DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s note (10/3/26)
The following are Examiner’s responses for the Remark filed on 6/22/26: (pages 7-8)
There are about more than 10 applications in the family of the application tree.
In this case, Applicant already filed
10 versions of SPEC and 4 versions of drawing amendments.
Only drawing document has, at least, 47 pages (doesn’t count the amendments)
Based on the history of the applications tree, Applicant may switched the claimed inventions based on the arts cited in the office actions filed within the application tree.
Therefore, Examiner respectively request Applicant to:
Manage the amendments of the SPEC.
Mange the amendments of the drawings.
Do not switch the claim scopes between different inventions.
Do not amend the drawings/SPEC based on the cited arts.
In the remark, please clearly copy the portion of the SPEC and Drawing in the argument instead of just stated paragraph #. Because the paragraph # in the Remark may not be able to find it based on the above reasons.
Important interview history:
The following are the list of important interview summaries. Examiner will maintain this section in respond to Applicant’s arguments, as need. (in the future office action)
3/27/19: Interview Summary
Applicant request to add Fig 8 to the elected species D (Fig 6-7). Examiner agree Applicant’s suggestion and make this election of restriction final without traverse.
Remark filed on 9/13/19: by Attorney Ryan Schermerhorn:
The response filed by Attorney Ryan further thanks for Examiner’s interview and agree with the above election without any traverse.
Conclusion: Examiner respectively request Applicant to follow one elected embodiment for each application and do not keep on amending the SPEC, drawing, or claims based on the arts cited in the office action. Also, switching the embodiments of the claims (and/or SPEC, drawings) will cause serious search burden.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant, once again, argue about the withdrawn claims in the Remark field on 6/22/26.
In this case, Examiner will not reopen / discuss with Applicant’s attorney (including remark) for any restriction requirements. The Election/Restrictions has been made final in the previous office actions. Applicant, however, has rights to file petitions.
Especially, Applicant’s Remarks failed to mention the important limitations in the claims such as wireless communication, identifying information with determination process, using wireless communication standard with a specific range or distance. This type of arguments will confuse and increase the burden of the patent application process. Examiner also invite Applicant to revie the above “Examiner’s Note” and “Important interview history”
Therefore, Examiner will exam the original elected drawings (fig 6-7 and fig 8) and associated claims ONLY.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 32, “the second accessory type is configured as a grip accessory, and wherein the grip accessory is designed to be used by a user to securely hold the mobile electronic device, and wherein the first accessory type is a battery configured to charge the mobile electronic device” are not supported by SPEC/drawing and/or unclear. Further clarification is required. Examiner invite Applicant to explain and clearly specify the support by copy-paste from SPEC (10 versions; see above Examiner’s Note). The scope of the claim language is unclear.
As MPEP 2131 states, "[a] claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference." (citing Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of Calfornia, 814 F.2d 628, 631, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987)). Moreover, anticipation requires that the prior art reference "not only disclose all elements of the claim within the four corners of the document, but must also disclose those elements 'arranged as in the claim."' See Net MoneylN, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Thus, anticipation requires actual disclosure of each element. Examiner request Applicant to follow the same standard and determine even the claimed limitations are disclosed anywhere in the SPEC (10 versions; see above Examiner’s Note).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 42, “the plurality of walls having a first end and a second end” are not supported by SPEC/drawing and/or unclear. Further clarification is required. Examiner invite Applicant to explain how many first end and second end in the claim? The scope of the claim language is unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, all the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first / second paragraph, and/or the claim objections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 45, 48, 54, 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rothbaum (US 20110192857).
