DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 9 October 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-13, 26, 35, 69, 71, and 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al. (US 2015/0071737, embodiment of FIG. 50) (“Hofmeister50”) in view of Hofmeister et al. (US 2015/0071737, embodiment of FIG. 1) (“Hofmeister1”).
“Hofmeister” (without a number suffix) denotes all embodiments of Hofmeister et al.
Hofmeister50 discloses:
Claim 1: a linearly elongated substrate transport chamber having two linearly elongated sides extending in a lateral direction (FIG. 50, 3408), and at least one end wall substantially orthogonal to the linearly elongated sides (3404), the at least one end wall of the substrate transport chamber has an end substrate transport opening (3410) each opening of the end and side substrate transport openings being arranged for transferring a substrate there through in and out of the substrate transport chamber;
at least one of the linearly elongated sides having connected thereto a linear array of at least four side substrate transport openings that are spaced apart from one another in the lateral direction, each of the side substrate transport openings being coupled to a respective processing module, and communicating with the substrate transport chamber (FIG. 50);
the substrate transport arm is articulate to transport the substrate, held by the at least one substrate holder, in and out of the substrate transport chamber through the end and side substrate transport openings so that the end effector is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings (“Similarly, the fast exchange aspect of robot 3414 may be provided in any of the disclosed examples in any suitable combination.”);
wherein the substrate transport chamber has a side length to width aspect ratio that is a high aspect ratio of one of at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 such that one of the linearly elongated sides includes at least four juxtaposed side substrate transport openings (3:1 in FIG. 50; it is noted that, “Although seven tandem process modules are shown, more or less single or tandem process modules may be provided.”);
wherein the substrate transport arm includes a transmission system (movement of 3414 implies a transmission system; para. [0098]; “Similarly, the fast exchange aspect of robot 3414 may be provided in any of the disclosed examples in any suitable combination.”) that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm to each of the side substrate transport openings of the at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 high aspect ratio arrangements of the linearly elongated substrate transport chamber (FIG. 50);
Claim 4: wherein the end wall is dimensioned to accept alongside, two side by side load lock or other process modules placed proximately adjacent each other on a common level and commonly facing the end wall (3404);
Claim 6: wherein the process module linear array provides at least six process module substrate holding stations distributed along the at least one linearly elongated side at a substantially common level, and each of the substrate holding stations is accessed with the common end effector of the substrate transport arm through the corresponding side transport openings (FIG. 50);
Claim 7: at least one load lock or other process module communicating with the substrate transport chamber via the end substrate transport opening (3404);
Claim 8: wherein another of the linearly elongated sides opposite the at least one linearly elongated side of the substrate transport chamber has at least one other side substrate transport opening, and the substrate transport arm is configured to transport the substrate, held by the at least one substrate holder, in and out of the substrate transport chamber through the end, side, and other side substrate transport openings so that the end effector is common to each of the end, side and other substrate transport openings respectively disposed in the end wall, linearly elongated side and linearly elongated opposite side of the substrate transport chamber (FIG. 50);
Claim 9: wherein the linearly elongated opposite side of the substrate transport chamber has more than one of the other side substrate transport openings, linearly arrayed along the opposite side, and wherein the end effector is common to each of the other side substrate transport openings (FIG. 50);
Claim 10: a drive section (see US 2014/0205416 (“Hosek”) that is incorporated by reference in Hofmeister, for example FIG. 23 of Hosek; there are no drive details in Hofmeister, only those incorporated by reference in Hofmeister) connected to the substrate transport chamber (of Hofmeister50) and having a drive spindle (Hosek, 390) operably coupled to the substrate transport arm and defining at least two degrees of freedom, effecting articulation of the substrate transport arm, and the drive spindle is located so its axis of rotation is substantially coincident with the pivot axis (Hosek, 398/400/402 coaxial);
