DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-10, 13-14, 18, 20-22, 24, 27-28, 30 are pending.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment. Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 13-14, 18, 20-22, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulushev (Nano Lett. 2016;16(12):7882-7890) in view of Wang (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2005;102(28): 9796-801), in further view of IDT (Archived product webpage from 01/25/2018 for Alt-RTM CRISPR products including fluorescently labeled tracrRNAs, listed on PTO-892), and Jinek (Science. 2012; 337(6096):816-21) and Latulippe (Biotechnol Bioeng. 2010;107(1):134-42).
Regarding claim 1, Bulushev (2016) teaches a method for “single molecule localization and discrimination of DNA-Protein complexes by controlled translocation through nanocapillaries” (Page 7882, Title). In the demonstration of the method, Bulushev teaches:
A method of labeling a DNA, comprising:
providing a DNA comprising a first target sequence and a second target sequence, and upto 5 different target binding site sequences along a 48.5kb λDNA (See graphic abstract below),
contacting the DNA with:
a first dCas9 protein; and a first single guiding RNA (sgRNA), wherein the sgRNA comprising a sequence region equivalent to crRNA and is complementary to the first target sequence or a portion thereof, and a region equivalent to a first tracrRNA sequence,
incubating the DNA, the first dCas9 protein, and the first sgRNA, whereby the first dCas protein, the DNA, and the first sgRNA form a complex wherein the first sgRNA is hybridized to the first target sequence or the portion thereof, thereby labeling the DNA at the first target sequence with the first dCas9/sgRNA complex;
and further contacting the DNA with: a second dCas9 protein; and a second sgRNA comprising a second region equivalent to crRNA and a second equivalent tracrRNA region, wherein the second sgRNA comprises a region that is complementary to the second target sequence or a portion thereof,
incubating the DNA with the second dCas9 protein, the second sgRNA, wherein the second dCas9 protein, the DNA, and the second sgRNA form a second complex, wherein the second sgRNA’s equivalent crRNA region is hybridized to the second target sequence or the portion thereof, thereby labeling the DNA at the second target sequence to form a DNA complexed with the second dCas9/sgRNA complex;
and linearizing the complexed DNA in a fluidic nanochannel, wherein the fluidic nanochannel has a cross-sectional dimension of 43-58nm (Page 7888, left column, lines 6-7), and wherein the complexed DNA comprises the DNA, the first dCas protein, the first sgRNA, the second dCas protein, and the second gRNA (See graphic abstract below).
Bulushev does not teach using “labeled gRNA” with different dCas9/gRNA complexes.
However, Wang (2005) teaches linearizing labeled and protein-bound DNA in a fluidic nanochannel when performing “single-molecule studies of GFP-LacI repressor proteins bound to bacteriophage λDNA containing a 256 tandem lac operator insertion confined in nanochannels. …” (Page 9796, Abstract, lines 1-5). Wang further teaches “To understand protein–DNA interactions at the single-molecule level, … requires that the DNA be extended in a linear manner” (Page 9796, left column, first ¶, lines 3-8; Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 show a ~42kb DNA linearized in a 120 x 150nm nanochannel, see below; Fig. 10 shows a DNA linearized in a 150 x 200nm nanochannel, see further below). GFP is a label on the protein-DNA complex under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Neither Bulushev nor Wang teaches fluorescent labeling/tagging of tracrRNAs using separate crRNA and tracrRNA to recruit dCas9.
However, IDT (2018) teaches that fluorescent dye-labeled tracrRNAs and unlabeled crRNAs have been on the market for commercial distribution since January 2018 (Product website from IDT based on wayback machine archived webpage on 01/25/2018; See PTO-892 NPL listing; Page 7, Figure 3), before the effective filing date of the current application.
None of Bulushev, Wang, or IDT teaches that sgRNA is equivalent to crRNA:tracrRNA.
However, Jinek (2012) teaches that “Cas9 can be programmed using a single engineered RNA molecule combining tracrRNA and crRNA features” (Page 819, right column, 2nd ¶, lines 2-7;Fig. 5A).
