DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 3/21/2025 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 10-16, 18, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravid (WO 2014/203246) and further in view of Smith (US 20030189485 A1) and Edward. (US 2016/0041565).
Regarding to claim 1, Ravid teaches a system for detecting abnormal consumption in a distributed water infrastructure, the system comprising (Fig. 1a, Pg. 14 lines 11-19)
at least one processor configured to: (Fig. 2 Processing unit 250; Pg. 14 lines 11-19)
receive, from at least one sensor upstream of a plurality of water use appliances associated with the distributed water infrastructure, signals indicative of water usage in the distributed water infrastructure; (Pg.15 lines 11-16 - Main unit 110 of water monitoring and control system is installed at the entrance to consumer 204 property. Unit 110 is operable to monitor the water flowing through pipe 118 towards the consumer's property. As mentioned above, water monitoring enables to determine flow information (flow information including at least consumption volume and consumption flow rate) and can be used by the water distributing company for billing the customer).
construct a plurality of time-based water event profiles based on the received signals, each water event profile including an indication of water usage over time; (Pg.20-line 8 thru Pg. 21-line 6; Pg. 23-lines 3-18 creating adapted threshold; pg.41- line 3 thru pg.44 line 11 – creating flow profile of distinguishing features of specific appliance)
store a subset of the plurality of time-based water event profiles in a memory as normal water event profiles; (Pg.19 – lines 1-9; Pg.20 lines 15-26)
receive from the at least one sensor, signals indicative of current water usage in the distributed water infrastructure; (Fig.6 Detecting flow events 601; Pg. 30 lines 3- 13; Fig. 15; pg. 48- lines 1-11)
construct, from the signals indicative of current water usage, at least one current water event profile; (Fig.8; pg.21 lines 9-29 – constructing a flow even based on water usage duration; Fig.15; pg.48 lines 12-19 determining flow even of detected flow)
compare, the at least one current water event profile with normal water event profiles stored in the memory to detect occurrence of an abnormal water consumption event; (Pg.22 lines 18-24 – identifying by comparing with previous stored profiles; Fig.15 blk 1507; Pg.48 lines 20-26).
classify the abnormal water consumption event into one of multiple categories based on the comparison, wherein the multiple categories include at least a first category and a second category; (Pg.36 lines 6 thru Pg.37 line 15 - According to the presently disclosed subject matter, as a result of the ability to discriminate between different flow events with high resolution, processing unit 250 can be configured to analyze the monitored information and differentiate between very small leaks, small leaks and major leaks. Detected flow events are classified as a respective type of leak based on their respective consumption flow rate…)
if a first category of abnormal water consumption event is detected (Fig.10 Very small and small leak), initiate a first remedial action based on the first category before notifying a user; (Fig.10 Blk. 1015; Pg.38 lines 6-12 – if leak not fixed wait for a given duration before sending notification to user; Pg.10 – Pg. 13-22; updated threshold to prevent repeat sending notification)
if a second category of abnormal water consumption event is detected (Fig.11, Major Leak) initiate a second remedial action, based on the second category, different from the first remedial action before notifying the user; (Fig.11 blk 1111; 1115; Pg.39 lines 9-12; if leak is not fixed then wait for a given time before sending anther warning; Fig.11 blk 1107, 1109; Pg.39 – lines 13-19, lines 4-9 – if the limit is reached then shutdown water before send close message; pg.33 lines 11-25 – shuts down water flow before sending notification)
provide the user an option to override at least one of the first remedial action (Fig.10 Blk 1009; Pg.37 lines 16 thru Pg.38 line 20 – After leak not fixed 1015, waiting for a given duration and then closed valve at 1005, client can send a command to open valve 1009 – override valve closed 1007) and the second remedial action (Fig.11 Blk. 111; Pg.38 line 23 thru Pg.39 line 19; After reaching new threshold reached 1121, closing valve at Valve Closed 1107, client sending command to open valve 1111 to override valve closed 1107).
Ravi discloses that compare the at least one current water event profile with the normal water event profiles stored in the memory to detect an occurrence of an abnormal water consumption event. (See Ravi flowchart in fig.15) but fails to disclose based on the comparison, identify a water user associated with the at least one current water event profile, wherein the water user is one or more people.
