DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The action is in response to claims dated 4/9/2025
Claims pending in the case: 1, 4-6, 11-12, 23, 25-30
Cancelled claims: 2-3, 7-10, 13-22, 24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gefen (US 20110063415) in view of Vats (US 20140208272).
Gefen not used in the prior office action.
Regarding claim 1, Gefen teaches a method for providing interaction with a virtual object in a virtual space (Gefen: [32]: user interacts with 3D objects in a video), the method comprising:
- providing a panoramic video or a real-time video of the virtual space inside 3D graphics environment that is configured for display and manipulation of three-dimensional objects (Gefen: [23, 25]: interactive virtual environment that may be produced using graphics generators), wherein one or more portions of one or more frames of the … video are clickable (Gefen: [28-29]: virtual objects burned into the video frames that may be selected by viewer);
- receiving a first user input over at least one of the portions of at least one of the frames of the … video (Gefen: [29, 31]: virtual objects burned into the video frames selected by viewer); and
- generating and displaying a first view of a 3 dimensional model of the virtual object which is predefined for and associated with the clicked portion of the one or more frames of the … video for which the first user input is received (Gefen: [37-38]: generating a model of the selected object associated with the clicked portion for user interaction), the three-dimensional model being displayed using the same three-dimensional graphics environment through which the … video is provided so that a continuous interactive display of the panoramic video and the three-dimensional model is presented to the user (Gefen: [37-38]: object displayed in the same environment as if the user is present in the scene)
Although Gefen does not specifically recite, Panoramic video, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the functions taught in Gefen may be implemented in a panoramic video as well.
Nonetheless, Vats teaches, panoramic video (Vats: Figs 18-19, [26-27, 45-46]: panoramic view of a place in 3D-graphics envi4onment); It would have been obvious to provide the features taught in Gefen in the panoramic video in King.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen and Vats because the combination would enable using 3D graphics for displaying content in a 3D virtual environment that user can interact with. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination would give the user an improved experience by providing enhanced digital object viewing using 3D graphics and an interaction experience using an assistant as is possible in the physical environment (see Vats [1-2]);
Regarding claim 4, Gefen and Vats teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and further teach,
- displaying a virtual avatar of representative of the virtual space along with the panoramic video of the virtual space in the 3D graphics environment (Vats: Figs. 18-19, [7, 33, 45-46]: assistant in virtual environment); and
- enabling conversation of an user with representative through video conferencing or through audio conferencing (Vats: [34, 44, 48-49]: conversation with assistant in virtual environment), wherein the virtual avatar of the representative is shown when the audio conferencing is used for conversation, such that the virtual avatar is shown with facial and/or body expression (Vats: [45]: human like virtual assistant with facial expressions).
Regarding claim 5, Gefen and Vats teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 3 dimensional model which render in synchronization with input audio (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions).
Regarding claim 6, Gefen and Vats teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 2 dimensional image whose facial expression changes using image procession in synchronization with input audio of the representative (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions; [46]: “virtual assistant can also be an image or 3D model, where the virtual assistant (1901') is shown moving lips in response to a query.").
Regarding claim 29, Gefen and Vats teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above, and further,
- receiving a second user input, wherein the second user input are one or more interaction commands comprises interactions for understanding functionality of different parts of the 3D model (Vats: [32, 48]: user input commands);
- identifying one or more interaction commands (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup);
-in response to the identified one or more commands, rendering of corresponding interaction to 3D model of object using texture data, computer graphics data and selectively using sound data of the 3D- model of object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup) ; and
- displaying the corresponding interaction to 3D model, wherein the interaction can emulate the interaction with mechanical and/or electronic and/or light emitting parts similar to real object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup).
Claims 11-12, 23, 25-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gefen (US 20110063415), Vats (US 20140208272) and Arfvidsson (US 2008/0244648).
