DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in regards to applicant' s reply filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 26 are amended; Claims 2 – 5, 7 – 10, 12 – 15, 17 – 20, 22 – 25, 27 – 30, 33, 34, 37, 38, 41, 42, 45, 46, 49, 50, 53, 54 are cancelled; No claims are newly added. Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 26, 31, 32, 35, 36, 39, 40, 43, 44, 47, 48, 51, 52, 55 – 66 are currently pending and subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendments to the claims to remedy the informalities pointed out in the previous office action, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) applied to claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 26, 31, 32, 35, 36, 39, 40, 43, 44, 47, 48, 51, 52, 55 – 66 is hereby withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the art rejection applied to claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 26, 31, 32, 35, 36, 39, 40, 43, 44, 47, 48, 51, 52, 55 – 66 have been fully considered but they are not entirely persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments:
The Applicant argues while Kim generally describes that an RTS frame includes a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU, such disclosure merely establishes the conventional presence of a PLCP header in an RTS frame. Nowhere in Kim is there any teaching or suggestion that the PLCP header itself comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by a plurality of the first number of channels; the cited passages at most describe that subchannels can be treated as independent units for transmitting RTS/CTS frames, but they are silent as to the claimed requirement that the PLCP header include bandwidth information. The Applicant further argues that the portions of Kim corresponding to Figure 3 were not disclosed in Kim’s provisional application to which priority was claimed. Although Kim claims priority to two provisional applications, /.e., Provisional Application Nos. 61/203,289 ("the '289 application”: filing date: 02/10/2010), and 61/406, 156 ("the '156 application": filing date: 10/24/2010), neither the '289 application nor '156 application teaches or suggests that PLCP header comprises information indicating the frequency bandwidth occupied by a plurality of channels. In fact, none of the '289 application and '156 application mention the PLCP header or PLCP preamble at all. Therefore, these disclosures do not benefit from the provisional filing date and are only entitled to Kim’s actual U.S. filing date (June 18, 2012).
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument as MPEP 2124 states that references cited to show a universal fact need not be available as prior art before applicant’s filing date. In re Wilson, 311 F.2d 266, 135 USPQ 442 (CCPA 1962) and references which do not qualify as prior art because they postdate the claimed invention may be relied upon to show the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made. Ex parte Erlich, 22 USPQ 1463 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). Additionally, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Wang et al. is directed to a channel sounding and feedback process in a wireless system and discloses in [0038] that the NPDA is transmitted first to inform the intended receiving device, via STA INFO fields, and the NDP is then transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel; then the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to transmitting device, where the feedback information includes estimated CSI (beamforming report) and SNR information.
Wang et al. FIG. 4 discloses that NPD 404 is used for channel sounding and measurement and that the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A 406 and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields) 408.
Although Wang et al. does not expressly recite the term physical layer convergence procedure or PLCP, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understandably recognize that the particular fields of the NDP of Wang et al. FIG. 4 are the same fields included in a PLCP frame for channel estimation, as is well known in the art and further evidenced by Seok (US 20120014336 A1).
Kim et al., which is directed to receiving CTS (Clear To Send) frames transmitted by a destination station via a plurality of sub-channels in response to receiving (Request To Send) frames and transmitting data via the subchannels via which the CTS frames have been received (See Kim et al. [0013]), was provided to remedy the shortcomings of Wang et al.