Smith discloses
comparing at least one water event profile with a normal water event profile stored in the memory to detect an occurrence of an abnormal water consumption event; based on the comparison, identify a water user associated with the at least one water event profile, wherein the water user is one or more people [Paragraph [0027] – “The controller includes data storage means and data processing means, including a microprocessor and data processing software. The inputs to the controller are received by the micro-processor and analysed by the software. The controller may be programmed with the respective characteristic water consumptions associated with typical household activities (referred to hereinafter as "signatures"). For example, toilet flushing, bathing, showering, teeth cleaning, face washing, hand washing, clothes washing, dish washing, vegetable washing, garden watering, kettle filling, pan filling, bucket filling, cooking, drinking and so on. Each signature can be identified as a water use requiring the presence of a person in the environment, for example teeth cleaning”Paragraph [0029] – “The software analyses actual water consumption and its pattern and frequency of consumption. The software identifies the type of water usage in the manner described above, and then analyses the frequency of specific signatures, for example teeth cleaning, and compares this with the recorded data for typical frequency of teeth cleaning for the occupants of the environment. If the patterns and frequency deviate beyond programmed limits, which may indicate a problem with the occupants health then external support can be advised.”Paragraph [0034] – “In addition to raising an alarm call in the event of an accident, the system can also be used to monitor possible deterioration in health of the occupant of the environment. Certain patterns of water usage, for example bathing less frequently, or changes in drinking water consumption are indicative of failing health. The data collected by the system can therefore be analysed by health professionals to assist in the diagnosis of health deterioration to identify patterns of behaviour indicative of failing health. The software may be programmed to highlight patterns of water usage indicative of behaviour indicative of failing health. The controller 1 could be programmed to automatically raise such problems with external support, such as the occupant's doctor, via the telephone connection 4.”].
It would have been obvious to take such an approach in order to assess whether one or more persons are consuming water in an unusual or problematic manner.
Ravid and Smith fail to teach determine from the at least one current water event profile a specific water appliance associated with the abnormal water consumption event; provide the user with information identifying the specific water appliance.
Edwards teaches
determine from the at least one current water event profile a specific water appliance associated with the abnormal water consumption event based on at least one parameter selected from an average flow rate, an initial flow rate, a total volume associated with a current water event profile, a noise in signals indicative of water usage, and a change in the rate of water usage; In paragraph [0029] Edward discloses that the system can identify a specific water appliance’s current water flow does not conform with a normal water profile i.e. abnormal/irregular ([0029] the use of water through a particular water use appliance that is associated with a sub-module, the temperature of water within particular sub-modules, or a variety of other information that the sub-modules 140, 142, 144, 146 and control module 100 are capable of gathering. The various detected water flows can be compared to fingerprints stored within a database 180. As such, irregular water flow can be identified when water flow is detected that does not conform to any fingerprint with the database 180). In paragraph [0031], Edward discloses specific information collected by water appliances used to determine if a current water usage is abnormal ([0031] As depicted in FIG. 1A, when a sub-module, for example, Water Heater Sub-Module 140, detects water flow, the detected water flow characteristics can be sent in a data packet 182 over a communication network to the control unit 100. In at least one embodiment, flow characteristics can include flow rate, duration of flow, temperature, purity, acoustic measurements (e.g., to detect the sound of water dripping), and other related measurable flow attributes. The control unit 100 can then forward the data packet to database 180 for comparison to the stored fingerprints. In at least one implementation, the control unit 100 determines whether the detected water flow characteristics are outside of a threshold and determines whether to notify a user of irregular water flow. In alternate implementations, the sub-module makes those determinations). Edward further discloses that the user can determine if a leak or abnormal water event has occurred and perform certain function based on the finding. ([0033] - the system can notify a user of irregular water flow. Based upon the user's knowledge of current household activities, the user can then decide whether a water leak has occurred that should be stopped by closing a valve within the sub-module 140. Further, in at least one implementation, the user can be provided with an option to close the valve within the control unit 100. One will understand that in at least one implementation, the control unit 100 is in direct communication with the water main entering the house. As such, closing the valve within the control unit 100 can shut off all water flow to an entire house or building).
