DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 3/5/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the rejection is improper since Viloria does “not show or describe that either its wear ring 5, 5’ and stator part 4a, 4b in Fig. 1 or its wear ring 5 and stator part 4a, 4b in Figure 2 or its wear ring 5 and stator part 4 in Fig. 3 have mated threaded faces”. Applicant’s argument rest on the drawings’ depiction of flat surfaces in the figures. Applicant submits this even after spending three pages (pg. 6-8) citing the paragraph that explicitly states a “threaded connection” may be used.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant then identifies three examples of how a threaded connection may be used. In each example Applicant identifies a threaded fastener being mated with “inner threads”. Applicant then submits that Viloria “does not even remotely suggest … using mated threaded faces”. It is unclear how Applicant can recite three examples where mated threaded faces are used and then submit that mated threaded faces are not “remotely suggested”.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
For these reasons the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0667889 in view of Viloria CN 102536872.
Regarding claim 1, JPH0667889 discloses a double suction impeller (1A, Fig. 1) for arranging in a pump casing (2) of a double suction pump having a pump inlet and a pump outlet (Fig. 1), comprising:
an impeller main body (1A) having suction eye adapter coupling members (8 on both sides of impeller, Fig. 2), and the impeller main body being configured to rotate and move fluid from the pump inlet to the pump outlet (Fig. 1); and
impeller suction eyes (open inlet to each side of the impeller, Fig. 1), each impeller suction eye having, and being formed by,
a separate removable integrated wear ring impeller skirt (1B, Fig. 2; see also translation page 4 lines 9-12 wherein the skirt is described as harder than the main body, i.e. wear resistant, and an “annular shape”, i.e. a ring) with a corresponding suction eye adapter coupling member (10, Fig. 2) coupled detachably (via screw 13) to a respective one of the suction eye adapter coupling members (8) of the impeller main body,
each separate removable integrated wear ring impeller skirt (1B)
being configured as a respective removable integrated wear ring (see Remarks for how the skirt is configured as a wear ring),
being configured to allow fluid to enter the impeller main body (Fig. 1), and
also configured to detach (via screw 13) and be removed and replaced when wear and erosion occur (pg. 4 lin. 34-38);
the suction eye adapter coupling member (8) and the corresponding suction eye adapter coupling member (10) having mated faces (10A with 8A, 10B with 8B and 10C with 8C).
However, it does not teach that the mated faces are configured to provide a fully threaded attachment between the impeller main body and the separate removable integrated wear ring impeller skirt.
Viloria teaches pump comprising the technique of fastening a wear ring (5) using various means comprising shrink fit, welding, tin welding or a screw thread connection ([0023]). Since the known techniques of attaching wear rings to another component include screw thread connections, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mated surfaces of the suction eye adapter coupling member and the corresponding suction eye adapter coupling member as taught by JPH0667889, by utilizing the known fastening technique of screw threads, as taught by Viloria, in order to yield the predictable results of securing a wear ring to its mated counterpart. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(D).
Regarding claim 18, JPH0667889 discloses a double suction pump having a pump casing (2) with a pump inlet and a pump outlet (Fig. 1), comprising: a double suction impeller (1A) configured to arrange in the pump casing (2), having:
an impeller main body (1A) having suction eye adapter coupling members (8 on both sides of impeller, Fig. 2), and the impeller main body being configured to rotate and move fluid from the pump inlet to the pump outlet (Fig. 1); and
impeller suction eyes (open inlet to each side of the impeller, Fig. 1), each impeller suction eye having, and being formed by,
a separate removable integrated wear ring impeller skirt (1B, Fig. 2) with a corresponding suction eye adapter coupling member (10 and 11, Fig. 2) configured to couple detachably (via screw 13) to a respective one of the suction eye adapter coupling members (8) of the impeller main body,
each separate removable integrated wear ring impeller skirt (1B)
being arranged between the double suction impeller (1A) and the pump casing (2) of the double suction pump (Fig. 2) as a respective removable integrated wear ring (Fig. 2),
being configured to allow fluid to enter the impeller (Fig. 1), and also configured to detach (via screw 13) and be removed and replaced when wear and erosion occur (pg. 4 lin. 34-38);
the suction eye adapter coupling member (8) and the corresponding suction eye adapter coupling member (10) having mated faces (10A with 8A, 10B with 8B and 10C with 8C).
However, it does not teach that the mated faces are configured to provide a fully threaded attachment between the impeller main body and the separate removable integrated wear ring impeller skirt.
Viloria teaches pump comprising the technique of fastening a wear ring (5) using various means comprising shrink fit, welding, tin welding or a screw thread connection ([0023]). Since the known techniques of attaching wear rings to another component include screw thread connections, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mated surfaces of the suction eye adapter coupling member and the corresponding suction eye adapter coupling member as taught by JPH0667889, by utilizing the known fastening technique of screw threads, as taught by Viloria, in order to yield the predictable results of securing a wear ring to its mated counterpart. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(D).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745