DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/13/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6-9, 11, 12, 15, 16 and 30-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over USPAP 2006/0058470 to Rizk in view of one or more of USPAP 2005/0244455 to Greenawalt, USPAP 2007/0198087 to Coleman, USPAP 2008/0241213 to Chun, and USPAP 2009/0005867 to Lefranc.
Claims 6 and 15
Rizk discloses absorbable fibers and knitted surgical meshes derived from poly-4-hydroxybutyrate (P4HB; PHA4400) (see entire document including the abstract, [0016], [0037] and [0039]). In Example 1, Rizk discloses melt extruding P4HB monofilament wherein the polymer is dried to less than 0.01% (w/w) water, the dried pellets are fed into an extruder barrel under a blanket of nitrogen, the molten polymer is passed through a heated block to a metering pump and extruded from a die with a single hole spinneret, and the extrudate is quenched in a water bath and drawn through multistage orientation "without the filament touching any surface until it is naturally cooled" ([0042]). The oriented fiber is relaxed and wound on creels or racks ([0032], [0043]-[0044]). Rizk teaches that a spin finish (Goulston, Lurol PT-6A) is applied to the fiber "to act as a lubricant and protect the fiber during downstream processing" ([0042]), and that surgical meshes were knitted from the resulting P4HB monofilament fibers ([0047]-[0048]). Thus, Rizk discloses a knitted surgical mesh comprising P4HB monofilament fibers having a spin finish coating on the fibers of the mesh.
Rizk does not identify its spin finish as comprising polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate and does not disclose the amount of spin finish remaining on the mesh prior to implantation.
Greenawalt teaches knitted surgical meshes for repairing an opening in a body cavity, such as a hernia, comprising biodegradable yarns such as poly(glycolic acid), polylactic acid, polydioxanone and polycaprolactone (see entire document including [0002]-[0003], [0040], [0042] and [0072]). Greenawalt teaches that the yarns "can be coated with a lubricant in order to facilitate knitting of the yarns," that suitable lubricants include hydrophilic polyalkyl glycols, and that "[a] spin finish blend of Poloxamer 184, Polysorbate 20, sodium lauryl sulfate, propylene glycol methyl ether, and toluene has yielded good results for the biodegradable yarn" ([0043]). Polysorbate 20 is polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monolaurate, i.e., a polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate (the present specification likewise identifies the claimed polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate as the polysorbate Tween® 20; see [0014] of the published application). Greenawalt further teaches that after fabrication the knitted mesh is cleaned in a scouring system ([0073]).
Coleman, directed to medical devices comprising P4HB filaments and knitted P4HB meshes ([0039]-[0041] and [0047]), teaches that a spin finish solution comprising a lubricating agent is applied to the P4HB filaments to assist in subsequent processing and that "the spin finish may be washed and rinsed or otherwise removed from the yarn after processing is complete" ([0040]; see also the scouring step at [0057]). Similarly, Chun teaches that knitted absorbable meshes are "solvent-scoured to remove lubricant finishes and foreign materials that accumulated during manufacturing" ([0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a spin finish comprising Polysorbate 20 (polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate), as taught by Greenawalt, as the lubricating spin finish applied to the P4HB monofilament fibers of Rizk, because Greenawalt teaches that such a finish yields good results when knitting biodegradable yarns into surgical meshes, and because the substitution of one known fiber lubricant for another known fiber lubricant for the same purpose would have yielded predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007); MPEP 2143(I)(B). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); MPEP 2144.07. It further would have been obvious to scour the knitted mesh after fabrication to remove the spin finish, as taught by Greenawalt, Coleman and Chun, because each teaches that lubricating finishes applied for textile processing are removed from the finished textile.
Regarding the claimed residual amount of less than 0.1 weight percent and greater than zero weight percent of the mesh prior to implantation, the applied prior art teaches removing the processing finish after knitting. The extent of finish removal, and therefore the residual level of finish, is directly controlled by the scouring conditions (e.g., solvent, agitation, time and number of rinses; see Chun [0081]) and determines how much processing aid remains on the implantable device. The residual amount is therefore a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the scouring so as to leave a minimal, non-zero residue of the spin finish, such as claimed, through no more than routine experimentation, balancing the time and cost of additional scouring against the amount of processing aid left on the implant. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Applied Materials, Inc., 692 F.3d 1289, 1295, 103 USPQ2d 1907 (Fed. Cir. 2012); MPEP 2144.05(II). A mesh retaining greater than zero weight percent of the finish reads on a mesh from which the finish has been substantially, but not absolutely, removed, which is the expected outcome of a practical washing or scouring process.
