DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, line 13 and 13, respectively,” if said screen were oriented substantially horizontally,” is unclear. The ‘if’ statement does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. What is the patent protection if the screen is not oriented substantially horizontally? How can a force happen on the screening plant when the screening plant is substantially horizontal? It is unclear how a vibratory force on a substantially horizontal screen will create a velocity vector for material? With a first and second weight moving mechanism coupled to a first end and second of the rotatable shaft in a substantially horizontally orientation, any vector created the vibration during the first half of rotation would go in the opposite direction during the second half of rotation of the shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Pub 2011/0272332 A1) in view of Ostergaard (US Pub 2002/0053534 A1) and Bleh (DE 3607189).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses a single shaft screening plant comprising: a screen having a first side and a second side (element 16); a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis (element 109); a first side weight moving mechanism; coupled to a first end of said rotatable shaft (element 103); a second side weight moving mechanism, coupled to a second end of said rotatable shaft (element 102); said first side weight moving mechanism and said second side weight moving mechanism being, in combination, configured so that rotating said rotatable shaft causes a vibration which would increase an aggregate velocity vector of material on said screen in a direction toward a discharge end of said screening plant, if said screen were oriented substantially horizontally (paragraph 0055), but Change does not disclose a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side and wherein said first side weight moving mechanism comprises a plurality of connected rotating arms where one of said plurality of connected rotating arms revolves around said shaft axis and simultaneously rotates around a first axis which is parallel to and displaced from said shaft axis.
Ostergaard teaches a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side (element 20) as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator (paragraph 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Ostergaard, as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator.
Bleh teaches wherein said first side weight moving mechanism comprises a plurality of connected rotating arms where one of said plurality of connected rotating arms revolves around said shaft axis and simultaneously rotates around a first axis which is parallel to and displaced from said shaft axis (see Fig. 8; element 1’’ connect to and rotate around the central axis 2) for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Bleh, for the purpose of creating an unbalanced force of the load.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Pub 2011/0272332 A1) in view of Ostergaard (US Pub 2002/0053534 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses a single shaft screening plant comprising: a screen having a first side and a second side (element 16); a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis (element 109); a first side weight moving mechanism; coupled to a first end of said rotatable shaft (element 103); a second side weight moving mechanism, coupled to a second end of said rotatable shaft (element 102); said first side weight moving mechanism and said second side weight moving mechanism being, in combination, configured so that rotating said rotatable shaft causes a vibration which would increase an aggregate velocity vector of material on said screen in a direction toward a discharge end of said screening plant, if said screen were oriented substantially horizontally (paragraph 0055); and wherein said first side weight moving mechanism comprises an internal gear (see Fig. 6a; element 104), but Change does not disclose a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side.
Ostergaard teaches a rotatable shaft with a shaft axis, which extends from said first side to said second side (element 20) as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator (paragraph 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chang, as taught by Ostergaard, as an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under USC 103
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Claim 13 recites a single shaft screening plant with a specific weight moving mechanism comprising "a flywheel gearbox containing said externally toothed inner gear,” where the inner and exterior gears create a specific type of non-circular acceleration. This configuration achieves varying instantaneous linear velocities during rotation, creating maximum tangential acceleration at an apex point followed by controlled deceleration as the weights move away from the apex,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that claim 14 recites the internal gear however there is no limitation regarding a flywheel gearbox containing the externally toothed inner gear. However, regarding the internal gear limitation in claim 14, Chang discloses an internal gear (see Fig. 6a; element 104).
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Modifying Chang with Ostergaard's single shaft would fundamentally disrupt these critical operational characteristics: A single continuous shaft would prevent the independent rotation of the flywheel gearboxes and eliminate the system's ability to create its essential non-circular acceleration patterns,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts Chang’s system discloses a central shaft 109. The central gear is retained in place by this shaft, and, as such, the length of this shaft would not effect retention of the gear. Therefore, the teaching Ostergaard of a single shaft which extends from said first side to said second side is an obvious shaft variation for supporting an eccentric weighting vibratory separator that distributes the vibratory load across the screen separator.
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Unlike the claimed invention, Chang's gear system does not employ an internal gear as the primary mechanism of the first side weight moving mechanism. Instead, Chang's system requires complex planetary gear arrangements with different force generation mechanics,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts regarding the internal gear limitation in claim 14, Chang discloses an internal gear (see Fig. 6a; element 104).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653