DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 11/13/2025 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1 and 15 are amended, and claims 1-27 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-27 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Even though Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 15, however these amendments do not constitute a change of scope in claim interpretation, and previously cited references provide recitation for these limitations.
Applicant argues with respect to independent claims 1 and 15 (and their respective dependent claims) that none of the previously cited references teach or suggest a mobile phone cover that independently retrieves and displays media, user-programmable dual preview (phone+cover) lighting animation interface, and use of the cover as a panic-alert signaling system with illumination + media transmission.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Dorff teaches a mobile phone cover that independently retrieves and displays media (Figure 1, where is showing a mobile phone cover that is independent of the phone). In Figures 3-4 and Paragraphs 0054-0056; Dorff teaches a UI for setting up various colors and/or notifications where user can pick a color from list and associate with selected application event. In figure 5 and Paragraph 0059, Dorff teaches receiving preferences set by a user for illuminating the cover of a mobile computing device, generating color signals based on the preferences set by the user and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to each individual LEDs within the cover in response to the color control signal for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect.
Coverstone teaches the mobile device cover 100 can be configured to provide video (e.g., live streaming video, stored video, etc.) on one or more screens. Examiner asserts the one or more screens may include a host mobile device screen, since the mobile device cover 100 and host mobile device 110 can communicate via wireless link (e.g., cellular link, WIFI link, WLAN link, Bluetooth link, radio frequency link, etc.) (Col 7 Lines 34-44). Further, Coverstone teaches a mobile device cover 100 include memory 210, and the processor causes one or more of the ILDs 160 to light in a display to provide information including alphanumeric text and present multimedia information (e.g., video, animation, etc.) (Figure 3 and Col 24 Lines 58 – Col 25 Lines 7). A user can browse through or test the various stored light patterns by selecting one of the buttons causing the corresponding light pattern to be displayed on the mobile device cover 100 for a select amount of time to show the user the selected option (Figure 19 Col 19 Lines 55 – Col 20 Lines 8). Application can also graphically display the choice of the light pattern on the choice of the back cover on the screen of the host mobile device 110. The application can also cause the mobile device cover 100 to light up according to the selected light display so that a user can actually see the selected light display (Col 20 Lines 8-38).
Sudhir teaches a mobile device can be activate into panic mode in emergency situations, the mobile device acts as a beacon to function in coordination with audio, phone, or video recording and/or transmission, providing as much information as available to emergency responders (Paragraph 0036). Even though Sudhir does not explicitly teach the panic alert – signaling is located on the mobile phone cover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the panic alert function on the mobile phone cover, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, the combination of the previously cited references teaches a mobile phone cover that independently retrieves and displays media, user-programmable dual preview (phone+cover) lighting animation interface, and use of the cover as a panic-alert signaling system with illumination + media transmission, as disclosed in independent claims 1 and 15 (and their respective dependent claims).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorff et al. (US 20090231248 A1), hereinafter Dorff, in view of Coverstone (US 9300347 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Dorff teaches a physical mobile phone (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0011; mobile computing device), comprising:
one or more hardware processors (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0011; one or more processors) and memory (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0011; memory (e.g., volatile or non-volatile memory, removable or non-removable memory, erasable or non-erasable memory, writeable or re-writeable memory)) configured to:
provide a graphical user interface configured to select one or more graphical elements to set up a separate, external, and physical (Figure 1; the phone cover is separate, external and physical) mobile phone cover (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; receiving preferences set by a user for illuminating the cover of a mobile computing device and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect) to light up according to a selected light pattern (Figures 3-5, Paragraphs 0054- 0056; user interface of the mobile computing device comprises an event pick list 181 for selecting various event (e.g., missed call) associated with one or more user applications. The UI 180 also comprises a check box 182 for allowing the user to configure the mobile computing device 100 to illuminate based on the selected application event. The UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. One embodiment of a UI 190 which may be presented by the mobile computing device 100 for selecting and/or adjusting various colors. As shown, the UI 190 may comprise slider bars 191-193 for setting and/or adjusting RGB color values (e.g., percentages, range values, binary notations) corresponding to a selected color (e.g., turquoise)), wherein
the graphical user interface is capable of providing a preview of the selected light pattern on a display of the mobile phone (Figures 3-5 and Paragraph 0055; UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. In this embodiment, the UI 180 also comprises a preview button 184 for illuminating the mobile computing device 100 according to the selected color, and a stop button 185 for ending the preview);
the graphical user interface is capable of configuring the first preview with a design according to the selected light pattern (Figures 3-5 and Paragraph 0055; UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. In this embodiment, the UI 180 also comprises a preview button 184 for illuminating the mobile computing device 100 according to the selected color, and a stop button 185 for ending the preview), and
cause the mobile phone cover to light up according to the selected light pattern (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; receiving preferences set by a user for illuminating the cover of a mobile computing device and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect).
