Claim Objections
Claims 10, 36, and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “annual” and should be “ annular”.
Claim 36 recites “annual” and should be “ annular”.
Claim 37 recites “annual” and should be “ annular”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 recites “at least one radially outwardly extending portion” and “the radially outwardly extending annular portion” which is unclear if claim 36 intended to only have one radially outwardly extending portion or one or more radially outwardly extending portion. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one radially outwardly extending
Claim 37 is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 14, 22, 34, 36-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 2014017902 A).
In regard to claim 10, Kim discloses a tubing connection (Fig. 2 shows a tubing connection), comprising:
at least one fitting (Fig. 2, fitting at 2) having a first end (Fig. 2 shows a first end of the fitting 2) comprising a first connection element (Fig. 2, portion from 5 to 4 define a first connection element), the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction (Figs. 2 and 3 show how the first connection element is configured to be reduced in a radial direction to connect to tube 9), the first connection element comprising
(i) at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting (Fig. 2, pre-formed hook element 4) and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting (Fig. 2, 4 runs at least circumferentially around the fitting), and
(ii) at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (Fig. 2, at 5 forms at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess);
a tubular element connected to the fitting (Fig. 2, tube 9), the tubular element comprising at least one crimp or at least one second hook element formed on an outer surface of the tubular element (Fig. 3, crimp at 11 formed an outer surface of 9); and
at least one sealing element arranged at least partly in the at least one recess (Fig. 2, sealing element at 6);
wherein the at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element is configured to be connected in a force-fit or a form-fit manner to the at least one crimp or the at least one second hook element formed in response to the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element being reduced (Figs. 2 and 3 show how 4 is connected in a force-fit or form-fit manner to crimp at 11 in response to the diameter of the first connection element being reduced);
the at least one radially outwardly extending portion additionally forms, at a terminus of the at least one annular recess, a gripping element for engaging the outer surface of the tubular element (See image below, indicated gripping element is at least a portion which extends from a terminus of the at least one annular recess and the gripping element is for engaging the outer surface of the tubular element since it has a portion that is crimped inwardly to contact the outer surface of the tubular element during unwanted axial disconnect); and
the gripping element is axially spaced apart from the at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element (See image below, indicated axial space defines at least a small amount of axial space between the gripping element and the hook).
In regard to claim 14, Kim discloses the tubing connection according to claim 10, wherein a wall thickness of the tubular element in the area of the at least one crimp is constant and identical to the wall thickness of the remaining part of the tubular element (Fig. 3, the crimp at 11 has a wall thickness that is constant and identical to the wall thickness of the remaining part of the tubular element such that the crimp extends radially inward).
In regard to claim 22, Kim discloses the tubing connection according to claim 14, wherein the at least one crimp comprises at least one first indentation on the outer surface of the tubular element (Fig. 3, crimp at 11 is at least a first indentation on the outer surface of 9) and at least one elevation on the inner surface of the tubular element (Fig. 3, crimp at 11 forms an elevation on the inner surface of 9).
In regard to claim 34, Kim discloses the tubing connection according to claim 10, wherein the at least one sealing element comprises at least one of: a sealing ring, an O-ring, an elastomeric material, a viscous fluid sealant, or adhesive sealant (Fig. 2, seal at 6 which is at least a sealing ring, an O-ring, or elastomeric material).