Kim et al. discloses in [0016] that each of the CTS frames may include at least one of information regarding a frequency bandwidth permitted for the transmission of the data, information indicating subchannels permitted for the transmission of the data, and information regarding whether or not the plurality of the subchannels constituting the multi-channel are available to be used and in [0052] that it will be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the exemplary embodiments of the present invention can be applicable in the same manner to a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, e.g., three or five or more subchannels. Therefore, Kim et al. FIG. 3 discloses a universal fact that need not be available as prior art before applicant’s filing date and also shows the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made and is thus maintained as prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 21, 31, 32, 35, 36, 47, 48, 55, 56, 57, 58, 63, 64 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20130058239 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20120320856 A1) and Seok (US 20120014336 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a communication method, comprising (Wang et al., FIG. 4; [0026] a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) wireless system employs multiple (NT) transmit antennas and multiple (NR) receive antennas for data transmission in relation to [0036] in a sounding and feedback process, integrity and/or quality of the channel sounding process is monitored, an integrity and/or quality indicator is provided in the feedback),
transmitting, by a station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401), a null data packet announcement frame (Wang et al., [0038] during the channel sounding and feedback process, a transmitting device sends a sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA));
after transmission of the null data packet announcement frame, transmitting, by the station, a null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD));
after transmission of the null data packet, receiving, by the station, a feedback from another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, receiving device 402; [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel and the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device), wherein the feedback comprises a beamforming feedback matrix calculated by the another station based on the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the feedback information includes estimated CSI, beamforming report and SNR information, where the NPD is used for channel sounding and measurement); and wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used where the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields)).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose after reception of the feedback, transmitting, by the station, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels; receiving, by the station, a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels, and wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels; and transmitting, by the station, data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [0052] a WLAN system may use a joint channel in which four contiguous subchannels each having a channel bandwidth of 20 MHz are combined in a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, where the bandwidths of the subchannels may be 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz) discloses
transmitting, by a station, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to another station on a first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels),
wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0057] the entire multi-channel is not regarded as a single channel but the respective subchannels are regarded as independent channels and RTS frames are transmitted via the respective subchannels);
receiving, by the station, a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on a second number of channels among the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames),
wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the destination STA may transmit the CTS frames through some of the subchannels, via which, the RTS frames have been received); and
transmitting, by the station, data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback (Kim et al., [0055] the originating STA may transmit a data frame, or the like, via the subchannels, via which the CTS frames have been received),
wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header (Kim et al., [0057] the process of transmitting of RTS frames by subchannels is illustrated to include a PLCP (Physical Layer Convergence Procedure) preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU), and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0064] the subchannel information may include bandwidth information to be used for a data transmission, information regarding subchannels to be used for data transmission and reception, and information regarding whether or not each subchannel can be used in relation to [0101] a control info field may include a bandwidth info subfield and a duration2 , where the bandwidth info subfield includes information indicating the bandwidth of a channel for transmitting a data frame),
wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received (Kim et al., [0056] the originating STA may transmit data to the destination STA by using the subchannels, via which the CTS frame have been received from the destination STA, in response to the RTS frames which were transmitted by the originating STA via the respective subchannels).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine after reception of the feedback, transmitting, by the station, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels; receiving, by the station, a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels, and wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels; and transmitting, by the station, data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Wang et al. in order to transmit data by using the corresponding CTS subchannels (Kim et al., [0060]).
Seok, for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Seok, [0065] the CTS frame may include a subchannel list to indicate for which subchannel a transmission opportunity is provided for each VHT STA, where if transmission is allowed for one VHT STA, a subchannel list that can be used by the VHT STA may be included in the CTS frame) is provided to support the universal fact that a PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth (Seok, [0067] a process of transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 1st VHT STA and transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 2nd VHT STA is indicated by a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU in the 1st and 2nd subchannels and the 3rd and 4th subchannels) and also the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made (Seok, [0067] a VHT-short training field (VHT-STF), a VHT Long Training Field (VHT-LTF), and a VHT-Signal (VHT-SIG) are respectively a short training field, a long training field, and a signal for a VHT STA) and is thus Kim et al. is maintained as it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a PLCP header may comprise information indicating a frequency bandwidth.
