DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-18 and 20-27 are pending.
Claims 15-18 and 20-27 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument A:
Applicant points out that Metrangolo merely discloses a gathered laminate structure comprising bonded layers. Moreover, Applicant states, there is no teaching by Metrangolo of the aerosolizable material being a solid substrate comprising gel in the absence of a carrier or support. Applicant states there is clearly no teaching of a solid substrate in the form of a gel sheet that may be gathered as part of a layered structure including a second sheet comprising heating material to which the gel sheet is not bonded, as explicitly recited in the claims currently on file.
Applicant states Wilke has been relied upon as it allegedly discloses an aerosolizable structure comprising a gel sheet.
With this in mind, Applicant states, there is plainly no suggestion that the gelled sheet disclosed by Wilke has the physical properties to enable it to be gathered in the manner disclosed by Metrangolo. Further, Applicant states, the heating material is provided in particulate form according to Wilke, namely heating elements in the form of spheres, strands or open cell structures. See [0004] and [0012], for example.
The heating elements are combined with the smokable material to form a mixture in which the heating elements are evenly dispersed throughout the smokable material. See [0003], [0012], [0014], [0027], [0035], [0059], [0078] and [0087], for example. Such mixing is, of course, not possible to achieve if the smokable material is in the form of a sheet. The only method of providing the described mixtures is provided in paragraph [0087], which is clearly not applicable to smokable material in the form of a sheet unless the sheet is cut or shredded to form small particles that can be provided to a hopper and mixed with the elements of heating material to provide an even mixture of the materials.
Accordingly, the Examiner is improperly taking only the gel sheet from the teaching of Wilke and is incorporating it in a completely different form (a continuous sheet rather than cut or shredded sheet) and in a completely different manner (gathered rather than mixed or blended) into a consumable according to the teaching of Metrangolo.
Wilke does not provide the disclosure of a sheet consisting of aerosolizable material in gel form that has the necessary physical properties to be gathered to form an aerosolizable structure. Further, there is certainly nothing to suggest that the gelled sheet briefly mentioned by Wilke could be used in the place of the sheet of reconstituted tobacco material disclosed by Metrangolo.
Examiner Response A:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Metrangolo teaches a gathered layered structure comprising: a first sheet of aerosol-generating material and a second sheet of thermally-conductive material (page 2, lines 14-18), wherein the second sheet comprises thermally-conductive material comprised of aluminum foil (page 2, lines 22-23). Wilke teaches that possible aerosol-generating materials are gel or gelled sheet or reconstituted tobacco or homogenized tobacco ([0051]). Wilke is relied upon to teach possible aerosol-generating materials, not the heating material or heating elements.
Regarding the argument that there is nothing to suggest that the gelled sheet briefly mentioned by Wilke could be used in the place of the sheet of reconstituted tobacco material disclosed by Metrangolo, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Wilke explicitly states that possible aerosol-generating materials are gel or gelled sheet or reconstituted tobacco or homogenized tobacco ([0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013178768 (Metrangolo hereinafter) in view of US 20170055575 (Wilke hereinafter).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 8-10 and 12, Metrangolo teaches an aerosolizable structure, specifically a rod, for use in an article for use with an apparatus for heating aerosolizable material to volatilize at least one component of the aerosolizable material (abstract), the aerosolizable structure comprising: a gathered layered structure comprising: a first sheet of aerosol-generating material and a second sheet of thermally-conductive material (page 2, lines 14-18), wherein the second sheet comprises thermally-conductive material comprised of aluminum foil (page 2, lines 22-23).
Metrangolo does not expressly teach that the aerosol-generating material of the first sheet is a gel.
Wilke teaches an aerosolizable structure for use in an article for use with an apparatus for heating aerosolizable material to volatilize at least one component of the aerosolizable material (abstract). Wilke teaches that possible aerosol-generating materials are gel or gelled sheet or reconstituted tobacco or homogenized tobacco ([0051]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the aerosol-generating material of the first sheet in Metrangolo with the gel or gelled sheet as taught by Wilke because it has been held that the substitution of one known element (i.e. reconstituted tobacco or homogenized tobacco sheet) for another (i.e. gelled sheet) yielding predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, specifically providing volatilized components upon heating, typically in the form of vapor or an aerosol (Wilke, [0051]), would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP § 2143 B).
The structure formed by modified Metrangolo, specifically a first sheet of aerosol-generating material which is a gelled sheet, and a second sheet of thermally-conductive material, which is aluminum foil, are not bonded, as both are separate sheet materials.
Regarding claim 5, modified Metrangolo teaches that multiple sheets of aerosol-generating material can be included in the gathered layered structure (Metrangolo, page 4, lines 29-30).
While modified Metrangolo does not expressly state that the second sheet, or thermally-conductive material, is located between two layers of aerosol-forming material (the first and third sheets, respectively), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have positioned the layer of thermally-conductive material between the two layers of aerosol-forming material so that both aerosol-forming material layers are in intimate contact with the layer of thermally-conductive material, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results, namely efficient heating of the aerosol-forming material layers.
Regarding claim 7, modified Metrangolo teaches that the gathered layered structure is crimped (Metrangolo, page 3, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 13, modified Metrangolo teaches a wrapper wrapped around the gathered layered structure (Metrangolo, page 2, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 14, modified Metrangolo teaches that the aerosolizable structure is a rod (Metrangolo, page 2, lines 14-16), which is substantially cylindrical.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755