Formal Matters
Applicant's response, filed 25 August 2025, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-34 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim 26 has been amended.
Claims 1-34 have been rejected.
Priority
The instant application claims the benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. § 120, 121, or 365(c). Accordingly, the effective filing date for the instant application is 28 June 2016 claiming benefit to Provisional Application 62/355,807.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 and 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaleski (US Patent App. No. 2007/0271,122)[hereinafter Zaleski].
Claim 21 is rejected because Zaleski teaches on all elements of the claim:
a patient monitoring system comprising is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
a plurality of patient monitors configured to collect physiological data from multiple patients is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0028, ¶ 0035, in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270, and in the claims at claim 10 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and patient medical/vitals parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) at a central processor);
a central monitoring station in communication with the plurality of patient monitors, the central monitoring station comprising is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor);
a primary output configured to display collective physiological data for the multiple patients is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station);
a secondary output configured to display physiological data for a selected patient; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ and in the figures at Fig. 4D&E (teaching on displaying the acquired patient medical parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) in a secondary display window);
a set of displays organized in a matrix format, wherein each display window is associated with one of the multiple patients and presents corresponding physiological data; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0032, ¶ 0039-40 and in the figures at Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 (teaching on concurrently displaying multiple, different patient data views including medical information for the patients being visually monitored on a single display in a variety of different matrix options);
an external audiovisual switcher having one or more input ports configured to receive already-aggregated multi-patient data from the central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch).
As per claim 22, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the patient monitoring system of claim 21, further comprising: external audiovisual switchers configured to accept multiple input formats, including video, audio, and control signals, and provide outputs for audiovisual content management and distribution is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0037 and p. 6 ¶ 0039 (teaching on the system receiving a plurality of patient monitors for remote oversight - allowing the user to selectively determine the format of the plurality of individual data windows).
As per claim 23, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the patient monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the central monitoring station further comprises: a user console and system interface controls for managing inputs and outputs of the system is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0045 and ¶ 0048 (teaching on the remote control of the patient monitoring system’s components from the remote user interface (treated as synonymous toa user console)).
As per claim 24, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the patient monitoring system of claim 21, further comprising: a network switch configured to manage communication protocols among two or more devices of the system is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0029 (teaching on an internet network protocol control via an IP switch (treated as synonymous to a network switch consistent with the instant specification in ¶ 0030)).
As per claim 25, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the patient monitoring system of claim 21, further comprising: a content delivery workstation configured to integrate automated and manual content through an external audiovisual switcher is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035-36 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference character 260 (teaching on a display communication manager at a central command workstation (treated as synonymous to a content delivery workstation) for integrating input and output channels for the optical switches).
Claim 26 is rejected because Zaleski teaches on all elements of the claim:
a method of monitoring patients comprising: is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
collecting, at a plurality of patient monitors, physiological data from multiple patients using a plurality of patient monitors is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0028, ¶ 0035, in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270, and in the claims at claim 10 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and patient medical/vitals parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) at a central processor);
transmitting, to a central monitoring station, the collected physiological data to a central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor);
displaying, at a display associated with the central monitoring station, collective physiological data for the multiple patients on a primary output of the central monitoring station; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035-36 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station OR a display associated with the communication manager );
displaying, at the display, detailed physiological data for a selected patient upon request on a secondary output of the central monitoring station; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ and in the figures at Fig. 4D&E (teaching on displaying the acquired patient medical parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) in a secondary display window);
receiving, at an external audiovisual switcher, already-aggerated multi-patient data from the central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch).
As per claim 28, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 26. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the method of claim 26, further comprising: interfacing with remote user devices through audiovisual transceivers for user interaction is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0048 (teaching on the remote control of the patient monitoring systems' components from the remote user interface).
As per claim 29, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 26. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the method of claim 26, further comprising: using external audiovisual switchers to manage video, audio, and control signal inputs and outputs between the central monitoring station and one or more remote stations is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0028, ¶ 0035-36, in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270, and in the claims at claim 10 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and patient medical/vitals parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) at a central processor wherein the display communication manager is at a central command workstation (treated as synonymous to a content delivery workstation) for integrating input and output channels for the optical switches).