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. discloses a communication apparatus for a station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401 in relation to FIG. 3), the communication apparatus comprising: a circuitry (Wang et al., FIG. 3, TX block 22) configured to :
cause the station to transmit a null data packet announcement frame (Wang et al., [0038] during the channel sounding and feedback process, a transmitting device sends a sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA));
cause the station to transmit, after transmission of the null data packet announcement frame, a null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD));
cause the station to receive, after transmission of the null data packet, a feedback from another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, receiving device 402; [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel and the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device), wherein the feedback comprises a beamforming feedback matrix calculated by the another station based on the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the feedback information includes estimated CSI, beamforming report and SNR information, where the NPD is used for channel sounding and measurement); and wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used where the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields)).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose causing the station to transmit, after reception of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to receive a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels, and wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to transmit data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [0052] a WLAN system may use a joint channel in which four contiguous subchannels each having a channel bandwidth of 20 MHz are combined in a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, where the bandwidths of the subchannels may be 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz) discloses causing the station to transmit a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels),
wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0057] the entire multi-channel is not regarded as a single channel but the respective subchannels are regarded as independent channels and RTS frames are transmitted via the respective subchannels);
causing the station to receive a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames),
wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the destination STA may transmit the CTS frames through some of the subchannels, via which, the RTS frames have been received); and
causing the station to transmit data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback (Kim et al., [0055] the originating STA may transmit a data frame, or the like, via the subchannels, via which the CTS frames have been received),
wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header (Kim et al., [0057] the process of transmitting of RTS frames by subchannels is illustrated to include a PLCP (Physical Layer Convergence Procedure) preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU), and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0064] the subchannel information may include bandwidth information to be used for a data transmission, information regarding subchannels to be used for data transmission and reception, and information regarding whether or not each subchannel can be used in relation to [0101] a control info field may include a bandwidth info subfield and a duration2 , where the bandwidth info subfield includes information indicating the bandwidth of a channel for transmitting a data frame),
wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received (Kim et al., [0056] the originating STA may transmit data to the destination STA by using the subchannels, via which the CTS frame have been received from the destination STA, in response to the RTS frames which were transmitted by the originating STA via the respective subchannels).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine causing the station to transmit, after reception of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to receive a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels, and wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to transmit data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Wang et al. in order to transmit data by using the corresponding CTS subchannels (Kim et al., [0060]).
Seok, for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Seok, [0065] the CTS frame may include a subchannel list to indicate for which subchannel a transmission opportunity is provided for each VHT STA, where if transmission is allowed for one VHT STA, a subchannel list that can be used by the VHT STA may be included in the CTS frame) is provided to support the universal fact that a PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth (Seok, [0067] a process of transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 1st VHT STA and transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 2nd VHT STA is indicated by a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU in the 1st and 2nd subchannels and the 3rd and 4th subchannels) and also the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made (Seok, [0067] a VHT-short training field (VHT-STF), a VHT Long Training Field (VHT-LTF), and a VHT-Signal (VHT-SIG) are respectively a short training field, a long training field, and a signal for a VHT STA) and is thus Kim et al. is maintained as it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a PLCP header may comprise information indicating a frequency bandwidth.
