The amendment filed November 11, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner (US 2017/0251713) in view of Nystrom (US 2017/0334137) and Susnjara (US 2018/0056602).
Claim 1: Warner discloses an additive manufacturing machine (abstract) for a fused deposition process in which deposition material layers are layered upon a mold base along a path and successively on one another (fig. 7; ¶¶ 23, 66, 112). The machine includes an extruder arm moveable along the path and having an end plate (fig. 7); an extruder end-effector carried by the arm including an extruder screw (fig. 7; ¶¶ 23, 26, 112); a nozzle positioned at an end of the extruder screw (¶ 26); and a motor for driving the heated extruder screw to feed the deposition material out of the nozzle (fig. 7; ¶¶ 104-106).
Warner is silent as to having a heater unit having a plurality of heating elements surrounding the nozzle and configured and arranged to direct radiant heat energy towards deposition material layers on the mold base; and a controller configured to selectively energize each of the plurality of heating elements separately such that the radiant heat energy is generated only by particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along the path such that a region of a prior layer on which a current layer is to be deposited is heated just prior to the melted deposition material being deposited, the controller further configured to vary a power used to energize the individual heating elements based on at least one of speed and direction of the extruder arm along the path. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nystrom discloses an additive manufacturing machine including a nozzle and motor and a heater unit (120’) having a plurality of heating elements (164) surrounding the nozzle and configured and arranged to direct radiant heat energy towards deposition material layers on the mold base (fig. 3; ¶¶ 45-46, 49); and a controller configured to selectively energize each of the plurality of heating elements separately such that the radiant heat energy is generated only by particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along the path such that a region of a prior layer on which a current layer is to be deposited is heated just prior to the melted deposition material being deposited (¶¶ 46, 49; fig. 3), the controller further configured to vary a power used to energize the individual heating elements based on at least one of speed and direction of the extruder arm along the path (¶ 45). As taught by Nystrom, by heating only those particular heating elements positioned in front or ahead of the nozzle, the heater saves energy (¶ 46), and improves adhesion between layers (¶ 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the heater of Nystrom in the machine of Warner to heat only those particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle, so that the heater saves energy and improves adhesion.
Warner is also silent as to the extruder screw being heated and configured to melt granular deposition material. However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing machines for a fused deposition process (¶¶ 3, 32; figs. 1-4), Susnjara discloses a heated extruder screw configured to melt granular deposition material (¶¶ 35-37; claims 11-14). As taught by Susnjara, utilizing a heated extruder screw allows the granular material to be melted and delivered to the nozzle where a deposited bead of material can remain relatively consistent and dimensionally stable throughout the application process (¶¶ 35-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have heated the extruder screw of Warner to melt the granular material and deposit consistent and dimensionally stable material throughout the application process.
Claim 2: Nystrom discloses the controller is configured to energize each of the plurality of heating elements at different power levels (fig. 7; ¶ 45; “the actuator 122 selectively operates only the heating elements 164 positioned along the direction A”, thus each of the heating elements in the A direction are energized at a higher power level than each of the heating elements in the direction opposite of A which are receiving no power).
Claim 3: Nystrom discloses the plurality of heating elements being arranged in a circular array, the circular array defining a center point (fig. 3).
Claim 4: Nystrom discloses the nozzle being coincident with the center point (fig. 3).
Claims 5, 11 and 18: Modified Warner is silent as to the claimed shape of the array. However, Nystrom discloses that although the heater depicted in the figures is in a circular shape “[i]n other embodiments, the heater 120 can have other shapes” (¶ 44). Moreover, there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an apparatus without changing its function except in a design patent (see Eskimo Pie Corp. vs. Levous, 3 USPQ 23 and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the application date to have selected a rectangular array shape for the heaters of Nystrom because explicitly teaches that any shape that surrounds the material applicator would successfully heat the material, and a change of shape is well within the level of skill in the art.
Claim 6: Nystrom discloses the heater being mounted to the end plate such that the heater unit is situated between the end plate and the deposition material layers (figs. 1-3).
