DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-23 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siamwalla et al. (US 20130097144), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2013/0198005), and further in view of Mishra et al. (US 20150319503), and further in view of Jabara et al. (US 2018/0227627), and further in view of Ramalingam et al. (US 9710640).
Regarding claim 1, Siamwalla teaches a method for generating messages comprising information about radio-television programs in reply to a query related to a specific radio-television program or content made by a user of a radio-television apparatus on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said messages being adapted to be issued by said radio-television apparatus, said messages being issued on a basis of a user's privacy criterion, said privacy criterion requiring at least a verification of a user's credentials, the method being performed by said radio- television apparatus and comprising:[Siamwalla - Para 0037: discloses a client computing device receive user inputted search queries (generally inputted via a user interface presented on the display and permitting alpha-numeric and/or textual input into a designated search box) and to receive content for presentation on the display, for instance, from the search application. Para 0004: discloses upon receipt of a search query, it is determined whether the user is an authenticated user, for instance, whether social networking data associated with the user is available]
a) obtaining a first input of said user's credentials of the user making said query; [Siamwalla – Para 0046: teaches the user may login to the social networking application 212 from the search application 214]
c) searching said one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet [i.e. social network and web search] for said specific radio-television program or content; [Siamwalla – Para 0021-0022, 0032: teaches documents that have been endorsed by the user and/or social network connections of the user are searched to identify those that satisfy the input search query. if a document is determined to be relevant enough, to determine placement of the document on the search engine results page (SERP) relative to standard algorithmically-derived Web search results]
d) finding said specific radio-television program or content such that a positive reply to the query is generated; [Siamwalla – Para 0021-0023, 0032, 0004, Fig. 13, 14: teaches receive user inputted search queries and to receive content for presentation on the display 220]
Siamwalla does not explicitly teach a method for generating messages comprising:
a) “completing a first authentication”
b) univocally associating said query to said user's credentials obtained at step a);
e) in response to the positive reply, withholding display of any message that is related to the query, including the positive reply, by the radio-television apparatus, while the first authentication is in effect by said radio-television apparatus until a second authentication of the user is successful completed by the radio-television apparatus;
f) obtaining a second input of said user's credentials as part of the second authentication; and
g) upon verification of said user's credentials obtained at step f) as belonging to the user having made said query, thereby completing the second authentication while the first authentication is in effect, displaying the positive reply, which indicates that said specific radio-television program or content is available.
Xiong teaches the specific features of:
a) “completing a first authentication” (i.e. first authentication to get a list of services) (p. 0104)”;
g) “displaying the positive reply (i.e. playing video), which indicates that said specific radio-television program or content is available” (p. 0104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two authentication steps as taught by Xiong to the searching for services system of Siamwalla to provide additional security (p. 0104).
Mishra teaches the specific feature of:
b) univocally associating said query to said user's credentials obtained at step a); [Mishra – Para 0051: teaches search terms and program selection by a user can be associated with a profile of the user and/or the account]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Jabara teaches the specific features of:
e) in response to the positive reply (i.e. first authentication successful), withholding display of any message that is related to the query (i.e. data already present), including the positive reply, by the radio-television apparatus, while the first authentication is in effect by said radio-television apparatus until a second authentication of the user is successful completed by the radio-television apparatus (i.e. once the initial first authentication is initiated, only the second authentication will result in verification messages being sent. The first authentication factor occurs without any notification) (p. 0063-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first authentication without messages as taught by Jabara to the system of Siamwalla to provide an automatic authentication when a device comes within range (p. 0064).
Ramalingam teaches the specific features of:
f) obtaining a second input of said user's credentials (i.e. data entry) as part of the second authentication (col. 21-22, lines 64-67);
g) “upon verification of said user's credentials obtained at step f) as belonging to the user having made said query (i.e. second authentication), thereby completing the second authentication while the first authentication is in effect (i.e. first authentication waiting for authentication of second application” (col. 21-22, lines 64-67, col. 24, lines 10-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second authentication to display content as taught by Ramalingam to the system of Siamwalla to provide additional authentication for multiple applications (col. 24, lines 10-36).
