and 73-78 above, and further in view of Numata (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews. 2010. 62: 1497-1508. Previously cited).
As discussed above, Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer, cited as evidence) renders obvious claims 17, 18, 21, 30, 51, 70, and 73-78. To repeat, Kahn teaches that their therapeutic polypeptide can be formulated in a carrier system (page 9, lines 2-3), such as a biodegradable, biocompatible polymer matrix (page 9, lines 19-20), meeting the limitation of claim 21. However, Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) differs from claim 22, which depends from claim 21, in that Kahn does not expressly disclose that their biodegradable, biocompatible polymer matrix is silk hydrogel.
Numata discloses that “Silks are biodegradable, biocompatible, self-assembly proteins that can be tailored via genetic engineering to contain specific chemical features, offering utility for drug and gene delivery” (abstract). Numata discusses the advantages of silk proteins as biomaterials for drug delivery, explaining the needs in the field of drug delivery (page 1499, left column, last paragraph). First, Numata points out that “Delivery of bioactive molecules and drugs in slow, sustained, controlled release formats is desirable for many applications,” and that a drug delivery system would be advantageous if they were biodegradable, biocompatible, and mechanically durable and could be prepared and processed under ambient aqueous conditions to avoid loss of bioactivity of the drugs to be delivered (page 1499, left column, last paragraph). It was found that “Silks can help address these needs, due to the self-assembly, mechanical toughness, processing flexibility, biodegradability and biocompatibility, therein presenting considerable utility for a number of human therapeutic interventions” (page 1499, left column, last paragraph). Further still, “The ability to regulate the structure and morphology of silk proteins in an all-aqueous process renders this family of structural proteins important candidates for drug delivery applications” (page 1499, right column, first paragraph).
Additionally, Numata teaches that silks can be processed into different material formats, such as hydrogels (page 1499, right column, first paragraph). Table 2 lists silk protein-based drug or gene delivery systems, which includes a hydrogel system for the delivery of different drugs, including vitamin B12 and theophylline (page 1499). Moreover, an injectable hydrogel based on silk has been taught in the art for the release of gene complexes or drugs for the treatment of various cancers (Table 3 on page 1500). To conclude, Numata states “When combined with the novel features of the silk proteins themselves, including self-assembly, robust mechanical features, water-based processing, controlled degradation and biocompatibility, silks offer a unique and versatile delivery platform for small molecules, large proteins, DNA and RNA” (page 1505, last paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the biodegradable, biocompatible polymer matrix with a silk hydrogel when practicing the method rendered obvious by Kahn, Ordovas, and Gesta (in light of Maurer) for the predictable result of delivering the FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2, to the white adipose tissue for therapeutic effects. Moreover, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used a silk hydrogel as the biodegradable, biocompatible polymer matrix when practicing the method rendered obvious by Kahn, Ordovas, and Gesta (in light of Maurer) since Numata teaches that silk is advantageous for drug delivery for a variety of reasons: self-assembly, mechanical toughness, robust mechanical properties, processing flexibility, controlled biodegradability and biocompatibility, water-based processing, versatile delivery platform for various products including large proteins. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in delivering the FGF6/FGF9/FGF2 to the white adipose tissue of the human subject by providing the FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2, in a silk hydrogel since Numata indicates that silk compositions, including silk hydrogels, are suitable for delivering bioactive molecules and drugs in slow, sustained, controlled release formats, the teaching in the art of silk injectable hydrogels for release of drugs, and the teaching in Numata that silks offer a delivery platform for various products, including large proteins. Therefore, instant claim 22 is rendered obvious.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn, Ordovas, Gesta, and Maurer as applied to claims 17, 18, 21, 30, 51, 70, and 73-78 above, and further in view of Ziegler (US 6,335,317. Previously cited).
As discussed above, Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer, cited as evidence) renders obvious claims 17, 18, 21, 30, 51, 70, and 73-78. Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer) differs from claim 36 in that Kahn does not expressly disclose that the FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2, is administered at a dose of about 0.5 mg/kg to about 300 mg/kg.