Claim 30 is rejected because Zaleski teaches on all elements of the claim:
a patient monitoring system configured to integrate audiovisual components for central station monitoring, comprising: is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
a series of patient monitors for collecting physiological data from multiple patients is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0028, ¶ 0035, in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270, and in the claims at claim 10 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and patient medical/vitals parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) at a central processor);
a central monitoring station comprising: is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor);
a primary display configured to show a matrix of display windows, each window representing physiological data of an individual patient; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station );
a secondary display for viewing detailed data for a single patient is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ and in the figures at Fig. 4D&E (teaching on displaying the acquired patient medical parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) in a secondary display window);
an external audiovisual switcher configured to accept input formats including video, audio, and control signals is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035-36, ¶ 0048, and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the remote monitoring station being in communication with the switcher for transferring patient audio, video, and medical data and remote control inputs);
and provide corresponding outputs for content management and distribution; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0039-40 and in the figures at Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 (teaching on displaying multiple, different patient data views on a single display in a variety of different matrix options);
a network switch configured to manage communications protocols for device connectivity is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0029 (teaching on an internet network protocol control via an IP switch (treated as synonymous to a network switch consistent with the instant specification in ¶ 0030));
wherein the external audiovisual switcher has one or more input ports configured to receive already-aggregated multi-patient data from the central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch);.
As per claim 31, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 30. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the patient monitoring system of claim 30, further comprising: a set of peripheral inputs integrated through the external audiovisual switcher or network connectivity is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station).
As per claim 32, Zaleski discloses all of the limitations of claim 30. Zaleski also discloses the following:
the patient monitoring system of claim 30, wherein the central monitoring station further comprises system interface controls configured to enable remote control of audiovisual inputs and outputs is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0048 (teaching on the remote control of the patient monitoring systems' components from the remote user interface).
Claim 33 is rejected because Zaleski teaches on all elements of the claim:
a method for monitoring multiple patients in a clinical environment, comprising: is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
collecting physiological data from a plurality of patient monitors is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0028, ¶ 0035, in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270, and in the claims at claim 10 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and patient medical/vitals parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) at a central processor);
transmitting the physiological data to a central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor);
displaying, on a primary output, a matrix of display windows, each window associated with a respective patient monitor is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station );
providing a secondary output from the central monitoring station configured for detailed display of a selected patient's data; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ and in the figures at Fig. 4D&E (teaching on displaying the acquired patient medical parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) in a secondary display window);
managing audiovisual and data signal transmission through an audiovisual switcher connected to the central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 274 (teaching on the switcher coupled to both the display type selection processor and the display communication manager);
wherein the external audiovisual switcher has one or more input ports configured to receive already-aggregated multi-patient data from the central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
in this Office action:
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15, 17-19, 27, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaleski (US Patent App. No. 2007/0271,122)[hereinafter Zaleski] in view of VanGilder et al. (US Patent App No 2013/0044111)[hereinafter VanGilder].
As per claim 1. Zaleski teaches the following limitations:
an external audiovisual switcher, comprising is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
one or more input ports configured to receive already-aggregated multi-patient data from a central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch);
one or more first output ports configured to continuously transmit multi-patient data from the central monitoring station to an integrated terminal is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 274 (teaching on the switcher passing the patient data from the switcher to the display type selection processor);
that is communicatively coupled to the external audiovisual switcher is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 274 (teaching on the switcher coupled to both the display type selection processor and the display communication manager);
and one or more second output ports configured to selectively transmit the single-patient data from the central monitoring station to a user terminal is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station );
that is communicatively coupled to the external audiovisual switcher is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the remote monitoring station being in communication with the switcher);
wherein, at each of the central monitoring station and the user terminal, the single-patient data of the one or more second output ports is displayed is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034-35, p. 5 ¶ 0037, and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor to be displayed at multiple output ports - i.e. at a central monitoring station or at any remote healthcare facility (here, a central patient record repository is offered as an example); note that the display of multiple patient data necessarily includes the display of a single-patient data set).
