DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The action is in response to claims dated 5/7/2026
Claims pending in the case: 1, 4-6, 11-12, 23, 25-30
Cancelled claims: 2-3, 7-10, 13-22, 24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gefen (US 20110063415) in view of Vats (US 20140208272) and Olsen (US 10970843).
Olsen not used in the prior office action.
Regarding claim 1, Gefen teaches a method for providing interaction with a virtual object in a virtual space (Gefen: [32]: user interacts with 3D objects in a video), the method comprising:
- providing a … video or a real-time video of the virtual space inside a 3D graphics environment that is configured for display and manipulation of three-dimensional objects (Gefen: [23, 25]: interactive virtual environment that may be produced using graphics generators. Noted here that a 3D graphics environment is a three‑dimensional digital space created using computer graphics software and graphic generator is a type of computer graphics software), wherein one or more portions of one or more frames of the … video are clickable (Gefen: [28-29]: virtual objects in the video frames may be selected by viewer);
- receiving a first user input over at least one of the portions of at least one of the frames of the … video or the real time video (Gefen: [29, 31]: virtual objects in the video frames selected by viewer); and
- generating and displaying … a first view of a 3 dimensional model of the virtual object which is predefined for and associated with the clicked portion of the one or more frames of the … video for which the first user input is received (Gefen: [37-38]: generating a model of the selected object associated with the clicked portion for user interaction), the three-dimensional model being displayed using the same three-dimensional graphics environment through which the … video is provided so that a continuous interactive display of the panoramic video and the three-dimensional model is presented to the user (Gefen: [37-38]: object displayed in the same environment as if the user is present in the scene)
Although Gefen does not specifically recite, Panoramic video, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the functions taught in Gefen may be implemented in a panoramic video as well;
Nonetheless, Vats teaches, panoramic video (Vats: Figs 18-19, [26-27, 45-46]: panoramic view of a place in 3D-graphics environment; Fig, 22 item 2208, [49]: “realistic 3D-model of the desired object is loaded and simulated for which input is received.” – interactive panoramic video);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen and Vats because the combination would enable using 3D graphics for displaying content in a 3D virtual environment that user can interact with. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination would give the user an improved experience by providing enhanced digital object viewing using 3D graphics and an interaction experience using an assistant as is possible in the physical environment (see Vats [1-2]);
Olsen further teaches, within the same 3D graphics environment (Olsen: Figs. 4-5, col 22 line 45-col 23 line 15: render information based on user interaction; col 11 lines 8-11: “video content may at least be partially generated using two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) computer graphics techniques, and thus using 2D or 3D graphics data”; col 7 lines 34-45: frame with clickable portions);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen, Vats and Olsen because the combination would enable displaying interactive video frames using computer graphics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination provides an interactive digital video comprises a plurality of video frames including one or more interactive video frames for a better user experience).
Regarding claim 4, Gefen, Vats and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and further teach,
- displaying a virtual avatar of representative of the virtual space along with the panoramic video of the virtual space in the 3D graphics environment (Vats: Figs. 18-19, [7, 33, 45-46]: assistant in virtual environment); and
- enabling conversation of an user with representative through video conferencing or through audio conferencing (Vats: [34, 44, 48-49]: conversation with assistant in virtual environment), wherein the virtual avatar of the representative is shown when the audio conferencing is used for conversation, such that the virtual avatar is shown with facial and/or body expression (Vats: [45]: human like virtual assistant with facial expressions).
Regarding claim 5, Gefen, Vats and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 3 dimensional model which render in synchronization with input audio (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions).
Regarding claim 6, Gefen, Vats and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 2 dimensional image whose facial expression changes using image procession in synchronization with input audio of the representative (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions; [46]: “virtual assistant can also be an image or 3D model, where the virtual assistant (1901') is shown moving lips in response to a query.").
Regarding claim 29, Gefen, Vats and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and further,
- receiving a second user input, wherein the second user input are one or more interaction commands comprises interactions for understanding functionality of different parts of the 3D model (Vats: [32, 48]: user input commands);
- identifying one or more interaction commands (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup);
-in response to the identified one or more commands, rendering of corresponding interaction to 3D model of object using texture data, computer graphics data and selectively using sound data of the 3D- model of object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup) ; and
- displaying the corresponding interaction to 3D model, wherein the interaction can emulate the interaction with mechanical and/or electronic and/or light emitting parts similar to real object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup).
