DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are amended.
Claims 3-5 12-14, 17 and 20 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 6-11, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6-11, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 10, and 19 similarly recite “wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage, and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage” while not rising to the level of being indeterminate, examiner notes that it should be along the lines of the voltage of the predetermined threshold, as no previous “predetermined threshold voltage” has been recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 6-9, 11, 15-16, 18, and 21-22 are objected to based on their inherited deficiencies.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that in regards to claim 1, and similarly in claims 10 and 19, the amended claim language “sampling the battery voltage for a predetermined period of time only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold”. As this step is conditional, it is not required by the claims per MPEP 2111.04(II) “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met” and “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed”. In addition, this makes the limitations based on said amended language also contingent as they can only happen if the previous condition occurs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-11, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 19 recite “sampling the battery voltage for a predetermined period of time only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold” (emphasis added). Examiner notes while applicant cites Par. 32 of the specification to support the amendments, it refers to section 202 of Fig. 2 which does not require battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold, as sampling the battery voltage is the very first step, without any prior contingency on a threshold. Further, steps 208-212 of Fig. 2, notably “monitoring battery voltage for time T2” contradict “only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold” as examiner notes that detect the battery voltage in step 202 is also sampling the battery voltage for a predetermined period of time, as applicant describes in Par. 32 of their specification “battery voltage may be detected using a battery sensor coupled to the vehicle's battery and sampled intermittently or periodically over a predetermined period of time”, thus there is not support for “only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold” as there are at least two different instances of sampling the battery for a period of time, and one does not require “the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold”. Further claims 10 and 19 explicitly recite in a previous step “sample the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor” which the amendments in light of applicant’s specification contradicts.
Claims 2, 6-9, 11, 15-16, 18, and 21-22 are rejected based on their inherent deficiencies.
Claims 2 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " comparing the battery voltage to the predetermined threshold; " in Line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 and 6-9 are rejected based on their inherent deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10-11, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 2016/0161367 A1) in view of Cargonja (US 2006/0267554 A1) and in further view of Koenck (US 6252380 B1) and Chen (US 20150154816 A1).
In claim 1, Chu discloses a method for controlling an electronic device (Fig. 4, 100, Par. 44 examiner considers executing a sleep mode to be said controlling) for use in a vehicle (abstract “vehicle”), the method comprising: the electronic device comprising a battery sensor (Fig. 1, 140), a processor (Par. 43 “arithmetic processing”); detecting a battery voltage (abstract “detect battery voltage” Fig. 5, 560) of a vehicle's battery (Fig. 4, 200) using the battery sensor connected thereto (Fig. 4, 140 Par. 9 “detect a battery voltage”); comparing the battery voltage to a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5 570 Par. 32-33, 59-60); sampling the battery voltage (Fig. 5, S570 then S560, examiner considers 570 to be said voltage sampling) for a predetermined period of time (see Fig. 2A-D, Par. 33 “determine that the engine is shut down when detecting a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period” Examiner notes that “rapid drop in voltage” refers to both the voltage level, i.e. the threshold, and the speed at which it drops, thus the voltage measurements are inferred to be over a period of time predetermined to be at least long enough to record said rapid drop in the battery voltage, i.e. a predetermined period of time) only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, S570 then S560, per S570 and Par. 33, the voltage is less than a predetermined threshold); in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, 570 Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”, “battery voltage Vb has fallen back to the standby level Vl,”, “a rapid drop in the battery voltage”) for the predetermined period of time (Par. 33 “a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period” Examiner notes that “rapid drop in voltage” refers to both the voltage level, i.e. the threshold, and the speed at which it drops); evaluating a response to determine an operational state (Fig. 5, 570 Par. 46, Par. 49, Par. 61-62 “determine whether the engine is activated”, “shut down”, “active” “sleep mode”), the operational state being indicative of whether one or more of a vehicle engine or ignition is turned off (Fig. 5, 570 “shut down” Par. 31 “activating operation or shutdown operation of the engine”); and in response to a determination that one or more of the vehicle engine or ignition is turned off, stopping the electronic device or causing the electronic device to draw less power from the battery (Fig. 5, 590 Par. 61-62 “sleep mode”); wherein the determination that one or more of the vehicle engine or ignition is turned off includes a determination that a rate of a voltage drop of the battery is faster than a predetermined rate (Par. 33 “rapid drop in the battery voltage” examiner notes while a “predetermined rate” is not explicitly recited, recognizing a rapid drop implicitly requires a comparison to a threshold rate which would need to be known before hand to determine a rapid drop in the battery voltage); wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage (Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”), and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage (Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”).