Zaleski fails to teach the following; VanGilder, however, does disclose:
the single-patient data of the one or more second output ports is displayed without disrupting the display of the multi-patient data of the one or more first output ports is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0067, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0071-72, ¶ 0090-91, and in the Figures at fig. 6 (teaching on displaying multiple patients' live health data, received through various output ports of remote monitoring devices, wherein viewing a single patient's data can be viewed simultaneously without affecting the multi-patient display (treated as displayed without disrupting the multi-patient display)).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would combine the audio visual switch for patient monitoring of Zaleski to include the multiple inputs and outputs wherein the primary and secondary input displays can be utilized without disrupting the other of VanGilder with the motivation of “allow[ing] the caregiver to work on one patient while not sacrificing any screen space needed for continuous monitoring of the other patients” (Detailed Description in ¶ 0067).
As per claim 2, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein the patient data received from the central monitoring station is retrieved from a plurality of patient monitors is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 5 ¶ 0037 and p. 6 ¶ 0039 (teaching on the system receiving a plurality of patient monitors for remote oversight - allowing the user to selectively determine the format of the plurality of individual data windows); -AND-
each patient monitor corresponding to a respective patient of a plurality of patients is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0039 (teaching on the different display data being from different sources concerning different patients).
As per claim 3, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein the central monitoring station is one of a plurality of central monitoring stations is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 3 ¶ 0027 (teaching on the system allowing for concurrent viewing from multiple (e.g., mobile) monitoring systems at a plurality different remote locations); -AND-
each central monitoring station being configured to monitor a plurality of patients is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 3 ¶ 0027 (teaching on the remote monitoring systems enabled to monitor a plurality of different patients).
As per claim 4, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 3, wherein patient data for the plurality of central monitoring stations are simultaneously displayed in a matrix format is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0039-40, in the Figures at fig. 4, and fig. 5 (teaching on displaying multiple, different patient data views on a single display in a variety of different matrix options).
As per claim 5, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Zaleski also teaches the following:
The external audiovisual switcher according to claim 3, wherein patient data for one of the plurality of central monitoring stations is selectively displayed in a matrix format is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0040 and in the Figures at fig. 5 (teaching on the system displaying a single patient's audio and video data alongside the same patient's other medical monitoring data).
As per claim 7, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein the single-patient data that is selectively transmitted includes only patient data for a single patient is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0040 and in the Figures at fig. 5 (teaching on the system sending only a single patient's audio and video data from the switch alongside the same patient's other medical monitoring data).
As per claim 8, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein the external audiovisual switcher includes a video processing unit having a scaling unit is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 7 ¶ 0045 and in the Figures at fig. 12 (teaching on the display selection interface enabling the user to select video input of different dimensions necessarily indicating that the processor is capable of resizing (scaling) the video input).
As per claim 9, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski also teaches the following:
The external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein one or more input ports of the external audiovisual switcher enables the central monitoring station to be controlled remotely is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 7 ¶ 0048 (teaching on the remote control of the patient monitoring systems' components from the remote user interface).
As per claim 11. Zaleski teaches the following limitations:
a method for integration of audiovisual components of a central monitoring station, the method comprising is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
receiving, at an external audiovisual switcher, already-aggregated multi-patient data from the central monitoring station is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch);
continuously transmitting, at the external audiovisual switcher, the multi-patient data from the central monitoring station to an integrated terminal is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 274 (teaching on the switcher passing the patient data from the switcher to the display type selection processor);
that is communicatively coupled to the external audiovisual switcher is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 274 (teaching on the switcher coupled to both the display type selection processor and the display communication manager);
and selectively transmitting, at the external audiovisual switcher, the single-patient data from the central monitoring station to a user terminal is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station );
that is communicatively coupled to the external audiovisual switcher is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the remote monitoring station being in communication with the switcher);
wherein, at each of the central monitoring station and the user terminal, the single-patient data is displayed is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034-35, ¶ 0037, and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor to be displayed at multiple output ports - i.e. at a central monitoring station or at any remote healthcare facility (here, a central patient record repository is offered as an example); note that the display of multiple patient data necessarily includes the display of a single-patient data set).
