DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 19, 20 and 23 have been canceled without prejudice. Claims 15-18, 21, 22 and 24-28 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims have been considered and are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drees (US 2011/0178977 A1).
Claim 15: Drees discloses a method for reporting, in a machine-supported manner, fault states (page 1 paragraph [0005]) related to components (devices) of a passenger transport system (elevator) (page 2 paragraph [0031]), where a portable reporting device (mobile phone communication transceiver) is provided as an interface (page 3 paragraph [0036]). A mobile phone is adapted to be carried by a reporting technician, as is recognized in the art. A fault corresponding to a component (page 7 paragraph [0057]) is detected by a technician to be examined according to manual fault assessment engine during maintenance of the passenger transport system instead of an automated diagnostic process (page 8 paragraph [0061]). A fault collector (1250) receives component information including fault information describing a fault state in the component being examined from a manual diagnostics module (416) (page 20 paragraph [0152]) by operating a reporting device (graphical user interface) to acquire the component information, and automatically transmitting the component information from the reporting device to an analysis device in a first data transmission process (page 8 paragraph [0061]). Usage site (building) information is further transmitted in the first transmission process, wherein a fault is categorized by usage site information (faults by building) describing a usage site of the component being examined (page 8 paragraph [0062]).
A selection of possible causes of a fault state of the component being examined is automatically selected from different possible causes of faults stored in the analysis device based on the component information and corresponding selection information describing the selection of possible causes of the fault state is transmitted to the reporting device in a second data transmission process, and automatically outputting the selection information to a display of the reporting device (page 20 paragraph [0151]). The different possible causes of faults would be stored as a list, as is recognized in the art. Sub-selection information describing a sub-selection (confirming or denying) possible cause selected by the technician (user) is received from the displayed selection information using the reporting device (page 20 paragraph [0150]), and the sub-selection information is automatically transmitted from the reporting device to the analysis device as feedback in a third data transmission process (page 20 paragraph [0150]). Fault information is collected multiple times in a same period of time and is automatically presented when a frequency of a detected fault exceeds a predefined frequency threshold value, e.g., more than once, that would be predefined with consideration of the usage site of the component being examined according to types of filtering, pre-selection, or prioritizing, as is recognized in the art (page 20 paragraph [0144]). The method steps then would be performed multiple times within the same period of time, and the sub-selection information related to a possible cause would be collected and a monitoring device automatically informed when the frequency of the related sub-selected information exceeds the predefined frequency threshold value.
Claim 21: Drees discloses a method as stated above, where the predefined frequency threshold value is with consideration of functionalities causing energy consumption of the component being examined to become abnormal (page 7 paragraph [0057]).
Claim 22: Drees discloses a method as stated above, where the predefined frequency threshold value is with consideration of a frequency of use (frequency of occurrence) of the component being examined (page 8 paragraph [0062]).
Claim 24: Drees discloses a method as stated above, where correction information (recommended actions for assessment) is transmitted from the analysis device to the reporting device as a proposal for correcting the fault state corresponding to the sub-selection information (page 8 paragraph [0061]).
Claim 25: Drees discloses a method for reporting fault states relating to components of a passenger transport system in a machine-supported manner, and a portable reporting device is provided as an interface, as stated above. A report generating device (supervisory controller) is adapted to carry out said method and includes the reporting device with a display and an analysis device in data communication with the reporting device (page 1 paragraph [0009]).
Claim 26: Drees discloses a method for reporting fault states relating to components of a passenger transport system in a machine-supported manner, where component information and sub-selection information is received form the reporting device, and a portable reporting device is provided as an interface, as stated above. A report generating device (supervisory controller) is adapted to carry out said method and includes a reporting device with a display and an evaluating device in data communication with the reporting device (page 1 paragraph [0009]). The evaluating device (automated diagnostics module 414) includes an analysis device that receives the component information to evaluate the component information for fault states (page 20 paragraph [0152]) relating to components of the passenger transport system in a machine-supported manner (page 7 paragraph [0057]). The evaluating device further informs a monitoring device in a machine-supported manner of the fault states that have occurred in the components (page 8 paragraph [0061]).
Claims 27 and 28: Drees discloses a method as stated above, where a computer program product comprising machine-readable instructions stored on a non-transitory machine readable medium to be executed by a processor to prompt the processor to carry out the machine-readable instructions as said method (pages 1-2 paragraph [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drees (US 2011/0178977 A1) in view of McGill et al. (US 11,635,742 B2).
Claim 16: Drees discloses a method as stated above, but fails to disclose identity information to be acquired by reading out machine-readable information stored on the component being examined.
However McGill et al. teaches a method for reporting, in a machine-supported manner, fault states related to components (equipment 102b such as elevator machinery) of a passenger transport system (elevator) (column 3 lines 28-37), where identity information (equipment identifier) (column 7 lines 2-5) is acquired by reading out machine-readable information (barcode) stored on the component being examined via camera pointing at the component to trigger AR content (column 6 lines 16-22, 32-34).
Given the teachings of McGill et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Drees with providing identity information to be acquired by reading out machine-readable information stored on the component being examined. Doing so would allow a “building [to] logically [be] associated with the piece of equipment identifier in a one-to-many correspondence in [a] server” so that “the server identifies, in real-time, a present fault (e.g. presently broken or malfunctioning component) or a projected fault (e.g. component projected to break or malfunction in the future) in the piece of equipment based on the sensed readings sourced (e.g. read, collected) from the user profile” as taught in McGill et al. (column 7 lines 6-9, 29-34).
Claim 17: Drees modified by McGill et al. discloses a method as stated above, where the identity information is an optically readable code (barcode) as taught in McGill et al. (column 7 lines 2-5). The code is read out with a scanner (camera) when the reporting device is positioned in proximity to the component to acquire the identify information where the scanner is shown to be integrated into the reporting device (mobile client) (column 6 lines 16-22) such as a smartphone (112c) (column 6 lines 12-14).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drees (US 2011/0178977 A1) in view of Rao et al. (US 8,825,470 B2).
Claim 18: Drees discloses a method as stated above, where a textual user interface displays feedback to a user, or receives input from a user (page 8 paragraph [0061]). The selection information then would be outputted to the reporting device in a language spoken by the technician, as is recognized in the art. This reference fails to disclose the language to be preset by the technician.
However Rao et al. teaches a method, where a user presets (selects) a language of a reporting device to receive feedback (reason phrase) (column 6 lines 57-61).
Given the teachings of Rao et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Drees with providing the language to be preset by the technician. Doing so would allow the software which executes the automatic steps to be used in different countries around the world, thereby increasing sales.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state on page 6 of the response that “the present claims are directed to a field-feedback loop for fault-cause reporting: technician-selected fault causes are accumulated across installations, analyzed statistically, and escalated to a monitoring system based on configurable thresholds”. However applicants claims do not require such details. The claims are silent as to a “field-feedback loop”, the fault causes to be “accumulated across installations”, the fault causes to be “analyzed statistically”, and the monitoring device being informed to be an “escalation” “based on configurable thresholds”. Drees properly anticipates applicants’ limitations as required by the claims.
Conclusion
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 4, 2026