DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 22, 40-44, 46-49, and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa et al. WO 2013/008686 published 17 Jan. 2013 and filed Jul. 3 2012 as translated by US 2014/0187740) and further in view of Van Dien et al. US 2012/0225463 (hereafter Dien), Okuyama US 5,981,810 (hereafter Okuyama), Cvengros et al. “Evaporator with wiped film as the reboiler of the vacuum rectifying column” Separation and Purification Technology 15 (1999) 95-100 published in 1999 (hereafter Cvengros), Ernst et al. US 4,383,895 (hereafter Ernst), Clark et al. US 2011/0003355 (hereafter Clark), and Utsunomiya et al. JP6186901 published 30 Aug. 2017 and filed 5 Jun. 2012 as translated by US 2015/0087038 (hereafter Utsunomiya).
Regarding claim 17, Izawa teaches a system for purifying (distillation, ¶26) bioderived 1,4-BDO (fermentation of 1,4BG, ¶24) comprising a first distillation column (¶26).
Izawa does not teach
a microfiltration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material;
a nanofiltration unit that achieves: separation of salts, removal of color, desalination, and/or removal of retentate from said fermentation broth comprising said bioderived 1,4-BDO;
a first distillation column receiving a crude bioderived 1,4-BDO mixture comprising a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth and generating a first stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream;
a first intermediate distillation column receiving the bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point and generating a first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream; further comprising a hydrogenation reactor constructed to treat the second bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream generated by the first intermediate distillation column;
a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the first intermediate distillation column;
a second intermediate distillation column receiving the second bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream and generating a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream; and
a second distillation column receiving the third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point and generating a third stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO, and a purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product.
Dien teaches a system for purifying bioderived 1,4-BDO comprising a filtration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material (¶206, ¶212 including ultrafiltration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purification (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the microfiltration (¶206, ¶212 including ultrafiltration) in order to separate the product form other components in the culture (¶206, ¶212).
Clark teaches a system (Fig 16) for purifying (¶132) bioderived (fermentation in Fig 16) 1,4-BDO (¶132) comprising
a microfiltration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material (¶132 where the filtration includes centrifugation; and/or ultrafiltration ¶134; where microfiltration is used to reduce membrane fouling as taught in ¶69, ¶75);
a nanofiltration unit (¶134-135) and an anionic exchange unit (¶6, ¶79-81) that achieves: separation of salts, removal of color, desalination, and/or removal of retentate from said fermentation broth comprising said bioderived 1,4-BDO (¶134-135, ¶6, ¶79-81);
a first distillation column (Distillation #1); and
a second distillation column (Distillation #2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purification (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the microfiltration (Clark ¶132-135, ¶69, ¶75), nanofiltration (Clark ¶134-135), and anion exchange (¶6, ¶79-81) in order to separate the product from other components in the culture (¶132-135, such as solids and salts) and reduce membrane fouling (¶69, ¶75).
Utsunomiya teaches for purifying bioderived 1,4-BDO (abstract) comprising an anion exchange unit (¶126-127) to remove retentate and salts (¶212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purification (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the nanofiltration unit (120) and anion exchange unit (130) of Utsunomiya order to separate the product from salts (¶38, ¶178).
Okuyama teaches a system (Fig 2) for purifying 1,4-BDO (Okuyama: abstract) comprising:
a first distillation column (202 in Fig 2) receiving a crude 1,4-BDO mixture (from reactor 201) and generating a first stream (column 202 distillate) of materials with boiling points lower (low-boiling point substances shown in Fig 2) than 1,4-BDO and a first bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (column 202 bottoms which goes to tower 203);
a first intermediate distillation column (203) receiving the bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream at a feed point (feed point shown in Fig 2) and generating a first stream (column 203 bottoms going to tower 204) of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (crude 1,4-butanediol from tower 203 to reactor 205); further comprising a hydrogenation reactor (205) constructed to treat the second bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream generated by the first intermediate distillation column (col 2 lines 1-14);
a separator/reboiler (204) receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO (as shown in Fig 2) and generating a distillate (column 204 distillate to be mixed with the column 202 bottoms), wherein the distillate is fed to the first intermediate distillation column;
a second intermediate distillation column (208) receiving (via reactors 205/206 and separator 207) the second bioderived 1,4-BDO containing product stream and generating a third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (stream transferred from column 208 to column 209); and
a second distillation column (209) receiving the third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point (feed point shown in Fig 2) and generating a third stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO (column 209 distillate), and a purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product (column 209 1,4-butanediol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the first distillation column (202 in Fig 2), second distillation column (203 in Fig 2), separator (Okuyama: 204 in Fig 2), and hydrogenation reactor (Okuyama: 205 in Fig 2) of Okuyama in order to purify the product (Izawa ¶26, Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Regarding wherein the 1,4-BDO is bioderived 1,4-BDO, the limitation is a method of using the apparatus. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that bioderived 1,4-BDO would be fully capable of being purified in the Okuyama system.