Claim 11: wherein the at least one substrate holder of the end effector comprises more than one substrate holders disposed on the end effector and arranged so that the end effector extends or retracts the more than one substrate holders substantially simultaneously through more than one of the linearly arrayed side substrate transport openings with a common end effector motion (FIG. 50; para. [0098]);
Claim 12: wherein the end effector is a first end effector, and the substrate transport arm has a second end effector dependent from a common forearm link of the substrate transport arm with the first end effector so that the first and second end effectors pivot relative to the forearm about a common rotation axis, wherein the second end effector is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings (FIG. 50; para. [0098]);
Claim 35: providing a linearly elongated substrate transport chamber having two linearly elongated sides extending in a lateral direction (FIG. 50, 3408), and at least one end wall of the substrate transport chamber has an end substrate transport opening (3410), at least one of the linearly elongated sides having a linear array of side substrate transport openings, each opening of the end and side substrate transport openings being arranged for transferring a substrate there through in and out of the substrate transport chamber;
providing at least one of the linearly elongated sides with a linear array of at least four side substrate transport openings connected thereto, the at least four side substrate transport openings being spaced apart from one another in the lateral direction, each of the side transport openings being coupled to a respective processing module, and communicating with the substrate transport chamber (FIG. 50);
articulating the substrate transport arm to transport the substrate, held by the at least one substrate holder, in and out of the substrate transport chamber through the end and side substrate transport openings so that the end effector is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings (para. [0098]; “Similarly, the fast exchange aspect of robot 3414 may be provided in any of the disclosed examples in any suitable combination.”);
wherein the substrate transport chamber has a side length to width aspect ratio that is a high aspect ratio of one of at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 such that the at least one of the linearly elongated sides includes the at least four side substrate transport openings (3:1 in FIG. 50; it is noted that, “Although seven tandem process modules are shown, more or less single or tandem process modules may be provided.”), and the substrate transport arm includes a transmission system (movement of 3414 implies a transmission system; para. [0098]; “Similarly, the fast exchange aspect of robot 3414 may be provided in any of the disclosed examples in any suitable combination.”) that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm to each of the side substrate transport openings (FIG. 50);
Claim 69: wherein the at least four juxtaposed side substrate transport openings comprises four, five, or six juxtaposed side substrate transport openings (FIG. 50);
Claim 70: wherein the one of the linearly elongated sides includes four, five, or six respective juxtaposed side substrate transport openings and another of the linearly elongated sides includes four, five, or six respective juxtaposed side substrate transport openings (FIG. 50);
Claims 71 and 73: where the substrate transport chamber has a substantially hexahedron shape (FIG. 50).
Hofmeister50 does not directly show:
Claim 1: a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a shoulder pivot axis of the substrate transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the shoulder pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at an elbow pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at a wrist pivot axis, where:
each of the at least one end effector has at least one substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the wrist pivot axis and the at least one substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the shoulder pivot axis and the elbow pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the elbow pivot axis and the wrist pivot axis;
Claim 5: wherein the SCARA arm has three degrees of freedom and unequal length links, and the pivot axis defines a shoulder joint of the SCARA arm;
Claim 12: providing a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a shoulder pivot axis of the transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the shoulder pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at a forearm pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at an end effector pivot axis, where:
each of the at least one end effector has at least one substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the end effector pivot axis and the at least one substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the shoulder pivot axis and the forearm pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the forearm pivot axis and the end effector pivot axis;
Claim 13: wherein the first and second end effectors provide the substrate transport arm with a fast swap end effector that is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings;
Claim 26: wherein the substrate transport arm is a three degree of freedom transport arm.
