DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 28, 29, 34-41, 43-45, 58 are pending wherein claims 28 and 29 are in independent form.
3. Claims 1-27, 30, 42 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
5. On page 2 of the remarks, applicant argues, “In support of the rejection, the Examiner alleged that Qu et al. teaches "CQI/PMI/RI feedback for each antenna group having the same number of antennas," and argued that this corresponds to "wherein the first and second PMI values are determined for different CSI-RSs based on the same rank indicator." Applicant respectfully disagrees, because the "number of antennas" in Qu et al. does not correspond to a "rank indicator." Thus, even if Qu et al. were to teach PMI feedback for the same number of antennas, this does not correspond to different PMI values for different CSI-RSs generated based on the same rank indicator.”
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because:
Rank level indicates the number of layers transmitted or a number of antennas employed in the transmission. Qu discloses to determine PMI based on the number of antennas (2 antennas, antenna bundles, antenna grouping) employed for CSI-RS transmission. UE reports PMI for the CSI-RS transmitted from RRH 310 and PMI or the CSI-RS transmitted from RRH 312. The number of antennas employed for transmitting CSI-RS from both the RRH is same and therefore, the PMI values for the CSI-RS from both the RRH are determined based on the same rank level/indicator (because both the RRH employed the same number antennas for transmitting CSI-RS) (Par 0044-0050). Claim does not recite that the different CSI-RSs for which PMI values are determined are transmitted based on rank indicator (RI) feedback from the UE. As the claimed different CSI-RSs are not transmitted based on RI feedback from the UE, the claimed same rank indicator used to determine PMI values is considered as the number of antennas employed for transmitting the different CSI-RSs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 28, 29, 35, 36, 38, 40, 41, 43 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Qu et al (US 20120176939 A1, hereinafter referred to as Qu) in view of Bhattad et al (US 20120113816 A1, hereinafter referred to as Bhattad) and further in view of Ko et al (US 20120076236 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ko).
Re claim 28, Qu teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) (Abstract), comprising:
(i) configuring the UE to receive multiple channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) (UE (such as 322, 324, Fig. 3) configured to receive multiple CSI-RS from RRH 310, 312, 314 associated with a cell/eNB 320, Fig. 3) from a cell (eNB 320, Fig. 3), wherein configuring the UE includes, individually for each CSI-RS (CSI-RS configuration from each RRH 310, 312, 314), configuring a number of antenna ports (antenna port configuration), a CSI-RS pattern (CSI-RS pattern configuration), Qu discloses that CSI-RS configuration includes an offset and a periodicity/duty cycle (Par 0007, Par 0073). However, Qu does not explicitly/clearly disclose to configure a UE with a CSI-RS periodicity and an offset);
(ii) configuring the UE to compute multiple CSI parameters (CQI/PMI/RI) (Fig. 1, Fig. 3-4, Fig. 6, Par 0030, Par 0043-0050, Par 0057, Par 0061-0065); and
(iii) configuring the UE to transmit feedback to the cell for the CSI parameters (CQI/PMI/RI) based on one or more parameters received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Higher layer signal/RRC signal providing CSI-RS antenna port configuration, CSI-RS pattern configuration, Par 0033-0034, Par 0056, Par 0065, Par 0070) (Par 0033-0034, Par 0043-0050, Par 0056-0057, Par 0061-0065), wherein the multiple CSI parameters include a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI) value for a first CSI-RS and a second PMI value for a second CSI-RS (each CSI report including PMI for each of the different CSI-RS transmitted in different subframes/ or by different RRH/transmission points), wherein the first and second PMI values (PMI value in each CSI report for each CSI-RS configuration/each CSI-RS in different subframes) are determined for different CSI-RSs (each CSI report including PMI for each of the different CSI-RS transmitted in different subframes/ or by different RRH/transmission points) based on the same rank indicator (CQI/PMI/RI feedback for each antenna group having the same number of antennas. Moreover, the UE performs feedback measurement (feedback/CSI-RS measurements (PMI/CQI/RI)) based on the number of configured antenna ports (i.e., rank level 2 or rank level 4) and transmits PMI/CQI/RI to the base station. Therefore, the PMI/CQI/RI measurements are performed based on the number of configured antenna ports (i.e., rank level 2 or rank level 4)) (Par 0044-0050, Par 0052-0053, Par 0061-0065).
Even though Qu discloses that CSI-RS configuration includes an offset and a periodicity/duty cycle (Par 0007, Par 0073), Qu does not explicitly/clearly disclose that (iv) each CSI-RS configuration provided to the UE includes a CSI-RS periodicity and an offset. Qu also does not explicitly/clearly disclose that (v) the same rank indicator is a rank indicator that is determined and transmitted by the UE.