Regarding claim 2, Siamwalla, teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein said privacy criterion depends on one or more parameters comprised in the group including: a user category, a protection level adopted by said radio-television apparatus being used by the user for making the query and/or for a reply to said query, a query start time Tq, a radio-television content availability time Tc, a message time Tm, a category of the radio-television program or content matching the query, and a login status of the user using said radio-television apparatus and/or on a social network accessible through said radio-television apparatus. [Siamwalla - Para 0046: discloses user may login to the social networking application 212 from the search application 214 using a social networking identifier associated with the user]
Regarding claim 3, Siamwalla teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein said privacy criterion is associable with the user profile stored in memory means of said radio-television apparatus. [Siamwalla – Para 0038: teaches receiving input of identifying information about a user and maintain such information, for instance, in a data store. Identifying information may include, but is not limited to, a user profile page (the name of which is generally the name of the user to whom it pertains), one or more networks of the user, a location of the user, interests of the user, and the identity of other users with whom the user has established connections]
Regarding claim 5, Siamwalla is silent regarding the method according to claim 1, wherein said credentials are a username and password pair, or the user's face/voice/gesture recognition information.
Mishra teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said credentials are a username and password pair, or the user's face/voice/gesture recognition information. [Mishra – Para 0037-0038: teaches At S225, the user provides the content account number and/or other information for the account with the service provider from which the user receives television content. At S230, the user provides the name, password, user identification, or personal identification number associated with the account].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Regarding claim 7, Siamwalla is silent regarding the method according to claim 3, wherein, in a case of a positive reply to a specific query made by a specific user, no message related to an actual availability of requested content is displayed if, before said specific user's credentials, whatever they are, have not been previously verified by said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0040, 0052, 0060: teaches a search request may be analyzed to identify a demographic group of the user entering the search request. For example, voice or terms may be analyzed even only to identify or confirm that a user is likely a child, so as to ensure that inappropriate information is not returned based on the search.].
Mishra teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein, in a case of a positive reply to a specific query made by a specific user, no message related to an actual availability of requested content is displayed if, before said specific user's credentials, whatever they are, have not been previously verified by said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0040, 0052, 0060: teaches a search request may be analyzed to identify a demographic group of the user entering the search request. For example, voice or terms may be analyzed even only to identify or confirm that a user is likely a child, so as to ensure that inappropriate information is not returned based on the search.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Regarding claim 8, Siamwalla teaches A radio-television apparatus for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said apparatus comprising a processor and memory, said apparatus being configured for implementing the method according to claim 1 [Siamwalla – Para 0024, 0028, Fig. 1: teaches computing devices with a processor 114 and memory 112 for implementing embodiments of the invention]
Regarding claim 9, Siamwalla is silent regarding the radio-television apparatus according to claim 8, said radio-television apparatus comprising a face/voice/gesture recognition device adapted to recognize a user's face through a video camera, detect a user's gestures, and recognize a user's voice, and being able to use said user's face/voice/gesture recognition information in order to execute commands in said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0053-0054, 0058, 0074: teaches the hand or other motions “in the air” may be captured in an image or series of images captured by a camera of the user device or another device, and based on the analysis used to either rearrange/reorder search results, or control a selection of content to be provided to the television from the set-top box.].
Mishra teaches is silent regarding the radio-television apparatus according to claim 8, said radio-television apparatus comprising a face/voice/gesture recognition device adapted to recognize a user's face through a video camera, detect a user's gestures, and recognize a user's voice, and being able to use said user's face/voice/gesture recognition information in order to execute commands in said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0053-0054, 0058, 0074: teaches the hand or other motions “in the air” may be captured in an image or series of images captured by a camera of the user device or another device, and based on the analysis used to either rearrange/reorder search results, or control a selection of content to be provided to the television from the set-top box.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Regarding claim 10, Siamwalla teaches A system for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said system comprising at least two radio-television apparatuses in accordance with claim 8 [Siamwalla – Para 0034: teaches that any number of client computing devices may be employed in the computing system].
Regarding claim 11, Siamwalla teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by said radio/television apparatus, perform the method according to claim 1 [Siamwalla – Para 0023: teaches computer readable storage media storing computer-useable instructions]
Regarding claim 12, Siamwalla is silent regarding the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case of a positive reply to a specific query made by a specific user, no message related to an actual availability of requested content is displayed if, before said specific user's credentials, whatever they are, have not been previously verified by said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0040, 0052, 0060: teaches Search results may also be tailored based on more general content information that is determined by the content provider to be popular generally with the same approximate demographic group as the user requesting the search.].