Bulushev teaches nanocapillaries with cross-sectional dimensions between 43-58nm (Page 7888, left column, lines 6-7), which is much narrower than 1000nm.
It would have been obvious for persons with ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITAs) before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have substituted the sgRNAs used by Bulushev with the fluorescently labelled tracrRNA to couple with cognate crRNA to recruit dCas9 without interfering the protein-DNA interactions by impacting the dCas9 protein conformation to enable optical imaging and measurement of multiple dCas9/gRNA complexes bound to linearized DNA in nanochannels with a cross-sectional dimension of less than 1000nm. It would merely amount to simple substitutions of known elements in the art to achieve predictable results. One would have been motivated to do so because Wang demonstrates high precision imaging of protein-DNA interactions in nano channels (Page 9796, Abstract; Page 9800, Figure. 10). One would have reasonable expectations of success because the substituted elements function the same way.
Regarding claim 3, Bulushev further teaches “In the case of dCas9, we performed experiments both with a single RNA guide present in the mixture as well as with several (two and three)” (Page 7884, right column, lines 10-12) indicating that dCas9 proteins and sgRNAs contacted the target DNA at the same time in the solution.
Regarding claim 4, Bulushev further teaches using catalytically inactive dCas9 with both D10A and H840A mutations (Page 7888, right column, 5th ¶, lines 1-2) and Bulushev shows that the DNA remains intact at least as long as needed to be detected in the method.
Regarding claim 13, Bulushev teaches using catalytically inactive dCa9 for the protein-DNA complexing and studies (Page 7888, right column, 5th ¶, lines 1-2) successfully detected the linearized DNA with the figure showing that it remains sufficiently intact for detection (Page 7884, left column, last line, right column first 3 lines).
Regarding claim 14, Bulushev further teaches detecting a relative distance between the first dCas9 and the second dCas9, as well as relative distances between up to 5 different dCas9 proteins complexed simultaneously on the linearized DNA in the fluidic nanochannel (see Figure 2a above).
Regarding claim 18, Bulushev teaches catalytically inactive dCas9 with both of D10A/H840A mutations (Page 7888, right column, 5th ¶, lines 1-2). One with ordinary skill in the field would recognize that D10A and H840A mutations are in the HNH domain and/or RuvC-like domain.
Regarding claim 20-21, Bulushev teaches a non-optical imaging-based measurement method that does not require labeling for detection or localization of dCas9-gRNA-DNA complexes, i.e. no requirement for either the first dCas9 or the second dCas9 to be labeled.
Regarding claim 22, Bulushev teaches “Five sgRNAs (single guide RNAs) were designed bearing complementarity to the 20bp 5’ adjacent PAM motif sites”. (Page 7888, right column, 6th¶, lines 3-5), comprising a complementary region between 10-40nt as claimed by the instant claim.
Regarding claim 30, IDT further teaches that the label used for tagging tracrRNA is a well known fluorophore in the art, ATTOTM550.
Claims 5 & 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulushev, in view of Wang, IDT, Jinek, Latulippe, and further in view of Ma (Nat Biotechnol. 2016;34(5):528-30) and Sfeir (Cell. 2009;138(1):90-103).
The teachings of Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe have been discussed above as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 13-14, 18, 20-22, 30. None of Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe teaches the DNA target characteristics.
However, regarding claims 5 & 8-10, Ma teaches “a system for labeling DNA in living cells based on nuclease-dead (d) Cas9 combined with engineered single guide RNA (sgRNA) scaffolds that bind sets of fluorescent proteins. … simultaneous imaging of up to six chromosomal loci in individual live cells…” (Page 528, Abstract, lines 3-8), including “ … telomeres, … repeated sequences…” (Page 528, right column, 3rd ¶), which requires labeling techniques with no or minimal genotoxicity.
However, Ma does not teach “a region predicted to form or susceptible of forming a fragile site upon nick translation labeling”.