Cvengros teaches where distillation columns (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 1-8) may employ wiped-film evaporation as a reboiler in order to concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47) minimize residence time (Cvengros: page 96 col 1 lines1-17) and reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24). The reboiler return the vapor from the reboiler to the distillation column (Cvengros: where the tube 7 in Fig 1 is both a reflux inlet and a vapor outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator/reboiler of the Okuyama (204 in Fig 2) and Izawa combination by incorporating the wiped film evaporator of Cvengros (as shown above) in order to reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24; Ernst: col 2 lines 14-23) and concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47; Ernst: col 2 lines 23-27). The combination would result in a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the first intermediate distillation column.
Regarding wherein the second intermediate distillation column generates a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO, Okuyama teaches where the unpurified 1,4-BDO mixture contains lower and higher boiling point components (col 9 lines 34-35) and where a distillation column is known to separate a target from lower and higher boiling point components (see distillation columns 203, 204, and 209 in Fig 2). Okuyama does not teach streams from the second intermediate distillation column which are not the third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second intermediate distillation column of Okuyama (208) by incorporating a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO (column 208 distillate) in order to separate the 1,4-BDO from materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO (col 9 lines 34-35, Fig 2).
MPEP §2115 recites ““[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was “for mixing flowing developer material” and the body of the claim recited “means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material.” The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.).” MPEP §2115 recites “Thus, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to input bioderived 1,4-BDO into the distillation tower 202 in order to purify bioderived 1,4-BDO, where the structure of the of the distillation system of Izawa/Dien/Okuyama/Cvengros would be fully capable of distilling the bioderived 1,4-BDO from the impurities.
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 17. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g). Izawa further teaches where the 1,4-BDO can be obtained by fermentation (¶24), where such a crude mixture would be within the expected bounds of a fermentation crude.
Regarding claim 22, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the second distillation column (Okuyama 209) further comprises a side draw (Okuyama where Fig 2 shows the 1,4-BDO stream as a side drawn from the column).
Regarding claim 40, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises 1,4-BDO and water (Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14) and the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 98% (w/w) 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 12 lines 50-56).
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises 80% to 85% 1,4-BDO with 1% to 25% water; recovery of the purified 1,4-BDO product from the crude 1,4-BDO mixture is greater than 98%; and the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 98% (w/w) 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 40. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 41, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the first distillation column (Okuyama 202) removes water (Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Wherein the first distillation column removes water to below 0.5% is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 41. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 42, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture allows high purity 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 2 lines 53-57).
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture is at least 80% (w/w) 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 42. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 43, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 12 lines 50-56).
Wherein the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 43. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 44, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17.
Wherein recovery of 1,4-BDO in the purified 1,4-BDO product from the crude 1,4-BDO mixture is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98% or 99% is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 44. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 46, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17.
Wherein the first distillation column and the second distillation column comprise pressures equal to or less than atmospheric pressure is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 41. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 47, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 46.
Wherein the pressure of the first distillation column differs from the pressure of the second distillation column is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 47. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 48, Izawa teaches a system for purifying (distillation, ¶26) bioderived 1,4-BDO (fermentation of 1,4BG, ¶24) comprising a first distillation column (¶26).