Claim 7: Nystrom discloses that each one of the plurality of heating elements is operable to direct the radiant heat energy toward the deposition layers independently of remaining ones of the plurality of heating elements (¶ 45).
Claim 8: Warner discloses an additive manufacturing machine (abstract) for a fused deposition process in which deposition material layers are layered upon a mold base and successively on one another (fig. 7; ¶¶ 23, 66, 112). The machine includes an extruder arm having an end plate (fig. 7); an extruder end-effector carried by the arm including an extruder screw (¶¶ 23, 26); a nozzle positioned at an end of the screw (¶ 26); a motor for driving the heated extruder screw to feed deposition material out of the nozzle (¶¶ 104-106); and a heater unit mounted to the extruder arm (333; fig. 7).
Warner is silent as to the heater including a plurality of heating element operable to direct radiant heat energy towards the deposition material layers independently of the remaining ones of the plurality of heating elements; and a controller configured to energize selected ones of the plurality of heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along a path of the material layers at a variable power level such that a region of a prior material layer on which a current layer is to be deposited is heated just prior to the deposition material being deposited. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nystrom discloses an additive manufacturing machine including a nozzle and motor and a heater unit (120’) having a plurality of heating elements (164) surrounding the nozzle and configured and arranged to direct radiant heat energy towards deposition material layers on the mold base (fig. 3; ¶ 45); and a controller configured to selectively energize each of the plurality of heating elements separately such that the radiant heat energy is generated only by particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along the path such that a region of a prior layer on which a current layer is to be deposited is heated just prior to the melted deposition material being deposited (¶¶ 46, 49; fig. 3), the controller further configured to vary a power used to energize the individual heating elements based on at least one of speed and direction of the extruder arm along the path (¶ 45). As taught by Nystrom, by heating only those particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle, the heater saves energy (¶ 46), and improves adhesion between layers (¶ 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the heater of Nystrom in the machine of Warner to heat only those particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle to save energy and improve adhesion.
Warner is also silent as to the extruder screw being heated and configured to melt granular deposition material. However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing machines for a fused deposition process (¶¶ 3, 32; figs. 1-4), Susnjara discloses a heated extruder screw configured to melt granular deposition material (¶¶ 35-37; claims 11-14). As taught by Susnjara, utilizing a heated extruder screw allows the granular material to be melted and delivered to the nozzle where a deposited bead of material can remain relatively consistent and dimensionally stable throughout the application process (¶¶ 35-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have heated the extruder screw of Warner to melt the granular material and deposit consistent and dimensionally stable material throughout the application process.
Claim 9: Nystrom discloses the plurality of heating elements being arranged in a circular array, the circular array defining a center point (fig. 3).
Claim 10: Nystrom discloses the nozzle being coincident with the center point (fig. 3).
Claim 12: Warner discloses the extruder arm including an end plate (fig. 7).
Claim 13: Nystrom and Warner disclose the heater unit being mounted to the end plate such that the heater unit is situated between the end plate and the deposition layers (figs. 3 and 7, respectively).
Claim 14: Warner discloses a method for forming an object using an additive manufacturing machine having an extruder arm having an end plate (fig. 7); an extruder end-effector carried by the arm including an extruder screw (¶¶ 23, 26); a nozzle positioned at an end of the screw (¶ 26); a motor (¶¶ 104-106); and a heater unit mounted to the extruder arm (333; fig. 7). The method includes depositing a first layer along a path having a changing direction using the extruder end-effector (fig. 7; ¶ 75); depositing a second layer using the extruder end-effector on top of the heated region of the first layer (¶ 75).