Sfeir teaches “…The telomeric repeats are maintained by telomerase, … the TTAGGG repeat arrays of mammalian telomeres pose a challenge to the DNA replication machinery, giving rise to replication-dependent defects that resemble … common fragile sites”. (Page 90, Abstract, lines 4-11).
Since conventional labeling strategies such as nick labeling is not available for sites demonstrating fragile site features such as high copies of tandem repeats, PHOSITAs would not have chosen to label those fragile sites, thereby having limited targeting strategy choices. PHOSITAs would have recognized, based on Sfeir’s teaching, that telomeres contain high copies of tandem repeats and are not amenable to enzymatic nick labeling because of the dependency on DNA replication machinery to fill the nick sites with labeled nucleotides.
It would have been obvious to PHOSITAs before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the in-cell strategies of Ma in view of the teachings about the fragile DNA sites, taught by Sfeir, and have applied the dCas9/sgRNA complex-based labeling strategy taught by Ma on targets with predicted fragile site features along a linearized DNA. It would have also been obvious, based on the teachings of Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe on labeling and optical mapping of DNAs linearized in nanochannels within less than 1000nm cross-sectional dimension, to have expanded the choice of DNA target sites and genomic loci for versatile labeling and optimized optical mapping. The ability to label fragile sites, similar to telomeres or regions with high copy tandem repeats, demonstrated by Ma, would have motivated broader applications of the teachings of Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe to target DNA sites previously thought to be too fragile for linearized mapping in nanochannels. It would have merely amounted to simple combination of prior teachings of known elements in the art and simple substitution of known labeling modalities to extend the imaging capacity of genomic sites previously thought to be unsuitable for single molecule imaging. One would have been motivated to do so because the ability to optically image fragile regions or regions with tandem repeats has been challenging but would have shed new insights of genomic biology. One would have reasonable expectation of success because the same methods successfully applied to non-fragile or non-tandem repeat regions can be applied to these genomic regions previously difficult to image in the same way.
Claims 24, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulushev, in view of Wang, IDT, Jinek, Latulippe, further in view of McCaffrey (Nucleic Acids Res. 2016;44(2):e11) and Sriram (Nucleic Acids Res. 2014 Jun;42(10):e85).
The teachings of Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe have been discussed above as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8-10, 13-14, 18, 20-22, 30. None of Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe teaches direct enzymatic labeling, or nick labeling.
However, McCaffrey teaches a method of enzymatic nick labeling that “…uses the Cas9 D10A protein, which contains a nuclease disabling mutation in one of the two nuclease domains of Cas9, to create a guide RNA-directed DNA nick in the context of an in vitro-assembled CRISPR-CAS9 DNA complex. Fluorescent nucleotides are then incorporated adjacent to the nicking site with a DNA polymerase to label the guide RNA-determined target sequences” (Page 1 of 8, Abstract, lines 5-13).
Regarding claims 24-28, McCaffrey further teaches Cas9n fluorescent nick-labeling of fosmids, plasmid, and BAC clone without repair (Page 2 of 8, right column, last ¶), as well as with repair by reciting “The nicks were repaired with 500µM NAD+,…” (Page 3 of 8, left column, last ¶, lines 9-10).
The benefit of using a dCas protein/gRNA complex to label DNA is to ensure the DNA is not denatured. A benefit of using nick labeling is for targeting repetitive regions without fully denaturing the DNA. Both the dCas protein and nick labeling method are useful and one skilled in the art would be motivated to use both options to label DNA to ensure various genomic loci can be labeled successfully. McCaffrey teaches that “Such Cas9n fluorescent nick-labeling based sequence-specific labeling methods can be used to target repetitive regions which often lack appropriate restriction site motifs” (Page 2 of 8, left column, 2nd¶, lines 26-29).
Furthermore, McCaffrey teaches the technique of removing sgRNA and dCas9 prior to linearization of the labeled DNA in nanochannels by reciting “the sample was digested with RNAseA” (Page 3, left column, last ¶, lines 2-3) and “…was then treated with … Protease…” (Page 3, left column, last ¶, lines 11-12). McCaffrey does not teach the benefit of nick labeling without protein attachment.
