DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2010/124899 to Canonico (as evidenced by the machine translation of the priority document ITMI20090730A1) in view of EP-3101170 to Rogge, US Pub No. 2013/0197664 to Ballard and US Pub No. 2011/0004997 to Hale.
Regarding Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9 and 15-20
Canonico discloses a carrier layer comprising a woven monofilament fabric (Canonico, page 2, lines 15-16) and an electrospun membrane arranged on the carrier, which necessarily results in fibers lying one above the other, forming a pore structure (Id., page 2, lines 17-19). Canonico teaches that the layers are bonded together (Id., Page 2, lines 22-25. See also page 9, line 24 to page 10, line 3). Canonico also discloses a plasma treatment applied to the woven monofilament fabric carrier layer (Id., Page 10, lines 4-7). Canonico discloses that the carrier layer is fixedly connected to the membrane (Id., page 10, lines 1-3). Canonico teaches that the membrane is arranged between two carrier layers (Id., page 2, line 32, claim 5, see machine translation paragraph [0016]).
Canonico teaches that the composite structure can be formed as a barrier against the penetration of microorganisms (Id.). Canonico teaches that the air permeability is at least 10 l/m2*s (Id., fig. 5). Canonico teaches that the yarn diameter may be within a range of 30 to 150 micrometers such as approximately 30 micrometers and a mesh opening below 300 micrometers such as approximately 30 micrometers (Id., fig. 9). Canonico teaches that there may be one or more electrospun layers (Id., page 2, lines 10-16).
Canonico does not disclose a plasma coating applied to the electrospun membrane layer and the woven monofilament fabric after forming the. However, Rogge teaches a method for modifying the surface of a membrane by plasma treatment (Rogge, abstract). The method imparts water-repellent properties to said membrane, which can be a woven fabric, non-woven fabric or multilayer laminate of several layers of said fabrics (Id., paragraph [0032]-[0033]), The plasma process may be provided according to the PECVD method (Id., paragraph [0045]). Rogge teaches that the plasma coating is formed from a material with hydrophobic and/or oleophobic properties and may be of the claimed compounds such as polysiloxane (Id., paragraphs [0008], [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the composite of Canonico and to apply a plasma coating to the bonded combination of the electrospun membrane layers and woven carrier layers as taught by Rogge, motivated to add a plasma coating to the fabric composite to impart hydrophobic and oleophobic properties in a well-known manner according to a well-known technique, and with an expectation of success.
Canonico teaches that the membrane prevents passage of particles having a size of 1-2 microns but does not appear to specifically teach that the maximum pore size is between 0.1 micrometers and 0.4 micrometers. However, Ballard teaches a multilayer fabric membrane comprising one or more electrospun membrane layers having a pore size which may be below 0.2 or below 0.3 micrometers, which overlaps the claimed range of between 0.1 and 0.4 micrometers (Ballard, abstract, paragraph [0170], [0218]). Ballard teaches this pore size inhibits cell growth and removes dust, pollen, mold and bacteria (Id., paragraph [0201]). Ballard teaches that the pore size may be in the form of a gradient wherein two layers may possess differing pore sizes which improves efficiency for optimal filtration performance (Id., paragraphs [0146], [0148], [0155], [0159]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the fabric composite of Canonico and to utilize a pore size such as within the claimed range and gradient, as taught by Ballard, motivated by the desire to form a conventional composite fabric filtering means having improved cell, microbial and bacterial barrier characteristics, with improved efficiency and performance.
Canonico teaches that the fabric composite is useful in applications such as filtering means or media, for filtering liquid and air; protective and barrier fabric materials (in sanitary, military, cloth article applications and so on) (Canonico, page 7) but does not disclose a seam provided at a surrounding edge of the protective vent, wherein the seam frames the protective vent. However, Hale teaches a bedding product comprising a core and a vent component which allows airflow into and out of the interior space (Hale, abstract). Hale teaches that the vent component comprises a seam formed by welding which provides a secure attachment to prevent removal of the vent either by accidental or intentional tampering (Id., paragraphs [0027]-[0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the fabric composite of Canonico and to include a seam component as taught by Hale, motivated by the desire to form a conventional composite fabric filtering means which is securely fastened to a functional substrate to fully practice the invention of Canonico and its applications.
Regarding the limitations of “by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition” and “is applied after forming the bonding,” these limitations are product by process limitations. Absent a showing to the contrary, it is Examiner's position that the article of the applied prior art is identical to or only slightly different than the claimed article. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to Applicant to show unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The applied prior art either anticipated or strongly suggested the claimed subject matter. It is noted that if Applicant intends to rely on Examples in the specification or in a submitted declaration to show unobviousness, Applicant should clearly state how the Examples of the present invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the Comparative Examples are commensurate in scope with the applied prior art.
Regarding Claim 9
Regarding the limitations of the product being a bedding product, this limitation is an intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canonico in view of Rogge, Ballard and Hale as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-9 and 15-20 above, in view of US Pub No. 2004/0255783 to Graham.
Regarding Claim 20
The prior art combination does not specifically teach that the second carrier layer may be a non-woven of different material. However, Graham teaches a high efficiency filter comprising an electrospun nanofiber layer and a substrate layer, wherein the substrate layer may be either woven or non-woven (Graham, abstract, paragraph [0074]- [0079]). Graham teaches that the substrate that the non-woven substrate comprises coated or uncoated glass fiber and allows less than 5% particle penetration, and when fiberglass is used high efficiency and robust mechanical stability is achieved (Id., claim 3, paragraph [0018]). Graham teaches that utilizing the substrate layer in combination with additional substrate layers improves the efficiency of the filter (Id., paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the composite fabric of the prior art combination and to include as the second carrier layer, the non-woven substrate layer of Graham, motivated by the desire to form a composite fabric utilizing demonstrably suitable carrier layers for filtration devices, and possessing improved efficiency, strength and filtration properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786