With regard claim 32, Rothbaum discloses A docking accessory system, (abstract, see also fig 1-65) comprising: a platform comprising a mating mechanism for detachably attaching a plurality of types of accessories to a mobile electronic device (at least fig 57-65; see also paragraph [239]-[255]; see also abstract; Examiner also invite Applicant to review other types of accessories, at least, shown on Fig 29, fig 34, Fig 42, Fig 46, Fig 53, Fig 65); a first accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism (see fig 1-65; as discussed above, there are many accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism; one or more first accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories was disclosed as discussed above); and a second accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories, configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism (see fig 1-65; there are many accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism), wherein the platform is configured as a case to attach to the mobile electronic device and wherein the mobile electronic device is configured as a mobile phone (abstract), wherein the second accessory type is configured as a grip accessory (fig 1-65, Examiner consider any structure can be gripped by hand is a grip accessory; Examiner also invite Applicant to review other types of accessories, at least, shown on Fig 29, fig 34, Fig 42, Fig 46, Fig 53, Fig 29, Fig 65; paragraph [251-258], [262-266], [267-273], [163-166], [191-195], [199-203], [206-210]) and wherein the grip accessory is designed to be used by a user to securely hold the mobile electronic device, (paragraph [251-258], [262-266], [267-273], [163-166], [191-195], [199-203], [206-210]; at least Fig 29, fig 34, Fig 42, Fig 46, Fig 53, Fig 29, Fig 65), and wherein the first accessory type is a battery configured to charge the mobile electronic device (at least fig 17-20, fig 48-49 fig 57-65; paragraph [255]-[262]; [171-179]). Examiner’s note: Cite art disclosed one or more accessory types which is designed to be used by a user to securely hold the mobile electronic device.
Regarding claim 45, Rothbaum further disclosed the mating mechanism is configured to attach the first and/or second accessory type to the platform in a plurality of attachment orientations (fig 1-65).
Regarding claim 48, Rothbaum further disclosed the grip accessory is configured to rotate about an axis when attached to the platform (fig 1-65; see also fig 46-54, fig 56-65; one or more accessories is configured to rotate about an axis when attached to the platform).
Regarding claim 54, Rothbaum further disclosed mating mechanism is configured to detachably attach the second accessory type completely flush against the platform (fig 1-65; see also fig 49-58; see other accessory types discussed in the independent claims). Examiner’s note: “Flush” : https://www.thefreedictionary.com/flush.
Regarding claim 62, Rothbaum further disclosed the platform extends along sides of the mobile electronic device so as to form an attachment therewith (see fig 1-65, see also fig 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41, 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (US 20110192857) in view of Lin (WO 2011035512 A1).
With regard claim 41, the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for (as a whole structure): the grip accessory is an extendable accessory configured to extend outward from the mobile device platform and to retract back to the mobile device platform.
Lin teaches a mobile device comprising: an accessory which can be an extendable accessory configured to extend outward from the mobile device platform and to retract back to the mobile device platform retracted back to the mobile device platform (at least fig 3-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include this feature (include the accessory which is extendable outward from the mobile device platform and configured to retract back to the device platform) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the discussed Primary art’s structure with an accessory which allows the accessory to be extend outward and retracted back to the mobile device platform with a modification of thickness; and still allow the original feature of changing the accessories; The modification including the modification of the shape/size of the accessory, mounting structure, and associated mechanical modifications) so as to further allow more user adjustments or lens’ facing angle; and/or more accessory features for the modified structure.
Regarding claim 64, Rothbaum further disclosed the grip accessory comprises a button in the form of an end cap (at least fig 32-34, fig 59, fig 63, or fig 64; see also Lin’s fig 3-9).
https://www.dictionary.com/browse/button
Claims 42-43, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (US 20110192857) in view of Lin (WO 2011035512 A1) and further in view of Turner (US 3191513).
With regard claim 42, the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the extendable accessory comprises a plurality of walls, each pair of adjacent walls joined by a flexible hinge, the plurality of walls having a first end and a second end, the plurality of walls movable for expanding and collapsing along a longitudinal axis of the extendable accessory, the plurality of walls being coupleable to the platform at the first end.
