DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the screen oriented substantially horizontally must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 18 and 23, the claims state,” selectable gear ratios to tailor the vibration pattern.” Gear ratio selection or adjustability is not described in the specification.
Regarding claim 19, the claim states,” a stationary guide or ring gear.” A stationary gear or ring gear is not described in the specification.
Regarding claim 20, the claim states,” a hub.” A hub is not described in the specification.
Claims 13, 14, 16, 18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, how can a force happen on the screening plant when the screening plant is substantially horizontal? It is unclear how a vibratory force on a substantially horizontal screen will create a velocity vector for material? With a first and second weight moving mechanism coupled to a first end and second of the rotatable shaft in a substantially horizontally orientation, any vector created the vibration during the first half of rotation would go in the opposite direction during the second half of rotation of the shaft.
Claims 16 and 22 recites the limitation "the stroke profile" in lines 2-3 and 3, respectively, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the gear arrangement" in line 1-2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18 and 23 recites the limitation "the vibration pattern" in lines 3 and 3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 21 and 24 recites the limitation "the system" in lines 1 and 1, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 21 and 24 recites the limitation "the vibration profile" in lines 3 and 3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "said rotating arms and gears" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Pub 2011/0272332 A1) in view of Ostergaard (US Pub 2002/0053534 A1) and Bleh (DE 3607189).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses a single shaft screening plant comprising: a screen having a first side and a second side (element 16); a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis (element 109); a first side weight moving mechanism; coupled to a first end of said rotatable shaft (element 103); a second side weight moving mechanism, coupled to a second end of said rotatable shaft (element 102); said first side weight moving mechanism and said second side weight moving mechanism being, in combination, configured so that rotating said rotatable shaft causes a vibration which would increase an aggregate velocity vector of material on said screen in a direction toward a discharge end of said screening plant, if said screen oriented substantially horizontally (paragraph 0055), but Change does not disclose a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side and wherein said first side weight moving mechanism comprises a plurality of connected rotating arms where one of said plurality of connected rotating arms revolves around said shaft axis and simultaneously rotates around a first axis which is parallel to and displaced from said shaft axis.
Ostergaard teaches a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side (element 20) as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator (paragraph 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Ostergaard, as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator.
Bleh teaches wherein said first side weight moving mechanism comprises a plurality of connected rotating arms where one of said plurality of connected rotating arms revolves around said shaft axis and simultaneously rotates around a first axis which is parallel to and displaced from said shaft axis (see Fig. 8; element 1’’ connect to and rotate around element 13) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 15, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches at least one of said plurality of connected rotating arms cooperates with a gear that meshes with a stationary ring gear or another gear to produce rotation about said first axis (see Fig. 8; elements 9 and 13) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 16, Chang in view of Ostergaard and Bleh discloses an eccentric mass is disposed at a selectable position along one of said rotating arms to adjust the stroke profile (Chang: paragraph 0045 where the apex point of the eccentric mass can be manually changed).
Regarding claim 17, Chang in view of Ostergaard and Bleh discloses the combined motion of said arms and gears produces a non-circular, non-elliptical stroke path for the mass (Chang: see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches the gear arrangement between said arms and stationary gear allows for selectable gear ratios to tailor the vibration pattern (paragraph 0033) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 19, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches a stationary guide or ring gear is provided coaxially with the shaft axis, and at least one rotating arm gear rolls or meshes with said guide or ring gear (see Fig. 8; element 13) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 20, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches said plurality of rotating arms are connected at a hub, such that each arm rotates about its own axis while the hub revolves about the shaft axis (element 2) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 21, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches the system as a whole allows for an adjustable, non-circular/non-elliptical stroke, with mass location, gear ratios, and arm connections all contributing to the vibration profile (paragraph 0033) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Pub 2011/0272332 A1) in view of Ostergaard (US Pub 2002/0053534 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses a single shaft screening plant comprising: a screen having a first side and a second side (element 16); a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis (element 109); a first side weight moving mechanism; coupled to a first end of said rotatable shaft (element 103); a second side weight moving mechanism, coupled to a second end of said rotatable shaft (element 102); said first side weight moving mechanism and said second side weight moving mechanism being, in combination, configured so that rotating said rotatable shaft causes a vibration which would increase an aggregate velocity vector of material on said screen in a direction toward a discharge end of said screening plant, if said screen were oriented substantially horizontally (paragraph 0055); and wherein said first side weight moving mechanism comprises an internal gear (see Fig. 6a; element 104), but Change does not disclose a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side.
Ostergaard teaches a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side (element 20) as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator (paragraph 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Ostergaard, as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Ostergaard and Bleh.
Regarding claim 22, Chang in view of Ostergaard discloses an eccentric mass is disposed at a selectable position along one of said rotating arms and gears to adjust the stroke profile (Chang: paragraph 0045 where the apex point of the eccentric mass can be manually changed), but Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose rotating arms and gears. Bleh teaches rotating arms and gears (see Fig. 8; element 1’’ connect to and rotate around element 13) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 23, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches the gear arrangement between said arms and stationary gear allows for selectable gear ratios to tailor the vibration pattern (paragraph 0033) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Regarding claim 24, Chang in view of Ostergaard does not disclose the claim limitations. Bleh teaches the system as a whole allows for an adjustable, non-circular/non-elliptical stroke, with mass location, gear ratios, and arm connections all contributing to the vibration profile (paragraph 0033) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under USC 103
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” The rejection fails under: 1. Gordon (733 F.2d at 902): No motivation to create inoperable combinations 2. Kahn (441 F.3d at 988): Conclusory motivations insufficient 3. KSR (550 U.S. at 421): Not predictable; no reasonable success expectation 4. MPEP § 2143: Motivation and expectation of success requirements unmet 5. MPEP § 2143.01(VII): No reason to combine shown, only possibility,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that non-conclusory motivation that having a shaft extending from one side to second side is an obvious modification in an eccentric weight vibratory screen (paragraph 0024; where each end of element 20 labeled 24 is understood to be substantially the same). From this motivation, we can find that it would be obvious to teach Ostergaard’s full length shaft to Chang as it would not change the function of Chang’s eccentric weight vibratory separator screen.
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Moreover, there is no discussion of the limitation: "where one of said plurality of connected rotating arms revolves around said shaft axis and simultaneously rotates around a first axis which is parallel to and displaced from said shaft axis." (emphasis added), this is a failure to examine the claim as a whole and therefore a failure to make out a prima facie case of obviousness,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that element 1 revolves and the connectors at the end of element have revolving elements 4 which are displaced are from the central axis. Furthermore, Bleh is used to teach eccentric vibratory screen multiple rotating arms and while it is described as a yoke, the yoke is comprised of rotating arms and gears that control the vibration pattern (paragraph 0033).
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” The Examiner's conclusory motivations ("obvious shaft variation," "creating unbalanced force") provide no specific reasoning-only conclusions reached after reviewing claims. CONCLUSION: The three-way combination is only apparent from Applicant's disclosure, violating Graham, Nuvasive, and MPEP § 2145(II),” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653