Re component (iv), Bhattad teaches that
(iv) each CSI-RS configuration provided to the UE includes a CSI-RS periodicity (duty cycle) and an offset (subframe offset) (Table 1, Par 0049, Par 0069-0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Qu by including the step that (iv) each CSI-RS configuration provided to the UE includes a CSI-RS periodicity and an offset, as taught by Bhattad for the purpose of efficiently configuring a UE to properly receive each reference signal (CSI-RS) to measure and report channel state information, as taught by Bhattad (Par 0007).
Re component (v), Ko teaches that
(v) the same rank indicator is a rank indicator that is determined and transmitted by the UE (the same RI used for first and second PMI is determined and transmitted by the UE) (Fig. 22, Par 0010-0012, Par 0339-0345).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Qu by including the step that (v) the same rank indicator is a rank indicator that is determined and transmitted by the UE, as taught by Ko for the purpose of “performing effective feedback in a wireless communication system supporting multiple antennas”, as taught by Ko (Par 0002).
Re claim 29, Qu teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) (Abstract), comprising:
(i) receiving in the UE multiple channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) from a cell (UE (such as 322, 324, Fig. 3) receives multiple CSI-RS from RRH 310, 312, 314 associated with a cell/eNB 320, Fig. 3) (Fig. 3-6, Fig. 3-6, Par 0007, Par 0030, Par 0033-0035, Par 0043-0050, Par 0052-0059, Par 0061-0062);
(ii) computing in the UE multiple CSI parameters (CQI/PMI/RI) (Fig. 1, Fig. 3-4, Fig. 6, Par 0030, Par 0043-0050, Par 0057, Par 0061-0065); and
(iii) transmitting from the UE feedback to the cell for each of the CSI parameters (CQI/PMI/RI feedback/report) based on one or more parameters received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Higher layer signal/RRC signal providing CSI-RS antenna port configuration, CSI-RS pattern configuration, Par 0033-0034, Par 0056, Par 0065, Par 0070), wherein the one or more parameters include, for each CSI-RS, a number of antenna ports for the respective CSI-RS (antenna port configuration), a CSI-RS pattern for the respective CSI-RS (CSI-RS pattern configuration), Qu discloses that CSI-RS configuration includes an offset and a periodicity/duty cycle (Par 0007, Par 0073). However, Qu does not explicitly/clearly disclose to configure a UE with a CSI-RS periodicity and an offset),
(iv) wherein the multiple CSI parameters include a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI) value for a first CSI-RS and a second PMI value for a second CSI-RS (each CSI report including PMI for each of the different CSI-RS transmitted in different subframes/ or by different RRH/transmission points), wherein the first and second PMI values (PMI value in each CSI report for each CSI-RS configuration/each CSI-RS in different subframes) are determined for different CSI-RSs (each CSI report including PMI for each of the different CSI-RS transmitted in different subframes/ or by different RRH/transmission points) based on the same rank indicator (CQI/PMI/RI feedback for each antenna group having the same number of antennas. Moreover, the UE performs feedback measurement (feedback/CSI-RS measurements (PMI/CQI/RI)) based on the number of configured antenna ports (i.e., rank level 2 or rank level 4) and transmits PMI/CQI/RI to the base station. Therefore, the PMI/CQI/RI measurements are performed based on the number of configured antenna ports (i.e., rank level 2 or rank level 4)) (Par 0044-0050, Par 0052-0053, Par 0061-0065),
Even though Qu discloses that CSI-RS configuration includes an offset and a periodicity/duty cycle (Par 0007, Par 0073), Qu does not explicitly/clearly disclose that (v) each CSI-RS configuration provided to the UE includes a CSI-RS periodicity and an offset. Qu also does not explicitly/clearly disclose that (vi) the same rank indicator is a rank indicator that is determined and transmitted by the UE.
Re component (v), Bhattad teaches that
(iv) each CSI-RS configuration provided to the UE includes a CSI-RS periodicity (duty cycle) and an offset (subframe offset) (Table 1, Par 0049, Par 0069-0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Qu by including the step that (v) each CSI-RS configuration provided to the UE includes a CSI-RS periodicity and an offset, as taught by Bhattad for the purpose of efficiently configuring a UE to properly receive each reference signal (CSI-RS) to measure and report channel state information, as taught by Bhattad (Par 0007).
Re component (vi), Ko teaches that
(vi) the same rank indicator is a rank indicator that is determined and transmitted by the UE (the same RI used for first and second PMI is determined and transmitted by the UE) (Fig. 22, Par 0010-0012, Par 0339-0345).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Qu by including the step that (vi) the same rank indicator is a rank indicator that is determined and transmitted by the UE, as taught by Ko for the purpose of “performing effective feedback in a wireless communication system supporting multiple antennas”, as taught by Ko (Par 0002).
