Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (2003/0001722) in views of De Arruda (2007/0192608), Sparkes et al (2012/0221811) and further in views of Inoue et al (2010/0117791).
For claim 1, Smith teaches a method for controlling access of a user to a set of equipment (computer equipment’s) of a secure site (secure areas as Smith teaches in par.1) from a communication terminal (par.16)(abstract), the user being physically associated with a communicating portable device (badge) containing an identifier of the user (sensor that identify the badge user) (par.16, lines 3-8)(abstract), the method comprising: opening of a temporary session (Smith teaches of periodically of checking of the badge if the badge is the area that is allowed to be or not by activating or deactivating as Smith teaches in par.21) by a biometric activator (identification system 14 as shown in fig.1) for said user by utilizing of a biometric authentication of said user (par.17, lines 1-6); said biometric activator being configured to read the identifier of the user received from the communicating portable device utilizing wireless communication (the user wearing badge that includes sensor that the identifier reads the sensor for the position of the user and identification system may also include a database having information known only to user 20, which may be utilized in generating queries that only user 20 would know how to answer received from the communicating portable device through wireless communication means as Smith teaches in par.40 and 41-42 and 44), said biometric authentication being performed based on said identifier of the user received from the communicating portable device (Smith teaches that the system can utilize any type of transceiver to generate the communication link between the badge and the relevant computer terminals as Smith teaches in par.39 and 40) and digital fingerprints of personnel authorized on the secure site stored in a database accessible to the biometric activator (Smith teaches that the biometric identification hardware such as the fingerprint scanner, microphone, pulse detector, or temperature detector can be part of the badge, and that information is loaded using an encryption system that assures that an eavesdropper cannot gain access to the stored information in a manner that would allow the eavesdropper to communicate with the various terminals in the system as Smith teaches in par.13); said data representing an activation of the communication portable device (Smith teaches that The badge includes a data processor having a non-volatile and a volatile memory, a transceiver, and an attachment sensor, once the badge is activated, that information is loaded on the badge which means data which includes the activating information is loaded into the badge as Smith teaches in par.27-30) and authorizing the access by the user to equipment of the set following verification that communicating portable device is activated comprising verifying that the temporary session is open based on the stored data (Smith teaches that user 20 can approach the terminals that are authorized to serve user 20 such as terminal 12 and gain access thereto as Smith teach in par.20 and 22, lines 1-5), initiating, by the communicating portable device, a closure of the temporary session in an event of a break in the physical association between the user and the communicating portable device (Smith par.21, lines 1-6).
Smith fails to teach stored in database of an access control server, storing data of the temporary session in the database of the access control server, said data comprising an opening date and a duration or a termination date; writing said data, by the biometric activator, in a memory of the communicating portable device; authorizing by the access control server the access by the user to equipment of the set said verification comprising comparing the stored data with a current date in such a way as to terminate the temporary session when the time conditions are fulfilled, and authentication of said communication terminal through comparison between a signature determined at a time of access and a reference signature stored in a database within said secure site, by writing appropriate status information or setting the termination date of the temporary session to a current date in the memory of the communicating portable device.
De Arruda teaches, similar system, stored in database of an access control server (De Arruda teaches that Authentication Server has both an interactive and a storage function and storing the access attempt history (successful or not) of each SERVICE user as De Arruda teaches par.21), authorizing by the access control server the access by the user to equipment of the set (De Arruda teaches that Authentication Server gives the access authorization to the user as De Arruda teaches par.20) and authentication of said communication terminal through comparison between a signature determined at a time of access and a reference signature stored in a database within said secure site (par.8, lines 1-8, whenever user tries to access a service…signature is compared) (abstract). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Smith’ controlling access system to include comparison between a signature determined at the time of access and a reference signature stored in a database within said secure site as taught and suggested by De Arruda for the purpose of protecting the system even more against anyone who attempts to intercept the communication between the user device and the Authentication Server and improving its security level (De Arruda, par.9). Smith, as modified by De Arruda, does not explicitly teach storing data of the temporary session in the database of the access control server, said data comprising an opening date and a duration or a termination date; said verification comprising comparing the stored data with a current date in such a way as to terminate the temporary session when the time conditions are fulfilled.
Smith in view of De Arruda fails to explicitly teach, however, Sparkes teaches similar system, Sparkes storing data of the temporary session in the database of the access control server (Sparkes teaches that the ability to set a given dataset for retention for a particular retention period by storing a corresponding retention date in an attribute of the dataset as Sparkes teaches in abstract), said data comprising an opening date and a duration or a termination date (Sparkes teaches of provided is the ability to determine expiry of the retention period for the given dataset, and then to remove the stored retention date and change the WORM attribute of the dataset to indicate that it is no longer a WORM dataset as Sparkes teaches in abstract); said verification comprising comparing the stored data with a current date in such a way as to terminate the temporary session when the time conditions are fulfilled (Sparkes teaches the retention manager 16 accesses the inode metadata of the first/next file to be checked; in particular, the retention date stored in the atime attribute is read, The retention manager 16 compares the retention date read with the current time value retrieved, If the retention date is equal to, or less than (that is, earlier than) the current time value, then is executed next; otherwise processing continues next step, the retention manager 16 adds an identifier of the current file to an `expired` list and processing continues, processing in respect of the current file is now complete and the retention manager 16 proceeds by checking whether it has processed all files in the current group; if this is the case, the expiry-checking process terminates as Sparkes teaches in par.51-54). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Smith, as modified by De Arruda, to include storing data of the temporary session in the database of the access control server as taught and suggested by Sparkes for the purpose of having the ability to store non-WORM files is useful as it allows some delay to be permitted between when a file is passed to the system and when its retention date is set and the file committed to WORM status (Sparkes, par.19).