In regard to claim 36, Kim discloses a system (Fig. 2 shows a system) comprising:
at least one fitting having a first end comprising at least one first connection element, the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction, the first connection element comprising a radially inwardly extending first hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one fitting…around the fitting”), the at least one first connection element having a first curved surface (Fig. 2, the first connection element has a first curved surface at 4 since it is circular and the circumferential surface of 4 defines a first curved surface), the fitting having further at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (Figs. 3 and 4, radially outward extending portion and annular recess at 5); and
at least one tubular element connected to the fitting, the tubular element comprising securing means formed on an outer surface of the tubular element for securing the at least one tubular element to the at least one fitting in response to the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element being reduced (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one tubular element…being reduced” such that the crimp at 11 defines a securing means), the securing means having a second curved surface which is complementary to the first curved surface (Fig. 2, crimp at 11 is curved along the axial direction and curved in the circumferential direction which is at least complementary to the first curved surface of 4 in order to form the connection between the fitting at 2 and tube 9);
wherein:
the at least one radially outwardly portion additionally forms, at a terminus of the at least one annular recess, a gripping element for engaging the outer surface of the at least one tubular element; and
the gripping element is axially spaced apart from the first hook element (See claim 10 above for the same reasons that require the same features as “the at least one extending portion…hook element.”).
In regard to claim 37, Kim discloses a method (Figs. 2-4 shows a method of a tubing connection) comprising:
providing a fitting having a first end comprising a connection element, the diameter of at least a part of the connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction, the connection element comprising a radially inwardly extending hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting (See claim 10 above for the same features of “a fitting having a first end…around the fitting”) and at least one radially outwardly extending circular portion (Fig. 2, at 5 defines at least one radially outwardly extending circular portion), the fitting having at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (Figs. 3 and 4, radially outward extending portion and annular recess at 5); and
providing a tubular element having a crimp formed on an outer surface of the tubular element (See claim 10 above for the same features of “a tubular element…the tubular element”); and
inserting the at least one tubular element into the at least one fitting prior to a reduction in a diameter of at least one section of the connection element in a radial direction (Fig. 2, 9 inserts into the fitting prior to a reduction in a diameter of at least one section of the connection element in a radial direction from a section from 5 to 4), wherein by the reduction of the diameter, the hook element and the at least one radially outwardly extending circular portion are deformed to engage at least one crimp formed on the surface of the tubular element so as to provide a force-fit or form-fit connection of the fitting to the at least one tubular element (Figs. 3 and 4 show the hook element 4 and the recess at 5 are reduced in diameter to engage the crimp at 11 to provide a force-fit or form-fit connection),
wherein:
the at least one radially outwardly portion additionally forms, at a terminus of the at least one annular recess, a gripping element for engaging the outer surface of the at least one tubular element; and
the gripping element is axially spaced apart from the first hook element (See claim 10 above for the same reasons that require the same features as “the at least one extending portion…hook element.”).
In regard to claim 39, Kim discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2 shows an apparatus) comprising:
at least one fitting having an end comprising at least one connection element, a diameter of at least a part of the at least one connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction, the at least one connection element comprising (i) at least one radially inwardly extending hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting, and (ii) at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess;
at least one tubular element connected to the fitting and comprising at least one crimp formed on an outer surface of the tubular element; and
at least one sealing element arranged at least partly in the at least one annular recess (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one fitting…at least one annular recess”) and configured to seal the at least one fitting relative to the at least one tubular element (Fig. 2, seal at 6 is configured to seal the fitting relative to 9),
wherein:
the at least one radially inwardly extending hook element is configured to be connected in a force-fit or a form-fit manner to the at least one crimp formed in response to the diameter of at least a part of the at least one connection element being reduced (See claim 10 above for the same features of “the at least one radially inwardly extending hook…being reduced”);
the diameter of an area between the hook element and the annular recess is reduced to connect the hook element to the crimp (Figs. 2-4 shows the hook element and annular recess is reduced in order to connect hook at 4 to the crimp at 11).
Claims 10, 14, 22, 34, 36-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salehi-Bakhtiari (US 2013/0049361 A1).