Zaleski fails to teach the following; VanGilder, however, does disclose:
the single-patient data is displayed without disrupting the display of the multi-patient data is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0067, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0071-72, ¶ 0090-91, and in the Figures at fig. 6 (teaching on displaying multiple patients' live health data, received through various output ports of remote monitoring devices, wherein viewing a single patient's data can be viewed simultaneously without affecting the multi-patient display (treated as displayed without disrupting the multi-patient display)).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would combine the audio visual switch for patient monitoring of Zaleski to include the multiple inputs and outputs wherein the primary and secondary input displays can be utilized without disrupting the other of VanGilder with the motivation of “allow[ing] the caregiver to work on one patient while not sacrificing any screen space needed for continuous monitoring of the other patients” (Detailed Description in ¶ 0067).
As per claim 12, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 11, wherein the patient data received from the central monitoring station is retrieved from a plurality of patient monitors is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 5 ¶ 0037 and p. 6 ¶ 0039 (teaching on the system receiving a plurality of patient monitors for remote oversight - allowing the user to selectively determine the format of the plurality of individual data windows); -AND-
each patient monitor corresponding to a respective patient of a plurality of patients is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0039 (teaching on the different display data being from different sources concerning different patients).
As per claim 13, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 11, wherein the central monitoring station is one of a plurality of central monitoring stations is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 3 ¶ 0027 (teaching on the system allowing for concurrent viewing from multiple (e.g., mobile) monitoring systems at a plurality different remote locations); -AND-
each central monitoring station being configured to monitor a plurality of patients is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 3 ¶ 0027 (teaching on the remote monitoring systems enabled to monitor a plurality of different patients).
As per claim 14, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 13, wherein patient data for the plurality of central monitoring stations are simultaneously displayed in a matrix format is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0039-40, in the Figures at fig. 4, and fig. 5 (teaching on displaying multiple, different patient data views on a single display in a variety of different matrix options).
As per claim 15, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 13, wherein patient data for one of the plurality of central monitoring stations is selectively displayed in a matrix format is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0040 and in the Figures at fig. 5 (teaching on the system displaying a single patient's audio and video data alongside the same patient's other medical monitoring data).
As per claim 17, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 11, wherein the single-patient data that is selectively transmitted includes only patient data for a single patient is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0040 and in the Figures at fig. 5 (teaching on the system sending only a single patient's audio and video data from the switch alongside the same patient's other medical monitoring data).
As per claim 18, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 11, wherein the external audiovisual switcher includes a video processing unit having a scaling unit is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 7 ¶ 0045 and in the Figures at fig. 12 (teaching on the display selection interface enabling the user to select video input of different dimensions necessarily indicating that the processor is capable of resizing (scaling) the video input).
As per claim 19, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski also teaches the following:
the method according to claim 11, wherein one or more input ports of the external audiovisual switcher enables the central monitoring station to be controlled remotely is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 7 ¶ 0048 (teaching on the remote control of the patient monitoring systems' components from the remote user interface).
As per claim 27, Zaleski teaches all of the limitations of claim 26. Zaleski fails to teach the following; VanGilder, however, does disclose:
the method of claim 26, further comprising: maintaining a persistent patient matrix display on a primary display system is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0071-72, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0090-91, and in the Figures at fig. 6 (teaching on displaying multiple patients' live health data, received through various output ports of remote monitoring devices, wherein viewing a single patient's data can be viewed simultaneously with the multi-patient display (treated as displayed without disrupting the multi-patient display)).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would combine the audio visual switch for patient monitoring of Zaleski to include the multiple inputs and outputs wherein the primary and secondary input displays can be utilized without disrupting the other of VanGilder with the motivation of “allow[ing] the caregiver to work on one patient while not sacrificing any screen space needed for continuous monitoring of the other patients” (Detailed Description in ¶ 0067).
