DETAILED ACTION
Notes
All the objections and rejections in the previous Office Action not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the width adapted to ergonomically support at least one user's finger, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “a kit,” “ergonomically,” and “to facilitate one-handed sterile opening and reclosing of said recessed well” in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is objected to because the deleted subject matter is not properly marked to indicate the changes that have been made. The text of any deleted matter must be shown with proper markings (e.g., strike-through).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended independent claim 1 recites the limitation "a distal raised platform … having a width adapted to ergonomically support at least one user's finger," however, said limitation fails to comply with written description requirement. The instant specification, as originally filed, discloses a distal raised platform having a width to support at least one user’s finger, or the like (see paragraph [0019]). However, there is nothing of record in the originally filed specification which states/suggests the distal raised platform to comprise ergonomic support features. Applicant’s disclosure is silent regarding an ergonomic support. As such, said limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Amended independent claim 1 recites the limitation "to facilitate one-handed sterile opening and reclosing of said recessed well," however, said limitation fails to comply with written description requirement. The instant specification, as originally filed, discloses the process of lifting a cover from the peel plate (see, e.g., paragraph [0036]). However, there is nothing of record in the originally filed specification which states/suggests the lifting maintains the peel plate sterile. As such, said limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Amended independent claim 1 recites the limitation "a water sample comprising live heterotrophic bacteria, when present, said water sample being adapted to be dispensed into said recessed well for growth and subsequent enumeration," however, said limitation fails to comply with written description requirement. The instant specification, as originally filed, discloses a water sample is added to a peel plate having a culture media (see, e.g., paragraph [0036]). However, there is nothing of record in the originally filed specification which states/suggests the peel plate assembly includes a kit that is already contains a water sample. As such, said limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a water sample comprising live heterotrophic bacteria, when present, said water sample being adapted to be dispensed into said recessed well for growth and subsequent enumeration" in lines 25-27. However, the claimed invention is directed to a kit and it is unclear if the water sample is an element of the kit. Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a water sample" in line 25. However, it is unclear if the recited water sample is referring to the water sample recited earlier in line 2 or is an additional water sample.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Skiffington et al. (US 10,988,720; hereinafter “Skiffington”) in view of Monks et al. (US 6,022, 700; hereinafter “Monks”).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Skiffington discloses a kit for enumerating a microorganism, when present, in a water sample, said kit comprising: a. a peel plate comprising: i. a recessed well having a sunken wall protruding from an upper face (FIGS. 1-2 and 4; col. 4, line 57 to col. 5, line 39) and having a culture medium dried media culture disc adapted to rehydrate upon contact with said water sample to promote growth of said live heterotrophic bacteria, when present (dried media is contacted with a water sample; col. 3, ll. 44-46; col. 4, line 57 to col. 5, line 39; col. 7, ll. 21-26); ii. a pair of opposing proximate extensions integrally formed with said peel plate adjacent said recessed well and spaced between an access indent, wherein at least one of said proximate extensions includes a raised proximate tab adapted to align multiple plates in a layered position (FIGS. 1-2: col. 4, line 57 to col. 5, line 30); iii. a distal raised platform adjacent said recessed well and having a width adapted to support at least one user’s finger during handling, and wherein said recessed well being spaced between said distal raised platform and said proximate extensions (FIGS. 1-2 and 4: col. 3, ll. 62-66, col. 4, line 57 to col. 5, line 30); and iv. a resealable, removeable cover seal comprising a flexible sheet having a first end fixedly secured to said plate adjacent said distal raised platform and an opposing second removable end adapted to peelably enclose said recessed well, and wherein said cover seal includes an integral peel tab removably secured to a proximate end of said plate (FIGS. 7-8, col. 5, ll. 52-60, col. 6, ll. 13-19) to facilitate one-handed sterile opening and reclosing of said recessed well (see FIG. 4; further, Skiffington discloses all of the structural features of the claimed removable cover and this considered to be capable to meet the limitation “to facilitate one-handed sterile opening and reclosing of said recessed well”), and wherein said peel plate adapted to enable visual enumeration of enumerate said live heterotrophic bacteria by facilitating growth within said recessed well under controlled conditions, when present in said water sample (col. 4, ll. 19-20 and 63-65; col. 7, ll. 21-26); and b. a water sample comprising live heterotrophic bacteria, when present, said water sample being adapted to be dispensed into said recessed well for growth and subsequent enumeration (see col. 5, ll. 45-51). Skiffington does not explicitly disclose wherein the distal raised platform has a width that is adapted to ergonomically support at least one user's finger. Monks discloses a plate (substrate) having features that are adapted to support fingers of a user (col. 11, ll. 6-9). In view of Monks, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal raised platform of Skiffington to be adapted to ergonomically support users fingers for the purpose of securely handling the plate as disclosed by Monks (col. 11, ll. 6-9).
Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "for enumerating live heterotrophic bacteria, when present, in a water sample; and, to enable visual enumeration of enumerate said live heterotrophic bacteria by facilitating growth within said recessed well under controlled conditions, when present in said water sample" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, Skiffington further discloses wherein said recessed well being aligned below and parallel to an upper face of said plate and includes a grid (col. 3, ll. 7-10).
Regarding claim 5, Skiffington further discloses wherein said grid being visible for colony counting after said sample has absorbed and diffused (col. 3, ll. 10-13).
Regarding claim 7, Skiffington further discloses wherein said proximate extensions each include a rounded corner entry to said access indent (col. 3, ll. 14-16).
Regarding claim 8, Skiffington further discloses wherein said distal raised platform spans about a length of a diameter of said recessed well (col. 3, ll. 18-19).
Regarding claim 11, Skiffington further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a bacterial nutritive ingredient (col. 3, ll. 25-26).
Regarding claim 12, Skiffington further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a growth indicator color-developing agent (col. 3, ll. 27-28).
Regarding claim 13, Skiffington further discloses wherein said color-developing agent is selected from the group consisting of triphenyltetrazolium chloride, 3-(p-iodophenyl)-2-(p- nitrophenyl)-5-phenyl-2H-tetrazolium chloride, 3-(4,5-dimethyl-2-thiazolyl)-2 ,5-diphenyl-2H- tetrazolium bromide, 5-bromo-3-indolyl-beta.-D-galactoside, bromothymol blue, and neutral red (col. 3, ll. 28-33).
Regarding claim 14, Skiffington further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a plate count agar or plate count agar individual components (col. 3, ll. 33-34).
Regarding claim 15, Skiffington further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a yeast and mold growth media (col. 3, ll. 35-36).
Regarding claim 16, Skiffington further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a bacterial nutritive ingredient selective medium for growth of indicator organisms (col. 3, ll. 37-39).
Regarding claim 17, Skiffington further discloses wherein said bacterial nutritive ingredient comprises selective growth agents for coliform, E. coli, enterbacteriaceae, or pathogens (col. 3, ll. 39-41).
Regarding claim 18, Skiffington further discloses wherein said bacterial nutritive ingredient comprises selective growth agents for salmonella, listeria, or camphlobacter (col. 3, ll. 41-43).
Regarding claim 19, Skiffington further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises at least one of an organic solvent (col. 3, ll. 44-45) and enhancer (col. 3, ll. 46-48).
Regarding claim 20, Skiffington discloses all of the structural features of the claimed peel plate and thus considered to meet the limitation “a limit of detection being one colony forming unit per millimeter of said water sample.” Furthermore, the bacterial and water sample are material worked on and not elements of the claimed peel plate. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Skiffington et al. (US 10,407,654; hereinafter “‘654”) in view of Monks et al. (US 6,022,700; hereinafter “Monks”).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, ‘654 discloses a kit for enumerating a microorganism, when present, in a sample, said kit comprising: a. a peel plate comprising: i. a recessed well having a sunken wall protruding from an upper face (FIGS. 1-2 and 4; col. 6, ll. 17-65) and having a culture medium dried media culture disc adapted to rehydrate upon contact with said water sample to promote growth of said live heterotrophic bacteria, when present (dried media culture disc of ‘654 is structurally the same as the instant dried media culture disc and thus fully capable “to rehydrate upon contact with said water sample to promote growth of said live heterotrophic bacteria, when present”; see also col. 3, ll. 3-6); ii. a pair of opposing proximate extensions integrally formed with said peel plate adjacent said recessed well and spaced between an access indent, wherein at least one of said proximate extensions includes a raised proximate tab adapted to align multiple plates in a layered position (FIGS. 1-2 and 4; col. 6, ll. 17-65); iii. a distal raised platform adjacent said recessed well and having a width adapted to support at least one user’s finger during handling, and wherein said recessed well being spaced between said distal raised platform and said proximate extensions (FIGS. 1-2 and 4; col. 4, ll. 15-17, col. 6, ll. 56-61); and iv. a resealable, removeable cover seal comprising a flexible sheet having a first end fixedly secured to said plate adjacent said distal raised platform and an opposing second removable end adapted to peelably enclose said recessed well, and wherein said cover seal includes an integral peel tab removably secured to a proximate end of said plate (FIGS. 1-2 and 4, col. 4, ll. 31-37, col. 