Hofmeister1 shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a shoulder pivot axis of the substrate transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the shoulder pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at an elbow pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at a wrist pivot axis, where:
each of the at least one end effector has at least one substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the wrist pivot axis and the at least one substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the shoulder pivot axis and the elbow pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the elbow pivot axis and the wrist pivot axis;
Claim 5: wherein the SCARA arm has three degrees of freedom and unequal length links, and the pivot axis defines a shoulder joint of the SCARA arm (152/154 appear to be unequal);
Claim 12: providing a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a shoulder pivot axis of the transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the shoulder pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at a forearm pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at an end effector pivot axis, where:
each of the at least one end effector has at least one substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the end effector pivot axis and the at least one substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the shoulder pivot axis and the forearm pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the forearm pivot axis and the end effector pivot axis;
Claim 13: wherein the first and second end effectors provide the substrate transport arm with a fast swap end effector that is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings (para. [0066]);
Claim 26: wherein the substrate transport arm is a three degree of freedom transport arm;
(FIG. 1 shows the above structures at least at 152/154/156);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing footprint cost that is at a premium within a micro-electronics fabrication environment (para. [0005]). Also, it is disclosed in para. [0098] that, “Similarly, the fast exchange aspect of robot 3414 may be provided in any of the disclosed examples in any suitable combination.” This combination may be between FIG. 1 and 50 as disclosed in Hofmeister et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 as taught by Hofmeister1 and include Hofmeister1’s similar device having:
Claim 1: a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a shoulder pivot axis of the substrate transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the shoulder pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at an elbow pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at a wrist pivot axis, where:
each of the at least one end effector has at least one substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the wrist pivot axis and the at least one substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the shoulder pivot axis and the elbow pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the elbow pivot axis and the wrist pivot axis;
Claim 5: wherein the SCARA arm has three degrees of freedom and unequal length links, and the pivot axis defines a shoulder joint of the SCARA arm;
Claim 12: providing a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a shoulder pivot axis of the transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the shoulder pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at a forearm pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at an end effector pivot axis, where:
each of the at least one end effector has at least one substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the end effector pivot axis and the at least one substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the shoulder pivot axis and the forearm pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the forearm pivot axis and the end effector pivot axis;
Claim 13: wherein the first and second end effectors provide the substrate transport arm with a fast swap end effector that is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings;
Claim 26: wherein the substrate transport arm is a three degree of freedom transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing footprint cost that is at a premium within a micro-electronics fabrication environment.
Claims 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister50 in view of Hofmeister1 and Snow (US 6,354,167). Hofmeister50 discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Hofmeister50 does not directly show:
Claim 23: wherein the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member disposed on the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the pivot axis in an substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the drive spindle;
Claim 24: wherein the configuration and weight of the ballast weight member is further defined based on fit within the compact footprint of the substrate transport arm.
Snow shows a similar device having:
Claim 23: wherein the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member (FIG. 1, 26) disposed on the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the pivot axis in an substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the drive spindle (column 4, lines 6-17; deflection of the substrate transport arm in a direction normal to the movement plane does not change as it pivots around the pivot axis);
Claim 24: wherein the configuration and weight of the ballast weight member is further defined based on fit within the compact footprint of the substrate transport arm (column 4, lines 6-17; deflection of the substrate transport arm in a direction normal to the movement plane does not change as it pivots around the pivot axis);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing accuracy of the end effector movement (column 2, lines 26-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 and Hofmeister1 as taught by Snow and include Snow’s similar device having:
Claim 23: wherein the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member disposed on the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the pivot axis in an substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the drive spindle;
Claim 24: wherein the configuration and weight of the ballast weight member is further defined based on fit within the compact footprint of the substrate transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing accuracy of the end effector movement.
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister50 in view of Hofmeister1 and Hofmeister et al. (US 2005/0105991, alternative embodiments) (“HofmeisterAE”). Hofmeister50 discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Hofmeister50 does not directly show:
Claim 14: wherein the linearly elongated sides have a selectably variable length wherein the sides of the substrate transport chamber are selectable between different lengths and define a selectably variable configuration of the substrate transport chamber;
Claim 15: wherein the selectably variable configuration of the substrate transport chamber is selectable between a configuration where the side length to width aspect ratio varies from high aspect ratio to unity aspect ratio, and wherein the substrate transport arm is common to each selectable configuration of the substrate transport chamber.
HofmeisterAE shows a similar device having:
Claim 14: wherein the linearly elongated sides have a selectably variable length (transport chamber 3014 is capable of being provided with any desired length; paragraph (0085]) wherein the sides of the substrate transport chamber are selectable between different lengths and define a selectably variable configuration of the substrate transport chamber (multiple modules (forming the sides of the substrate transport chamber) of any desired number and different lengths are arranged to from the transport chamber 3104; paragraphs [0085], [0086]);
Claim 15: wherein the selectably variable configuration of the substrate transport chamber is selectable between a configuration where the side length to width aspect ratio varies (multiple modules of any desired number and different lengths are arranged to from the transport chamber 3104, i.e. side length to width aspect ratio varies; paragraphs [0085], [0086]), and wherein the substrate transport arm is common to each selectable configuration of the substrate transport chamber (SCARA type arm of the cart 3229 Is used to pick and place substrates from the transport chamber 3104 of any length; paragraphs [0085], [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hofmeister50's substrate transport chamber to Incorporate HofmeisterAE's substrate transport chamber comprising selectably variable configuration selectable between a configuration where the side length to width aspect ratio varies from high aspect ratio to unity aspect ratio with a reasonable expectation of success, because as HofmeisterAE discloses the substrate transport chamber comprising selectably variable configuration permits increasing the dimensions of the substrate transport chamber to a desired length (HofmeisterAE; paragraphs [0085], (0086]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 as taught by HofmeisterAE and include HofmeisterAE’s similar device having:
Claim 14: wherein the linearly elongated sides have a selectably variable length wherein the sides of the substrate transport chamber are selectable between different lengths and define a selectably variable configuration of the substrate transport chamber;
Claim 15: wherein the selectably variable configuration of the substrate transport chamber is selectable between a configuration where the side length to width aspect ratio varies from high aspect ratio to unity aspect ratio, and wherein the substrate transport arm is common to each selectable configuration of the substrate transport chamber;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the dimensions of the substrate transport chamber to a desired length.