Sriram (2014) teaches “a method adopting bioconjugation, nanofluidic confinement and fluorescence single molecule imaging for direct mapping of TF (RNA polymerase) binding sites on field-stretched single DNA molecules” (Page 1, Abstract, lines 4-8). Sriram further teaches that “Mapping megabase long DNA molecules using nanochannel devices has been demonstrated … One such work involves … nanochannels to map 4.7-Mb long, nick-labeled bacterial artificial chromosomes…. However, DNA–protein complex[es] were tried using similar devices but without much success. This is because while negatively charged DNA repelled from channel walls like SiO2, proteins tend to adsorb non-specifically to the channels.…” (Page 6 of 9, right column, 2nd ¶, lines 1-11). This teaching would have cautioned PHOSITAs to consider removing proteins as an option to avoid the potential for lack of success recited above when attempting to map DNAs in nanochannels.
It would have been obvious for PHOSITAs before the effective filing date of the current application to have modified the dCas9/gRNA/DNA complex labeling strategy, nanochannel-based linearization of DNA, and optical DNA mapping methods taught by Bulushev, Wang, IDT, Jinek, and Latulippe by adding the nick-labeling methods described by McCaffrey in view of the caution warned by Sriram as the alternative for optimally labeling and linearizing DNA in nanochannels, and would have labeled and linearized DNA molecules in nanochannels in such a way to have arrived at the same method as the claimed invention. It would merely amount to simple combination of known elements with predictable results because all elements are art-recognized routine optimization strategies in the art. One would have been motivated to do so to achieve optimal DNA labeling for imaging in nanochannels with minimal artifact as cautioned by Sriram. One would have reasonable expectations of success because of robust demonstrations by McCaffrey (Figures 3-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on pages 7-10 of Remarks filed on :
“Specifically, in rejecting claim 1 … … Applicant respectfully disagrees. As an initial matter, Bulushev teaches a method to detect and characterize different proteins bound to DNA …Therefore, not only does Bulushev fail to teach using a label, Bulushev has no intention to label the DNA-protein complex at all. In fact, Bulusheve [sic] indicates that most of the existing methods employ the use of chemical cross-linking agents, labeling tags and/or complex amplification protocols that can interfere with the proper protein conformation and as a result the proper DNA-protein interaction…. Therefore, Bulusheve[sic] favors label-free approaches, while teaching against labeling the DNA-protein complex because labeling tags can interfere with the protein conformation and proper DNA-protein interaction.Thus, the alleged reason to combine Bulushev's [sic] sgRNAs with fluorescently labeled tracrRNA taught by Wang and IDT - "enable optical imaging and measurement of multiple dCas9/gRNA complexes"- ran contrary to Bulushev's teaching. Thus, Bulushev teaches away from the proposed combination such that a person of ordinary skill would have been deterred from combining the references as proposed.
In this regard, Applicant respectfully reminds the Examiner that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. (MPEP 2141.02 VI)”
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/06/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 13-14, 18, 20-22, 24, 30 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Bulushev (2016) specifically cautions against “the use of chemical cross-linking agents, labeling tags and/or complex amplification protocols that can interfere with the proper protein conformation…” (Page 7882, left column, last 3 lines, right column, first 2 lines). However, Bulushev utilizes dCas9-guide RNA-DNA complex to study protein-DNA interaction in at least one embodiment. First, guide RNA is a required component of dCas9-DNA interaction, taught by Jinek (2012; Page 816, Abstract), as evidenced by the recitation by Bulushev, “dCas9-DNA complexes can be formed at different sites by means of different guide RNA molecules thus allowing us to investigate in details the fine resolution of our method…” (Page 7883, right column, first 5 lines). The §103 rejection is based on the combined teaching of adding fluorescent labels to the gRNA, NOT to the dCas9 protein. Applicant arguments are not accompanied by evidence that show labels on gRNA interfere with the Cas9 or dCas protein conformation, thereby interfering with Cas protein-DNA interaction. Second, although the technical note from IDT does acknowledge the possibility of fluorescent label changing the conformation of the gRNA carrying a label, however, IDT performed thorough screening to identify the optimal dye attachment strategy, i.e. on the 5’ terminus of the tracrRNA to avoid interference, and achieved optimal Cas9-DNA interaction, i.e. targeted cleavage, reciting that “Specifically, we show that 5’ addition of ATTO™ 550 fluorescent dye (ATTO-TEC GmbH) to Alt-R CRISPR-Cas9 tracrRNA does not interfere with RNP delivery or genome editing (IDT, Page 1, 3rd ¶, lines 2-3). Substituting the labeled gRNA of IDT with the non-labeled gRNA of Bulushev does not go against the teaching of Bulushev to avoid specific labeling strategies that interfere with the protein-DNA interaction. Bulushev does not teach away from using gRNA at all, as it is a prominent working embodiment in the article.