Chu does not explicitly disclose inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle and a memory; applying, by a load circuit separate from the battery sensor, a load to the battery in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold (Emphasis added); evaluating a response to the applied load to determine an operational state (Emphasis added); a determination that a rate of a voltage drop of the battery during application of the load is faster than a predetermined rate (emphasis added); and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle (Emphasis added).
Chu does teach wherein a load (Fig. 4, 120, 140) is applied to the vehicle's battery (Fig. 5 S510 Par. 54 device 100 is connected to the battery; examiner considers connecting the device 100 to the battery to be applying a load, namely the power monitoring unit 140, to the battery) to determine the operational state of the vehicle (Fig. 5, s550 and s570; Par. 56-59 “engine is activated” “engine has shut down”).
Cargonja teaches a memory (Fig. 1, 17); applying, by a load circuit separate from the battery sensor (Fig. 1, 37, examiner notes that the load is separate from the battery sensor 22), a load to the battery (Fig. 5A-C, 167) in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold (Fig. 5A-C 129, Par. 33-34, 50-51, 128-129, 132-148, 161-172 examiner notes that after it fails to meet the threshold three times in 128-148, it applies a load at 167) for a predetermined period of time (Fig. 5A-C 124, 167 “500ms”); evaluating a response to the applied load (Fig. 5A-C 168) to determine an operational state (Par. 31-32 49-50); a determination that a rate of a voltage drop of the battery during application of the load is faster than a predetermined rate (see abstract, Par. 3, Fig. 5A-C 167).
Koenck teaches inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle (See Claim 21 “plug” “socket”), the electronic device comprising a battery sensor (Fig. 28, 28-16), a processor (Fig. 5, 71), and a memory (Fig. 5, 71).
Chen teaches wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage (Par. 59 “vehicle minimum voltage 42, the vehicle running voltage 44, and the vehicle off voltage 46”), and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle (Par. 59 “the vehicle running voltage 44”, Claim 8 “a vehicle running voltage output by the alternator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have a memory; applying, by a load circuit separate from the battery sensor, a load to the battery in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold; evaluating a response to the applied load to determine an operational state; and a determination that a rate of a voltage drop of the battery during application of the load is faster than a predetermined rate based on the teachings of Chu and Cargonja since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a battery monitoring device would apply a load to the battery and to increase the accuracy of the battery sensor measurement (Cargonja Par. 30-31). Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle based on the teachings of Koenck in Chu and Cargonja in order to allow for batch type data transfers (Koenck Column 20 Lines 50-60) thus leading to an improved system. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage, and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle based on the teachings of Chen in combination with Chu, Cargonja and Koenck in order to establish and communicate a warning notification of a malfunction (Chen Par. 59) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 2, Chu discloses wherein the method further comprises sampling the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor intermittently or continuously (Fig. 5, S560 and Par. 34).
In claim 7, Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck and Chen teach all of claim 1, including a load. Chu further discloses wherein the method further comprises identifying a change in the battery voltage (Fig. 5 S530) due to the load.
In claim 8, Chu in view of Cargonja and Koenck teach all of claim 7, including a load. Cu further discloses wherein the method further comprises determining the operational state of the vehicle based on the change in the battery voltage (Fig. 3, S360-370).
