Response to Arguments
Applicant's transmittal letter see page 14-22, filed 03/25/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Again in response to applicant's argument filed 03/25/2025 that the references fail to show certain features of applicant's invention, it is noted, the components of the prior arts mentioned in the rejection do not have to have the same name as the matching components in the applicant’s claim; they do have to show the same function, as is suggested by the Applicant, nor is it the Examiner’s responsibility to translate the technology, techniques, and/or methods of the prior art of record, since it is the assumption of the Examiner that the Applicant and the Applicant’s representatives are those of at least ordinary skill in the art. Since the Examiner assumes that the Patents used in making the rejections with regard to and in light of the instant claims have complied with the enablement standards at set for the by the United States Patent and Trademark Office, the Examiner correctly deduces that one of common skill would be able to read, understand, and manufacture the innovation as disclosed by the inventors. With regard to the Applicant’s assertions that the prior art of record does not fairly teach or disclose each and every limitation contained within the claims, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim, it appears as if the Applicant is reading limitations into the claims from the specification. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed.Cir.1993).
Regarding the applicant's critique of the prior arts used in the art rejections. It should be noted that the Examiner is not required to map each limitation to a cited passage within the prior art of reference, as is suggested by the Applicant, nor is it the Examiner’s responsibility to translate the technology, techniques, and/or methods of the prior art of record, since it is the assumption of the Examiner that the Applicant and the Applicant’s representatives are those of at least ordinary skill in the art. The prior arts Walton et al., Betz, Taylor, Farkas, and Hamilton reads on the claim except three switch breaker as a new ground on the continuation examination. The examiner matched every element of the applicant’s claim with an element in the prior art. It does not matter if the Walton et al., Betz, Taylor, Farkas, and Hamilton reference has more parts than the applicant’s invention since no art is meant to be a 100% equivalence with a disclosed invention.
In summary, the Examiner has taken the broadest and most reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations as written, in light of the specification. Although the specification may contain recitations of intended use, alternative points of view and subjective interpretative differences between the prior art of record and the present invention as premeditated, it is the claims themselves that are given patentable weight only inasmuch as they are constructed. Because the claimed invention has been painted with the broad stroke of petitioning for limitations that encompasses more than is asserted in the Applicant’s claims, the prior art of record continues to fully discloses the Applicant’s inventions as claimed.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification filed 09/09/2024 should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 said “A Geomagnetic Device is a switch breaker’ is claim 2 directed to a switch breaker that is named a Geomagnetic Device or is it directed to a geomagnetic device having a switch breaker?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton (US PG Pub 2012/0153618).
As to independent claim 2, Hamilton teaches a Geomagnetic device is a switch breaker (70, 72, 74), a coupling (42), a motor (34) and a generator (32) as shown in figure 3C.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walton et al. (5,097,194).
As to independent claim 2, Walton et al. teaches a Geomagnetic Device is a switch breaker (32) and a coupling attachment (46, 54) to a motor (14) and a generator (16) as shown in figure 2.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Betz et al. (7,673,713).
As to independent claim 2, Betz et al. teaches a Geomagnetic Device is a switch breaker (24) and a coupling attachment (30) to a motor (22) and a generator (20) as shown in figure 2.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor (7,888,916).
As to independent claim 2, Taylor teaches a Geomagnetic Device is a switch breaker (4) and a coupling attachment (14) to a motor (10) and a generator (12) as shown in figure 1.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farkas (US PG Pub 2005/0173925).
As to independent claim 2, Farkas teaches a Geomagnetic Device is a switch breaker (20) and a coupling attachment (40, 44, 46, 42, 30 and 60) to a motor (50) and a generator (30) as shown in figure 1.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton (US PG Pub 2012/0153618).
As to independent claim 5, Hamilton teaches a Geomagnetic device comprising a switch breaker (70, 72, 74), a coupling (42), a motor (34) and a generator (32) as shown in figure 3C.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walton et al. (5,097,194).
As to independent claim 5, Walton et al. teaches a Geomagnetic device comprising a switch breaker (32) a coupling (46, 54), a motor (14) and a generator (16) as shown in figure 2.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Betz et al. (7,673,713).
As to independent claim 5, Betz et al. teaches a Geomagnetic device comprising a switch breaker (24), a coupling (30), a motor (22) and a generator (20) as shown in figure 2.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor (7,888,916).
As to independent claim 5, Taylor teaches Geomagnetic device comprising switch breaker (4), a coupling (14), a motor (10) and a generator (12) as shown in figure 1.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farkas (US PG Pub 2005/0173925).
As to independent claim 5, Farkas teaches a Geomagnetic device comprising switch breaker (20), a coupling (40, 44, 46, 42, 30 and 60), a motor (50) and a generator (30) as shown in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN202855635) in view of Hamilton (US PG Pub 2012/0153618).
As to independent claim 2, Zhou et al. teaches a geomagnetic switch to realize the switching on/off of the circuit (as a switch breaker) as shown in figure 3, but Zhou et al. doesn’t teach a coupling, a motor and a generator.
However Hamilton teaches a coupling (42), a motor (34) and a generator (32) as shown in figure 3C, for the advantageous benefit of providing the force, and the energy generated by the generator comprises second form of energy different from the first energy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Zhou et al. by using a coupling, a motor and a generator, as taught by Hamilton, to provide the force, and the energy generated by the generator comprises second form of energy different from the first energy.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN202855635) in view of Hamilton (US PG Pub 2012/0153618).
As to independent claim 5, Zhou et al. teaches a geomagnetic switch to realize the switching on/off of the circuit (as a switch breaker) as shown in figure 3, but Zhou et al. doesn’t teach a coupling, a motor and a generator.
However Hamilton teaches a coupling (42), a motor (34) and a generator (32) as shown in figure 3C, for the advantageous benefit of providing the force, and the energy generated by the generator comprises second form of energy different from the first energy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Zhou et al. by using a coupling, a motor and a generator, as taught by Hamilton, to provide the force, and the energy generated by the generator comprises second form of energy different from the first energy.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 December 4, 2025