Izawa does not teach
a microfiltration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material;
a nanofiltration unit that achieves: separation of salts, removal of color, desalination, and/or removal of retentate from said fermentation broth comprising said bioderived 1,4-BDO;
a first distillation column receiving a crude bioderived 1,4-BDO mixture comprising a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth, and generating a first stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream;
an intermediate distillation column receiving the first bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream generating a first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second bioderived 1, 4-BDO-containing product stream;
a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the intermediate distillation column; and
a second distillation column receiving the second bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point and generating a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO, a second stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product from a side-draw.
Dien teaches a system for purifying bioderived 1,4-BDO comprising a filtration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material (¶206, ¶212 including ultrafiltration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fermentation (¶24)/distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the filtration unit of Dien in order to filter the broth (¶206, ¶212 including ultrafiltration).
Clark teaches a system (Fig 16) for purifying (¶132) bioderived (fermentation in Fig 16) 1,4-BDO (¶132) comprising
a microfiltration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material (¶132 where the filtration includes centrifugation; and/or ultrafiltration ¶134; where microfiltration is used to reduce membrane fouling as taught in ¶69, ¶75);
a nanofiltration unit (¶134-135) and an anionic exchange unit (¶6, ¶79-81) that achieves: separation of salts, removal of color, desalination, and/or removal of retentate from said fermentation broth comprising said bioderived 1,4-BDO (¶134-135, ¶6, ¶79-81);
a first distillation column (Distillation #1); and
a second distillation column (Distillation #2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purification (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the microfiltration (Clark ¶132-135, ¶69, ¶75), nanofiltration (Clark ¶134-135), and anion exchange (¶6, ¶79-81) in order to separate the product from other components in the culture (¶132-135, such as solids and salts) and reduce membrane fouling (¶69, ¶75).
Utsunomiya teaches for purifying bioderived 1,4-BDO (abstract) comprising an anion exchange unit (¶126-127) to remove retentate and salts (¶212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the purification (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the nanofiltration unit (120) and anion exchange unit (130) of Utsunomiya order to separate the product from salts (¶38, ¶178).
Okuyama teaches a system (Fig 2) for purifying 1,4-BDO (Okuyama: abstract) comprising:
a first distillation column (202) receiving a crude 1,4-BDO mixture (from reactor 201) generating a first stream (column 202 distillate) of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (column 202 bottoms);
an intermediate distillation column (203) receiving the first 1,4-BDO-containing product stream generating a first stream (column 203 bottoms going to tower 204) of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second 1, 4- BDO-containing product stream (crude 1,4-butanediol from tower 203 to reactor 205);
a separator/reboiler (204) receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate (column 204 distillate to be mixed with the column 202 bottoms), wherein the distillate is fed to the intermediate distillation column; and
a second distillation column (209) receiving the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point (feed point shown in Fig 2) and generating a second stream (low-boiling point substances in Fig 2) of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4- BDO, a second stream (column 209 bottoms) of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a purified 1,4- BDO product (column 209 1,4-butanediol) from a side-draw (where Fig 2 shows the product from a side draw).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the first distillation column (202 in Fig 2), second distillation column (203 in Fig 2), separator (Okuyama: 204 in Fig 2), and hydrogenation reactor (Okuyama: 205 in Fig 2) of Okuyama in order to purify the product (Izawa ¶26, Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Regarding wherein the 1,4-BDO is bioderived 1,4-BDO, the limitation is a method of using the apparatus. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that bioderived 1,4-BDO would be fully capable of being purified in the Okuyama system.
Cvengros teaches where distillation columns (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 1-8) may employ wiped-film evaporation as a reboiler in order to concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47) minimize residence time (Cvengros: page 96 col 1 lines1-17) and reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24). The reboiler return the vapor from the reboiler to the distillation column (Cvengros: where the tube 7 in Fig 1 is both a reflux inlet and a vapor outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator/reboiler of Okuyama (204 in Fig 2) by incorporating the wiped film evaporator of Cvengros (as shown above) in order to reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24; Ernst: col 2 lines 14-23) and concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47; Ernst: col 2 lines 23-27). The combination would result in a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the intermediate distillation column.
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 48. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 49, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 48.
