DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 16-19, 21, 25, and 29-34 are pending. Claims 16 and 29 have been amended. Claims 16-19, 21, 25, and 29-34 are under consideration.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 16, line 9 “d)” should be “(d)” for consistency with the other bullets.
In Claim 29, line 19 “d)” should be “(d)” for consistency with the other bullets.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19, 21, 25, and 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16 and 29 have been amended to recite “i) providing a composition consisting of…d) at least one water-in-oil emulsifier selected from the group consisting of polyglyceryl-based emulsifiers…and the composition is a water-in-oil (W/O) emulsion…”. There is not support in the original Specification for a composition consisting of ingredients (a)-(d) which is also a water-in-oil emulsion. A W/O emulsion is only recited in the Specification in paragraphs 00110 and 00111, which is directed to two specific formulations comprising several additional ingredients other than (a)-(d).
Claims 25 and 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 25 recites “the method of Claim 16, wherein said composition consists of (a)…(b)…and (c)…”. The claim does not include (d) which is recited in amended claim 16. Therefore claim 25 does not include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 30 and 31 are rejected as depending from claim 25.
Claim 32 recites “the method of Claim 29, wherein said composition consists of (a)…(b)…and (c)…”. The claim does not include (d) which is recited in amended claim 29. Therefore claim 32 does not include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 33 and 34 are rejected as depending from claim 32.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16-19, 21, 25 and 29-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stada (EP 1591105 A1; cited in IDS, translation provided in parent) in view of Stein et al. (US 5,705,169; 1998).
Stada teaches the use of antioxidants and compositions thereof for the protection of skin against infrared radiation (e.g. abstract). Stada teaches the compositions comprising antioxidants, including D-carnosine and/or L-carnosine and derivatives thereof (i.e. compound of Formula (I)), UV filters and a carrier (e.g. paragraphs 0010, 0020; Example 1). Stada exemplifies a composition consisting of one of more antioxidants, one or more UV filters and a carrier (e.g. Example 1). While the example does not comprise carnosine as the antioxidant it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to replace the exemplified antioxidants (DL-α-tocopherol, α-Bisabolol, and β-carotene) with carnosine. Stada teaches these antioxidants to be appropriate for the composition and one of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success in selecting any of those recited in paragraph 0010 including carnosine. Stada teaches that the compositions can comprise emulsifiers (e.g. paragraph 0029 and Claim 10) and exemplify a water-in-oil composition comprising polyglyceryl-2 dipolyhydroxystearate (e.g. Example 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the polyglyceryl-2 dipolyhydroxystearate of Example 5 in the composition of Example 1, therefore creating a W/O emulsion, because Stada teaches these emulsifiers to be appropriate for the composition and one of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success in selecting any of those recited.
Stada teaches a method consisting of a step of applying the composition onto human skin for damage caused by the activation of the formation of matrix metalloproteinase 1 (e.g. paragraph 0013-0020; Claims 1 and 2). Stada teaches the compositions can preferably be used during the irradiation of the skin with sun rays to protect against damage from IR and UV rays (e.g. paragraph 0021). Stada teaches that the composition protects the skin against IR radiation and that the “…use of antioxidants according to the invention presumably leads to a reduction of the content of reactive oxygen species. This will cause IR radiation activated and mediated via the MAPKinase signaling pathway formation of Matrix metalloproteinase-1 counteracted” (emphasis added. e.g. paragraphs 0004, 0012; Claim 11). Stada exemplifies the total antioxidant (a) and total UV filters (b) as 1.2 % and 11.5 % by weight respectively (e.g. Example 1). This results in a ratio of 9:91, which is slightly below that of Claim 16. Stada also teaches the ranges of total antioxidant (a) and total UV filters (b) as 0.001-25 % and 0.1-15 % by weight respectively (e.g. paragraphs 0016 and 0025). This results ratios which overlap the ranges of claims 16 and 24. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to vary the concentrations of (a) and (b) through routine experimentation to arrive at the claimed ratios in order to optimize the resulting drug. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding the limitation “for the inhibition of MMP-1 expression induced by UV radiation” in addition to the teachings already described, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case Stada teach a drug comprising the claimed ingredients which is applied to human skin, therefore the claims have been met.