Claims 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister50 in view of Hofmeister1, Snow, and Lindholm et al. (US 4,695,027) (“Lindholm”). Hofmeister50 discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above; and
Claim 16: wherein the substrate transport arm has a compact footprint for a predetermined maximum reach of the substrate transport arm (FIG. 50).
Hofmeister50 does not directly show:
Claim 16: wherein the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member disposed on the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the pivot axis in an substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the pivot axis, and on fit within the compact footprint of the substrate transport arm;
Claim 17: wherein the ballast weight member is fixedly mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm at a fixed location relative to the pivot axis;
Claim 18: wherein the ballast weight member is movably mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm so as to be disposed at different locations, on the frame, towards and away from the pivot axis;
Claim 19: wherein the ballast weight member is movably mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm so as to move relative to the frame, away and towards the pivot axis, in complement with extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm;
Claim 20: wherein the ballast weight member is moved relative to the substrate transport arm frame by at least one drive axis of a drive section operably coupled to the substrate transport arm and effecting articulation of the substrate transport arm;
Claim 21: wherein the at least one drive axis effects the movement of the ballast weight member away and towards the pivot axis and effects extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm so that the at least one drive axis is a common drive axis for motion of the ballast weight member and extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm.
Snow shows a similar device having:
Claim 16: wherein the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member (FIG. 1, 26) disposed on the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the pivot axis in an substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the pivot axis, and on fit within the compact footprint of the substrate transport arm (column 4, lines 6-17; deflection of the substrate transport arm in a direction normal to the movement plane does not change as it pivots around the pivot axis);
Claim 17: wherein the ballast weight member is fixedly mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm at a fixed location relative to the pivot axis (mounted as claimed in FIG. 1);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing accuracy of the end effector movement (column 2, lines 26-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 and Hofmeister1 as taught by Snow and include Snow’s similar device having:
Claim 16: wherein the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member disposed on the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the pivot axis in a substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the pivot axis, and on fit within the compact footprint of the substrate transport arm;
Claim 17: wherein the ballast weight member is fixedly mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm at a fixed location relative to the pivot axis;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing accuracy of the end effector movement.
Lindholm shows a similar device having:
Claim 18: wherein the ballast weight member (FIG. 2, 16) is movably mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm so as to be disposed at different locations, on the frame, towards and away from the pivot axis (near 12);
Claim 19: wherein the ballast weight member is movably mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm so as to move relative to the frame, away and towards the pivot axis, in complement with extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm (FIG. 2);
Claim 20: wherein the ballast weight member is moved relative to the substrate transport arm frame by at least one drive axis of a drive section operably coupled to the substrate transport arm and effecting articulation of the substrate transport arm (FIG. 2; the movements of the substrate transport arm and the ballast weight member are capable of being synchronized);
Claim 21: wherein the at least one drive axis effects the movement of the ballast weight member away and towards the pivot axis and effects extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm so that the at least one drive axis is a common drive axis for motion of the ballast weight member and extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm (FIG. 2; the extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm and the ballast weight member movement are capable of being synchronized);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of minimally deforming the frame of the substrate transport arm to minimize the maintenance intervals of the apparatus (column 2, lines 22-36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50, Hofmeister1, and Snow as taught by Lindholm and include Lindholm’s similar device having:
Claim 18: wherein the ballast weight member is movably mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm so as to be disposed at different locations, on the frame, towards and away from the pivot axis;
Claim 19: wherein the ballast weight member is movably mounted to a frame of the substrate transport arm so as to move relative to the frame, away and towards the pivot axis, in complement with extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm;
Claim 20: wherein the ballast weight member is moved relative to the substrate transport arm frame by at least one drive axis of a drive section operably coupled to the substrate transport arm and effecting articulation of the substrate transport arm;
Claim 21: wherein the at least one drive axis effects the movement of the ballast weight member away and towards the pivot axis and effects extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm so that the at least one drive axis is a common drive axis for motion of the ballast weight member and extension and retraction of the substrate transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of minimally deforming the frame of the substrate transport arm to minimize the maintenance intervals of the apparatus.