In claim 10, Chu discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1, 100) for use in a vehicle (See title), the electronic device comprising a battery sensor (Fig.4, 140) configured to detect a battery voltage (abstract “detect battery voltage”) when connected to a battery (Fig. 4, 200) of a vehicle; and a processor (Fig. 4, 160) in communication with the battery sensor that is configured to: sample the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor (Fig. 5, s560), compare the battery voltage to a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5 570 Par. 32-33, 59-60) for a predetermined period of time (Par. 33 “a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period” Examiner notes that “rapid drop in voltage” refers to both the voltage level, i.e. the threshold, and the speed at which it drops); sample the battery voltage (Fig. 5, S570 then S560, examiner considers 570 to be said voltage sampling) for a predetermined period of time (see Fig. 2A-D, Par. 33 “determine that the engine is shut down when detecting a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period” Examiner notes that “rapid drop in voltage” refers to both the voltage level, i.e. the threshold, and the speed at which it drops, thus the voltage measurements are inferred to be over a period of time predetermined to be at least long enough to record said rapid drop in the battery voltage, i.e. a predetermined period of time) only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, S570 then S560, per S570 and Par. 33, the voltage is less than a predetermined threshold); in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold, for a second predetermined period of time (Par. 33 Fig. 5, 560-570 examiner notes that the comparison loops thus the second period of time would be a new iteration of the first); determine a voltage drop rate of the battery during the predetermined period of time (Par. 33 “a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period”); determine, when the voltage drop rate is greater than a predetermined rate (Par. 33 “a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period”) that one or more of a vehicle engine or ignition is turned off (Par. 33 Fig. 5, 570 Par. 46, Par. 49, Par. 61-62 “determine whether the engine is activated”, “shut down”, “active” “sleep mode”); and in response to a determination that one or more of the vehicle engine or ignition is turned off, stop the electronic device or cause the electronic device to draw less power from the battery (Fig. 5, 590 Par. 61-62 “sleep mode”) and control the electronic device based on the determination that one or more of the vehicle engine or the ignition is off (Fig. 5, 590 Par. 61-62 “sleep mode when the engine shuts down”); wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage (Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”), and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage (Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”).
Chu does not explicitly disclose apply a load to the battery for a second predetermined period of time (Emphasis added); a load circuit configured to apply a load to the vehicle’s battery in response to the battery voltage being below a predetermined threshold to determine whether one or more of the vehicle engine or the ignition is off, wherein the load circuit is separate from the battery sensor; a device interface including one or more electrical connectors that are configured to make an electrical connection when inserted into a power socket of the vehicle; and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle (Emphasis added).
Chu does teach a load circuit (Fig. 1, 140 examiner considers the battery monitor to be made up of circuits) configured to apply a load to the vehicle’s battery (Fig. 5 S510 Par. 54-55 device 100 containing power monitoring unit 140 is connected to the battery and sets the initial values based on the battery’s detected voltage plus a tolerance; examiner considers connecting the device to the battery to induce the connecting of the power monitoring unit 140 which applies a load [itself], to the battery to determine the initial voltage) to determine whether one or more of the vehicle engine or the ignition is off of the vehicle (Fig. 5, s550 and s570; Par. 56-59 “engine is activated” “engine has shut down”); apply a load to the battery for a predetermined period of time (Par. 33).
Cargonja teaches apply a load to the battery for a predetermined period of time (Par. 3-4 “time interval”); evaluate a response to an applied load (Fig. 5A-C 168) to determine an operational state (Par. 31-32 49-50); wherein a load circuit is configured to apply a load to the battery in response to the battery voltage being below a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5A-C, Par. 33-34, 50-51, 128-129, 132-148, 161-172 examiner notes that after it fails to meet the threshold three times in 128-148, it applies a load at 167) for a predetermined period of time (Fig. 5A-C 124, 167 “500ms”) to determine the operational state (Par. 31-32); the load circuit being separate from the battery sensor (Fig. 1, 37, examiner notes that the load is separate from the battery sensor 22).