provide the user with information identifying the specific water appliance. (¶0032 In the case that irregular water flow is detected through a particular sub-module, for example the water heater sub-module 140, the display module 132 can display the schematic of the house with a visual indication notifying the user that the water heater sub-module 140 is detecting irregular water flow. For example, the area of the schematic where the water heater is located can display a signal 160 indicating the irregular readings. In at least one implementation, an irregular water flow is identified when the detected water flow is not within a threshold of one of the fingerprints stored within the database 180. For example, FIG. 1A depicts the display module 132 can also display information 162 relating to the currently detected water flow through the water heater sub-module. For example, the display module 132 can display water volume, duration, pressure, quality, and temperature to a user. Additionally, the display module can provide an option 164 to close or otherwise regulate a valve within the sub-module 140)
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edwards. By using pattern or finger matching, the system would be able to identify which activity or combination of activities is being performed and from that knowledge the system can identify a specific water appliance is being used at the time or has an abnormal water usage.
Regarding to claim 2, Ravid further teaches wherein each time-based water event profile and each normal event profile is associated with a specific water appliance in the distributed water system (Pg. 22-line 25 thru pg. 23 line 2; profile of a toilet; Pg.41 – lines 4 to 14 – profile for irrigation or showers; Pg.43 lines 3 to 26 – sound and piezoelectric used to create profile for a specific appliance)
Regarding to claim 3, Ravid further teaches wherein each time-based water event profile and each normal event profile is associated with a group of appliances in the distributed water system (Pg.21 lines 9 to 29 - processing unit is configured to identify flow events. A flow event is a certain pattern of water consumption that continues for a certain duration of time and results from water flow to one or more flow consuming elements (e.g. irrigation system, shower, toilet, kitchen faucet, bathroom faucet, etc.).
Regarding to claim 4, Ravid fails to teach wherein each time-based water event profile is associated with a group of appliances in the distributed water system, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine from the time-based water event profile a normal event profile associated with a specific water appliance (¶0057 – 0060).
Edward teaches
wherein each time-based water event profile is associated with a group of appliances in the distributed water system, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine from the time-based water event profile a normal event profile associated with a specific water appliance (¶0057 – 0060).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edward. By using pattern or finger matching, the system would be able to identify which activity or combination of activities is being performed and from that knowledge the system can identify a specific water appliance is being used at the time.
Regarding to claim 5, Ravid further teaches wherein the specific water appliance includes at least one of a toilet, a shower, or a sink (Pg. 22 - line 25 thru pg. 23 line 2; profile of a toilet)
Regarding to claim 6, Ravid further teaches wherein the comparison includes pattern recognition (Pg.22- lines 18 to 24 - The information gathered during the initial learning phase with respect to identified flow events can be used for identifying normal water usage patterns (block 304). Models representing the normal water usage patterns can be created based on the flow information obtained during the learning phase. These models (or the respective patterns) can later be compared to real-time events and used for discriminating between flow events representing normal usage and flow events representing suspected leaks)
Regarding to claim 10, Ravid further teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes a water flow sensor having an unmeasured flow reducer (Pg.14- lines 23 to 25 Fig. lb further illustrates a one-way valve (OWV, otherwise known as unmeasured flow reducer) 206 which is described in detail below with reference to Fig. 2)
Regarding to claim 11, Ravid further teaches wherein a water flow sensor is configured to detect a flow at a rate of less than about 2 liters per hour (Pg.16 – line 25 thru Pg.17 line 17 especially - According to the presently disclosed subject matter monitoring of water flow is performed at high resolution enabling the detection of water flow pulses of less than 100 cc and as low as 50 cc (and in some cases even lower); Pg.36- lines 22-28))
Regarding to claim 12, Ravid fails to teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine operation of the specific water appliance when the current water event profile deviates from the normal event profile by less than a predetermined amount.
Edward teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine an operation of the specific water appliance when the current water event profile deviates from the normal water event profile by less than a predetermined amount (¶0064 –if a minor leak e.g. smaller threshold a water activity allowed to continue until the next evaluation).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edward. Edward’s teaching provides the system to have options to handle different types of pipe leak. If it is a small pipe leak, the system can notify a user the potential leak and request further action. If it is a major leak, the system can immediately shut down the water to prevent further damage (¶0065)
Regarding to claim 13, Ravid fails to teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the specific appliance is in use before use of the specific water appliance is terminated
Edward teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the specific water appliance is in use before use of the specific appliance is terminated (¶0076-0077).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edward. By using pattern or finger matching, the system would be able to identify which activity or combination of activities is being performed and from that knowledge the system can identify a specific water appliance is being used at the time.