Re claim 35, Qu teaches that channel quality indicator (CQI) feedback is sent for at least one of the CSI parameters (Par 0030, Par 0043-0050, Par 0057, Par 0061-0065).
Re claim 36, Qu teaches that precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback is sent for at least one of the CSI parameters (Par 0030, Par 0043-0050, Par 0057, Par 0061-0065).
Re claim 38, Qu teaches that at least one of the CSI parameters is configured as a rank indicator (Rl)-reference CSI process (CSI measurement includes Rank Indicator (RI)) (Par 0030, Par 0043-0050, Par 0057, Par 0061-0065).
Re claim 40, Qu teaches that feedback is sent periodically for at least one of the CSI parameters (Par 0057 ---“The feedbacks may be of different periodicities”).
Re claim 41, Qu teaches that feedback is sent aperiodically for at least one of the CSI parameters (Par 0057---“ The feedbacks may be of different periodicities or to be aperiodic and triggered by signaling”).
Re claim 43, Qu teaches that the UE receiving a joint transmission (JT) signal (CSI-RS transmission from multiple RRHs, Fig. 3, CoMP transmission from both the macro cell 410 and pico cell 412, Fig. 4) (Fig. 3-4, Par 0043-0049).
8. Claims 34, 37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Qu and Bhattad as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Lee et al (US 20090207784 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lee).
Re claim 34, Qu does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the CSI parameters is configured by higher layer signaling with PMI/RI reporting.
Lee teaches that at least one of the CSI parameters is configured by higher layer signaling with PMI/RI reporting (Par 0027, Par 0035, Par 0039, Par 0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Qu by including the step that at least one of the CSI parameters is configured by higher layer signaling with PMI/RI reporting, as taught by Lee for the purpose of providing channel information feedback to improve system capabilities, as taught by Lee (Par 0002, Par 0007-0009).
Re claim 37, Qu does not explicitly disclose that the UE is configured with a codebook subset restriction for at least one of the CSI parameters.
Lee teaches that the UE is configured with a codebook subset restriction for at least one of the CSI parameters (reporting PMI and RI within a precoder codebook subset) (Par 0027---“ The UE may be limited to reporting PMI and RI only within a precoder codebook subset which is specified by a bitmap constructed by higher layer signaling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Qu by including the step that the UE is configured with a codebook subset restriction for at least one of the CSI parameters, as taught by Lee for the purpose of providing channel information feedback to improve system capabilities, as taught by Lee (Par 0002, Par 0007-0009).
9. Claim 39 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Qu and Bhattad as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Lee et al (US 20100195615 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lee ‘615).
Re claim 39, Qu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS).
Lee ‘615 teaches that the UE receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Abstract, Par 0083-0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Qu by including the step that the UE receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), as taught by Lee ‘615 for the purpose of efficiently transmitting and receiving downlink reference signals in a single user
or a multi-user mode, as taught by Lee ‘615 (Par 0004).
10. Claim 44 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Qu and Bhattad as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Li et al (US 20130017825 A1, hereinafter referred to as Li).
Re claim 44, Qu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives a dynamic point selection (DPS) signal.
Li teaches that the UE receives a dynamic point selection (DPS) signal (Par 0007, Par 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Qu by including the step that the UE receives a dynamic point selection (DPS) signal, as taught by Li for the purpose of “reducing feedback load and feedback overhead in a multi-cell cooperative network” as taught by Li (Par 0003).
11. Claim 45 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Qu and Bhattad as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Geirhofer et al (US 20120207043 A1, hereinafter referred to as Geirhofer).
Re claim 45, Qu does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the
CSI-RSs is used for interference measurement.
Geirhofer teaches that at least one of the CSI-RSs is used for interference measurement (CSI-RS used for interference estimation) (Fig. 8, Fig. 11, Fig. 15, Par 0072, Par 0075-0077, Par 0090-0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Qu by including the step that at least one of the CSI-RSs is used for interference measurement as taught by Geirhofer for the purpose of efficiently performing “channel estimation and interference estimation in a macro evolved node B (eNB)/remote radio head (RRH) environment”, as taught by Geirhofer (Par 0003).
12. Claim 58 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Qu and Bhattad as applied to claim 28 above and further in view of Chen et al (US 20100041390 A1, hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Re claim 58, Qu does not explicitly disclose to configure the UE to transmit feedback includes selectively reporting a rank indicator (RI) value based on the one or more parameters received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
Chen teaches to configure the UE to transmit feedback includes selectively reporting a rank indicator (RI) value based on the one or more parameters received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Fig. 3a-b, Par 0006, Par 0011-0017, Par 0019-0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Qu by including the step to configure the UE to transmit feedback includes selectively reporting a rank indicator (RI) value based on the one or more parameters received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling as taught by Chen for the purpose of efficiently reporting transmission property to eNB to perform downlink scheduling, as taught by Chen (Par 0011).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473