Koenck teaches inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle (See Claim 21 “plug” “socket”).
Chen teaches wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage (Par. 59 “vehicle minimum voltage 42, the vehicle running voltage 44, and the vehicle off voltage 46”), and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle (Par. 59 “the vehicle running voltage 44”, Claim 8 “a vehicle running voltage output by the alternator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the invention was filled to apply a load to the battery for a second predetermined period of time; evaluate a response to an applied load to determine an operational state; a load circuit configured to apply a load to the vehicle’s battery in response to the battery voltage being below a predetermined threshold to determine whether one or more of the vehicle engine or the ignition is off, the load circuit being separate from the battery sensor based on the teachings of Chu and Cargonja since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that connecting a device to a battery would apply a load to it and to increase the accuracy of the battery sensor measurement (Cargonja Par. 30-31). Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle based on the teachings of Koenck in Chu and Cargonja in order to allow for batch type data transfers (Koenck Column 20 Lines 50-60) thus leading to an improved system. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage, and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle based on the teachings of Chen in combination with Chu, Cargonja and Koenck in order to establish and communicate a warning notification of a malfunction (Chen Par. 59) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 11, Chu discloses sampling the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor intermittently or continuously (Fig. 5, S560 and Par. 34).
In claim 16, Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck, and Chen discloses all of claim 10. Chu further discloses, identify a change in the battery voltage, using the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor (Fig. 5 S520, S530).
Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to control the load circuit to apply the load, and identify a change in the battery voltage due to the load (emphasis added) using the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor.
Chu does teaches the device being configured to apply the load (Par. 54, when the device 100, which contains processor 160, is connected [i.e. load applied] the power monitoring unit sets up its initial configuration of the battery voltage), and adding a tolerance to the battery voltage to account for error, noise and fluctuations (Par. 42 examiner considers the fluctuations to be due to the connecting of the device since the tolerance is set when first connected see par. 54 thus accounting for a change in battery voltage).
Cargonja teaches the change in the battery voltage due to the load using the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor (Par. 31-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have the processor is further configured to control the load circuit to apply the load, and identify a change in the battery voltage due to the load using the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor based on the teachings of Chu and Cargonja since it was known in the art that that connecting a load to a battery causes a fluctuation in battery voltage which would need to be accounted for, and to increase the accuracy of the battery sensor measurement (Cargonja Par. 30-31).
In claim 18, Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck, and Chen discloses all of claim 10. Chu further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to control at least one function module (Fig. 5, s590) in the electronic device, wherein at least one function module is configured to carry out a function in the electronic device (Par. 44).
In claim 21 Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck, and Chen discloses all of claim 10. Chu further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to generate a report indicating a state of the vehicle’s battery (Fig. 5, s590 examiner considers the sleep command to indicate the state of the vehicle).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Cargonja in view of Koenck in view of Chen and in further view of Abou-Zied (US 20170282722) hence forth Abou.
In claim 6, Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck, and Chen discloses all of claim 1. Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein applying the load to the vehicle's battery comprises electrically connecting a heating element of the electronic device to the vehicle's battery.
Abou teaches electrically connecting a heating element of the electronic device to the vehicle's battery (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to apply the load to the vehicle's battery comprises electrically connecting a heating element of the electronic device to the vehicle's battery as taught by Abou in Chu in order to activate the fan at certain temperatures (Par. 13) thus saving energy by minimizing fan use.
In claim 15, Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck, and Chen discloses all of claim 10. Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the load circuit comprises a heating element.
Abou teaches electrically connecting a heating element of the electronic device to the vehicle's battery (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have the load circuit comprises a heating element as taught by Abou in Chu in order to activate the fan at certain temperatures (Par. 13) thus saving energy by minimizing fan use and provide cooling for the battery.