However, Kahn explains, “As described herein, compositions can administered to a subject at a dosage sufficient to achieve the desired therapeutic effect. In general, therapeutically effective dosages may be determined by either in vitro or in vivo methods” (page 13, lines 17-19). Further still, Kahn indicates, “Dosage values may vary according to factors such as the disease state, age, sex, and weight of the individual” (page 13, lines 23-24).
Ziegler teaches a method for reducing oxidative damage to the gastrointestinal tract in a human or animal under a condition of malnutrition, fasting, under nutrition, or during refeeding after said conditions, comprising administering an effective amount of a gut-tropic growth factor (GTGF), wherein the GTGF can be FGF-6 or FGF-9, amongst other fibroblast growth factors (claim 1 of Ziegler). Moreover, the GTFG (e.g. FGF-6, FGF-9) is administered in a dose from about 0.1 mg/kg body weight to about 5 mg/kg body weight (claim 8 of Ziegler).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been a matter of routine optimization to have varied the dosage of the FGF6, FGF9, and/or FGF2, including to a dose in the range of about 0.5 mg/kg to about 300 mg/kg, when practicing the method rendered obvious by Kahn, Ordovas, and Gesta (in light of Maurer) to obtain their disclosed therapeutic effects, since Kahn recognizes that the therapeutically effective dosages may be determined by in vitro or in vivo methods and that dosage values may vary according to factors such as disease state, age, sex, and weight of the individual. Given the teachings in Kahn regarding dosages, the skilled artisan would have recognized that the dosage is an optimizable parameter affecting the therapeutic effects. It is noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, the skilled artisan would have recognized a dose of from about 0.1 mg/kg to about 5 mg/kg, which overlaps with the dose range of instant claim 36, as being a safe dose of FGF-6 and FGF-9 for administration to a human subject since Ziegler teaches this dose range as suitable for a therapeutic use. The skilled artisan would have recognized the dose range of Ziegler as a suitable starting point in experimentation with the appropriate doses of FGF-6 and FGF-9 for practicing the invention of Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer). Therefore, instant claim 36 is rendered obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 22, 2024, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) of claims 76-78, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 76-78 as being unpatentable over Kahn, Ordovas, Gesta, and Maurer in further view of Rivas-Carrillo, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been overcome by the amendments to claims 76-78. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 76-78 has been overcome by the amendments to claims 76-78 since Rivas-Carrillo does not speak of FGF6 as it relates to glucose tolerance. Thus these rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 76-78 necessitated new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the previously cited art.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 (with the exception of the previous ground of rejection over claims 76-78). Applicant first argues against the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer, cited as evidence). Applicant points out that Gesta cites Digby for teaching that UCP-1 mRNA can be detected in human white adipose tissue (WAT) and is further induced by the antidiabetic drugs thiazolidinediones, “suggesting some admixture of BAT in WAT depots” (page 244, left column, last paragraph). Therefore, Applicant discusses Digby, highlighting that Digby describes the presence of brown adipose tissue (BAT) in white adipose depots by stating “[t]he identification of BAT in adult human ‘white’ adipose depots was confirmed by the detection of UCP-1 mRNA in total RNA extracted from human isolated adipocytes prepared from intra-abdominal perirenal and omental adipose tissue and from subcutaneous abdominal adipose tissue” (page 139, right column, first paragraph). Also, Applicant refers to Digby’s conclusion that “The demonstration of UCP-1 mRNA in these adipose depots suggest that BAT may be diffusely distributed throughout adult human ‘white’ adipose tissue” (page 140, last paragraph). Applicant also cites Gesta’s teaching that BAT is distinguished by the existence of UCP-1 (page 247, left column, first paragraph) and UCP-1 is generally accepted as the defining marker of brown fat (page 250, last paragraph).
