DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The replacement drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended claims been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863) and Prescott (US 2003/0033819).
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses a portable heating system (PHS), comprising: an air inlet (28, Figures 1-4); a combustion chamber (42) for combustion of fuel; a burner connected to the air inlet, the burner comprising a fuel inlet for introducing fuel to the burner; (C3,L21-30) a combustion blower (68 opposite 66) for blowing air from the air inlet into the combustion chamber thereby allowing for production of heat by combustion of the fuel; an outlet (45) for releasing exhaust from the combustion chamber; a heat exchanger (34), interfacing the combustion chamber and exchanging heat with a heat transporting media (air via fan 66), the heat exchanger comprising: a first side (96), arranged in such a way as to absorb heat from the combustion chamber; a second side (88) for releasing heat into the heat transporting media (C4,L20-41); at least one thermoelectric module (84, Figure 4) arranged between the first side and second side of the heat exchanger for producing electrical power; a rechargeable battery (106) for absorbing the electrical power generated by the at least one thermoelectrical module; a controller (104,C5,L46-64).
Chou does not disclose a controller that switches distribution of the produced electrical power between the rechargeable battery and one or more selected electrical power consumers arranged in the PHS to regulate a current draw from the at least one thermoelectric module to a level within a preset range of current draw corresponding to a preset range of thermal conductivity of the at least one thermoelectrical module .
However, Prescott discloses a current mode controller of a thermo-electric cooler ( Abstract) that switches distribution of the produced electrical power between the a load ( R, [0023]) and one or more selected electrical power consumers (R ref) arranged in the PHS to regulate a current draw from the at least one thermoelectric module to a level within a preset range of current draw corresponding to a preset range of thermal conductivity of the at least one thermoelectrical module ([0021, 0024,0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to regulate the current draw of the TEC in order to control the temperature of the TEC to prevent overheating of the device.
As a clarification, the battery of Chou (108) is represented as the resistor (R) and the other resistors are alternative loads, such as pumps and fans, which by their drawing of current controls the temperature of the TEC.
Regarding claim 25, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, wherein the controller (Chou-74, C4, L16-19) is adapted to regulate a fuel pump, a combustion blower and a heat transporting media pump (Chou- 66, i.e., fan) to provide an efficient link for transferring heat from the combustion of fuel to the heat transporting media by utilization of the thermoelectrical elements (Chou-Figure 4).
Regarding claim 26, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, wherein the thermoelectric modules (Chou-34) may be any of thermoelectric p- and n-type semiconductor legs (Chou-C4, L42-47), slices, elements or discs of any shape, or modules with integrated p- and n-type semiconductor legs.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), and Zillmer et al. (US 2013/0019849).
Regarding claim 2, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, wherein the controller is adapted as to monitor the charging of a battery to be supplied with electrical power from the at least one thermoelectric module and to switch off the charging when a threshold voltage level on the battery defining a state of full charge has been reached and subsequently connect the thermoelectric module with one or more of the electrical power consumers that consume at least an amount of electrical power that provides increased thermal conductivity of the at least one thermoelectrical module.
However, Zillmer a thermos-electric device (Abstract) wherein the controller (202) is adapted as to monitor the charging of a battery (206, [0023]) to be supplied with electrical power from the at least one thermoelectric module (122) and to switch off the charging when a threshold voltage level on the battery defining a state of full charge has been reached and subsequently connect the thermoelectric module with one or more of the electrical power consumers that consume at least an amount of electrical power that provides increased thermal conductivity of the at least one thermoelectrical module ([0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize the charging scheme of Zillmer with the device of Chou, as modified, to maximize the use of energy generated while protecting the battery from overcharging while also controlling the current and thus the temperature of the TEC.
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), and Kim et al. (US 2014/0203736).
Regarding claim 3, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, wherein the controller (Chou-104) is adapted as to monitor the charging of a battery connected to be supplied with electrical power from the at least one thermoelectric module (Chou-C5,L47-52) but does not provide a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal for distribution of electrical power generated by the at least one thermoelectric module and provide electrical power to the battery during a first period of the PWM signal and to provide electrical power to an electrical power consumer during a second period of the PWM signal and where a PWM ratio of the PWM signal is adjusted in response to the monitored charging level of the battery to absorb in total at least an amount of electrical power that provides an increased thermal conductivity of the at least one thermoelectrical module.