In regard to claim 10, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses a tubing connection (Fig. 5 shows a tubing connection), comprising:
at least one fitting (Fig. 5, fitting at 1) having a first end (Fig. 5 shows a first end of 1) comprising a first connection element (Fig. 5, portion from 11 to 15 defines a first connection element), the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction (Fig. 5, part at 15 reduces in diameter), the first connection element comprising
(i) at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting (Fig. 5, the tooth of teeth 10 at the open end of 15 defines at least one radially inwardly extending first hook that is pre-formed prior to pressing against 13) and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting (Fig. 5, the tooth runs circumferentially around 1), and
(ii) at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (See image below, indicated radially outward extending portion forms a recess and extends radially outward relative to an adjacent groove of the fitting);
a tubular element connected to the fitting (Fig. 5, tube 13), the tubular element comprising at least one crimp or at least one second hook element formed on an outer surface of the tubular element (See image below, indicated crimp on an outer surface of 13); and
at least one sealing element arranged at least partly in the at least one recess (Fig. 5 and see image below, sealing element 11 in the recess);
wherein the at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element is configured to be connected in a force-fit or a form-fit manner to the at least one crimp or the at least one second hook element formed in response to the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element being reduced (Fig. 5 and see image below, the hook is connected in a force-fit or form-fit manner to the crimp in response to a diameter reduction of the hook);
the at least one radially outwardly extending portion additionally forms, at a terminus of the at least one annular recess, a gripping element for engaging the outer surface of the tubular element (See image below, indicated gripping element is at least a portion which extends from a terminus of the at least one annular recess and the gripping element is for engaging the outer surface of the tubular element since it has a portion that is pressed inwardly to contact the outer surface of the tubular element); and
the gripping element is axially spaced apart from the at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element (See image below, indicated axial space defines at least a distance between the gripping element and the hook).
In regard to claim 14, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses the tubing connection according to claim 10, wherein a wall thickness of the tubular element in the area of the at least one crimp is constant and identical to the wall thickness of the remaining part of the tubular element (Fig. 5 and see image above for claim 10, wall thickness of the crimp and tube 13 remain constant and identical).
In regard to claim 22, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses the tubing connection according to claim 14, wherein the at least one crimp comprises at least one first indentation on the outer surface of the tubular element (See image above for claim 10, indicated crimp is at least an indentation on the outer surface of 13) and at least one elevation on the inner surface of the tubular element (See image above for claim 10, indicated crimp forms an elevation on the inner surface of tube 13).
In regard to claim 34, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses the tubing connection according to claim 10, wherein the at least one sealing element comprises at least one of: a sealing ring, an O-ring, an elastomeric material, a viscous fluid sealant, or adhesive sealant (Fig. 5, seal at 11 is at least a sealing ring, an O-ring, or an elastomeric seal).
In regard to claim 36, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses a system (Fig. 5 shows a system) comprising:
at least one fitting having a first end comprising at least one first connection element, the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction, the first connection element comprising radially inwardly extending first hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one fitting…around the fitting”), the at least one first connection element having a first curved surface (Fig. 5, the at least one first connection element at at least the hook is circular, therefore, has a first curved surface along the circumference of the hook element), the fitting having further at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (See claim 10 above for the same feature); and
at least one tubular element connected to the fitting, the tubular element comprising securing means formed on an outer surface of the tubular element for securing the at least one tubular element to the at least one fitting in response to the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element being reduced (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one tubular element…being reduced”), the securing means having a second curved surface which is complementary to the first curved surface (See image above for claim 10, the crimp defines at least a second curved surface along the axial direction and circumferential direction that is complementary to the hook in order to form the connection);
wherein:
the at least one radially outwardly extending portion additionally forms, at a terminus of the at least one annular recess, a gripping element for engaging the outer surface of the tubular element; and
the gripping element is axially spaced apart from the at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element (See claim 10 above for the same reasons which require the same features as “the at least one radially outwardly extending portion…hook element”).