Warner is silent as to the heater unit having an array of individual heating elements surrounding the nozzle, wherein the step of depositing the second layer includes a step of energizing at least one of the individual heating elements that is positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along the path such that a region of the first layer is heated just prior to the melted deposition material being deposited on top of the first layer, and varying a power used to energize the individual heating elements based on at least one of speed and direction of the extruder end-effector along the path. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nystrom discloses an additive manufacturing machine including a nozzle and motor and a heater unit (120’) having a plurality of heating elements (164) surrounding the nozzle and configured and arranged to direct radiant heat energy towards deposition material layers on the mold base (fig. 3; ¶ 45); and selectively energizing each of the plurality of heating elements separately such that the radiant heat energy is generated only by particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along the path such that a region of a prior layer on which a current layer is to be deposited is heated just prior to the melted deposition material being deposited (¶¶ 46, 49), and varying a power used to energize the individual heating elements based on at least one of speed and direction of the extruder arm along the path (¶ 45). As taught by Nystrom, by heating only those particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle, the heater saves energy (¶ 46), and improves adhesion between layers (¶ 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the heater of Nystrom in the machine of Warner to heat only those particular heating elements positioned in front of the nozzle, so that the heater saves energy and improves layer adhesion.
Warner is also silent as to the extruder screw being heated and configured to melt granular deposition material. However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing machines for a fused deposition process (¶¶ 3, 32; figs. 1-4), Susnjara discloses a heated extruder screw configured to melt granular deposition material (¶¶ 35-37; claims 11-14). As taught by Susnjara, utilizing a heated extruder screw allows the granular material to be melted and delivered to the nozzle where a deposited bead of material can remain relatively consistent and dimensionally stable throughout the application process (¶¶ 35-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have heated the extruder screw of Warner to melt the granular material and deposit consistent and dimensionally stable material throughout the application process.
Claim 15: Nystrom discloses the step of energizing at least one of the individual heating elements to heat the region of the first layer includes a step of energizing at least two of the individual heating elements of the heater unit that are positioned in front of the nozzle in a direction of travel along the path to direct radiant heat energy towards the first layer, and wherein each of the elements are energized at different power levels (fig. 7; ¶ 45; “the actuator 122 selectively operates only the heating elements 164 positioned along the direction A”, thus each of the heating elements in the A direction are energized at a higher power level than each of the heating elements in the direction opposite of A which are receiving no power).
Claim 16: Nystrom discloses energizing at least one of the heating elements to heat the region of the first layer using at least one of the circular array elements (fig. 3; ¶ 45).
Claim 17: Nystrom discloses depositing the first and second layers using the nozzle that is coincident with the center point (fig. 3).
Claim 19: Nystrom discloses varying a power used to energize the individual heating elements includes modulating power intensity applied to each heating element independently from one another (¶ 45).
Claim 20: Nystrom discloses the step of heating a region of the first layer using a heater unit carried by the extruder arm includes using a heater unit which comprises a plurality of heating elements, wherein each one of the plurality of heating elements is operable to direct said radiant heat energy (fig. 3; ¶ 45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that paragraph 45 of Nystrom heats elements positioned in front of and behind the nozzle. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Although paragraph 45 of Nystrom discloses heating elements in front of and behind the nozzle, paragraph 46 of Nystrom only heats elements in front of the nozzle to save energy, and paragraph 49 of Nystrom teaches that in all embodiments, the heater is configured to heat in front of the nozzle to improve interlayer adhesion. Taken together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that applying heat only in front of the nozzle would save energy and improve interlayer adhesion.
Applicant further argues that Nystrom does not disclose varying a power to energize the individual heating elements based on at least one of speed and direction. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Paragraph 45 teaches that the heating elements are either on or off depending on the direction of movement of material applicator 112. Thus, the power is varied (either on or off) based on direction, which is no less than is required by the claims.
Applicant further argues that Susnjara does not disclose a heated extruder screw. This argument has been considered but is also not persuasive. Susnjara teaches heating the screw in a variety of alternative ways, including by rotating the screw within the barrel, positioning a heater adjacent to the barrel, and/or positioning a heater outside the barrel. All of these methods result in a heated extruder screw.
Applicant finally argues that Nystrom does not disclose heating elements being arranged to have other shapes than those disclosed in figures 1B and 3. This argument has also been considered but is not persuasive. Nystrom teaches “[i]n other embodiments, the heater 120 can have other shapes” (¶ 44).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754