Applicant argues on pages 7-9 of Remarks filed on 07/06/2026:
“Interestingly, in rejecting claims 20-21 that depend from claim 1, the Examiner however relies on the arguments that "Bulushev teaches a non-optical imaging-based measurement method that does not require labeling for detection or localization of dCas9-gRNA-DNA complexes" (Office Action, p. 11). The Examiner's rational[sic] seems to suggest that a person skilled in the art would combine Bulushev with labeling to arrive at the instant claim 1 and then remove labeling to arrive at claims 20-21. Such obviousness analysis used by the Examiner makes no sense but appears solely based on Applicant's claims, rendering the impermissible hindsight under MPEP 2141.01".
Applicant’s arguments above have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because claims 20-21 do not argue for removing a label from a dCas9 protein. In the method of Bulushev, the Cas proteins were not labeled, which is sufficient to meet claims 20 and 21.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of Remarks filed on 07/06/2026:
“ …, a person skilled in the art would be taught away from combining Bulushev with any labeling method because labeling tags would interfere with the proper protein conformation and the proper DNA-protein interaction.
Furthermore, … IDT does not teach using gRNA to label a target DNA, much less to use a labeled gRNA together with a dCas protein (see claim 1), i.e., a nuclease-deficient Cas, to label a target DNA. … Any modification to substitute IDT's CRISPR-Cas9 system with a nuclease-deficient dCas protein would abolish Cas9-mediated genome editing and thus defeat the prior art's intended purpose which is to successfully edit genome. …".
Applicant’s argument that “a person skilled in the art would be taught away from combining Bulushev with any labeling method because labeling tags would interfere with the proper protein conformation and the proper DNA-protein interaction” is unpersuasive because, as discussed above, Bulushev only teaches away specific labeling methods that interfere with protein conformation and proper DNA-protein interaction, not any labeling methods.
The labeled gRNAs offered by IDT has been experimentally proven to support potent Cas-DNA interaction by IDT’s technical notes (IDT, Page 2, Figure 1). Applicant’s arguments that labeled gRNA interferes with protein conformation or Cas-DNA interaction are not supported by evidence. The arguments about IDT’s teaching are also unpersuasive because IDT stated the main purpose for the labeled gRNAs in its technical note: “The fluorescent dye allows for a visual analysis of transfected cells and cell sorting by FACS” (Page 1, Abstract, 5th line). The labeled gRNAs are designed to serve as optical proxies for visually determining the cellular and sub-cellular locations of the ribonucleoprotein (RNP) complex for a CRISPR-Cas9 system after transfection. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a RNP complex encompasses a dCas9-based RNP, because dCas9 is an art recognized variant of the wildtype or any other variants of Cas9, as evidenced by the recitation from Bulushev that “…dCas9, as a part of the CRISPR-Cas9 complex, has been utilized in various genome engineering studies…” (Page 7883, left column, last 3 lines). PHOSITAs would have recognized that nothing prohibits using the fluorescently labeled tracrRNAs from IDT with any variant of Cas9, including dCas9, to perform transfection. Supporting genome editing is simply an embodiment of a broad genus of how these fluorescently labeled gRNAs can be used involving transfection.
Conclusion
19. No claims are allowable.
20. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DELPHINUS DOU YI YU/
Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636