Izawa does not teach a hydrogenation reactor constructed to treat the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream prior to the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream being received by the second distillation column.
Okuyama teaches a hydrogenation reactor (205) constructed to treat the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream prior to the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream being received by the second distillation column (as shown in Fig 2 where the stream passes through the reactor after the intermediate distillation column 203 and before the second distillation column 209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the hydrogenation reactor (Okuyama: 205 in Fig 2) of Okuyama in order to purify the product (Izawa ¶26, Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14). Izawa further teaches where the 1,4-BDO can be obtained by fermentation (¶24), where such a crude mixture would be within the expected bounds of a fermentation crude.
Regarding claim 51, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 48. The claim 48 modification further teaches wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 12 lines 50-56).
Wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 51. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 52, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 17.
Wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product has no or less than 0.01 percent 2-methyl-3-buten-l-ol, and/or no or less than 0.01 percent 1,6-hexanediol, and/or less than 0.04 percent butanoic acid, propyl ester and/or less than 0.04 percent 2-( 4-hydroxybutoxy) tetrahydrofuran is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 52. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 53, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 48.
Wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product has no or less than 0.01 percent 2-methyl-3-buten-l-ol, and/or no or less than 0.01 percent 1,6-hexanediol, and/or less than 0.04 percent butanoic acid, propyl ester and/or less than 0.04 percent 2-( 4-hydroxybutoxy) tetrahydrofuran is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 53. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Buckley et al. “Design of distillation column control systems” ISBN 0-71313551-4 published 1985 (hereafter Buckley).
Regarding claim 45, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 22.
Izawa does not teach wherein the purified 1,4-BDO product collected from the side draw is in a vapor phase.
Buckley teaches column design wherein the side-draw is located below the feed point of a distillation column in order to take the product as a vapor and minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the side draw of Okuyama (as shown above) by collecting the side draw as a vapor in order to minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izawa in view of Dien, Cvengros, Okuyama, Clark, and Ernst as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Buckley et al. “Design of distillation column control systems” ISBN 0-71313551-4 published 1985 (hereafter Buckley).
Regarding claim 50, Izawa in view of Dien, Okuyama, Cvengros, Clark, Ernst, and Utsunomiya teaches all the limitations of claim 48.
Izawa does not teach wherein the side-draw is located below the feed point of the second distillation column.
Buckley teaches column design wherein the side-draw is located below the feed point of a distillation column in order to take the product as a vapor and minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the side draw of Okuyama (as shown above) by locating the side draw below the feed point in order to take the product as a vapor and minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
Claims 17, 22, 40-44, 46-49, and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al. US 2011/0003355 (hereafter Clark) and further in view of Okuyama US 5,981,810 (hereafter Okuyama), Cvengros et al. “Evaporator with wiped film as the reboiler of the vacuum rectifying column” Separation and Purification Technology 15 (1999) 95-100 published in 1999 (hereafter Cvengros), and Ernst et al. US 4,383,895 (hereafter Ernst).
Regarding claims 17, Clark teaches a system (Fig 16) for purifying (¶132) bioderived (fermentation in Fig 16) 1,4-BDO (¶132) comprising
a microfiltration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material (¶132 where the filtration includes centrifugation; and/or ultrafiltration ¶134; where microfiltration is used to reduce membrane fouling as taught in ¶69, ¶75).
a nanofiltration unit (¶134-135) and an anionic exchange unit (¶6, ¶79-81) that achieves: separation of salts, removal of color, desalination, and/or removal of retentate from said fermentation broth comprising said bioderived 1,4-BDO (¶134-135, ¶6, ¶79-81);
a first distillation column (Distillation #1); and
a second distillation column (Distillation #2).
Clark does not teach
a first distillation column receiving a crude bioderived 1,4-BDO mixture comprising a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth and generating a first stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream;
a first intermediate distillation column receiving the bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point and generating a first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream; further comprising a hydrogenation reactor constructed to treat the second bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream generated by the first intermediate distillation column;
a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the first intermediate distillation column;
a second intermediate distillation column receiving the second bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream and generating a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream; and
a second distillation column receiving the third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point and generating a third stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO, and a purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product.