Applicant cites these teachings of Gesta and Digby to support their assertion that Gesta fails to teach or suggest that UCP1 mRNA is expressed in WAT as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with that conclusion. The claim does not provide any limitation as to what is comprised by the “white adipose tissue.” The claims do not require that white adipose tissue does not comprise brown adipose tissue, brown adipocytes, or brown-like multiocular adipocytes (see next paragraph discussing Madsen) dispersed within the white adipose tissue or intermixed with the white adipose tissue. Digby’s teaching of BAT in the white adipose depots in humans is presented in Figure 1 which states, “The detection of UCP-1 mRNA demonstrates the presence of brown adipocytes in different human adipose depots” (legend of Figure 1 on page 139). Likewise, page 140, last paragraph of Digby cited by Applicant also states, “Using UCP-1 as a specific marker, the data from the present study confirm the presence of brown adipocytes in isolated adipocyte preparation from perirenal adipose tissue.” This demonstrates that brown adipocytes are present in white adipose tissue in humans. Therefore, white adipose tissue as present in a human subject (as claimed) does not exclude the presence of brown adipocytes within the white adipose tissue when the human subject is administered the composition comprising an FGF receptor agonist as recited in the claims.
Madsen (PLoS One. 2010. 5(6): e11391) is evidence that further supports the teachings of Gesta cited in the rejection and counters Applicant’s argument. Madsen found that in recently, relative to the year 2010, functional BAT has been demonstrated in adult humans “…adding to the observation of brown-like multiocular adipocytes expressing UCP1 interspersed within human WAT” (page 2, first paragraph). Madsen further indicates, “Actually, UCP1 mRNA has been detected in all adipose tissues in adult humans…” (page 2, first paragraph). The fact that human white adipose tissue comprises brown adipocytes or ‘brown-like multiocular adipocytes,’ and that UCP1 mRNA has been detected in all adult human adipose tissue, supports Gesta’s teaching that UCP-1 mRNA can be detected in human white adipose tissue.
Applicant further argues against Madsen, specifically its combination with Gesta. Applicant assert that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to rely on Maurer to arrive at the instant claims since Maurer focuses on the conversion of WAT into BAT. However, Maurer is cited as evidence in the rejection for teaching that white adipocytes reside in white adipose tissue.
In light of the teachings of Gesta alone or in combination with Kahn, Applicant asserts that Applicant’s discovery that UCP1 expression can be induced in WAT without differentiating the cells into brown adipocytes is both surprising and unexpected, citing Applicant’s previous response filed 1/11/21 for further discussion. However, that assertion of surprising and unexpected results is unpersuasive for the same reasons as set forth on page 19, last paragraph through page 20, third paragraph of the last Office Action (mailed 12/22/22).
Regarding the claimed limitation of administering the composition to white adipose tissue which is not expressly disclosed by Kahn (difference (b) in the rejection), Gesta had been cited in the rejection to render obvious the claimed limitation. In response, Applicant asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would not rely on Kahn in combination with Gesta to arrive at the instant claims, wherein the claimed compositions are administered to white adipose tissue without differentiating the cells into brown adipocytes. However, as set forth in the rejection, since Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer, cited as evidence) renders obvious administering the same product to the same tissue as claimed, then the same effects as recited in the instant claims, including inducing UCP1 expression in white adipose tissue without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation in tissue, would have necessarily occurred.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 22 (Kahn, Ordovas, Gesta, Maurer, and Numata), and 36 (Kahn, Ordovas, Gesta, Maurer, Ziegler), Applicant asserts that Numata and Ziegler, each alone or in the combinations of references, do not teach or suggest the delivery of the claimed compositions to white adipose tissue, wherein the method increases UCP1 expression in white adipocytes without inducing brown adipocyte differentiation in the tissue. However, this is not persuasive for the reasons set forth above with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kahn in view of Ordovas and Gesta (in light of Maurer).
As such, the claims must remain rejected over the previously cited art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Sef
/SUSAN E. FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1651