Regarding the limitation “in an amount effective to inhibit at least one of…”, the instant Specification indicates that the preferred concentration of (a) is 0.05-19.5 wt% and (b) is 0.05-19 wt% (i.e. effective amounts) (e.g. paragraph 0036). Stada exemplifies the total antioxidant (a) and total UV filters (b) as 1.2 % and 11.5 % by weight respectively, which are within the range (e.g. Example 1). Stada also more broadly teaches the ranges of total antioxidant (a) and total UV filters (b) as 0.001-25 % and 0.1-15 % by weight respectively (e.g. paragraphs 0016 and 0025).
Stada does not teach that the UV protection factor is the elected species of ketotricyclo(5.2.1.0) decane derivatives. This is made up for by the teachings of Stein et al.
Stein et al. teach ketotricyclo[5.2.1.0]decane derivatives and their preparation and use as UV filters, in particular in cosmetic or pharmaceutical preparations (e.g. abstract). Stein et al. teach that the sunscreen filters customary today in cosmetics are divided into UVA and UVB filters, and it has been found that ketotricyclo[5.2.1.0]decane derivatives of the formula I, have outstanding UVA filter properties (e.g. column 1, lines 50-55 and column 2, lines 7-36). Stein et al. teach that the extremely high extinction coefficients make possible the formulation of sunscreen compositions having a high sun protection factor combined with a low use concentration, and furthermore, the compounds of the formula I can also be used for the prophylactic treatment of inflammations and allergies of the skin and for the prevention of certain types of cancer, are distinguished by a good thermal and photochemical stability, have the advantage of being non-toxic or -irritant and completely harmless to the skin, and they disperse uniformly in the conventional cosmetic carriers and can in particular form a continuous film in fatty carriers; they can be applied to the skin in this way in order to form an effective protective film (e.g. column 1, lines 50-55 and column 2, lines 7-36). Stein et al. teach that the ketotricyclo[5.2.1.0]decane derivatives have improved performance compared to dibenzoylmethanes and benzylidenecamphor derivatives (e.g. column 1, lines 56-end).
Regarding Claims 16-19 and 29, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to include the ketotricyclo[5.2.1.0]decane derivatives of Stein et al. for use in the method of Stada. Stada teaches the inclusion of UV filters, including dibenzoylmethanes and benzylidenecamphor derivatives, and Stein teaches that ketotricyclo[5.2.1.0]decane derivatives have improved properties compared to the same UV filters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. Both of the compositions are useful as topical cosmetic compositions comprising UV filters, and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated in order to provide the benefits of the extremely high extinction coefficients, a high sun protection factor, low use concentration, the prophylactic treatment of inflammations and allergies of the skin and for the prevention of certain types of cancer, good thermal and photochemical stability, are non-toxic or -irritant and completely harmless to the skin, they disperse uniformly in the conventional cosmetic carriers and can in particular form a continuous film in fatty carriers (e.g. column 1, lines 50-55 and column 2, lines 7-36).
Regarding Claim 21, Stada exemplify a carrier of alcohol and water (e.g. Example 1).
Regarding Claims 25 and 30-34, Stada exemplifies the total antioxidant (a) and total UV filters (b) as 1.2 % and 11.5 % by weight respectively, which are within the range (e.g. Example 1). Stada also broadly teaches the ranges of total antioxidant (a) and total UV filters (b) as 0.001-25 % and 0.1-15 % by weight respectively (e.g. paragraphs 0016 and 0025), and exemplifies 87.3% carrier (e.g. Example 1). This results in values which overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments relevant to the references used in this office action will be addressed below.
Applicant argues that Stada lists carnosine among a very broad range of potential antioxidants in paragraph [0010]. It discloses a single W/O formulation in Example 5 (paragraph [0054]), but that formulation uses green tea extract, not carnosine, as its antioxidant. As a result, Stada does not disclose the combination of a W/O emulsion with a compound of Formula (I).
This is not found persuasive. As described supra, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the polyglyceryl-2 dipolyhydroxystearate of Example 5 in the composition of Example 1, therefore creating a W/O emulsion, because Stada teaches these emulsifiers to be appropriate for the composition and one of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success in selecting any of those recited. Regarding the selection of carnosine, in the Board decisions on 11/2/22 and 10/17/25 the Examiner was affirmed. Specifically, on page 5 of the Patent Board Decision 11/2/22, “[w]e agree with the Examiner that it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have selected any of the antioxidants disclosed by Stada, including carnosine”.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619