DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 75-81 and 83 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 75-79, 83 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunton (US 2014/0336230 A1; on record).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Gunton teaches treating and preventing obesity (i.e., delaying the onset of obesity; the subject is healthy and does not have an obesity) encompassed by the instant claims and thus prolonging life by increasing metabolism in human subject by daily oral administration of effective amount of DTPA in combination with components, such as magnesium for several months or years (abstract, paragraphs 0003-0008, 0011-0026, 0223-0225, 0227, 0231, 0235, 0236, figures and claims). The cited prior art further teaches that (1) obesity causes other diseases, such as stroke, cancer, diabetes etc.; (2) obesity is attributed to 280,000 deaths each year; and (3) obesity reduces life span (paragraphs 0003-0005) (thus, preventing obesity does increases life span).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Gauton teaches applicants process of using DTPA in treating obesity. However, the cited prior art provide example with DFS and fails to provide with DTPA.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regard to the above difference-Since the cited prior art teaches practicing method with compounds, such as DFS, DTPA etc., and example with DFS, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that the method may be practiced with DTPA as taught by the cited prior art.
Further, Case law has established that it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. KSR Int'I Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Gunton teach treating and preventing obesity (i.e., delaying the onset of obesity; the subject is healthy and does not have an obesity) encompassed by the instant claims and thus prolonging life by increasing metabolism in human subject by oral administration of effective amount of DTPA in combination with components, such as magnesium for several months or years.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that the process may be practiced with DTPA and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and affidavit, filed on 06/06/2025 and 08/06/2025, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicants argue that affidavit demonstrates that iron chelators DTPA and DFO do not affect obesity.
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims are found obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is because Gunton specifically teaches preventing and/or reducing obesity and therefore prolonging life using iron chelator, such as DFS, DTPA etc., and specific example with DFS:
Since the cited prior art teaches practicing method with compounds, such as DFS, DTPA etc., and example with DFS, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that the method may be practiced with DTPA as taught by the cited prior art. Further, Case law has established that it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. KSR Int'I Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
With respect to affidavit, which is not found persuasive- (1) the office notice that the affidavit did not provide true comparison and have several discrepancies.
For instance, a) why DFO (compound different from DFS used by the cited prior art) is used to show comparison with DTPA b) why different doses of compared compound DFO and DTPA were used in the data, 25mg/Kg and 15mg/Kg respectively c) most importantly, why the data was collected from 150 days and missing data before 150 days. For accurately presenting if DTPA has any effect on obesity, data should be presented starting from 0 time point in manner similar to Exhibit 6 (applicant’s work US 20140378424 A1), such as:
or similar to Gunton, starting from 0 time point.
Further, contrary to applicant’s argument and affidavit, the data presented in the affidavit (even though missing data before 150 days) in fact shows that there is a reduction in weight with DTPA. Thus, POSA would have reasonably expected DTPA to prevent or treat obesity based on the disclosure of Gunton.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 80 and 81 presents allowable subject matter over the cited prior art.
Objection
Claim 80 and 81, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623