8, ll. 18-19) to facilitate one-handed sterile opening and reclosing of said recessed well (see FIG. 4; further, ‘654 discloses all of the structural features of the claimed removable cover and this considered to be capable to meet the limitation “to facilitate one-handed sterile opening and reclosing of said recessed well”), and wherein said peel plate adapted to enable visual enumeration of enumerate said live heterotrophic bacteria by facilitating growth within said recessed well under controlled conditions, when present in said water sample (col. 4, ll. 35-39); and b. a water sample comprising live heterotrophic bacteria, when present, said water sample being adapted to be dispensed into said recessed well for growth and subsequent enumeration (see col. 5, ll. 45-51). Skiffington does not explicitly disclose wherein the distal raised platform has a width that is adapted to ergonomically support at least one user's finger. Monks discloses a plate (substrate) having features that are adapted to support fingers of a user (col. 11, ll. 6-9). In view of Monks, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal raised platform of Skiffington to be adapted to ergonomically support users fingers for the purpose of securely handling the plate as disclosed by Monks (col. 11, ll. 6-9).
Furthermore, it is noted that the recitations of functional language "for enumerating live heterotrophic bacteria, when present, in a water sample; and, to enable visual enumeration of enumerate said live heterotrophic bacteria by facilitating growth within said recessed well under controlled conditions, when present in said water sample" are drawn to intended use of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, ‘654 further discloses wherein said recessed well being aligned below and parallel to an upper face of said plate and includes a grid (col. 3, ll. 26-27).
Regarding claim 5, ‘654 further discloses wherein said grid being visible for colony counting after said sample has absorbed and diffused (col. 3, ll. 27-30).
Regarding claim 7, ‘654 further discloses wherein said proximate extensions each include a rounded corner entry to said access indent (col. 3, ll. 32-33).
Regarding claim 8, ‘654 further discloses wherein said distal raised platform spans about a length of a diameter of said recessed well (col. 3, ll. 36-37).
Regarding claim 11, ‘654 further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a bacterial nutritive ingredient (col. 3, ll. 43-44).
Regarding claim 12, ‘654 further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a growth indicator color-developing agent (col. 3, ll. 45-46).
Regarding claim 13, ‘654 further discloses wherein said color-developing agent is selected from the group consisting of triphenyltetrazolium chloride, 3-(p-iodophenyl)-2-(p- nitrophenyl)-5-phenyl-2H-tetrazolium chloride, 3-(4,5-dimethyl-2-thiazolyl)-2 ,5-diphenyl-2H- tetrazolium bromide, 5-bromo-3-indolyl-beta.-D-galactoside, bromothymol blue, and neutral red (col. 3, ll. 46-51).
Regarding claim 14, ‘654 further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a plate count agar or plate count agar individual components (col. 3, ll. 51-53).
Regarding claim 15, ‘654 further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a yeast and mold growth media (col. 3, ll. 53-54).
Regarding claim 16, ‘654 further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises a bacterial nutritive ingredient selective medium for growth of indicator organisms (col. 3, ll. 55-57).
Regarding claim 17, ‘654 further discloses wherein said bacterial nutritive ingredient comprises selective growth agents for coliform, E. coli, enterbacteriaceae, or pathogens (col. 3, ll. 57-58).
Regarding claim 18, ‘654 further discloses wherein said bacterial nutritive ingredient comprises selective growth agents for salmonella, listeria, or camphlobacter (col. 3, ll. 59-61).
Regarding claim 19, ‘654 further discloses wherein said dried media culture disc comprises at least one of an organic solvent (col. 3, ll. 62-63) and an enhancer (col. 3, ll. 65-66).
Regarding claim 20, ‘654 discloses all of the structural features of the claimed peel plate and thus considered to meet the limitation “a limit of detection being one colony forming unit per millimeter of said water sample.” Furthermore, the bacterial and water sample are material worked on and not elements of the claimed peel plate. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim.
Double Patenting
A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10, 988,720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because despite difference of wording each of the limitation of the instant claims are contained within claims of U.S. Patent No. 10, 988,720. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,407,654. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because despite difference of wording each of the limitation of the instant claims are contained within claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,407,654.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799