Regarding claim 11, Gefen teaches, A method for providing an interactive … view (Gefen: [32]: user interacts with 3D objects in a video) comprising:
- showing a panoramic video … inside a 3D graphics environment configured for display and manipulation of three-dimensional objects or premises (Gefen: [23, 25]: interactive virtual environment that may be produced using graphics generators), wherein one or more virtual premises shown in one or more frames of the panoramic video are clickable (Gefen: [28-29]: virtual objects burned into the video frames that may be selected by viewer);
- receiving a first user input over at least one of the virtual premises shown in at least one of the frames of the panoramic video (Gefen: [29, 31]: virtual objects burned into the video frames selected by viewer);
- loading a video or a panoramic image the virtual premises in the 3D graphic environment for which the first user input is received (Gefen: [23, 25]: loading and providing an interactive virtual environment that may be produced using graphics generators);
- providing a panoramic video or a real-time video of the virtual premises in the 3D graphics environment, wherein one or more portions of one or more frames of the panoramic video are clickable (Gefen: [28-29]: virtual objects burned into the video frames that may be selected by viewer);
- receiving a second user input over at least one of the portions of at least one of the frames of the panoramic video (Gefen: [29, 31]: virtual objects burned into the video frames selected by viewer); and
- generating and displaying a first view of a 3 dimensional model of the virtual object which is predefined for and associated with the particular portion of one or more frames for which the second user input is received (Gefen: [37-38]: generating a model of the selected object associated with the clicked portion for user interaction), the 3 dimensional model of the virtual object being displayed using the same 3D graphics environment through which the … video is provided, thereby maintaining a continuous interactive display to the user (Gefen: [37-38]: object displayed in the same environment as if the user is present in the scene);
Although Gefen does not specifically recite, 3D graphics environment, it is obvious that graphics generators (Gefen [25]) used to generate the video may use 3D graphics;
Nonetheless, Vats teaches,
3D graphics environment (Vats: Figs 18-19, [26-27, 46]: panoramic view of a place in 3D-graphics environment);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen and Vats because the combination would enable displaying content in a 3D virtual environment that user can interact with. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination would give the user an improved experience by providing enhanced digital object viewing and interaction experience using an assistant as is possible in the physical environment (see Vats [1-2]);
Arfvidsson further teaches a street view and showing a panoramic video of a street (Arfvidsson: Figs. 2-7, [6, 20]: street views; Figs. 5-7 illustrate various premises labeled in the virtual space (e.g. Union Bank of California, Paul Hastings Tower, Los Angeles Central Library).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson because the combination would enable displaying panoramic view of street . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination would enable the user to update the displayed panoramic video in real time by interacting with a map, and vice versa (See Arfvidsson [25]).
Regarding claim 12, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further,
- receiving user input for a geo location (Arfvidsson: [26]: Browser window 200 comprises a text-box 210 for a user to enter a street address);
- loading a 2 dimensional or 3 dimensional map of a virtual space around the geo location (Arfvidsson: [25-27: street view; FIGS. 5-7 illustrate various premises labeled in the virtual space (e.g. Union Bank of California, Paul Hastings Tower, Los Angeles Central Library 26]: Browser window 200 comprises a text-box 210 for a user to enter a street address);
- further showing the virtual space in the map representing the desired geographical location (Arfvidsson: [26]: display street); and
- loading panoramic video of the street (Arfvidsson: [26]: displays as per view point).
Regarding claim 23, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further, - displaying a virtual avatar of representative of the virtual space along with the panoramic video of the virtual space in the 3D graphics environment (Vats: Figs. 18-19, [7, 33, 45-46]: assistant in virtual environment); and
- enabling conversation of an user with representative through video conferencing or through audio conferencing (Vats: [34, 44, 48-49]: conversation with assistant in virtual environment), wherein the virtual avatar of the representative is shown when the audio conferencing is used for conversation, such that the virtual avatar is shown with facial and/or body expression (Vats: [45]: human like virtual assistant with facial expressions);
Regarding claim 25, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 23 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 3 dimensional model which render in synchronization with input audio (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions).
Regarding claim 26, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 23 above, and further, wherein the virtual avatar is a 2 dimensional image whose facial expression changes using image procession in synchronization with input audio of the representative (Vats: [45-46]: avatar with synchronized lip movement and expressions; [46]: “virtual assistant can also be an image or 3D model, where the virtual assistant (1901') is shown moving lips in response to a query.").
Regarding claim 27, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 23 above, and further, - loading a simulated representation of the user, generated from one or more photographs, or a 3D avatar of the user (Vats: [34]: "user can upload his own photograph to generate a virtual simulation of himself," wherein the "simulated human 3D-model can walk . . . to a showroom or directly visit a product.").
Regarding claim 28, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 27 above, and further, wherein the simulated representation or the 3D avatar of the user is enabled to move within the street and/or the virtual premises and further enabled to interact with the virtual premises and/or other virtual avatars present in space (Vats: [33-35, 40-41]: a simulated 3D model avatar walks and interacts with the objects as phone, computer, light, and steering a car).
Regarding claim 30, Gefen, Vats and Arfvidsson teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above, and further,
- receiving a third user input, wherein the third user input are one or more interaction commands comprises interactions for understanding functionality of different parts of the 3D model (Vats: [32, 48]: user interaction with a 3D object model, wherein “polygons along with associated texture of said 3D-model moves as per user command, and movement of 3D-model or its parts is achieved and displayed in real time … based on user input commands.”);
- identifying one or more interaction commands (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup);
-in response to the one or more identified command/s, rendering of corresponding interaction to 3D model of object using texture data, computer graphics data and selectively using sound data of the 3D- model of object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup); and
- displaying the corresponding interaction to 3D model wherein the interaction can emulate the interaction with mechanical and/or electronic and/or light emitting parts similar to real object (Vats: [32-33, 48]; interact as in a real setup).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ prior art arguments have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new ground of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in attached 892.
/Mandrita Brahmachari/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176