Claims 11-12, 23, 25-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gefen (US 20110063415), Vats (US 20140208272), Arfvidsson (US 2008/0244648) and Olsen (US 10970843).
Regarding claim 11, Gefen teaches, A method for providing an interactive … view (Gefen: [32]: user interacts with 3D objects in a video) comprising:
- showing a panoramic video or a real-time video … inside a 3D graphics environment configured for display and manipulation of three-dimensional objects or premises (Gefen: [23, 25]: interactive virtual environment that may be produced using graphics generators), wherein one or more virtual premises shown in one or more frames of the panoramic video or the real-time video are clickable (Gefen: [28-29]: virtual objects burned into the video frames that may be selected by viewer);
- receiving a first user input over at least one of the virtual premises shown in at least one of the frames of the panoramic video or the real-time video (Gefen: [29, 31]: virtual objects in the video frames selected by viewer);
- loading a video or a panoramic image the virtual premises in the 3D graphic environment for which the first user input is received (Gefen: [23, 25]: loading and providing an interactive virtual environment that may be produced using graphics generators);
- providing a panoramic video or a real-time video of the virtual premises in the 3D graphics environment, wherein one or more portions of one or more frames of the panoramic video are clickable (Gefen: [28-29]: virtual objects in the video frames that may be selected by viewer);
- receiving a second user input over at least one of the portions of at least one of the frames of the panoramic video (Gefen: [29, 31]: virtual objects burned into the video frames selected by viewer); and
- generating and displaying, …, a first view of a 3 dimensional model of the virtual object which is predefined for and associated with the particular portion of one or more frames for which the second user input is received (Gefen: [37-38]: generating a model of the selected object associated with the clicked portion for user interaction), the 3 dimensional model of the virtual object being displayed using the same 3D graphics environment through which the … video is provided, thereby maintaining a continuous interactive display to the user (Gefen: [37-38]: object displayed in the same environment as if the user is present in the scene);
Gefen does not specifically teach, 3D graphics environment, but mentions “The video feed may include video produced by cameras, computer software, graphics generators, or other known methods” in paragraph [25]); Thus the examiner finds that using 3D graphics rendering to provide similar interactive functionality to the user would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
Nonetheless, Vats teaches,
3D graphics environment (Vats: Figs 18-19, [26-27, 46]: panoramic view of a place in 3D-graphics environment; [49]: “realistic 3D-model of the desired object is loaded and simulated for which input is received.” – interactive panoramic video);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen and Vats because the combination would enable displaying content in a 3D virtual environment that user can interact with. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination would give the user an improved experience by providing enhanced digital object viewing and interaction experience using an assistant as is possible in the physical environment (see Vats [1-2]);
Arfvidsson further teaches a street view and showing a panoramic video of a street (Arfvidsson: Figs. 2-7, [6, 20, 25, 42]: street views; Figs. 5-7 illustrate various premises labeled in the virtual space (e.g. Union Bank of California, Paul Hastings Tower, Los Angeles Central Library; [42]: “the imagery being used is outdoor panoramic imagery. Clearly, any images or data visualization could be used, including, but not limited to, … model-based computer graphics”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson because the combination would enable displaying panoramic view of street . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination would enable the user to update the displayed panoramic video in real time by interacting with a map, and vice versa (See Arfvidsson [25]);
Olsen further teaches, within the same 3D graphics environment (Olsen: Figs. 4-5, col 22 line 45-col 23 line 15: render information based on user interaction; col 11 lines 8-11: “video content may at least be partially generated using two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) computer graphics techniques, and thus using 2D or 3D graphics data”; col 7 lines 34-45: frame with clickable portions);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen because the combination would enable displaying interactive video frames using computer graphics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination provides an interactive digital video comprises a plurality of video frames including one or more interactive video frames for a better user experience).
