DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of election of species in the reply filed on 7/16/20 is acknowledged. Therefore, Examiner will exam elected embodiment and associated claims.
The new added claims (11, 12, 13) are belong to non-elected embodiment. These claims are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
(b) The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, the limitations “the finger grip comprising one or more indentations on a top surface of the RBD housing sized to receive finger tips” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Examiner request Applicant to clearly indicate the claimed limitations, on the drawing, in the response.
In Claim 1, the limitations “one or more hanger(s) coupled to the RBD housing and configured to couple to a sidewall of the RBD enclosure: a locking mechanism on the RBD device configured to engage an ejection mechanism of the RBD enclosure” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Examiner request Applicant to clearly indicate the claimed limitations, on the drawing, in the response.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (see above), second paragraph, and/or discussed in the above claim objections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fussell (US 5886869) in view of Arnouse (US 20130308265).
Regarding claim 1, Fussell disclosed A removable bootable drive (RBD) device (abstract, see also fig 2-9) comprising: an RBD housing (at least fig 7-9, the housing); a finger grip coupled to the RBD housing (at least fig 2-9, indentations on a top surface of the RBD housing sized to receive finger tips), the finger grip comprising one or more indentations on a top surface of the RBD housing sized to receive finger tips (at least fig 2-9, one or more indentations on a top surface of the RBD housing sized to receive finger tips); a quick-insertion guide formed in an RBD enclosure configured to receive the RBD device (at least fig 2-9, there is at least one quick-insertion guide formed in an RBD enclosure configured to receive the RBD device); one or more hanger(s) coupled to the RBD housing and configured to couple to a sidewall of the RBD enclosure (at least fig 2-9, one or more hanger(s) coupled to the RBD housing and configured to couple to a sidewall of the RBD enclosure); a locking mechanism on the RBD device configured to engage an ejection mechanism of the RBD enclosure (at least fig 2-9, col. 4, lines 35-55, col. 5, lines 30-59); a robust RBD interface coupled to the RBD housing (at least fig 2-9); a storage device coupled to the robust RBD interface (at least fig 2-9); wherein, in operation, the finger grip provides a useful grip (at least fig 2-9, and useful grip structure configured to be gripped by a user) for an entity performing a task of mating the quick-insertion guide of the RBD enclosure with a corresponding portion of a small form factor (SFF) device (at least fig 2-9) to facilitate operationally coupling (at least fig 2-9) the robust RBD interface with a corresponding power and data interface comprising a SATA port of the RBD enclosure.
Fussell lacks teaching: the storage device has boot software and operating system software stored thereon; when the SFF device and RBD device are operationally combined to form an SFF computing device (already disclosed by the primary art, at least fig 2-9), the SFF computing device is bootable using the boot software and the SFF computing device operates in accordance with the operating system software, wherein the storage device includes an M Dot Two (M.2) drive or a Serial AT Attachment (SA TA) drive.
Arnouse teaches a bootable drive comprising: the storage device has boot software and operating system software stored thereon (paragraph [44-45], [70-73], [77-79], [50-53], [79-81]); when the SFF computing device is bootable using the boot software and the SFF computing device operates in accordance with the operating system software, wherein the storage device includes an M Dot Two (M.2) drive or a Serial AT Attachment (SA TA) drive (paragraph [56]-[59]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (see above discussion) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to primary art’s storage device) so as to have (Fussell in view of Arnouse): the storage device has boot software and operating system software stored thereon (Arnouse); when the SFF device and RBD device are operationally combined to form an SFF computing device (already disclosed by the primary art, at least fig 2-9), the SFF computing device is bootable using the boot software (Arnouse) and the SFF computing device operates in accordance with the operating system software (Arnouse), wherein the storage device includes an M Dot Two (M.2) drive or a Serial AT Attachment (SA TA) drive (Arnouse).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to provide bootable feature and/or meet the standard requirement and/or reduce the cost.
Regarding claim 2, modified Fussell further disclosed the storage device includes a solid state drive (S SD) (see Arnouse’s paragraph [91]-[93]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further enhance the performance of the modified structure.
Regarding claim 3, modified Fussell further disclosed the storage device includes an internal drive enclosed within the RBD housing (at least fig 2-9).
Regarding claim 5, modified Fussell further disclosed the robust RBD interface is formed of a sturdy material (at least fig 2; Examiner consider the interface allow user to use, or reuse, it more than one time which is a sturdy material; see also fig 2-9).
Regarding claim 7, modified Fussell further disclosed a first end of the RBD housing is narrower than a second end of the RBD housing to form a chamfered housing (at least fig 2-9).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fussell further disclosed a Radio Frequency Identifier (RFID) chip (Arnouse; paragraph [43]-[45]) or a radio opaque identifier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature and modify to previous discussed structure so as to further enhance the modified structure.
Regarding claim 10, modified Fussell further disclosed the quick-insertion guide includes a quick-insertion groove or a protrusion (at least fig 2-9).
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fussell (US 5886869) in view of Arnouse (US 20130308265) further in view of Delprete (US 5820391).
With regard claim 6, the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the robust RBD interface is formed of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polycarbonate, or modified PMMA or polycarbonate.
Delprete further teaches a device comprising: the interface is formed of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polycarbonate (col. 4, lines 40-50), or modified PMMA or polycarbonate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (using the known material as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the robust RBD interface, so that is formed of the above discussed known material) so as to further reduce the cost of the modified structure by using the known material; and/or increase the life time of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Furthermore, neither Kumar nor Wu disclose indentations sized to receive finger tips. The Office Action characterizes a generic flat surface as a "finger grip," but that is not the structure recited in amended claim 1. More specifically, the figures of Wu depict a rectangular enclosure and a key lock 40 - no finger tip indentations on the removable device's top surface. Accordingly, the cited art does not disclose the indentations as claimed. Moreover, Neither Kumar nor Wu disclose hangers on the removable drive that engage the enclosure sidewall. At most, the canister of Kumar and the cradle of Wu do not add this RBD-side hardware (see, e.g., Kumar FIGs. 1 - 3; Wu text and FIGs. 2 - 4). For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn. Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 9, 10 and 11-14, which depend from claim 1, are allowable to the extent they depend from an allowable base claim, and potentially for other reasons as well. Accordingly, Applicant requests the rejections be withdrawn.” (pages 5 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to current ground of rejection in the office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841