Dorff does not explicitly disclose wherein the mobile phone cover is not part of but is communicatively coupled to the mobile phone via a wireless communication interface, configuring an animation according to the selected light pattern, the graphical user interface is capable of providing a second preview of the selected light pattern on the mobile phone cover; the graphical user interface is configured to set up an alert, wherein the mobile phone cover comprises wireless communication capabilities to retrieve and display media from external sources without requiring the mobile phone to process or provide the media; and receive media content that resides on memory storage of the mobile phone cover. In an analogous art, Coverstone teaches wherein the mobile phone cover is not part of but is communicatively coupled to the mobile phone via a wireless communication interface (Figures 1A and 20 and Col 6 Lines 30-54; a mobile device cover 100 surrounds a host mobile device 110 and removable, and can communicate with the host mobile device 110 via wireless signal such as Bluetooth signal, IEEE 802.11 signals, WLAN signals, etc.), configuring an animation according to the selected light pattern (Col 5 Lines 44-67 and Col 24 Lines 58 – Col 25 Lines 8; mobile phone cover may provide alert or indication according to sound or alert data generated by the host mobile device, utilizing illuminating, lighting devices (ILD) to form shapes, images, video, animation, etc.), the graphical user interface is capable of providing a second preview of the selected light pattern on the mobile phone cover (Figure 19 Col 19 Lines 55 – Col 20 Lines 8; ser can browse through or test the various stored light patterns by selecting one of the buttons causing the corresponding light pattern to be displayed on the mobile device cover 100 for a select amount of time to show the user the selected option. Col 20 Lines 8-38; application can also graphically display the choice of the light pattern on the choice of the back cover on the screen of the host mobile device 110. The application can also cause the mobile device cover 100 to light up according to the selected light display so that a user can actually see the selected light display); the graphical user interface is configured to set up an alert (Col 5 Lines 44-67; during a mobile device alert or event, an active mobile device cover can provide its own alert or indication according to the sound or alert data generated by the host mobile device. Col 20 Lines 8-38; these controls to set up light pattern of the mobile phone cover may include utilizing a light pattern to display information or for a notification or alert), wherein the mobile phone cover comprises wireless communication capabilities to retrieve and display media from external sources without requiring the mobile phone to process or provide the media (Col 7 Lines 34-61; the mobile device cover 100 can be configured to provide video on one or more screens, the video can be streamed via a wireless link with a content provider or a third party application); and receive media content (Col 7 Lines 34-44; the mobile device cover 100 can be configured to provide video (e.g., live streaming video, stored video, etc.) on one or more screens. Examiner asserts the one or more screens may include a host mobile device screen, since the mobile device cover 100 and host mobile device 110 can communicate via wireless link (e.g., cellular link, WIFI link, WLAN link, Bluetooth link, radio frequency link, etc.)) that resides on memory storage of the mobile phone cover (Figure 3 and Col 24 Lines 58 – Col 25 Lines 7; a mobile device cover 100 include memory 210, and the processor causes one or more of the ILDs 160 to light in a display to provide information including alphanumeric text and present multimedia information (e.g., video, animation, etc.)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
Regarding claim 15, Dorff teaches a physical mobile phone cover for use with a separate, external, and physical (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0011; mobile phone and mobile phone cover are separate, external and physical) mobile phone (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; receiving preferences set by a user for illuminating the cover of a mobile computing device), comprising:
one or more hardware processors (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0011; one or more processors) configured to:
receive information from a graphical user interface operating on the mobile phone (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; receiving preferences set by a user for illuminating the cover of a mobile computing device and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect) relating to setting up the mobile phone cover to light up according to a selected pattern (Figures 3-5, Paragraphs 0054- 0056; user interface of the mobile computing device comprises an event pick list 181 for selecting various event (e.g., missed call) associated with one or more user applications. The UI 180 also comprises a check box 182 for allowing the user to configure the mobile computing device 100 to illuminate based on the selected application event. The UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. One embodiment of a UI 190 which may be presented by the mobile computing device 100 for selecting and/or adjusting various colors. As shown, the UI 190 may comprise slider bars 191-193 for setting and/or adjusting RGB color values (e.g., percentages, range values, binary notations) corresponding to a selected color (e.g., turquoise)), wherein
the graphical user interface is capable of providing a first preview of the selected light pattern on a display of the mobile phone (Figures 3-5 and Paragraph 0055; UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. In this embodiment, the UI 180 also comprises a preview button 184 for illuminating the mobile computing device 100 according to the selected color, and a stop button 185 for ending the preview),
the graphical user interface is capable of configuring the first preview with a design according to the selected light pattern (Figures 3-5 and Paragraph 0055; UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. In this embodiment, the UI 180 also comprises a preview button 184 for illuminating the mobile computing device 100 according to the selected color, and a stop button 185 for ending the preview),
receive information from the mobile phone that cause the mobile phone cover to light up according to the selected pattern (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; generating color control signals based on the preferences set by the user (block 220); and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green, and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect (bock 230)).
Dorff does not explicitly disclose memory storage configured to store media content for playing or displaying on one or both of the mobile phone cover and the mobile phone; a wireless communication interface; and wherein the mobile phone cover is not part of but is communicatively coupled to the mobile phone, configuring an animation according to the selected light pattern, the graphical user interface is capable of providing a second preview of the selected light pattern on the mobile phone cover, the graphical user interface is configured to set up an alert, and the graphical user interface is capable of providing a second preview of the selected light pattern on the mobile phone cover; and retrieve and display media from external sources without requiring the mobile phone to process or provide the media. In an analogous art, Coverstone teaches memory storage configured to store media content for playing or displaying on one or both of the mobile phone cover and the mobile phone (Figure 3 and Col 24 Lines 58 – Col 25 Lines 7; a mobile device cover 100 include memory 210, and the processor causes one or more of the ILDs 160 to light in a display to provide information including alphanumeric text and present multimedia information (e.g., video, animation, etc.). Col 7 Lines 34-44; the mobile device cover 100 can be configured to provide video (e.g., live streaming video, stored video, etc.) on one or more screens. Examiner asserts the video stored in the memory 210 of the mobile device cover 100 can be displayed on the mobile device cover 100 screen. Examiner further asserts the one or more screens may include a host mobile device screen, since the mobile device cover 100 and host mobile device 110 can communicate via wireless link (e.g., cellular link, WIFI link, WLAN link, Bluetooth link, radio frequency link, etc.)); a wireless communication interface (Figures 1A and 20 and Col 6 Lines 30-54; a mobile device cover 100 surrounds a host mobile device 110 and removable, and can communicate with the host mobile device 110 via wireless signal such as Bluetooth signal, IEEE 802.11 signals, WLAN signals, etc.); and wherein the mobile phone cover is not part of but is communicatively coupled to the mobile phone (Figures 1A and 20 and Col 6 Lines 30-54; a mobile device cover 100 surrounds a host mobile device 110 and removable, and can communicate with the host mobile device 110 via wireless signal such as Bluetooth signal, IEEE 802.11 signals, WLAN signals, etc.), configuring an animation according to the selected light pattern (Col 5 Lines 44-67 and Col 24 Lines 58 – Col 25 Lines 8; mobile phone cover may provide alert or indication according to sound or alert data generated by the host mobile