Okuyama teaches a system (Fig 2) for purifying 1,4-BDO (Okuyama: abstract) comprising:
a first distillation column (202) receiving a crude 1,4-BDO mixture (from reactor 201) and generating a first stream (column 202 distillate) of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (column 202 bottoms);
a first intermediate distillation column (203) receiving the bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream at a feed point (feed point shown in Fig 2) and generating a first stream (column 203 bottoms going to tower 204) of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (crude 1,4-butanediol from tower 203 to reactor 205); further comprising a hydrogenation reactor (205) constructed to treat the second bioderived 1,4-BDOcontaining product stream generated by the first intermediate distillation column (col 2 lines 1-14);
a separator/reboiler (204) receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate (column 204 distillate to be mixed with the column 202 bottoms), wherein the distillate is fed to the first intermediate distillation column;
a second intermediate distillation column (208) receiving (via reactors 205/206 and separator 207) the second bioderived 1,4-BDO containing product stream and generating a third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (stream transferred from column 208 to column 209); and
a second distillation column (209) receiving the third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point (feed point shown in Fig 2) and generating a third stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO (column 209 distillate), and a purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product (column 209 1,4-butanediol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the first distillation column (202 in Fig 2), second distillation column (203 in Fig 2), separator (Okuyama: 204 in Fig 2), and hydrogenation reactor (Okuyama: 205 in Fig 2) of Okuyama in order to purify the product (Izawa ¶26, Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Regarding wherein the 1,4-BDO is bioderived 1,4-BDO, the limitation is a method of using the apparatus. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that bioderived 1,4-BDO would be fully capable of being purified in the Okuyama system.
Cvengros teaches where distillation columns (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 1-8) may employ wiped-film evaporation as a reboiler in order to concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47) minimize residence time (Cvengros: page 96 col 1 lines1-17) and reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24). The reboiler return the vapor from the reboiler to the distillation column (Cvengros: where the tube 7 in Fig 1 is both a reflux inlet and a vapor outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator/reboiler of the Okuyama (204 in Fig 2) and Izawa combination by incorporating the wiped film evaporator of Cvengros (as shown above) in order to reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24; Ernst: col 2 lines 14-23) and concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47; Ernst: col 2 lines 23-27). The combination would result in a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the first intermediate distillation column.
Regarding wherein the second intermediate distillation column generates a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO, Okuyama teaches where the unpurified 1,4-BDO mixture contains lower and higher boiling point components (col 9 lines 34-35) and where a distillation column is known to separate a target from lower and higher boiling point components (see distillation columns 203, 204, and 209 in Fig 2). Okuyama does not teach streams from the second intermediate distillation column which are not the third bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second intermediate distillation column of Okuyama (208) by incorporating a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO (column 208 distillate) in order to separate the 1,4-BDO from materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO (col 9 lines 34-35, Fig 2).
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 17. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 22, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the second distillation column (Okuyama 209) further comprises a side draw (Okuyama where Fig 2 shows the 1,4-BDO stream as a side drawn from the column).
Regarding claim 40, Clark in view of Okuyama, Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises 1,4-BDO and water (Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14) and the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 98% (w/w) 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 12 lines 50-56).
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises 80% to 85% 1,4-BDO with 1% to 25% water; recovery of the purified 1,4-BDO product from the crude 1,4-BDO mixture is greater than 98%; and the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 98% (w/w) 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 40. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 41, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the first distillation column (Okuyama 202) removes water (Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Wherein the first distillation column removes water to below 0.5% is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 41. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 42, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture allows high purity 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 2 lines 53-57).
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture is at least 80% (w/w) 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 42. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 43, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17. The claim 17 modification further teaches wherein the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 12 lines 50-56).
Wherein the purified 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 43. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 44, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17.
Wherein recovery of 1,4-BDO in the purified 1,4-BDO product from the crude 1,4-BDO mixture is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98% or 99% is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 44. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 46, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17.
Wherein the first distillation column and the second distillation column comprise pressures equal to or less than atmospheric pressure is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 41. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 47, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 46.