Claims 27-34 and 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister50 in view of Hofmeister1, Snow, and Gilchrist (US 2015/0128749).
“Hofmeister” (without a number suffix) denotes all embodiments of Hofmeister et al.
Hofmeister50 discloses:
Claim 27: a linearly elongated substrate transport chamber having a side length to width aspect ratio that is a high aspect ratio of at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 (3:1 in FIG. 50; it is noted that, “Although seven tandem process modules are shown, more or less single or tandem process modules may be provided.”), two linearly elongated sides of the substrate transport chamber extending in a lateral direction (FIG. 50, 3408), and at least one end wall of the substrate transport chamber having an end substrate transport opening (3410), at least one of the linearly elongated sides having connected thereto a linear array of at least four side substrate transport openings that are spaced apart from one another in a lateral direction (3404), each opening of the end and side substrate transport openings being arranged for transferring a substrate there through in and out of the substrate transport chamber where each of the side substrate transport openings is coupled to a respective processing module, and communicating with the substrate transport chamber (FIG. 50);
a drive section (see US 2014/0205416 (“Hosek”) that is incorporated by reference in Hofmeister, for example FIG. 23 of Hosek; there are no drive details in Hofmeister, only those incorporated by reference in Hofmeister), connected to the substrate transport chamber (of Hofmeister50), and having a drive spindle (Hosek, 390), comprising co-axial drive shafts defining at least two degrees of freedom, rotating about a common axis (Hosek, 398/400/402 coaxial);
wherein: the substrate transport arm includes a transmission system that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm to each of the side substrate transport openings;
Claim 28: wherein a side substrate transport opening, from the linear array of side substrate transport openings, disposed proximate another end of the substrate transport chamber opposite the at least one end wall, is oriented so that a corresponding axis of substrate holder motion through the side substrate transport opening proximate the opposite end is substantially orthogonal to another axis of substrate holder motion through the end substrate transport opening of the at least one end wall (FIG. 50);
Claim 29: wherein the substrate transport arm is articulate to transport the substrate on the substrate holder in and out of the substrate transport chamber through the end and side substrate transport openings so that the end effector is common to each of the end and side substrate transport openings (FIG. 50);
Claim 30: wherein each of the side substrate transport openings has corresponding axis of substrate holder motion through each side substrate transport opening, each of the axis of substrate holder motion of the linear array of side substrate transport openings extending substantially parallel with each other respectively through each substrate transport opening (FIG. 50);
Claim 31: wherein the substrate transport arm has a compact footprint for a predetermined maximum reach of the substrate transport arm, and the substrate transport chamber has a side length to width aspect ratio that is a high aspect ratio, and the width is compact with respect to a footprint of the substrate transport arm (FIG. 50);
Claim 32: wherein the at least one end wall of the substrate transport chamber is substantially orthogonal to the linearly elongated sides of the substrate transport chamber (FIG. 50);
Claim 34: wherein the coaxial drive shafts provide the substrate transport arm with three degrees of freedom (at least one of paragraphs [0099]-[0109]);
Claim 72: where the substrate transport chamber has a substantially hexahedron shape (FIG. 50).
Hofmeister50 does not directly show:
Claim 27: a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a substrate arm pivot axis of the substrate transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber substantially coincident with the common axis of the drive spindle, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link (3420; para. [0098]) having the substrate arm pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at a forearm pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at an end effector pivot axis, where;
each of the at least one end effector has a substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the end effector pivot axis and the substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the substrate arm pivot axis and the forearm pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the forearm pivot axis and the end effector pivot axis;
the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member disposed on only one link of the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the common axis of the drive spindle in a substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on at least the high aspect ratio of at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 of the substrate transport chamber so as to balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the drive spindle and balance the substrate transport arm in its entirety;
Claim 33: wherein the substrate transport arm includes a split band transmission system that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm.