Claims 9, 19 and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck, Chen and in further view of Kim (US 2009/0068058 A1).
In claim 9, Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the device is configured to control or assist in the dispensing of a volatile material.
Kim teaches wherein the device is configured to control or assist in the dispensing of a volatile material (Par. 12 “discharging the deodorant using remaining electrical power of the vehicle when an engine of the vehicle is stopped”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to the device is configured to control or assist in the dispensing of a volatile material based on the teachings of Kim in order to freshen the scent / remove negative odors of the vehicle (Kim Par. 3) thus leading to a more pleasant user experience.
In claim 19, Chu discloses an electrical assembly (Fig. 4), comprising: a battery sensor (Fig. 4, 140) configured to detect a battery voltage (abstract “detect battery voltage”) when connected to a battery of the vehicle (Fig. 4, 200), and a processor in communication with the battery sensor that is configured to: sample the battery voltage detected by the battery sensor (Fig. 4, 160); compare the battery voltage to a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5 570 Par. 32-33, 59-60); sample the battery voltage (Fig. 5, S570 then S560, examiner considers 570 to be said voltage sampling) for a predetermined period of time (see Fig. 2A-D, Par. 33 “determine that the engine is shut down when detecting a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period” Examiner notes that “rapid drop in voltage” refers to both the voltage level, i.e. the threshold, and the speed at which it drops, thus the voltage measurements are inferred to be over a period of time predetermined to be at least long enough to record said rapid drop in the battery voltage, i.e. a predetermined period of time) only if the battery voltage is below a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, S570 then S560, per S570 and Par. 33, the voltage is less than a predetermined threshold); determine a rate of change of the voltage of the battery voltage during a predetermined time interval (Par. 33); in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, 570 Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”, “battery voltage Vb has fallen back to the standby level Vl,”) for a second predetermined period of time (Fig. 5, S570 then S560,Par. 33 “a rapid drop in the battery voltage over a short time period” Examiner notes as it is a loop, while the durations of the period of time may be the same they are two separate predetermined periods of time); evaluate a response to determine an operational state (Fig. 5, 570 Par. 46, Par. 49, Par. 61-62 “determine whether the engine is activated”, “shut down”, “active” “sleep mode”), the operational state being indicative of whether one or more of a vehicle engine or ignition is turned off (Fig. 5, 570 “shut down” Par. 31 “activating operation or shutdown operation of the engine”); and in response to a determination that one or more of the vehicle engine or ignition is turned off, control a device to draw less power from the battery (Fig. 5, 590 Par. 61-62 “sleep mode”); wherein the determination that one or more of the vehicle engine or ignition is turned off includes a determination that the rate of change is greater than a predetermined rate (Par. 33); wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage (Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”), and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage (Par. 32-33 “detected battery voltage Vb is smaller than the working threshold voltage”).
Chu does not explicitly disclose a volatile emitting device for use in a vehicle, the device comprising: a cartridge having a volatile material therein; apply for a predetermined time interval, by a load circuit separate from the battery sensor, a load to the battery in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold (emphasis added); evaluate a response to the applied load to determine an operational state (Emphasis added); and control a release of the volatile material; and a housing having a cavity configured to hold the cartridge and electrical assembly, wherein the load circuit is separate from the battery sensor; and a device interface including one or more electrical connectors that are configured to make an electrical connection when inserted into an electrical socket of the vehicle; and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle (Emphasis added).
Chu does teach wherein a load (Fig. 4, 120, 140) is applied to the vehicle's battery (Fig. 5 S510 Par. 54 device 100 is connected to the battery; examiner considers connecting the device 100 to the battery to be applying for a predetermined time interval (par. 33) a load, namely the power monitoring unit 140, to the battery) to determine the operational state of the vehicle (Fig. 5, s550 and s570; Par. 56-59 “engine is activated” “engine has shut down”).