As per claim 34. Zaleski teaches the following limitations:
a central monitoring apparatus for an enhanced patient monitoring system, comprising: is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0035-37 (teaching on an audio and video switcher for monitoring multiple patients at a remote location);
a primary display device configured to illustrate an array of windows each displaying physiological data of separate patients is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 50 (teaching on the patient data collected being passed along with the audio and visual data over the switcher and then to the remote monitoring station );
a secondary display device configured for detailed visualization of an individual patient's data is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ and in the figures at Fig. 4D&E (teaching on displaying the acquired patient medical parameter data (treated as synonymous to physiological data) in a secondary display window);
an external audiovisual switcher configured to manage inputs and outputs of video, audio, and control signals; wherein the external audiovisual switcher has one or more input ports configured to receive already-aggregated multi-patient data from the central monitoring apparatus; and is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0036 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260, 270, and 274 (teaching on the switcher coupled to both the display type selection processor and the display communication manager);
user interface controls enabling manipulation of the audiovisual outputs is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0035 and in the Figures at fig. 2 reference characters 260-270 (teaching on a display communication manager (treated as synonymous to the "central monitoring system") that collects patient audio, video, and medical data at a central processor wherein the data is then sent to the switcher containing a plurality of input ports to be controlled and utilized by the display type selection (treated as synonymous to the "integrated terminal") processor wherein the data is "pre-aggregated" at the central station prior to being sent to the optical switch).
Zaleski fails to teach the following; VanGilder, however, does disclose:
wherein the primary display device is configured to maintain a non-disruptive presentation of a patient matrix during interaction with the secondary display device is taught in the Detailed Description in ¶ 0071-72, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0090-91, and in the Figures at fig. 6 (teaching on displaying multiple patients' live health data, received through various output ports of remote monitoring devices, wherein viewing a single patient's data can be viewed simultaneously with the multi-patient display (treated as displayed without disrupting the multi-patient display)).
One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would combine the audio visual switch for patient monitoring of Zaleski to include the multiple inputs and outputs wherein the primary and secondary input displays can be utilized without disrupting the other of VanGilder with the motivation of “allow[ing] the caregiver to work on one patient while not sacrificing any screen space needed for continuous monitoring of the other patients” (Detailed Description in ¶ 0067).
Claims 6, 10, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaleski (US Patent App. No. 2007/0271122)[hereinafter Zaleski] in view of VanGilder et al. (US Patent App No 2013/0044111)[hereinafter VanGilder] in further view of Rosenfeld and Breslow (US Patent No. 8,175,895)[hereinafter Rosenfeld].
As per claim 6, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski also teaches the following:
in a matrix format is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0039-40, and in the Figures at fig. 4 and fig. 5 (teaching on displaying multiple, different patient data views on a single display in a variety of different matrix options).
Zaleski and VanGilder fail to teach the following; Rosenfeld, however, does disclose:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein the patient data that is continuously transmitted includes patient data... corresponding to a plurality of patients is taught in the Detailed Description in column 20 lines 41- 51 and in the figures at fig. 11 reference characters 280, 278, and 252 (teaching on the continuous stream plurality of patients' data being displayed on the local receiver prior to transmittal to the remote user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the patient monitoring audiovisual switcher of Zaleski and VanGilder to include the continuous data transfer in a matrix format viewable at the initial collection system of Rosenfeld with the motivation of increasing patients’ continuous care coverage by providing “a comprehensive method for monitoring and providing real time critical care” (Rosenfeld in the Background of the Invention in column 3 lines 21-23).
