DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Based on the Examiner interview and subsequent interview summary, filed 01/22/2026, the previous prior art rejection over Sohn has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of art rejection is made and a new Non-Final Rejection has been set forth.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 12-16, 18, 21-29 are pending with claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 24-29 under examination and claims 12-16, 18, and 21-22 withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 2, 8, 10-11, 17, and 19-20 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borenstein et al. (US 2011/0186165 – hereinafter “Borenstein”) in view of Sohn et al. (US 2002/0140414 – hereinafter “Sohn”; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Borenstein teach a microfluidic cartridge (Borenstein; fig. 1, #100, [0031]), comprising:
a molded polymer (Borenstein; figs. 1 & 3, #318, “2. Material Selection and Manufacturing”, [0013, 0037-0046]),
wherein the molded polymer comprises one or more openings for connecting to fluidic volumes (Borenstein; fig. 1, #106, #108, [0031, 0034]), and
wherein the molded polymer includes patterns with different heights in different areas to yield a microfluidic circuit for different fluidic volumes in different areas (Borenstein; fig. 1, #110, “3. Surface treatment and Patterning”, [0032, 0047-0055]),
wherein a first height pattern corresponds to a first area for a first fluidic volume having a first flow impedance and a second height pattern greater than the first height pattern corresponds to a second area for a second fluidic volume larger than the first fluidic volume and having a reduced flow impedance (Borenstein; Inlet 106, channel 102, and outlet 108 form a first, second, and third area on the left side, centrally, and right side of the device 100, and are fluidically coupled to chambers 110. The chamber 110 comprise distinct 3D matrices that mimic vascular tissue, and the cross-sections of microchannels 102 may vary along the longitudinal axes 104; fig. 1, [0032-0033]. Surface modifications are selectively applied to areas that serve gel filling and retention. For example, the gel-filling regions of the microfluidic device 100 are stepped in deeper than the media-flowing channels, allowing them to be selectively coated with a solution such as Poly D Lysine (PDL) that enhances binding of collagen gel. The varying heights of the microfluidic structures can be achieved by embossing with a master mold whose features corresponding to the gel injection regions have a higher protrusion; [0049]. The height of the pillars is chosen such that they provide a user-defined texture to lock the gel in place while remaining outside the cell-migration area of the gel; [0050]),
wherein the second area comprises a fluid in port and a fluid out port (Borenstein; Inlet 106, channel 102, and outlet 108 form a first, second, and third area on the left side, centrally, and right side of the device 100; fig. 1, [0032-0033]),
wherein a fluid to be analyzed is passed through an analyzing region before contacting any other fluid (Borenstein disclose fluid may be analyzed across the 3D matrix; figs. 2A-C, [0011, 0035, 0039, 0050, 0052]).
Borenstein does not teach the molded polymer bonded to a flat surface.
However, Sohn disclose a microfluidic cartridge (Sohn; figs. 2 & 6, [0015, 0118-0124]), comprising a molded polymer bonded to a flat surface (Sohn disclose cap 5 comprises an elastomeric material bonded to planar substrate 4; figs. 2 & 6, [0041, 0044-0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the microfluidic cartridge of Borenstein to comprise a flat substrate, as taught by Sohn, because Sohn teach the flat substrate supports patterned electrodes for detecting particles in the fluid (Sohn; figs. 1-2, [0016, 0061, 0115]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the flat surface further comprises one or more electrodes (The modification of the microfluidic cartridge of Borenstein to comprise a flat substrate, as taught by Sohn, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Sohn teach the flat surface comprise one or more electrodes; Sohn; figs. 1-2, [0016, 0061, 0115]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the one or more openings provide gas and/or fluid connections (Borenstein; fig. 1, #106, #108, [0031, 0034]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the molded polymer is an organic molded polymer (Borenstein teach the molded polymer may be polycaproleacton, polyactic acid, etc., which are organic polymers; [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the flat surface comprises a glass surface (The modification of the microfluidic cartridge of Borenstein to comprise a flat substrate, as taught by Sohn, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Sohn teach the flat surface comprise a glass surface; Sohn; [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the one or more openings are adapted to introduce fluid to the cartridge prior to loading the cartridge in a connected instrument (Borenstein teach the device 100 used to facilitate fluorescent imaging of cells thus requiring the cartridge to be loaded prior to imaging; figs. 2B-C, [0035, 0039]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the microfluidic cartridge is adapted to permit multiple uses of the cartridge with the same or with different samples (The cartridge of modified Borenstein is capable of multiple uses. Note: what the microfluidic cartridge is adapted to permit relates to function/intended use. However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond that of a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2111.04 and 2114). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims).
