DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The 6/25/2025 and 10/24/2025 IDS documents have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
Regarding claims rejected under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments, in view of the amended claim language, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Epstein (US 2017/0262523 A1).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “network administration engine; domain knowledge datastore; IoT device demographics generation engine; IoT personality datastore; personality classification engine; signal correlation engine; new personality discovery engine; personality aware enrichment engine; and offline modeling engine” in claims 12-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-16, 21-22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devi Reddy (US 2017/0118240 A1), hereinafter “Reddy,” in view of Epstein (US 2017/0262523 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reddy discloses: A method comprising:
for a first device included in a plurality of Internet of Things (IoT) devices (e.g., FIG. 1 and [0032] of Reddy concerning client devices; as per [0132]-[0133] of Reddy, the client may be an IoT device):
identifying a context of the device in operation at least in part by analyzing packets sent to and from the device, determining a set of events associated with the device and occurring within a window, and aggregating a plurality of events within the window based on the identified context;
Refer to at least [0038]-[0056] and [0065]-[0066] of Reddy with respect to collecting raw data such as network traffic and DPI logs, aggregating the data, and timestamps and normalization associated with the context of the raw data.
performing common factor aggregation of enriched metadata derived from event parameters associated with the plurality of IoT devices to obtain aggregated metadata permutations, wherein the first device has at least a first behavior aggregation factor and a second behavior aggregation factor and wherein a second device included in the plurality of IoT devices has a third behavior aggregation factor that is different from the first and second behavior aggregation factors;
Refer to at least [0104], [0070]-[0071], [0105], and FIG. 7, of Reddy with respect to determining properties of identified entities and information such as the type and/or MAC address of the entity. Shared properties are identified and mapped.
Refer to at least FIG. 6 and [0060]-[0067] of Reddy with respect to data normalization.
using machine learning to obtain domain knowledge, including knowledge regarding at least one bad IoT personality, from a network administration engine, wherein a given personality includes one or more modelled behavior patterns, and wherein the bad IoT personality includes at least one modelled behavior pattern indicative of undesired behavior;
Refer to at least [0091], [0096], and [0058] of Reddy with respect to obtaining third-party and/or administrator-provided information of known security threats.
Refer to at least [0090] and [0113] of Reddy with respect to generating machine-learned models of the entities. Examples include behavior such as the range of IP addresses with which an entity communicates, as well as a learned type of the entity (user, device, role).
defining a personality, including data samples associated with the personality, using the aggregated metadata permutations obtained by performing the common factor aggregation, the domain knowledge, and prior personality data set feedback from a new personality profile discovery engine;
Refer to at least FIG. 5, FIG. 6, [0117], and [0113] of Reddy with respect to generating machine-learned models of the entities based on information from the previous steps.
classifying the personality using the data samples and IoT personality models, wherein the personality has a signal associated therewith; and
correlating the signal to reach a verdict and, when the personality is a bad personality, providing bad personality feedback associated with the personality to the network administration engine.
Refer to at least 540-570 in FIG. 5 and [0098] of Reddy with respect to determining a threat score and a resultant remedial action, such as alerting a user.
Refer to at least FIG. 6 and [0062] of Reddy with respect to feedback.
Reddy does not fully disclose: wherein classifying the personality includes identifying, and providing as output, that the first device is of a specific first model, wherein other devices of the specific first model share a set of tag labels that describe particular behaviors taken by devices of the specific first model, and wherein a given tag included in the set of tag labels indicates at least one of: (1) a particular operating system that devices of the specific first model run, or (2) a particular home server location that devices of the specific first model connect to. However, Reddy in view of Epstein discloses: wherein classifying the personality includes identifying, and providing as output, that the first device is of a specific first model,
Refer to at least [0014], [0023], and [0032] of Epstein with respect to outputting a name for device identification based on device signatures. For example, “ACME TV XT430” in FIG. 2 of Epstein.
wherein other devices of the specific first model share a set of tag labels that describe particular behaviors taken by devices of the specific first model,
Refer to at least FIG. 2, [0017], and [0019] of Epstein with respect to clustering device signatures (signature data as in [0015] and [0028] of Epstein), where clusters are associated with devices having the same device model. For example, cluster 38(2) in FIG. 2 of Epstein is associated with the device model “ACME TV XT430.”
and wherein a given tag included in the set of tag labels indicates at least one of: (1) a particular operating system that devices of the specific first model run, or (2) a particular home server location that devices of the specific first model connect to.
Refer to at least [0017], [0019], and [0028] of Epstein with respect to an operating system attribute as part of the signature clustering.
