DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, line 3 to page 6, line 11, filed May 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US patent publication 20180189561 granted to Bertan et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent 20180337917 granted to Wallace and further in view of US patent 20180189561 granted to Bertan et al.
Regarding claim 3, Wallace discloses a method for remote registration of a mobile user by means of a mobile communication device provided with a photo capture module {see paragraph [0033] (image capture components) and Figure 1, element 25} and a touch screen {see paragraph [0033] (communication component may include touchscreen, touchpad) and Figure 1, element 22}; characterized by the fact that a mobile user's identity document is photographed by means of the photo capture module, thereby forming an electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document, {see paragraphs [0042] (user captures an image, e.g. a photo of the user); [0047] (user capture an image of a verified identification of the user) [0051] (user captures an image of the user’s verified identification using an image captured device, e.g., a camera) and Figure 3, element 204}; the presence of the signs of authenticity of this document in the file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is verified, the text data from the electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is recognized; {see paragraph [0040] (authentication requirements may include a verified identification requirements, such as a driver's license, the issue date and name of government entity associated with the identification document)]; video recording of the mobile user is performed by means of the photo capture module, thereby forming an electronic file corresponding to the video record of the mobile user, the presence in the electronic file corresponding to the video record of the mobile user of signs of the fact that there was performed video recording of a mobile user who was in front of the photo capture module at the time of video recording is verified, the image of the mobile user from the file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is compared with the image of the mobile user from the file corresponding to the video record of the mobile user to check whether these images of the mobile user correspond to the same person [see paragraph [0051] (user captures an image of the user’s liveness identification using a camera on the user’s mobile device. The user’s liveness identification may be a video or live image.) and Figure 3, element 206}; the identification data is stored, the file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is stored, the text data from the electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is stored, the identification data, the recognized text data from the electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document, a signal about completion of the procedure of remote registration of the mobile user is formed.” {see paragraph [0061] (the organization may store the verified identification image and liveness identification image in order to more quickly authenticate the user in the future.) and Figure 3, elements 224, 226)}.
Wallace fails to specifically teach ensuring verification of the document against forgery by recognizing features of authenticity of the document. In an analogous art, Bertan discloses a method of using identification documents during enrollment of an individual where the authenticity of the identification documents are verified against alteration and/or forgery {see paragraphs [0019] and [0067] (the indication associated with authenticity can indicate that identification document 104 at least one of: is an authentic identification, includes a discrepancy, or is potentially a fraudulent identification document 104.)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine Bertan’s method for validating an identity document with Wallace’s system for user authentication using live captured videos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the two in order to ensure only legitimate documents are being used to authenticate a user (see Bertan; paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 4, Wallace discloses a method for remote registration of a mobile user by means of a mobile communication device provided with a photo capture module {see paragraph [0033] (image capture components) and Figure 1, element 25]} and a touch screen {see paragraph [0033] (communication component may include touchscreen, touchpad) and Figure 1, element 22}; characterized by the fact that a mobile user's identity document is photographed by means of the photo capture module, thereby forming an electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document, the presence of the signs of authenticity of this document in the file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is verified, the text data from the electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is recognized; {see paragraphs [0042] (user captures an image, e.g. a photo of the user); [0047] (user capture an image of a verified identification of the user) [0051] (user captures an image of the user’s verified identification using an image captured device, e.g., a camera) and Figure 3, element 204}; the mobile user is photographed by the photo capture module, thereby forming an electronic file corresponding to the photo image of the mobile user, the image of the mobile user from the file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is compared with the image of the mobile user from the file corresponding to the photo image of the mobile user to check whether these images of the mobile user correspond to the same person; {see paragraph [0042] (user captures an image, e.g., a photo or alive photo of the user.) and Figure 2, element 140}; the identification data is stored, the file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is stored, the text data from the electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document is stored, the identification data, the recognized text data from the electronic file corresponding to the image of the mobile user's identity document, a signal about completion of the procedure of remote registration of the mobile user is formed.” {see paragraph [0061] (the organization may store the verified identification image and liveness identification image in order to more quickly authenticate the user in the future.) and Figure 3, elements 224, 226)}.