Kim teaches a volatile emitting device for use in a vehicle (Fig. 3, 100, Fig. 4), the device comprising: a cartridge (Fig. 3, 110/120) having a volatile material therein (Par. 12, “deodorant”) and control a release of the volatile material in accordance with the operational state of the vehicle (Par. 12 “discharging the deodorant using remaining electrical power of the vehicle when an engine of the vehicle is stopped”); and a housing having a cavity configured to hold the cartridge and electrical assembly (Fig. 3, 100, 110/120 examiner considers the modules to include/be inserted into said housing).
Koenck teaches inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle (See Claim 21 “plug” “socket”).
Cargonja teaches apply for a predetermined time interval (Par. 4), by a load circuit separate from the battery sensor (Fig. 1, 37, examiner notes that the load is separate from the battery sensor 22), a load to the battery in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold (Fig. 5A-C, Par. 33-34, 50-51, 128-129, 132-148, 161-172 examiner notes that after it fails to meet the threshold three times in 128-148, it applies a load at 167) for a predetermined period of time (Fig. 5A-C 124, 167 “500ms”); determine a rate of change of the voltage of the battery voltage during the predetermined time interval (Par. 3);
Chen teaches wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage (Par. 59 “vehicle minimum voltage 42, the vehicle running voltage 44, and the vehicle off voltage 46”), and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle (Par. 59 “the vehicle running voltage 44”, Claim 8 “a vehicle running voltage output by the alternator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to have disclose a volatile emitting device for use in a vehicle, the device comprising: a cartridge having a volatile material therein and control a release of the volatile material in accordance with the operational state of the vehicle; and a housing having a cavity configured to hold the cartridge and electrical assembly based on the teachings of Kim in order to freshen the scent / remove negative odors of the vehicle (Kim Par. 3) thus leading to a more pleasant user experience. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to apply for a predetermined time interval, by a load circuit separate from the battery sensor, a load to the battery in response to the battery voltage being below the predetermined threshold based on the teachings of Chu and Cargonja since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that connecting a device to a battery would apply a load to it and to increase the accuracy of the battery sensor measurement (Cargonja Par. 30-31). Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to have inserting the electronic device into an electrical socket of the vehicle such that the electronic device is in electrical communication with the vehicle based on the teachings of Koenck in Chu and Cargonja in order to allow for batch type data transfers (Koenck Column 20 Lines 50-60) thus leading to an improved system. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the predetermined threshold is a voltage, and wherein the predetermined threshold voltage corresponds with an operating voltage of an alternator of the vehicle based on the teachings of Chen in combination with Chu, Cargonja and Koenck in order to establish and communicate a warning notification of a malfunction (Chen Par. 59) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 22, Chu in view of Cargonja, Koenck and Kim discloses all of claim 19. Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is in further communication with the load circuit and the load circuit includes a switch configured to engage the load as directed by the processor to determine the operational state of the vehicle.
Cargonja teaches wherein the processor is in further communication with the load circuit and the load circuit includes a switch configured to engage the load as directed by the processor to determine the operational state (See Fig. 1, 16, 43, 42 Par. 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to wherein the processor is in further communication with the load circuit and the load circuit includes a switch configured to engage the load as directed by the processor to determine the operational state of the vehicle based on the teachings of Cargonja combined with Chu in order to remove excess charge that would interfere with the measurements (Cargonja Par. 31), thus leading to a more accurate system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. regarding applicant’s 103 arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees, the cited amended elements are discloses as described above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20140043034 A1, METHOD AND DEVICE FOR DIAGNOSING A RESERVOIR CAPACITOR OF A VEHICLE PASSENGER PROTECTION SYSTEM, AND VECHICLE SAFETY SYSTEM INCORPORATING SUCH DEVICE; US 20160341776 A1 Load Drive Circuit.
/B.J.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857