Hofmeister1 shows a similar device having:
Claim 27: a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a substrate arm pivot axis of the substrate transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber substantially coincident with the common axis of the drive spindle, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the substrate arm pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at a forearm pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at an end effector pivot axis, where;
each of the at least one end effector has a substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the end effector pivot axis and the substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the substrate arm pivot axis and the forearm pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the forearm pivot axis and the end effector pivot axis;
(FIG. 1 shows the above structures at least at 152/154/156);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing footprint cost that is at a premium within a micro-electronics fabrication environment (para. [0005]). Also, it is disclosed in para. [0098] that, “Similarly, the fast exchange aspect of robot 3414 may be provided in any of the disclosed examples in any suitable combination.” This combination may be between FIG. 1 and 50 as disclosed in Hofmeister et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 as taught by Hofmeister1 and include Hofmeister1’s similar device having:
Claim 27: a substrate transport arm pivotally mounted within the substrate transport chamber so that a substrate arm pivot axis of the substrate transport arm is mounted fixed relative to the substrate transport chamber substantially coincident with the common axis of the drive spindle, the substrate transport arm having an upper arm link having the substrate arm pivot axis,
a forearm link rotatably coupled to the upper arm link at a forearm pivot axis and at least one end effector rotatably coupled to the forearm link at an end effector pivot axis, where;
each of the at least one end effector has a substrate holder where the end effector has a unitary structure without rotating joints between the end effector pivot axis and the substrate holder,
the upper arm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the substrate arm pivot axis and the forearm pivot axis,
the forearm link is a unitary structure without rotating joints between the forearm pivot axis and the end effector pivot axis;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing footprint cost that is at a premium within a micro-electronics fabrication environment.
Snow shows a similar device having:
Claim 27: the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member (FIG. 1, 26) disposed on only one link of the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the common axis of the drive spindle in a substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on at least the high aspect ratio of at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 of the substrate transport chamber so as to balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the drive spindle (column 4, lines 6-17; deflection of the substrate transport arm in a direction normal to the movement plane does not change as it pivots around the pivot axis for different lengths of the substrate transport arm) and balance the substrate transport arm in its entirety (intended use; the arm droop moment is effected in its entirety by the mere (obvious) presence of the balance ballast weight member);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing accuracy of the end effector movement (column 2, lines 26-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 and Hofmeister1 as taught by Snow and include Snow’s similar device having:
Claim 27: the substrate transport arm has a balance ballast weight member disposed on only one link of the substrate transport arm so as to extend from the common axis of the drive spindle in a substantially opposite direction from an extension direction of the substrate transport arm, and with a configuration and weight defined based on at least the high aspect ratio of at least about 3:1 and less than about 4:1 of the substrate transport chamber so as to balance of substrate transport arm droop moment on the drive spindle and balance the substrate transport arm in its entirety.
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing accuracy of the end effector movement.
Gilchrist shows a similar device having:
Claim 33: wherein the substrate transport arm includes a split band transmission system (350, 351) that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the life span of the bands (paragraph [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50, Hofmeister50, and Snow as taught by Gilchrist and include Gilchrist’s similar device having:
Claim 33: wherein the substrate transport arm includes a split band transmission system that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the life span of the bands.
Claims 2 and 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister50 in view of Hofmeister1 and Gilchrist. Hofmeister50 discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Hofmeister50 does not directly show:
Claims 2 and 70: wherein the substrate transport arm includes a split band transmission system that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm.
Gilchrist shows a similar device having:
Claims 2 and 70: wherein the substrate transport arm includes a split band transmission system (350, 351) that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the life span of the bands (paragraph [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hofmeister50 and Hofmeister50 as taught by Gilchrist and include Gilchrist’s similar device having:
Claims 2 and 70: wherein the substrate transport arm includes a split band transmission system that effects articulation of the substrate transport arm;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the life span of the bands.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 11-16, filed 9 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-21, 23-24, 26-35, 69, and 69-73 under Hofmeister have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hofmeister50 and Hofmeister1 (et alia).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652