Regarding claim 23, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the molded polymer comprises a nanoconstriction opposite a fluidic resistor, and wherein a volume of fluid contacted through the fluidic resistor, or a volume of fluid contacted through the nanoconstriction, is made from a height pattern larger than the height pattern of the fluidic resistor or the nanoconstriction to reduce flow impedance (Borenstein teach the 110 comprise gel matrix that laterally separates and fluidically couples the first and second microchannel portions comprising a collagen, Matrigel, or similar material to mimic vascular tissue; [0015, 0032], and the cross-sections of microchannels 102 may vary along the longitudinal axes 104; fig. 1, [0032-0033]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein larger volumes of fluid are moved into, through, or out of sections of the microfluidic cartridge having larger height patterns to reduce flow impedance and smaller volumes of fluid are moved into, through, or out of sections of the microfluidic cartridge having smaller height patterns to increase flow impedance (Borenstein disclose fluid is recycled through channels 102 which are laterally separated by the 3D scaffold matrix 110 to mimic vascular tissue; [0031-0032, 0034]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the molded polymer includes patterns with at least three different heights (Borenstein teach the 110 comprise gel matrix that laterally separates and fluidically couples the first and second microchannel portions comprising a collagen, Matrigel, or similar material to mimic vascular tissue; [0015, 0032], the cross-sections of microchannels 102 may vary along the longitudinal axes 104; fig. 1, [0032-0033], and topographical modification to walls which are applied to designated areas; fig. 5, [0010, 0047-0048, 0053]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the molded polymer comprises a nanoconstriction opposite a fluidic resistor and an analyte in port connected to an analyte waste port through a height pattern larger than the height pattern of the fluidic resistor or the nanoconstriction to reduce flow impedance therein (Borenstein teach the 110 comprise gel matrix that laterally separates and fluidically couples the first and second microchannel portions comprising a collagen, Matrigel, or similar material to mimic vascular tissue; [0015, 0032], and the cross-sections of microchannels 102 may vary along the longitudinal axes 104; fig. 1, [0032-0033]. Fluid is circulated through each channel between the inlet port and outlet port; [0031-0032, 0034]).
Regarding claim 27, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 26 above, wherein filling of the analyte in port is separate from fluid volumes contacted only through the fluidic resistor or the nanoconstriction (Borenstein teach the 110 comprise gel matrix that laterally separates and fluidically couples the first and second microchannel portions comprising a collagen, Matrigel, or similar material to mimic vascular tissue; [0015, 0032], and the cross-sections of microchannels 102 may vary along the longitudinal axes 104; fig. 1, [0032-0033]. Fluid is circulated through each channel between the inlet port and outlet port; [0031-0032, 0034]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 1 above, wherein the microfluidic circuit comprises two or more second areas (Borenstein; Inlet 106, channel 102, and outlet 108 form a first, second, and third area on the left side, centrally, and right side of the device 100, and are fluidically coupled to chambers 110; fig. 1, [0032-0033]).
Regarding claim 29, modified Borenstein teach the microfluidic cartridge of claim 28 above, wherein each second area comprises a fluid in and a fluid out port (Borenstein; Inlet 106, channel 102, and outlet 108 form a first, second, and third area on the left side, centrally, and right side of the device 100, and are fluidically coupled to chambers 110; fig. 1, [0032-0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, and 23-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798