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. discloses a communication method, comprising: receiving, by a station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, receiving device 402), a null data packet announcement frame from another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401; [0038] during the channel sounding and feedback process, a transmitting device sends a sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA));
after reception of the null data packet announcement frame, receiving, by the station, a null data packet from the another station (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD));
calculating, by the station, a beamforming feedback matrix based on the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the feedback information includes estimated CSI, beamforming report and SNR information, where the NPD is used for channel sounding and measurement);
transmitting, by the station, a feedback comprising the beamforming feedback matrix (Wang et al., [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel and the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device); and wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used where the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields)).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose after transmission of the feedback, receiving, by the station, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels; selecting, by the station, a second number of channels among the first number of channels; transmitting, by the station, the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels, wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels; and receiving, by the station, data from the another station using the second number of channels, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [0052] a WLAN system may use a joint channel in which four contiguous subchannels each having a channel bandwidth of 20 MHz are combined in a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, where the bandwidths of the subchannels may be 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz) discloses
receiving, by the station, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels),
wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0057] the entire multi-channel is not regarded as a single channel but the respective subchannels are regarded as independent channels and RTS frames are transmitted via the respective subchannels);
selecting, by the station, a second number of channels among the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the destination STA may transmit the CTS frames through some of the subchannels, via which, the RTS frames have been received);
transmitting, by the station, the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames),
wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0059] upon receiving the RTS frames via some of the entire subchannels or via the entire subchannels, the destination STA transmits CTS frames by subchannels by using the corresponding subchannels); and
receiving, by the station, data from the another station using the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the originating STA may transmit a data frame, or the like, via the subchannels, via which the CTS frames have been received),
wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header (Kim et al., [0057] the process of transmitting of RTS frames by subchannels is illustrated to include a PLCP (Physical Layer Convergence Procedure) preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU), and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0064] the subchannel information may include bandwidth information to be used for a data transmission, information regarding subchannels to be used for data transmission and reception, and information regarding whether or not each subchannel can be used in relation to [0101] a control info field may include a bandwidth info subfield and a duration2 , where the bandwidth info subfield includes information indicating the bandwidth of a channel for transmitting a data frame), and
wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted (Kim et al., [0056] the originating STA may transmit data to the destination STA by using the subchannels, via which the CTS frame have been received from the destination STA, in response to the RTS frames which were transmitted by the originating STA via the respective subchannels).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine after transmission of the feedback, receiving, by the station, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels; selecting, by the station, a second number of channels among the first number of channels; transmitting, by the station, the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels, wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels; and receiving, by the station, data from the another station using the second number of channels, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Wang et al. in order to transmit data by using the corresponding CTS subchannels (Kim et al., [0060]).
Seok, for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Seok, [0065] the CTS frame may include a subchannel list to indicate for which subchannel a transmission opportunity is provided for each VHT STA, where if transmission is allowed for one VHT STA, a subchannel list that can be used by the VHT STA may be included in the CTS frame) is provided to support the universal fact that a PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth (Seok, [0067] a process of transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 1st VHT STA and transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 2nd VHT STA is indicated by a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU in the 1st and 2nd subchannels and the 3rd and 4th subchannels) and also the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made (Seok, [0067] a VHT-short training field (VHT-STF), a VHT Long Training Field (VHT-LTF), and a VHT-Signal (VHT-SIG) are respectively a short training field, a long training field, and a signal for a VHT STA) and is thus Kim et al. is maintained as it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a PLCP header may comprise information indicating a frequency bandwidth.
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. discloses a communication apparatus for a station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, receiving device 402), comprising: a circuitry (Wang et al., FIG. 3, transceivers 331/332) configured to:
cause the station to receive a null data packet announcement frame from another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401; [0038] during the channel sounding and feedback process, a transmitting device sends a sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA));
cause the station to receive, after reception of the null data packet announcement frame, a null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD)) from the another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401);
calculate a beamforming feedback matrix based on the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the feedback information includes estimated CSI, beamforming report and SNR information, where the NPD is used for channel sounding and measurement);
cause the station to transmit a feedback comprising the beamforming feedback matrix (Wang et al., [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel and the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device); and wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used where the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields)).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose causing the station to receive, after transmission of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to select a second number of channels among the first number of channels; causing the station to transmit the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels, wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to receive data from the another station using the second number of channels, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [0052] a WLAN system may use a joint channel in which four contiguous subchannels each having a channel bandwidth of 20 MHz are combined in a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, where the bandwidths of the subchannels may be 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz) discloses
causing the station to receive a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels),
wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0057] the entire multi-channel is not regarded as a single channel but the respective subchannels are regarded as independent channels and RTS frames are transmitted via the respective subchannels);
causing the station to select a second number of channels among the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the destination STA may transmit the CTS frames through some of the subchannels, via which, the RTS frames have been received);
causing the station to transmit the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames),
wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0059] upon receiving the RTS frames via some of the entire subchannels or via the entire subchannels, the destination STA transmits CTS frames by subchannels by using the corresponding subchannels); and
causing the station to receive data from the another station using the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the originating STA may transmit a data frame, or the like, via the subchannels, via which the CTS frames have been received),
wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header (Kim et al., [0057] the process of transmitting of RTS frames by subchannels is illustrated to include a PLCP (Physical Layer Convergence Procedure) preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU), and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0064] the subchannel information may include bandwidth information to be used for a data transmission, information regarding subchannels to be used for data transmission and reception, and information regarding whether or not each subchannel can be used in relation to [0101] a control info field may include a bandwidth info subfield and a duration2 , where the bandwidth info subfield includes information indicating the bandwidth of a channel for transmitting a data frame), and
wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted (Kim et al., [0056] the originating STA may transmit data to the destination STA by using the subchannels, via which the CTS frame have been received from the destination STA, in response to the RTS frames which were transmitted by the originating STA via the respective subchannels).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine causing the station to receive, after transmission of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to select a second number of channels among the first number of channels; causing the station to transmit the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels, wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to receive data from the another station using the second number of channels, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Wang et al. in order to transmit data by using the corresponding CTS subchannels (Kim et al., [0060]).