Regarding to claim 14, Ravid fails to teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to initiate at least one of the first remedial action and the second remedial action when a duration of use of a specific appliance exceeds a duration of an associated normal water event profile.
Edward teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to initiate at least one of the first remedial action and the second remedial action when a duration of use of a specific appliance exceeds a duration of an associated normal water event profile (¶0064 –if a minor leak e.g. smaller threshold a water activity allowed to continue until the next evaluation).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edward. Edward’s teaching provides the system to have options to handle different types of pipe leak. If it is a small pipe leak, the system can notify a user the potential leak and request further action. If it is a major leak, the system can immediately shut down the water to prevent further damage (¶0065)
Regarding to claim 15, Ravid fails to teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive from an end user an indication of the specific water appliance in use, and to store in an associated manner, the specific appliance with a water event profile associated with the specific appliance
Edward teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive from an end user an indication of the specific water appliance in use, and to store in an associated manner, the specific appliance with a water event profile associated with the specific appliance (¶0052-0053).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edward. By using pattern or finger matching, the system would be able to identify which activity or combination of activities is being performed and from that knowledge the system can identify a specific water appliance is being used at the time.
Regarding to claim 16, Ravid further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to compare the at least one current water event profile with abnormal water event profiles stored in the memory (Fig. 15 blk 1507 and 1511; Pg. 48 – lines 20 thru Pg.49 line 2) and to initiate at least one of the first remedial action and the second remedial action when a match is determined. (Pg. 33 – lines 11-24 two different threshold for two remedial action)
Regarding to claim 18, Ravid teaches the system of claim 1. Ravid further teaches wherein at least one of the first remedial action and the second remedial action includes sending an alert to an end user (Fig. 10, 11; Pg. 19 thru Pg.20 line 5; Pg.38- line 27 thru Pg.39 line 9)
Regarding to claim 21, Ravid further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide to the end user information about a characterization of the leaking of water. (Pg.36- lines 6-15 – characterizing the leak; Pg.37 lines 23-26 The message informs the client that a suspected leak has been detected and asks whether to close the main valve or not (block 1003). The message can also include information characterizing the suspected leak)
Regarding to claim 22, Ravid further teaches wherein the first remedial action is based on the first category of a notification providing notice for leak detection. (Fig.10, 11; Pg.37- line 1 thru Pg.39 line 20 – two different method to handle small leak and major leak)
Regarding to claim 23, Ravid fails to teach wherein the second remedial action is based on the second category of a notification providing notice for events other than leak detection.
Edward teaches
wherein the second remedial action is based on the second category of a notification providing notice for events other than leak detection (¶0050-0051 – sending alert if water impurity or water near freezing point)
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Edward. By using pattern or finger matching, the system would be able to identify which activity or combination of activities is being performed and from that knowledge the system can identify a specific water appliance is being used at the time and whether the specific water appliance has issues.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 19, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure, taken individually or in combination, does not teach the claimed invention having the following limitations, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having “wherein at least one of the first remedial action and the second remedial action includes opening and closing a valve to send pulses of water to communicate that an abnormal amount of water has been consumed”, and a combination of other limitations thereof as recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having “wherein the at least one processor is configured to distinguish between abnormal operation of first appliances unlikely to cause damage and abnormal operation of second appliances likely to cause damage, and wherein at least one of the first remedial action and the second remedial action includes closing a valve when abnormal operation of the appliances likely to cause damage is detected”, and a combination of other limitations thereof as recited in the claims.
Regarding claims 24, the claims have been found allowable due to their dependencies to claim 19 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Croteau does not disclose identifying a person/people.
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner agrees. New grounds for rejection are presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shuangli et al., Classification Calculation on Water Consumption of Urban Water Supply Network Based on Clustering Analysis, IEEE, 6.1.2012
Wang et al., A Social-centred Gamification Approach to Improve Household Water Use Efficiency, IEEE, 2015
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857