As per claim 10, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Zaleski and VanGilder fail to teach the following; Rosenfeld, however, does disclose:
the external audiovisual switcher according to claim 1, wherein the multi-patient data that is continuously transmitted is displayed on a first display unit, and the single-patient data that is selectively transmitted is displayed on a second display unit is taught in the Detailed Description in column 20 lines 41- 51 and in the Figures at fig. 11 reference characters 280, 278, and 252 (teaching on the matrix of patients data being visible by both the local user and a remote user on two different display units wherein one display unit may be viewing a single patient's data and the other a patients' matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the patient monitoring audiovisual switcher of Zaleski and VanGilder to include the dual oversite of the patient at the local and remote locations of Rosenfeld with the motivation of increasing patients’ continuous care coverage by both the onsite nurses and offsite specialists to “to provide 24-hour/7-day-per week patient monitoring and management to multiple, geographically dispersed ICUs from both on-site and remote locations (Rosenfeld in the Field of Invention in column 1 lines 23-26) in order “to provide new methods for managing and delivering care to the critically ill” (Rosenfeld in the Background of Invention in column 2 lines 6-7).
As per claim 16, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski also teaches the following:
in a matrix format is taught in the Detailed Description on p. 6 ¶ 0039-40, in the Figures at fig. 4, and fig. 5 (teaching on displaying multiple, different patient data views on a single display in a variety of different matrix options).
Zaleski and VanGilder fails to teach the following; Rosenfeld, however, does disclose:
the method according to claim 11, wherein the patient data that is continuously transmitted includes patient data...corresponding to a plurality of patients is taught in the Detailed Description in column 20 lines 41- 51 and in the figures at fig. 11 reference characters 280, 278, and 252 (teaching on the continuous stream plurality of patients' data being displayed on the local receiver prior to transmittal to the remote user interface)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the patient monitoring audiovisual switcher of Zaleski and VanGilder to include the continuous data transfer in a matrix format viewable at the initial collection system of Rosenfeld with the motivation of increasing patients’ continuous care coverage by providing “a comprehensive method for monitoring and providing real time critical care” (Rosenfeld in the Background of the Invention in column 3 lines 21-23).
As per claim 20, the combination of Zaleski and VanGilder teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Zaleski and VanGilder fail to teach the following; Rosenfeld, however, does disclose:
the method according to claim 11, wherein the multi-patient data that is continuously transmitted is displayed on a first display unit, and the single-patient data that is selectively transmitted is displayed on a second display unit is taught in the Detailed Description in column 20 lines 41- 51 and in the Figures at fig. 11 reference characters 280, 278, and 252 (teaching on the matrix of patients data being visible by both the local user and a remote user on two different display units wherein one display unit may be viewing a single patient's data and the other a patients' matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the patient monitoring audiovisual switcher of Zaleski and VanGilder to include the dual oversite of the patient at the local and remote locations of Rosenfeld with the motivation of increasing patients’ continuous care coverage by both the onsite nurses and offsite specialists to “to provide 24-hour/7-day-per week patient monitoring and management to multiple, geographically dispersed ICUs from both on-site and remote locations (Rosenfeld in the Field of Invention in column 1 lines 23-26) in order “to provide new methods for managing and delivering care to the critically ill” (Rosenfeld in the Background of Invention in column 2 lines 6-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 March 2026 with respect to 35 USC § 102 and 103 prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant again asserts that Zaleski and VanGlider are silent regarding pre-compiling/aggregation of the patient data at a central processing system prior to sending said data to the display switch. Examiner is unpersuaded. As clearly shown in Figure 2 of Zaleski, the display output manager (ref char 260) complies the input channels as demonstrated in the data attribute table prior to sending said data to the optical switches (ref char 270).
Applicant’s assertion that this aggregation by the display comm manger (and known to one of ordinary skill in the art) is not the same aggregation step completed in the instant claims is inconsistent with the instant disclosure - wherein no such pre-aggregation consistent with Applicant’s arguments is described.
Examiner again notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the switch is not configured to compile, manage, or analyses data, but serves to transmit data packets between devices. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORDAN L JACKSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857