However, Kim discloses a rechargeable battery pack (Abstract) wherein the controller (MCU) is adapted as to monitor the charging of a battery connected to be supplied with electrical power from the at least one thermoelectric module and to provide a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal for distribution of electrical power generated by the at least one thermoelectric module and provide electrical power to the battery during a first period of the PWM signal and to provide electrical power to an electrical power consumer during a second period of the PWM signal and where a PWM ratio of the PWM signal is adjusted in response to the monitored charging level of the battery to absorb in total at least an amount of electrical power that provides an increased thermal conductivity of the at least one thermoelectrical module ([0062]). As a clarification, the MCU adjusts PWM duty ratio to balance the average power to each motor, which would analogous to balancing the power to between the charger and an electrical power consumer (motor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize PWM controller to operator the motors and battery charger due to their ease of operation.
Regarding claim 4, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 3, wherein a pulse-pause length of the PWM signal is configured to be in a range of 1 microsecond to 10 minutes ([0052]). As a clarification, Kim does not disclose that exact range, but since Kim also operates a motor and battery charger with a PWM circuit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to select a proper duty ratio for the device to function properly.
Regarding claim 6, Chou, as modified, discloses he PHS according to claim 4, wherein the control includes a switching device to be controlled by the PWM signal for at least one of recharging a battery or supplying a consumer where the switching device is one of a bipolar transistor, Field Effect Transistor or a Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET) ([0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 6, wherein the pulse-pause length is configured to be between 1 millisecond to 1000 milliseconds ([0055]). As a clarification, MOSFET’s can switch within that time parameter.
Claims 8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), and Kang et al. (US 2012/0156530).
Regarding claim 8, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, but not that a thermo sensor is arranged with the rechargeable battery to determine a temperature of the battery and give input to the control.
However, Kang discloses a battery controller (Abstract) with a thermo sensor (120) is arranged with the rechargeable battery (110) to determine a temperature of the battery and give input to the control [0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to include a temperature sensor operable to regulate the temperature of the rechargeable battery for safety purposes.
Regarding claim 14, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS claim 1, but not that the control is configured to provide a motor for the control of at least one of : 1) an electric fuel pump, 2) a combustion air-blower, 3) an air-blower, 4) a circulation pump with a supply current that varies in amplitude and polarization so as to regulate the motor to inefficiency but keeping an intended velocity so as to burn electric power generated by the at least one thermoelectric module in the motor and provide heat.
However, Kang discloses a battery controller (Abstract) wherein the controller is capable of being configured to control a motor for the control of at least one of: 1) an electric fuel pump, 2) a combustion air-blower, 3) an air-blower, 4) a circulation pump with a supply current that varies in amplitude and polarization so as to regulate the motor to inefficiency but keeping an intended velocity so as to burn electric power generated by the at least one thermoelectric module in the motor and provide heat ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to vary the duty ratio of the rotating devices to not only control the cooling generated, but also the energy removed or conserved within the system.
Regarding claim 15, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 14 wherein the motor is one of a DC motor with brushes, a brushless DC motor or a Stepper motor (140, [0027], i.e., the circuits are all DC).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), Kim et al. (US 2014/0203736), and Inaba et al. (US 2015/0171489).
Regarding claim 9, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, but not that the control is configured to determine a value of the PWM signal to provide a charging current to the rechargeable battery based on a temperature of the battery and corresponding preconfigured safe charge values mapped to the temperature of the battery, the safe charge values being stored with the control.
However, Kim discloses a rechargeable battery pack (Abstract) wherein the controller (MCU) is configured to determine a value of the PWM signal to provide a charging current to the rechargeable battery ([0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize PWM controller to operator the motors and battery charger due to their ease of operation.
Additionally, Inaba discloses a battery controller (Abstract) wherein a charging current to the rechargeable battery based on a temperature of the battery and corresponding preconfigured safe charge values mapped to the temperature of the battery, the safe charge values being stored with the control ([0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to include control the battery’s charging rate based on the battery temperature to avoid damage to the battery or system.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), and Inaba et al. (US 2015/0171489).