The teachings of Epstein likewise concern detecting security threats in a network and classifying network devices, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Reddy to further implement more specific device identification using device signature clustering as in Epstein for at least the purpose of improving classification accuracy and security enforcement (e.g., [0002] and [0013] of Epstein stating that “[f]or security and other reasons it is very useful to know the type, make and model of each connected device in the home in order to make appropriate decisions based on the device type, make and model”).
Regarding claim 2, Reddy-Epstein discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the personality is built by mathematically modeling a behavior pattern using the event parameters.
Refer to at least [0009] and [0030] of Reddy with respect to models of entity behavior.
Regarding claim 3, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (i.e., the citations concerning the raw data, normalization, relationships, and graph).
Regarding claim 4, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 1 and 3 above.
Regarding claim 5, Reddy-Epstein discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the aggregated metadata permutations are aggregated over a data rollup window that varies based on the context of the IoT device.
Refer to at least [0071]-[0072] and [0065]-[0066] of Reddy with respect to timeframes and timestamps associated with a context provided by device and network data.
Regarding claim 10, Reddy-Epstein discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising: computing a degree of risk of undesirable behavior; and generating a bad personality alert if the degree of risk of undesirable behavior exceeds an actionable intelligence threshold.
Refer to at least [0031] of Reddy with respect to a threshold for a threat score.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (e.g., [0091], [0096], and [0058] of Reddy).
Regarding independent claim 12, it is substantially similar to claim 1 above, and is therefore likewise rejected (i.e., see the citations).
Regarding claims 13-16 and 21-22, they are substantially similar to claims 2-5 and 10-11 above, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Regarding claim 25, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 1 above (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale; the cited portions of Epstein concerning the operating system as a signature attribute used for clustering).
Claim(s) 6-9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy-Epstein as applied to claims 1-5, 10-16, 21-22, and 25 above, and further in view of Sukhomlinov (US 2017/0180399 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Reddy-Epstein does not specify: further comprising: performing offline modeling using the data samples; and updating the IoT personality models with the offline modeling. However, Reddy-Epstein in view of Sukhomlinov discloses: further comprising: performing offline modeling using the data samples; and updating the IoT personality models with the offline modeling.
Refer to at least [0022], [0032], and [0056] of Sukhomlinov with respect to online or offline model creation and updating.
The teachings of Reddy-Epstein and Sukhomlinov concern machine learning and behavioral modeling, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Reddy-Epstein to further include offline modeling because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time (e.g., as per the cited portions of Sukhomlinov concerning online and offline creation/updating).
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 1 and 6 above (i.e., the citations and obviousness rationale).
Regarding claim 8, Reddy-Epstein-Sukhomlinov discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising: recognizing behavior patterns of the IoT device using either or both learned state-transition learning and deep learning.
Refer to at least [0056] of Sukhomlinov with respect to model training and states.
This claim would have been obvious for substantially the same reasons as claim 6 (i.e., substitution of known-in-the-art machine learning techniques and technologies).
Regarding claim 9, Reddy-Epstein-Sukhomlinov discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising: recognizing behavior patterns of the IoT device using either or both a neural network graph of past behavior patterns of the IoT device recognized using deep learning and a state transition graph of the past behavior patterns of the IoT device recognized using learned state-transition learning.
Refer to at least [0040]-[0041] and [0056] of Sukhomlinov with respect to neural networks and algorithms.
This claim would have been obvious for substantially the same reasons as claim 6 (i.e., substitution of known-in-the-art machine learning techniques and technologies).
Regarding claims 17-20, they are substantially similar to claims 6-9 above, and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy-Epstein as applied to claims 1-5, 10-16, 21-22, and 25 above, and further in view of Lin (US 9,038,178 B1).
Regarding claim 26, Reddy-Epstein does not specify: wherein the first device is tagged with a tag label that indicates as an associated behavior that it connects to a home server in a particular location. However, Reddy-Epstein in view of Lin discloses: wherein the first device is tagged with a tag label that indicates as an associated behavior that it connects to a home server in a particular location.
Refer to at least FIG. 6, Col. 2, Ll. 65-Col. 3, Ll. 2, and Col. 11, Ll. 25-35, and Col. 12, Ll. 19-41 of Lin with respect to logging device behaviors, including contacting an external server (e.g., malware phoning to a home C&C server). Behavior features include geolocation information of the external server (e.g., Col. 8, Ll. 25-29 of Lin.
The teachings of Reddy-Epstein and Lin concern machine learning and behavioral modeling, and are considered to be within the same field of endeavor and combinable as such.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Reddy-Epstein to further include obtaining beaconing activities as part of behavior features for at least the purpose of better detecting APT attacks and infiltrations (e.g., Col. 2, Ll. 4-9 of Lin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/V.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2432