Seok, for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Seok, [0065] the CTS frame may include a subchannel list to indicate for which subchannel a transmission opportunity is provided for each VHT STA, where if transmission is allowed for one VHT STA, a subchannel list that can be used by the VHT STA may be included in the CTS frame) is provided to support the universal fact that a PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth (Seok, [0067] a process of transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 1st VHT STA and transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 2nd VHT STA is indicated by a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU in the 1st and 2nd subchannels and the 3rd and 4th subchannels) and also the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made (Seok, [0067] a VHT-short training field (VHT-STF), a VHT Long Training Field (VHT-LTF), and a VHT-Signal (VHT-SIG) are respectively a short training field, a long training field, and a signal for a VHT STA) and is thus Kim et al. is maintained as it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a PLCP header may comprise information indicating a frequency bandwidth.
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al. discloses a station for wireless communications (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401), comprising: a circuitry (Wang et al., FIG. 3, TX block 22) configured to: cause the station to transmit a null data packet announcement frame (Wang et al., [0038] during the channel sounding and feedback process, a transmitting device sends a sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA));
cause the station to transmit, after transmission of the null data packet announcement frame, a null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD));
cause the station to receive, after transmission of the null data packet, a feedback from another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, receiving device 402; [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel and the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device), wherein the feedback comprises a beamforming feedback matrix calculated by the another station based on the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the feedback information includes estimated CSI, beamforming report and SNR information, where the NPD is used for channel sounding and measurement); and wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used where the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields)).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose causing the station to transmit, after reception of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels, and wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to receive a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels, wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to transmit data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [0052] a WLAN system may use a joint channel in which four contiguous subchannels each having a channel bandwidth of 20 MHz are combined in a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, where the bandwidths of the subchannels may be 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz) discloses causing a station to transmit a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels), and
wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0057] the entire multi-channel is not regarded as a single channel but the respective subchannels are regarded as independent channels and RTS frames are transmitted via the respective subchannels);
causing the station to receive a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames),
wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the destination STA may transmit the CTS frames through some of the subchannels, via which, the RTS frames have been received); and
causing the station to transmit data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback (Kim et al., [0055] the originating STA may transmit a data frame, or the like, via the subchannels, via which the CTS frames have been received),
wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header (Kim et al., [0057] the process of transmitting of RTS frames by subchannels is illustrated to include a PLCP (Physical Layer Convergence Procedure) preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU), and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0064] the subchannel information may include bandwidth information to be used for a data transmission, information regarding subchannels to be used for data transmission and reception, and information regarding whether or not each subchannel can be used in relation to [0101] a control info field may include a bandwidth info subfield and a duration2 , where the bandwidth info subfield includes information indicating the bandwidth of a channel for transmitting a data frame), and
wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received (Kim et al., [0056] the originating STA may transmit data to the destination STA by using the subchannels, via which the CTS frame have been received from the destination STA, in response to the RTS frames which were transmitted by the originating STA via the respective subchannels).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine causing the station to transmit, after reception of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames to the another station on the first number of channels, and wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is transmitted on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to receive a second number of clear to send (CTS) frames from the another station on the second number of channels among the first number of channels, wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is received on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to transmit data to the another station using the second number of channels based on the feedback, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station transmits the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are received as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Wang et al. in order to transmit data by using the corresponding CTS subchannels (Kim et al., [0060]).