Regarding claim 12, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further,
- receiving user input for a geo location (Arfvidsson: [26]: Browser window 200 comprises a text-box 210 for a user to enter a street address);
- loading a 2 dimensional or 3 dimensional map of a virtual space around the geo location (Arfvidsson: [25-27: street view; FIGS. 5-7 illustrate various premises labeled in the virtual space (e.g. Union Bank of California, Paul Hastings Tower, Los Angeles Central Library 26]: Browser window 200 comprises a text-box 210 for a user to enter a street address);
- further showing the virtual space in the map representing the desired geographical location (Arfvidsson: [26]: display street); and
- loading panoramic video of the street (Arfvidsson: [26]: displays as per view point).
Regarding claim 23, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further, - displaying a virtual avatar of representative of the virtual space along with the panoramic video of the virtual space in the 3D graphics environment (Vats: Figs. 18-19, [7, 33, 45-46]: assistant in virtual environment); and
- enabling conversation of an user with representative through video conferencing or through audio conferencing (Vats: [34, 44, 48-49]: conversation with assistant in virtual environment), wherein the virtual avatar of the representative is shown when the audio conferencing is used for conversation, such that the virtual avatar is shown with facial and/or body expression (Vats: [45]: human like virtual assistant with facial expressions);
Regarding claim 25, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 23 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 3 dimensional model which render in synchronization with input audio (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions).
Regarding claim 26, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 23 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 2 dimensional image whose facial expression changes using image procession in synchronization with input audio of the representative (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions; [46]: “virtual assistant can also be an image or 3D model, where the virtual assistant (1901') is shown moving lips in response to a query.").
Regarding claim 27, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 23 above, and further, - loading a simulated representation of the user, generated from one or more photographs, or a 3D avatar of the user (Vats: [34]: "user can upload his own photograph to generate a virtual simulation of himself," wherein the "simulated human 3D-model can walk . . . to a showroom or directly visit a product.").
Regarding claim 28, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 27 above, and further, wherein the simulated representation or the 3D avatar of the user is enabled to move within the street and/or the virtual premises and further enabled to interact with the virtual premises and/or other virtual avatars present in space (Vats: [33-35, 40-41]: a simulated 3D model avatar walks and interacts with the objects as phone, computer, light, and steering a car).
Regarding claim 30, Gefen, Vats, Arfvidsson and Olsen teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further,
- receiving a third user input, wherein the third user input are one or more interaction commands comprises interactions for understanding functionality of different parts of the 3D model (Vats: [32, 48]: user interaction with a 3D object model, wherein “polygons along with associated texture of said 3D-model moves as per user command, and movement of 3D-model or its parts is achieved and displayed in real time … based on user input commands.”);
- identifying one or more interaction commands (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup);
-in response to the one or more identified command/s, rendering of corresponding interaction to 3D model of object using texture data, computer graphics data and selectively using sound data of the 3D- model of object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup); and
- displaying the corresponding interaction to 3D model wherein the interaction can emulate the interaction with mechanical and/or electronic and/or light emitting parts similar to real object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ prior art arguments have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new ground of rejection presented above.
The applicant’s arguments have been considered and are not persuasive. The limitations claims a clickable portion that generates a view related to the click. Gefen teaches that a portion of the video frame may generate an interactive view related to the clicked portion. While the illustrations in Gefen does not use 3D graphics, Gefen teaches that the video may be rendered using graphics generator which is a type of computer graphics software. Thus the teachings in Gefen broadly interpreted reads on generating a video and enabling interaction by clicking a portion of the video. While the applicant argues that the rendering is done differently, the examiner finds that the limitations do not add any specifics on how the interactive rendering is being done other than the environment being same. Broadly interpreted displaying content based on selection from a video frame is using the same environment and Gefen also indicates that the rendering may alternatively be done using computer graphics software.
Nonetheless, the secondary arts used, Vats and Olsen both explicitly teaches 3D Graphics environment rendering of videos based on user interaction.
Hence the limitations as claimed are obvious based on the teachings in the cited prior arts. Rendering an interactive video in 3D-graphics environment has been taught in the cited arts and therefore does not appear to be a novel concept.
If the applicant believes that the way the rendering is being done by the applicant is different than those used in the cited prior arts, the limitations need to be more specific to overcome a teachings in the presented prior arts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mandrita Brahmachari/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176