In regard to claim 37, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses a method (Fig. 5 shows a method of connecting to a tube) comprising:
providing a fitting having a first end comprising a connection element, the diameter of at least a part of the connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction, the connection element comprising a radially inwardly extending hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting and at least one radially outwardly extending circular portion (See claim 10 above for the same features of “a fitting…circular portion”), the fitting having at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (See claim 10 above for the same feature); and
providing a tubular element having a crimp formed on an outer surface of the tubular element (See claim 10 above for the same features of “a tubular element…the tubular element”); and
inserting the one tubular element into the at least one fitting prior to a reduction in a diameter of at least one section of the connection element in a radial direction, wherein by the reduction of the diameter, the hook element and the at least one radially outwardly extending circular portion are deformed to engage at least one crimp formed on the surface of the tubular element so as to provide a force-fit or form-fit connection of the fitting to the at least one tubular element (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one tubular element…at least one tubular element”);
wherein:
the at least one radially outwardly extending portion additionally forms, at a terminus of the at least one annular recess, a gripping element for engaging the outer surface of the tubular element; and
the gripping element is axially spaced apart from the at least one radially inwardly extending first hook element (See claim 10 above for the same reasons which require the same features as “the at least one radially outwardly extending portion…hook element”).
In regard to claim 39, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5 shows an apparatus) comprising:
at least one fitting having an end comprising at least one connection element, a diameter of at least a part of the at least one connection element configured to be reduced in a radial direction, the at least one connection element comprising (i) at least one radially inwardly extending hook element being pre-formed in the fitting prior to a pressing of the fitting and being formed as an element that runs circumferentially around the fitting, and (ii) at least one radially outwardly extending portion forming at least one annular recess (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one fitting…annular recess”);
at least one tubular element connected to the fitting and comprising at least one crimp formed on an outer surface of the tubular element; and
at least one sealing element arranged at least partly in the at least one annular recess (See claim 10 above for the same features of “at least one tubular element…annular recess”) and configured to seal the at least one fitting relative to the at least one tubular element (Fig. 5, the seal is for sealing the fitting relative to the tube),
wherein:
the at least one radially inwardly extending hook element is configured to be connected in a force-fit or a form-fit manner to the at least one crimp formed in response to the diameter of at least a part of the at least one connection element being reduced;
the diameter of an area between the hook element and the annular recess is reduced to connect the hook element to the crimp (See claim 10 above for the same features of “the at least one radially inwardly extending hook…to the crimp”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 2014017902 A).
In regard to claim 15, Kim discloses the tubing connection according to claim 10, wherein:
at least one of
(i) the tubular element or
(ii) the fitting comprises
at least one metallic material, wherein the at least one metallic material comprises one or more of: copper, iron, steel, stainless steel, brass, cast material or forged material (See English translation of the abstract which discloses the invention can be made of stainless steel)
Kim does not expressly disclose one or more of
(a) carbon material or
(b) at least one plastic material, and the at least one plastic material comprises one or more of polymethylmethacrylate, polycarbonate, polyvinyl chloride, glass fiber or reinforced plastic.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the tubular element and/or the fitting of Kim to be made of a known material such as stainless steel with carbon material with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a stainless steel material of increased corrosion resistance, high and low temperature resistance, improved strength, improved weldability, improved formability, or controlling magnetism as disclosed at https://www.unifiedalloys.com/blog/what-is-stainless-steel.
In regard to claim 40, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 39, wherein:
the at least one radially outwardly extending portion comprises a first radially outwardly extending portion forming a first annular recess (Fig. 2, at 5 defines a first annular recess);
the at least one sealing element comprises a first sealing element arranged in the first annular recess (Fig. 2, sealing element at 6 in 5).
Kim does not expressly disclose a second radially outwardly portion forming a second annular recess and a second sealing element arranged in the second annular recess.
It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to include a second radially outwardly portion forming a second annular recess and a second sealing element arranged in the second annular recess with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a stronger seal connection with two seals instead of one.
Additionally, applicant’s specification lacks any description of any unexpected results or non-obviousness of a second seal and the drawings do not show any second seal. Therefore, the claimed second seal lacks criticality and the crux of applicant’s invention with regard to the at least one radially outwardly extending portion is to have at least one seal.
Claim 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 2014017902 A) in view of Amplett (US 3,767,211).