Seok, for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Seok, [0065] the CTS frame may include a subchannel list to indicate for which subchannel a transmission opportunity is provided for each VHT STA, where if transmission is allowed for one VHT STA, a subchannel list that can be used by the VHT STA may be included in the CTS frame) is provided to support the universal fact that a PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth (Seok, [0067] a process of transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 1st VHT STA and transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 2nd VHT STA is indicated by a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU in the 1st and 2nd subchannels and the 3rd and 4th subchannels) and also the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made (Seok, [0067] a VHT-short training field (VHT-STF), a VHT Long Training Field (VHT-LTF), and a VHT-Signal (VHT-SIG) are respectively a short training field, a long training field, and a signal for a VHT STA) and is thus Kim et al. is maintained as it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a PLCP header may comprise information indicating a frequency bandwidth.
Regarding claim 26, Wang et al. discloses a station for wireless communications (Wang et al., FIG. 4, receiving device 402), comprising: a circuitry (Wang et al., FIG. 3, transceivers 351/352) configured to:
cause the station to receive a null data packet announcement frame (Wang et al., [0038] during the channel sounding and feedback process, a transmitting device sends a sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA)) from another station (Wang et al., FIG. 4, transmitting device 401);
cause the station to receive, after reception of the null data packet announcement frame, a null data packet from the another station (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD));
calculate a beamforming feedback matrix based on the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the feedback information includes estimated CSI, beamforming report and SNR information, where the NPD is used for channel sounding and measurement);
cause the station to transmit a feedback comprising the beamforming feedback matrix (Wang et al., [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel and the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device); and wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used where the signaling information for the NDP signal is carrier in the VHT-SIG-A and the channel estimation is performed on the VHT-LTFS (Long Training Fields)).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose causing the station to receive, after transmission of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to select a second number of channels among the first number of channels; causing the station to transmit the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels, wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels, and wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to receive data from the another station using the second number of channels, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [0052] a WLAN system may use a joint channel in which four contiguous subchannels each having a channel bandwidth of 20 MHz are combined in a VHT system including a plurality of subchannels, where the bandwidths of the subchannels may be 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz) discloses
causing the station to receive a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels),
wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0057] the entire multi-channel is not regarded as a single channel but the respective subchannels are regarded as independent channels and RTS frames are transmitted via the respective subchannels);
causing the station to select a second number of channels among the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the destination STA may transmit the CTS frames through some of the subchannels, via which, the RTS frames have been received);
causing the station to transmit the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames),
wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0059] upon receiving the RTS frames via some of the entire subchannels or via the entire subchannels, the destination STA transmits CTS frames by subchannels by using the corresponding subchannels); and
causing the station to receive data from the another station using the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] the originating STA may transmit a data frame, or the like, via the subchannels, via which the CTS frames have been received),
wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header (Kim et al., [0057] the process of transmitting of RTS frames by subchannels is illustrated to include a PLCP (Physical Layer Convergence Procedure) preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU), and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0064] the subchannel information may include bandwidth information to be used for a data transmission, information regarding subchannels to be used for data transmission and reception, and information regarding whether or not each subchannel can be used in relation to [0101] a control info field may include a bandwidth info subfield and a duration2 , where the bandwidth info subfield includes information indicating the bandwidth of a channel for transmitting a data frame), and
wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted (Kim et al., [0056] the originating STA may transmit data to the destination STA by using the subchannels, via which the CTS frame have been received from the destination STA, in response to the RTS frames which were transmitted by the originating STA via the respective subchannels).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine causing the station to receive, after transmission of the feedback, a first number of request to send (RTS) frames from the another station on the first number of channels, wherein each of the first number of RTS frames is received on one of the first number of channels; causing the station to select a second number of channels among the first number of channels; causing the station to transmit the second number of clear to send (CTS) frames to the another station on the second number of channels, wherein each of the first number of channels occupies a 20 MHz frequency band and is adjacent to at least one other channel of the first number of channels, and wherein each of the second number of CTS frames is transmitted on one of the second number of channels; and causing the station to receive data from the another station using the second number of channels, wherein each of the RTS frames comprises a first physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) header, and the first PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth occupied by the first number of channels, and wherein the station receives the data using only the second number of channels on which the second number of CTS frames are transmitted as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Wang et al. in order to transmit data by using the corresponding CTS subchannels (Kim et al., [0060]).