Turner art further teaches an extendable structure: the extendable structure comprises a plurality of walls, each pair of adjacent walls joined by a flexible hinge (at least fig 1-5, see also col. 1, lines 10-24), the plurality of walls having a first end and a second end (at least fig 1-5, a first end and a second end; no label), the plurality of walls movable for expanding and collapsing along a longitudinal axis of the extendable accessory (at least fig 1-5), the plurality of walls being coupleable to the structure/device or the target structure at the first end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the above extendable structure) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the previous discussed accessory structure with modification) so as to have (Rothbaum in view of Lin and Tuner): the extendable accessory (Rothbaum in view of Tuner) comprises a plurality of walls (discussed in Tuner, with size adjustment to fit on the previous modified structure), each pair of adjacent walls joined by a flexible hinge (discussed in Tuner, with size adjustment), the plurality of walls having a first end and a second end (discussed in Tuner), the plurality of walls movable for expanding and collapsing (discussed in Tuner, with size adjustment) along a longitudinal axis of the extendable accessory (Rothbaum in view of Tuner), the plurality of walls being coupleable to the platform (Rothbaum in view of Tuner) at the first end. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to protect the modified accessory structure and/or provide flexibility for the device.
Regarding claim 43, the modified art further disclosed the extendable accessory further comprises a disc operatively coupled to the second end of the plurality of walls (at least Lin’s fig 5-9, the disc shape of component operatively coupled to the second end; see also the claims 41-42 modification).
Regarding claim 49, modified Rothbaum further disclosed the disc is configured to tilt at an angle relative to the mobile device and platform (at least Lin’s fig 3-9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “In this case, while Rothbaum may discloses various accessories, such as a key holder, 802, money clip 1002, photograph holder 1202, mirror 1502, flashlight 1702, etc., Rothbaum does not expressly or inherently disclose a "grip accessory," certainly not one recited as being "designed to be used by a user to securely hold the mobile electronic device," as claimed. The fact that one of Rothbaum's accessories may somehow be usable in an unintended manner, as the Examiner contends, does not convert that accessory into a different type of accessory, nor does it substitute for disclosure which is otherwise not present. For example, if a user were able to wedge a pen into Rothbaum's money clip 1002, for example, that would not convert Rothbaum's money clip 1002 into a pen holder. Similarly, that Rothbaum's money clip 1002 may be usable in an unintended manner (e.g., as a pen holder) does not substitute for disclosure of a pen holder. Moreover, none of the structures disclosed in Rothbaum are inherently grip accessories because none of the structures must be a grip accessory.” (pages 8 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
See 112 rejections discussed above.
In this case, Rothbaum discloses A docking accessory system, (abstract, see also fig 1-65) comprising: a platform comprising a mating mechanism for detachably attaching a plurality of types of accessories to a mobile electronic device (at least fig 57-65; see also paragraph [239]-[255]; see also abstract; Examiner also invite Applicant to review other types of accessories, at least, shown on Fig 29, fig 34, Fig 42, Fig 46, Fig 53, Fig 65); a first accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism (see fig 1-65; as discussed above, there are many accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism; one or more first accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories was disclosed as discussed above); and a second accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories, configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism (see fig 1-65; there are many accessory type of the plurality of types of accessories configured to detachably attach to the platform by way of the mating mechanism), wherein the platform is configured as a case to attach to the mobile electronic device and wherein the mobile electronic device is configured as a mobile phone (abstract), wherein the second accessory type is configured as a grip accessory (fig 1-65, Examiner consider any structure can be gripped by hand is a grip accessory; Examiner also invite Applicant to review other types of accessories, at least, shown on Fig 29, fig 34, Fig 42, Fig 46, Fig 53, Fig 29, Fig 65; paragraph [251-258], [262-266], [267-273], [163-166], [191-195], [199-203], [206-210]) and wherein the grip accessory is designed to be used by a user to securely hold the mobile electronic device, (paragraph [251-258], [262-266], [267-273], [163-166], [191-195], [199-203], [206-210]; at least Fig 29, fig 34, Fig 42, Fig 46, Fig 53, Fig 29, Fig 65), and wherein the first accessory type is a battery configured to charge the mobile electronic device (at least fig 17-20, fig 48-49 fig 57-65; paragraph [255]-[262]; [171-179]). Examiner’s note: Cite art disclosed one or more accessory types which is designed to be used by a user to securely hold the mobile electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841