Mishra teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case of a positive reply to a specific query made by a specific user, no message related to an actual availability of requested content is displayed if, before said specific user's credentials, whatever they are, have not been previously verified by said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0040, 0052, 0060: teaches Search results may also be tailored based on more general content information that is determined by the content provider to be popular generally with the same approximate demographic group as the user requesting the search.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Regarding claim 13, Siamwalla is silent regarding The method according to claim 5, wherein in the case of positive reply to a query made by a specific user, no message related to the actual availability of the requested content is displayed if before said specific user's credentials, whatever they are, have not been previously verified by said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0040, 0052, 0060: teaches Search results may also be tailored based on more general content information that is determined by the content provider to be popular generally with the same approximate demographic group as the user requesting the search.].
Mishra teaches is silent regarding The method according to claim 5, wherein in the case of positive reply to a query made by a specific user, no message related to the actual availability of the requested content is displayed if before said specific user's credentials, whatever they are, have not been previously verified by said radio-television apparatus [Mishra – Para 0040, 0052, 0060: teaches Search results may also be tailored based on more general content information that is determined by the content provider to be popular generally with the same approximate demographic group as the user requesting the search.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Regarding claim 14, Siamwalla teaches A radio-television apparatus for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said apparatus being configured for implementing the method according to claim 2 [Siamwalla – Para 0024, 0028, Fig. 1: teaches computing devices with a processor 114 and memory 112 for implementing embodiments of the invention].
Regarding claim 15, Siamwalla teaches A radio-television apparatus for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said apparatus being configured for implementing the method according to claim 3 [Siamwalla – Para 0024, 0028, Fig. 1: teaches computing devices with a processor 114 and memory 112 for implementing embodiments of the invention].
Regarding claim 16, Siamwalla teaches A radio-television apparatus for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said apparatus being configured for implementing the method according to claim 1 [Siamwalla – Para 0024, 0028, Fig. 1: teaches computing devices with a processor 114 and memory 112 for implementing embodiments of the invention].
Regarding claim 17, Siamwalla teaches A radio-television apparatus for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said apparatus being configured for implementing the method according to claim 5 [Siamwalla – Para 0024, 0028, Fig. 1: teaches computing devices with a processor 114 and memory 112 for implementing embodiments of the invention].
Regarding claim 18, Siamwalla teaches A radio-television apparatus for generating messages, comprising information about radio-television programs, in reply to a query made on one or more radio-television program databases and/or on the Internet, said apparatus being configured for implementing the method according to claim 7 [Siamwalla – Para 0033: teaches the computing system 200 illustrates an environment in which supplemental or additional search results are presented in association with a SERP, along with indications that identified documents have been endorsed by the user and/or social network connections of the user. The computing system 200 generally includes a client device 210, a social networking application 212, and a search application 214, all in communication with one another via a network 216.].
Regarding claim 19, Siamwalla teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by said radio/television apparatus, perform the method according to claim 2 [Siamwalla – Para 0023: teaches computer readable storage media storing computer-useable instructions].
Regarding claim 20, Siamwalla teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by said radio/television apparatus, perform the method according to claim 5 [Siamwalla – Para 0023: teaches computer readable storage media storing computer-useable instructions]
Regarding claim 21, Siamwalla teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by said radio/television apparatus, perform the method according to claim 7 [Siamwalla – Para 0023: teaches computer readable storage media storing computer-useable instructions]
Regarding claim 22, Siamwalla teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein said first input of said user's credentials and second input of said user's credentials are input at different times. [Siamwalla – Para 0046: teaches the user may login to the social networking application 212 from the search application 214] [Liang – Para 0311-0314: teaches If a user enters the correct password or authentication, the hard drive search program returns search results. The hard drive search program or the file protection program refers to the database to determine if a password or a means of authentication of the user is required to display a search result, or open file, modify a file, print a file, or perform an action on the file.]
Examiner notes: Siamwalla is interpreted to teach inputted user credentials at the search application while Liang is interpreted to teach requiring password/authentication to display a search result.
Claim 23, Siamwalla is not entirely clear in teaching the method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more radio-television program databases is limited to one or more external electronic program guide (EPG) databases residing on one or more remote servers accessible via the Internet.
Mishra teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more radio-television program databases is limited to one or more external electronic program guide (EPG) databases residing on one or more remote servers (i.e. network deployment servers are external in a client-server network) accessible via the Internet (p. 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siamwalla’s search queries in view of Mishra to search associations for the reasons of properly recording user search histories for providing personalized search results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-23 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9692879 B1 Lack; Michael Nathan
US 20160275300 A1 KO; Hak-joo et al.
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 9/24/2026