Seok, for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Seok, [0065] the CTS frame may include a subchannel list to indicate for which subchannel a transmission opportunity is provided for each VHT STA, where if transmission is allowed for one VHT STA, a subchannel list that can be used by the VHT STA may be included in the CTS frame) is provided to support the universal fact that a PLCP header comprises information indicating a frequency bandwidth (Seok, [0067] a process of transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 1st VHT STA and transmitting the data through 1st and 2nd subchannels of the 2nd VHT STA is indicated by a PLCP preamble, a PLCP header, and a single PPDU in the 1st and 2nd subchannels and the 3rd and 4th subchannels) and also the level of ordinary skill in the art at or around the time the invention was made (Seok, [0067] a VHT-short training field (VHT-STF), a VHT Long Training Field (VHT-LTF), and a VHT-Signal (VHT-SIG) are respectively a short training field, a long training field, and a signal for a VHT STA) and is thus Kim et al. is maintained as it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a PLCP header may comprise information indicating a frequency bandwidth.
Regarding claim 32, 36, 48, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose the station transmits no frame to the another station after transmitting the null data packet (Wang et al., [0038] the NDP is transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel) and before receiving the feedback (Wang et al., [0038] the receiving device transmits a feedback packet back to the transmitting device).
Regarding claim 55, 57, 63, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose no two RTS frames among the first number of RTS frames are transmitted on any one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels), and no two CTS frames of the second number of CTS frames are received on any one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames)). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 56, 58, 64, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose at least one of the first number of RTS frames is a duplicate of another of the first number of RTS frames, and at least one of the second number of CTS frames is a duplicate of another of the second number of CTS frames (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used).
Regarding claim 39, 43, 51, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose the station transmits no frame after receiving the null data packet announcement frame from the another station (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD)) and before receiving the null data packet from the another station (Wang et al., [0041] after the sounding announcement NDPA, a sounding signal NDP is then transmitted for the intended responders).
Regarding claim 40, 44, 52, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose the station receives no frame from the another station after receiving the null data packet from the another station (Wang et al., [0038] the sounding announcement / null data packet announcement (NDPA) is followed by a sounding packet / null data packet (NPD)) and before transmitting the feedback (Wang et al., [0041] after the sounding announcement NDPA, a sounding signal NDP is then transmitted for the intended responders).
Regarding claim 59, 61, 65, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose no two RTS frames among the first number of RTS frames are transmitted on any one of the first number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] an originating STA does not transmit RTS frames by using the entire multi-channel but transmits the RTS frames in units of the subchannels), and no two CTS frames of the second number of CTS frames are received on any one of the second number of channels (Kim et al., [0055] a destination STA transmits CTS frames via the subchannels, via which the RTS frames have been received, in response to the RTS frames)). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 60, 62, 66, Wang et al. - Kim et al. Seok disclose at least one of the first number of RTS frames is a duplicate of another of the first number of RTS frames, and at least one of the second number of CTS frames is a duplicate of another of the second number of CTS frames (Wang et al., [0038] the wideband VHT signal uses duplicate signal format that replicates the 20 MHz waveform in each of the 20 MHz sub-channels that is being used).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416