Moreover, even if the applied scouring were considered to remove essentially all of the spin finish, an essentially zero amount of finish is so close to the claimed amount of just greater than zero weight percent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the same properties. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018); MPEP 2144.05(I). Applicant has not shown criticality or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed range.
Regarding the limitation that the residual coating is "on the fibers of the mesh," Rizk applies the spin finish directly to the fiber ([0042]) and Greenawalt coats the yarns with the lubricant in order to facilitate knitting ([0043]). Accordingly, the residual finish that remains after scouring is on the fibers of the mesh.
Regarding the melt extrusion processing steps recited in claim 6, said limitations are considered to be product-by-process limitations. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2113. The burden has been shifted to the applicant to show an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In any event, Rizk discloses drying the P4HB pellets, feeding the dried pellets into an extruder barrel, passing the molten polymer through a heated block and a metering pump and extruding it through a spinneret, water quenching the filament without the filament touching any surface, orienting the filament, and winding the fiber ([0032] and [0042]-[0044]). Feeding dried pellets to an extruder barrel through a feed hopper is the conventional manner of supplying resin to an extruder, and the order in which the melt passes through the heated block and the melt pump, and winding the oriented monofilament onto spools rather than onto creels or racks, do not impart any identified structural difference to the resulting monofilament. Further, because Rizk extrudes through a single hole spinneret and quenches the filament without the filament touching any surface ([0042]), the filament is kept from contacting other filaments during water quenching.
Claim 7
Greenawalt teaches cleaning the mesh in a scouring system after fabrication ([0073]), Coleman teaches that the spin finish is washed and rinsed after processing is complete ([0040]), and Chun teaches scouring knitted absorbable mesh to remove lubricant finishes, followed by rinsing with de-ionized water three times and re-agitating in de-ionized water, in an ultrasonic cleaner held at 30° C ([0081]). It would have been obvious to remove the polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate spin finish from the knitted mesh of modified Rizk after knitting using such a water-based scouring process, leaving a residual level as set forth above with respect to claim 6. The optional water scouring at a temperature above 4° C is met by the water rinsing of Chun, which is performed in a cleaner held at 30° C ([0081]).
Claim 8
Regarding item (i), Chun teaches scouring a knitted absorbable mesh using an ultrasonic cleaner to remove lubricant finishes ([0081]). Regarding item (ii), Chun teaches scouring the mesh in isopropyl alcohol and then rinsing with de-ionized water ([0081]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to scour the mesh of modified Rizk ultrasonically and to wash it with alcohol, as taught by Chun, because Chun teaches that this process effectively removes lubricant finishes and foreign materials that accumulate during manufacturing of absorbable meshes. Regarding item (iii), Greenawalt teaches knitted surgical meshes comprising biodegradable yarns together with non-biodegradable polypropylene monofilament fibers, wherein the polypropylene layer provides a strong support frame for cellular ingrowth and repair ([0040]-[0041] and [0072]). It would have been obvious to include polypropylene fibers in the mesh of modified Rizk to provide a permanent support structure as taught by Greenawalt. Regarding item (iv), the mesh of modified Rizk is formed from the same materials and is scoured in the same manner to substantially the same low residual level of finish as the claimed mesh. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, and claimed properties such as non-cytotoxicity are presumed to be present. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01(I). Further, the implant materials of the applied prior art are selected to be biocompatible (Greenawalt [0041]; Lefranc [0024]), which would have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to scour the implantable mesh to a non-cytotoxic level.
Claim 9
Greenawalt teaches that, after scouring, the knitted mesh is heat set to stabilize the mesh structure ([0073]). Rizk teaches heat treating P4HB fiber using a hot liquid, preferably water ([0042]), and annealing P4HB fiber in a heating media at a temperature from about 35° C to about 150° C ([0032] and [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to heat set the scoured P4HB mesh of modified Rizk to stabilize the mesh structure as taught by Greenawalt, and to use hot water as the heating medium, as taught by Rizk for P4HB, in order to heat treat the low-melting P4HB at a controlled temperature. Additionally, the limitation that the scoured mesh is heat set in hot water is a product-by-process limitation, and the heat set mesh of modified Rizk is not seen to differ structurally from the claimed mesh. MPEP 2113.