Wallace fails to specifically teach ensuring verification of the document against forgery by recognizing features of authenticity of the document. In an analogous art, Bertan discloses a method of using identification documents during enrollment of an individual where the authenticity of the identification documents are verified against alteration and/or forgery {see paragraphs [0019] and [0067] (the indication associated with authenticity can indicate that identification document 104 at least one of: is an authentic identification, includes a discrepancy, or is potentially a fraudulent identification document 104.)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine Bertan’s method for validating an identity document with Wallace’s system for user authentication using live captured videos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the two in order to ensure only legitimate documents are being used to authenticate a user (see Bertan; paragraph [0062]).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent 20180337917 granted to Wallace and further in view of US patent 20180189561 granted to Bertan et al and EP 2511861 granted to Garcia.
Regarding claim 1, Wallace teaches a system for remotely registration a user {see paragraph [0061] (the organization may store the verified identification image and liveness identification image in order to more quickly authenticate the user in the future.) and Figure 3, elements 224, 226}. The system comprises an identification data module, a photo capture module, a touch screen, a first processing unit, a first management unit, a first memory unit, a second processing unit, a second management unit, a second memory unit, and two receiving-transmitting units, the touch screen being configured for entering text data (see paragraph [0032] and Figure 1). The system produces a file of a relevant graphic format corresponding to the photo image of a document, a file of a relevant graphic format corresponding to the photo image of a code, and a file of a relevant graphic format corresponding to the video image of a person, the second processing unit being configured to recognize a code in the file corresponding to the photo image of a code, to recognize the photo image of a person and text data in the file corresponding to the photo image of a document, to recognize the photo image of a person in the file corresponding to the video image of a person, to compare the recognized photo image of a person from the file corresponding to the image of a document with one of the recognized photo images of a person in the file corresponding to the video image of a person, to compare the photo images of a person in the file corresponding to the video image of a person to verify that this is the image of a living person in reality at the time of photo capture, to recognize the features of authenticity of a document, wherein the first processing unit is connected and configured to acquire signals from the identification data module, the photo capture module and the touch screen, the first memory unit is connected and configured to acquire signals from the first processing unit, the photo capture module and the touch screen, one of the receiving-transmitting units is connected and configured to acquire signals from the first processing unit and the first memory unit and to transmit the signals acquired from the other receiving-transmitting unit to the first management unit and the first processing unit, the first management unit is connected and configured to transmit management signals to the photo capture module, the touch screen, the first processing unit, the first memory unit; the second processing unit is connected and configured to acquire signals from the other receiving-transmitting unit, the second memory unit is connected and configured to acquire signals from the second processing unit, the other receiving- transmitting unit is connected and configured to acquire signals from the second processing unit, the second management unit is connected and configured to transmit management signals to the second processing unit and the second memory unit, the receiving-transmitting units are configured to exchange signals between each other by means of transmission of radio signals.” {see paragraphs [0046]-[0061] and Figure 3}.
Wallace fails to specifically teach ensuring verification of the document against forgery by recognizing features of authenticity of the document. In an analogous art, Bertan discloses a method of using identification documents during enrollment of an individual where the authenticity of the identification documents are verified against alteration and/or forgery {see paragraphs [0019] and [0067] (the indication associated with authenticity can indicate that identification document 104 at least one of: is an authentic identification, includes a discrepancy, or is potentially a fraudulent identification document 104.)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine Bertan’s method for validating an identity document with Wallace’s system for user authentication using live captured videos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the two in order to ensure only legitimate documents are being used to authenticate a user (see Bertan; paragraph [0062]).
Wallace and Bertan fail to specifically teach a user adding their signature through the use of a touchscreen. In an analogous art, Garcia teaches a remote signature system that compares a user’s signature with identification data (see Abstract). Garcia’s system requires the user to record their signature through a touch screen and insert the signature into the identification data (see paragraphs [0036]-[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Garcia’s remote signature system with Bertan’s method for validating an identity document and Wallace’s system for user authentication using live captured videos. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the two in order to enhance the credibility of the identification document. By using a unique signature of the user, a verifier can reliably prove the identification document belongs to the user.
Claim 2 is a method that is substantially equivalent to method claim 1. Therefore claim 2 is rejected by a similar rationale.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SMITHERS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2437