Wherein the pressure of the first distillation column differs from the pressure of the second distillation column is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 47. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 48, Clark teaches a system (Fig 16) for purifying (¶132) bioderived (fermentation in Fig 16) 1,4-BDO (¶132) comprising
a microfiltration unit that achieves removal of cellular material from fermentation broth comprising bioderived 1,4-BDO and cellular material (¶132 where the filtration includes centrifugation; and/or ultrafiltration ¶134; where microfiltration is used to reduce membrane fouling as taught in ¶69, ¶75);
a nanofiltration unit (¶134-135) and an anionic exchange unit (¶6, ¶79-81) that achieves: separation of salts, removal of color, desalination, and/or removal of retentate from said fermentation broth comprising said bioderived 1,4-BDO (¶134-135, ¶6, ¶79-81);
a first distillation column (Distillation #1); and
a second distillation column (Distillation #2).
Clark does not teach
a first distillation column receiving a crude bioderived 1,4-BDO mixture comprising a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth, and generating a first stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream;
an intermediate distillation column receiving the first bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream generating a first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second bioderived 1, 4-BDO-containing product stream;
a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the intermediate distillation column; and
a second distillation column receiving the second bioderived 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point and generating a second stream of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO, a second stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product from a side-draw.
Okuyama teaches a system (Fig 2) for purifying 1,4-BDO (Okuyama: abstract) comprising:
a first distillation column (202) receiving a crude 1,4-BDO mixture (from reactor 201) generating a first stream (column 202 distillate) of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4-BDO and a first 1,4-BDO-containing product stream (column 202 bottoms);
an intermediate distillation column (203) receiving the first 1,4-BDO-containing product stream generating a first stream (column 203 bottoms going to tower 204) of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a second 1, 4- BDO-containing product stream (crude 1,4-butanediol from tower 203 to reactor 205);
a separator/reboiler (204) receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate (column 204 distillate to be mixed with the column 202 bottoms), wherein the distillate is fed to the intermediate distillation column; and
a second distillation column (209) receiving the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream at a feed point (feed point shown in Fig 2) and generating a second stream (low-boiling point substances in Fig 2) of materials with boiling points lower than 1,4- BDO, a second stream (column 209 bottoms) of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO, and a purified 1,4- BDO product (column 209 1,4-butanediol) from a side-draw (where Fig 2 shows the product from a side draw).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the first distillation column (202 in Fig 2), second distillation column (203 in Fig 2), separator (Okuyama: 204 in Fig 2), and hydrogenation reactor (Okuyama: 205 in Fig 2) of Okuyama in order to purify the product (Izawa ¶26, Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Regarding wherein the 1,4-BDO is bioderived 1,4-BDO, the limitation is a method of using the apparatus. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that bioderived 1,4-BDO would be fully capable of being purified in the Okuyama system.
Cvengros teaches where distillation columns (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 1-8) may employ wiped-film evaporation as a reboiler in order to concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47) minimize residence time (Cvengros: page 96 col 1 lines1-17) and reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24). The reboiler return the vapor from the reboiler to the distillation column (Cvengros: where the tube 7 in Fig 1 is both a reflux inlet and a vapor outlet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator/reboiler of Okuyama (204 in Fig 2) by incorporating the wiped film evaporator of Cvengros (as shown above) in order to reduce thermal degredation (Cvengros: page 95 col 2 lines 18-24; Ernst: col 2 lines 14-23) and concentrate the distillate (Cvengros: page 96 lines 30-47; Ernst: col 2 lines 23-27). The combination would result in a wiped-film evaporator receiving the first stream of materials with boiling points higher than 1,4-BDO and generating a distillate, wherein the distillate is fed to the intermediate distillation column.
Wherein the crude 1,4-BDO mixture comprises a mixture of 1,4-BDO that is about 50% to 90% 1,4-BDO and 50% to 1 % water with one more other impurities that are derived from the fermentation broth is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 48. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 49, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 48.
Clark does not teach a hydrogenation reactor constructed to treat the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream prior to the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream being received by the second distillation column.