Claims 11 and 12
Rizk does not mention adding collagen or a therapeutic agent to the mesh. Coleman teaches that an antibiotic may be added to P4HB devices, including knitted P4HB meshes, to prevent or treat an infection ([0038]). Lefranc teaches implantable surgical meshes for treating hernias and other injuries ([0003]) whose filaments may be made of absorbable materials ([0026]), wherein the mesh is coated with collagen to facilitate handling by the surgeon and because collagen facilitates cellular adhesion, proliferation and differentiation ([0055]-[0062]), and wherein the coating may further contain bioactive agents that produce therapeutic benefits and limit the risk of sepsis, including antimicrobials and antibiotics ([0076]-[0080] and [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add an antibiotic to the mesh of modified Rizk to prevent or treat an infection, as taught by Coleman and Lefranc, and to coat the mesh with collagen containing a therapeutic agent such as an antibiotic, as taught by Lefranc, in order to improve handling, promote cellular adhesion and tissue integration, and limit the risk of infection.
Claim 16
Rizk teaches that the P4HB meshes are used in hernia repair, slings (urethral suspension), pericardial repair and patching, guided tissue regeneration, tissue engineering scaffolds, mastopexy/breast reconstruction and rotator cuff repair ([0008], [0039]-[0040]). Greenawalt ([0002]-[0003]) and Lefranc ([0003]) likewise teach meshes for hernia repair. Therefore, it would have been obvious to form a medical device selected from the claimed group, such as a hernia repair device, from the mesh of modified Rizk.
Claim 30
Rizk teaches that the P4HB monofilament fibers used to knit the surgical meshes include size 6/0 monofilament having a diameter of 0.105 mm, i.e., 105 microns ([0046], Table 1, and [0047]), which is within the claimed range of 100-150 microns.
Claims 31 and 32
The claimed residual levels of less than 0.06 weight percent and less than 0.05 weight percent, and greater than zero weight percent, would have been obvious for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 6, namely as the result of routine optimization of the result-effective residual finish level through the scouring conditions. MPEP 2144.05(II).
Claim 33
The recited steps of applying polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate to the fiber to produce the spin finish coating and removing the spin finish coating so that only a residual remains are product-by-process limitations (MPEP 2113). In any event, Greenawalt teaches coating the yarns with the Polysorbate 20-containing spin finish blend prior to knitting ([0043]) and scouring the mesh after fabrication ([0073]), and Coleman ([0040]) and Chun ([0081]) teach removing the lubricating finish after processing, as set forth above with respect to claims 6 and 7.
Claim 34
The Greenawalt spin finish blend comprises both Polysorbate 20 (polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate) and Poloxamer 184, a block copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide ([0043]). Accordingly, the residual spin finish coating of modified Rizk comprises polymers of ethylene oxide or propylene oxide, or polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate, as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections over Martin in view of Chakravarty, and over Martin in view of Chakravarty and Coleman, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combinations applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the Office Action ignored the limitation that a coating comprising polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate is present on the fibers of the mesh at an amount that is less than 0.1 weight percent and greater than zero weight percent of the mesh. The examiner disagrees. The previous Office action addressed the claimed amount of the residual spin finish (see pages 4-5 and 7-8 of the action mailed 04/13/2026), and the rejection set forth above expressly addresses each aspect of the limitation: Greenawalt teaches a spin finish comprising Polysorbate 20 (polyethylene glycol sorbitan monolaurate) applied to biodegradable yarns to facilitate knitting ([0043]); Rizk and Greenawalt apply the finish to the fibers (Rizk [0042]; Greenawalt [0043]); and Greenawalt, Coleman and Chun teach removing the finish by scouring or washing after processing (Greenawalt [0073]; Coleman [0040]; Chun [0081]), the residual amount being a result-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation.
Applicant further argues that the presence of the coating on the fibers is described in the application as being significant and as leading to processing advantages, including minimizing fiber damage during processing. This argument is not persuasive. Rizk applies its spin finish "to act as a lubricant and protect the fiber during downstream processing" ([0042]), and Greenawalt applies its Polysorbate 20-containing finish "to facilitate knitting of the yarns" ([0043]). The asserted processing advantage is therefore the very reason the prior art applies a spin finish, and it would have been expected. "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985); MPEP 2145(II). Moreover, the processing advantage arises from the full spin finish coating present during processing, not from the claimed residual of less than 0.1 weight percent that remains after scouring. Further, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1471, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1405, 181 USPQ 641, 646 (CCPA 1974); MPEP 2145(I).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789