Regarding claim 10, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according claim 1, but not that the electrical consumer is one or more resistive heating elements for dissipation of electrical power and converting the electrical power into heat.
However, Inaba discloses a battery controller (Abstract) wherein the electrical consumer is one or more resistive heating elements ([0028], Figure 1) for dissipation of electrical power and converting the electrical power into heat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to include a resistive element to convert the extra energy generated by the thermoelectric device back into to thermal energy that may be used to heat the battery to remain functional, particularly when the battery is remote from the heated area.
Regarding claim 11, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 10, wherein the resistive heating element is arranged within the PHS for heating one of the following: air inlet; a fuel tank; a fuel pump; a fuel inlet to the fuel pump; a motor for a combustion blower; a circulation pump if a transportation media of heat is liquid based; a buffer water tank for heated water if the transportation media of heat is liquid base; a motor for an air-blower if the transportation media of heat is air based; rechargeable battery ([0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according claim 1, wherein the control is adapted to monitor the temperature of the rechargeable battery and in case the temperature of the rechargeable battery exceeds a predetermined value disconnect a heating element arranged with the battery to avoid excess heating of the rechargeable battery ([0028]).
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), and Anderson et al. (US 2010/0262308).
Regarding claim 13, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, but not that the electrical consumer short circuits the at least one thermoelectric module and dissipates the electrical power generated by the at least one thermoelectric module in an inner resistance of the thermoelectric module.
However, Anderson discloses a regenerative controller (Abstract) wherein the electrical consumer (50, [0039,0055]) short circuits the at least one thermoelectric module and dissipates the electrical power generated by the at least one thermoelectric module in an inner resistance of the thermoelectric module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to include a clamping circuit to control the voltage of the circuit, thus protecting the battery.
Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 4,942,863), Prescott (US 2003/0033819), Kaibe et al. (US 2017/0125657), and Crawley et al. (US 2005/0150219).
Regarding claim 16, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 1, but not that it comprises a temperature sensor on a hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module where the control is adapted to monitor the temperature on the hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module and in case the temperature level exceeds a temperature threshold value, the control increases a current draw from the at least one thermoelectrical module until the temperature level on the hot side is beyond the temperature threshold value and in case a maximum threshold value for the current draw is reached and the temperature level still exceeds the temperature threshold value, the control further controls a fuel pump in order to decrease an amount of fluid supplied to the burner until a state is reached where the temperature level on the hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module is not exceeding the temperature threshold value.
However, Kaibe (K) discloses a thermoelectric generator (Abstract) comprising a temperature sensor (10a, [0036]) on a hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module (10) where the control is adapted to monitor the temperature on the hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module and in case the temperature level exceeds a temperature threshold value (s104, Figure 5), the control increases a current draw from the at least one thermoelectrical module until the temperature level on the hot side is beyond the temperature threshold value ([0033-0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a chopper circuit to remove current from the thermoelectric device in order to maintain a proper temperature.
Additionally, Crawley discloses a method of controlling a burner (Abstract) wherein the temperature level still exceeds the temperature threshold value, the control further controls a fuel pump in order to decrease an amount of fluid supplied to the burner until a state is reached where the temperature level on the hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module is not exceeding the temperature threshold value (Claim 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to reduce the temperature of the burner, but reducing the amount of fuel used, when the temperature has exceeded a threshold, wherein removing electrical current would not increase cooling of the thermoelectric device and thus without lowering the temperature via combustive alterations the device would be damaged.
Regarding claim 19, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according to claim 16, wherein the control is configured to, in case the temperature on the hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module is below a second threshold temperature and there is still a demand for producing heat, the control reacts by increasing the supply of fuel to the burner and thus producing more heat (Claim 4).
Regarding claim 20, Chou, as modified, discloses the PHS according claim 16, wherein the control is configured to, in case the temperature on the hot side of the at least one thermoelectrical module is below a second threshold temperature and there is still a demand for producing heat, the control is configured to lower the current draw to match a threshold level for current draw that increases efficiency of the system (K- s106-s108, Figure 5, [0049]).
Conclusion
/JOHN E. BARGERO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762