Okuyama teaches a hydrogenation reactor (205) constructed to treat the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream prior to the second 1,4-BDO-containing product stream being received by the second distillation column (as shown in Fig 2 where the stream passes through the reactor after the intermediate distillation column 203 and before the second distillation column 209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distillation (¶26) of Izawa by incorporating the hydrogenation reactor (Okuyama: 205 in Fig 2) of Okuyama in order to purify the product (Izawa ¶26, Okuyama col 2 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 51, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 48. The claim 48 modification further teaches wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO (Okuyama col 12 lines 50-56).
Wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product is greater than 90% (w/w), 91 % (w/w), 92% (w/w), 93% (w/w), 94% (w/w), 95% (w/w), 96% (w/w), 97%, (w/w) 98% (w/w), 99% (w/w), 99.1 % (w/w), 99.2% (w/w), 99.3% (w/w), 99.4% (w/w), 99.5% (w/w), 99.6% (w/w), 99.7% (w/w), 99.8% (w/w) or 99.9% (w/w), 1,4-BDO is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 51. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 52, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 17.
Wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product has no or less than 0.01 percent 2-methyl-3-buten-l-ol, and/or no or less than 0.01 percent 1,6-hexanediol, and/or less than 0.04 percent butanoic acid, propyl ester and/or less than 0.04 percent 2-( 4-hydroxybutoxy) tetrahydrofuran is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 52. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Regarding claim 53, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 48.
Wherein the purified bioderived 1,4-BDO product has no or less than 0.01 percent 2-methyl-3-buten-l-ol, and/or no or less than 0.01 percent 1,6-hexanediol, and/or less than 0.04 percent butanoic acid, propyl ester and/or less than 0.04 percent 2-( 4-hydroxybutoxy) tetrahydrofuran is a method of using the apparatus and the material worked upon by the apparatus. Because the prior art teaches the structure of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the prior art would be fully capable of being used in accordance with claim 53. See MPEP §2114, §2115, §2173.05(g).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Buckley et al. “Design of distillation column control systems” ISBN 0-71313551-4 published 1985 (hereafter Buckley).
Regarding claim 45, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 22.
Clark does not teach wherein the purified 1,4-BDO product collected from the side draw is in a vapor phase.
Buckley teaches column design wherein the side-draw is located below the feed point of a distillation column in order to take the product as a vapor and minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the side draw of Okuyama (as shown above) by collecting the side draw as a vapor in order to minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Buckley et al. “Design of distillation column control systems” ISBN 0-71313551-4 published 1985 (hereafter Buckley).
Regarding claim 50, Clark in view of Okuyama, Cvengros, and Ernst teaches all the limitations of claim 48.
Clark does not teach wherein the side-draw is located below the feed point of the second distillation column.
Buckley teaches column design wherein the side-draw is located below the feed point of a distillation column in order to take the product as a vapor and minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the side draw of Okuyama (as shown above) by locating the side draw below the feed point in order to take the product as a vapor and minimize high boilers (Buckley: page 169).
Response to Arguments
The following is a response to Applicant’s arguments filed 13 Arp. 2026:
Applicant argues that the 112d rejection is overcome by amendment.
Examiner agrees and the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the Izawa process using the claimed crude range would render the system unsatisfactory.
Examiner disagrees. The 99.00% - 99.99% 1,4-BDO of Izawa paragraph 14 is the purified 1,4-BDO product. Izawa teaches "It is possible to obtain the 1,4BG which is contained in the 1,4-butanediol-containing composition of the present invention by production methods which have hitherto been known. For example, there are included ... 1,4BG obtained by means of direct fermentation from a biomass" (Izawa paragraph 24, emphasis added). Thus, the claimed crude 1,4BDO is analogous to the 1,4BG obtained by fermentation of Izawa and the claimed purified 1,4-BDO product is analogous to the 1,4-butanediol-containing composition of Izawa. Thus, the proposed modification would not render the system unsatisfactory.
Further, that Izawa recognized a cost/benefit of both higher and lower final concentrations does not render achieving those concentrations nonobvious. Rather, one of ordinary skill would optimize the concentration for cost and stability depending on the specific system requirements.
Further, Applicant cites Iwaza’s non-limiting embodiments (“preferably sulfonic acid”). Because the preference is one non-limiting embodiment, it is not persuasive to show that Iwaza cannot be combined as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776