Inoue teaches, similar system, writing said data, by the biometric activator, in a memory of the communicating portable device (Inoue teaches that writing unit 111 writing biometric information in a storage area indicated in a write instruction as Inoue teaches in abstract) and by writing appropriate status information or setting the termination date of the temporary session to a current date in the memory of the communicating portable device (Inoue teaches of writing appropriate status information by The writing unit 111 of the IC card 100 receives an instruction for writing the biometric information (registration data 13 and write destination pocket information 14) from the terminal 200 via the communication unit 107, and performs writing of the biometric information of the user and the generation information of the biometric authentication device 300 in the storage area designated by the write instruction, i.e., the pocket, and writing of the update enable/disable flag in the flag table 127 (s113). At the step s114, the terminal acquires the result of the writing as Inoue teaches in par.151). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Smith, as modified by De Arruda, to include writing said data and writing appropriate status information as taught and suggested by Inoue for the purpose of enabling reduction of burden on device providers caused by changeover of the devices and on IC card users who are required to update their biometric information, and enabling performing an authentication process even during the transition period (Inoue, par.12).
For claim 2, Smith in view of De Arruda, Sparkes and Inoue discloses method of claim 1, Smith further teaches wherein the biometric authentication is carried out by interacting with the biometric activator (Smith par.17 and par.20).
For claim 3, Smith in view of De Arruda, Sparkes and Inoue discloses method of claim 1, Smith further teaches wherein the equipment, the communication terminal, the database and the biometric activator are connected via a private communication network (Smith par.13, lines 1-10).
For claim 5, Smith in view of De Arruda, Sparkes and Inoue discloses method of claim 1, Smith further teaches wherein the equipment stores the temporary session data of the user in a local memory for use during a next access authorization for the user (Smith par.13, lines 5-15 and par.22, lines 1-6).
For claim 6, Smith in view of De Arruda, Sparkes and Inoue discloses method of claim 1, Smith further teaches wherein the communicating portable device communicates with the biometric activator and with the communication terminal utilizing wireless communication (Smith par.23, lines 2-6).
For claim 8, Smith in view of De Arruda, Sparkes and Inoue discloses method of claim 1, Smith further teaches wherein the communicating portable device performs the biometric authentication by utilizing an internal sensor (Smith par.16, lines 2-8).
For claim 9, claim 9 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim 1 above.
For claim 10, claim 10 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim 3 above.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments on page 5 of the remarks that Applicant believes at least claim 5 is not obvious in view of the cited combination of references.. However, examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant because Smith teaches to gain access to the computer system, user 20 puts on badge 21 and approaches terminal 11, which loads the information into badge 21 needed for the user to access one or more of the other workstations in the network, terminal 11 includes a user identification system 14 that is utilized to verify the identity of user 20, Identification system 14 may include physical sensors such as those needed to make a voice print, retinal scan, or fingerprint scan which represents biometric system , the identification system may also include a database having information known only to user 20, which may be utilized in generating queries that only user 20 would know how to answer, the badge utilizes some form of biometric measurement to assure that the badge is still on the authorized individual's body can be constructed, and sensor's that detect body heat or pulse can be utilized for this function, the biometric identification hardware such as the fingerprint scanner, microphone, pulse detector, or temperature detector can be part of the badge. The measurements made by these elements would then be communicated to the computer terminal, and the computer terminal would then compare the received measurements with data identifying the various authorized users. The secondary prior art, De Arruda, is used to teach that authentication server gives the access authorization to the user and authentication of communication terminal through whenever user tries to access a service and signature is compared. the secondary reference, Sparkes, teaches that the retention manager 16 accesses the inode metadata of the first/next file to be checked; in particular, the retention date stored in the time attribute is read, The retention manager 16 compares the retention date read with the current time value retrieved, If the retention date is equal to, or less than (that is, earlier than) the current time value, then is executed next; otherwise processing continues next step, the retention manager 16 adds an identifier of the current file to an `expired` list and processing continues, processing in respect of the current file is now complete and the retention manager 16 proceeds by checking whether it has processed all files in the current group; if this is the case, the expiry-checking process terminates. Therefore, the combination of the prior arts of Smith with Sparkes and De Arruda meets the claim limitation.
The applicant’s arguments regarding new amendment limitations in claims 1 and 9, has been considered but is moot, because the examiner applied new art, Inoue et al (2010/0117791), that covers newly claimed limitation.
Regarding dependent claims arguments, said arguments are moot because the applied references are not considered to have alleged differences, and therefore are considered to properly show that for which they were cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYUB A MAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2436
/TRONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436