In regard to claims 35 and 38, Kim discloses the tubing connection according to claims 10 and 34, but does not expressly disclose further comprising at least one receptacle including at least one sealant, the receptacle being configured to rupture when the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element is reduced thereby releasing the at least one sealant contained therein.
In the related field of systems utilizing gaskets, Amplett teaches a gasket having at least one receptacle including at least one sealant, the receptacle being configured to rupture when a pressure is applied to the gasket (In 1:60-68 to 2:1-25 discloses the invention relates to gasket with pressure-rupturable microcapsules on the surface of the gasket which upon a pressure, the microcapsules rupture to release a sealing liquid composition) in order to have the advantage of an improved gasket seal (In 1:60-68 to 2:1-25 discloses the pressure-rupturable microcapsules provides an improved gasket seal since connection with gaskets may have irregular surfaces that are not sealed by only the gasket or connections with gaskets that lose tension due to gasket relaxation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one sealing element of Kim to include at least one receptacle including at least one sealant, the receptacle being configured to rupture when the diameter of at least a part of the first connection element is reduced thereby releasing the at least one sealant contained therein with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of an improved gasket seal as taught by Amplett.
Claims 15 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salehi-Bakhtiari (US 2013/0049361 A1).
In regard to claim 15, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses the tubing connection according to claim 10, wherein:
at least one of
(i) the tubular element or
(ii) the fitting comprises
at least one metallic material (In [0077] discloses metal) but does not expressly disclose and one or more of
(a) carbon material or
(b) at least one plastic material,
the at least one metallic material comprises one or more of: copper, iron, steel, stainless steel, brass, cast material or forged material, and
the at least one plastic material comprises one or more of polymethylmethacrylate, polycarbonate, polyvinyl chloride, glass fiber or reinforced plastic.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the tubular element and/or the fitting of Salehi-Bakhtiari to be made of a known material such as stainless steel with carbon material with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a stainless steel material of increased corrosion resistance, high and low temperature resistance, improved strength, improved weldability, improved formability, or controlling magnetism as disclosed at https://www.unifiedalloys.com/blog/what-is-stainless-steel.
In regard to claim 40, Salehi-Bakhtiari discloses the apparatus of claim 39, wherein:
the at least one radially outwardly extending portion comprises a first radially outwardly extending portion forming a first annular recess (Fig. 5, at 11 defines a first annular recess);
the at least one sealing element comprises a first sealing element arranged in the first annular recess (Fig. 2, sealing element at 6 in 5).
Salehi-Bakhtiari does not expressly disclose a second radially outwardly portion forming a second annular recess and a second sealing element arranged in the second annular recess.
It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salehi-Bakhtiari to include a second radially outwardly portion forming a second annular recess and a second sealing element arranged in the second annular recess with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a stronger seal connection with two seals instead of one.
Additionally, applicant’s specification lacks any description of any unexpected results or non-obviousness of a second seal and the drawings do not show any second seal. Therefore, the claimed second seal lacks criticality and the crux of applicant’s invention with regard to the at least one radially outwardly extending portion is to have at least one seal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the Examiner interpreted the hook and gripping element of Kim as merely different portions of a single structural element and the alleged gripping element is not situated at a terminus of any annular recess, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because the interpretation of the hook and gripping element being different portions of a single structural element is a reasonably interpretation in light of applicant’s invention shown in Fig. 3 where the hook at 21’ and the gripping element 31’ are different portions of a single structural element of the fitting. Therefore, a gripping element can be reasonably interpreted as a portion of a fitting. See the updated rejection above such that an alternative interpretation of Kim discloses at least a gripping element that extends from a terminus of the annular recess and is axially spaced apart from the hook. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and contradictory.
With regard to Salehi-Bakhtiari, see the updated rejection above such that an alternative interpretation of Kim discloses at least a gripping element that extends from a terminus of the annular recess and is axially spaced apart from the hook. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679