device, utilizing illuminating, lighting devices (ILD) to form shapes, images, video, animation, etc.), the graphical user interface is configured to set up an alert (Col 5 Lines 44-67; during a mobile device alert or event, an active mobile device cover can provide its own alert or indication according to the sound or alert data generated by the host mobile device. Col 20 Lines 8-38; these controls to set up light pattern of the mobile phone cover may include utilizing a light pattern to display information or for a notification or alert), and the graphical user interface is capable of providing a second preview of the selected light pattern on the mobile phone cover (Figure 19 Col 19 Lines 55 – Col 20 Lines 8; ser can browse through or test the various stored light patterns by selecting one of the buttons causing the corresponding light pattern to be displayed on the mobile device cover 100 for a select amount of time to show the user the selected option. Col 20 Lines 8-38; application can also graphically display the choice of the light pattern on the choice of the back cover on the screen of the host mobile device 110. The application can also cause the mobile device cover 100 to light up according to the selected light display so that a user can actually see the selected light display), and retrieve and display media from external sources without requiring the mobile phone to process or provide the media (Col 7 Lines 34-61; the mobile device cover 100 can be configured to provide video on one or more screens, the video can be streamed via a wireless link with a content provider or a third party application). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone’s teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Dorff teaches the one or more processors cause the mobile phone cover to light up according to transmitted information relating to the selected light pattern (Figures 3-5, Paragraphs 0054- 0056; user interface of the mobile computing device comprises an event pick list 181 for selecting various event (e.g., missed call) associated with one or more user applications. The UI 180 also comprises a check box 182 for allowing the user to configure the mobile computing device 100 to illuminate based on the selected application event. The UI 108 comprises a color pick list 183 for selecting a color (e.g., turquoise) by name to associate with the selected application event. One embodiment of a UI 190 which may be presented by the mobile computing device 100 for selecting and/or adjusting various colors. As shown, the UI 190 may comprise slider bars 191-193 for setting and/or adjusting RGB color values (e.g., percentages, range values, binary notations) corresponding to a selected color (e.g., turquoise).
In addition, Coverstone teaches wherein, when the mobile device and the mobile phone cover are physically separated (Figures 1A and 20 and Col 6 Lines 30-54; a mobile device cover 100 surrounds a host mobile device 110 and removable), and wirelessly transmitted information (Figures 1A and 20 and Col 6 Lines 30-54; a mobile device cover 100 surrounds a host mobile device 110, and can communicate with the host mobile device 110 via wireless signal such as Bluetooth signal, IEEE 802.11 signals, WLAN signals, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Dorff teaches wherein the selected light pattern; and the one or more processors cause the mobile phone cover to operate as light (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; generating color control signals based on the preferences set by the user (block 220); and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green, and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect (bock 230)).
In addition, Coverstone teaches wherein the light pattern comprises one of a reading light and a strobe light, and the one or more processors cause the mobile phone to operate as one of the reading light and the strobe light, or wherein the selected light pattern comprises a selfie light that is used with a camera of the mobile phone to take a selfie (Col 24 Lines 47-58; ILDs 160 can also light up the entire mobile device cover 100, one or more entire sides, or one or more portions of entire sides of the mobile device cover 100 (e.g., at least partially transparent back portion) in a flashing or pulsating manner). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorff in view of Coverstone, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Hamamura et al. (US 20040072589 A1), hereinafter Hamamura.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Dorff teaches wherein the selected light pattern; and the one or more processors cause the mobile phone cover to operate as light (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; generating color control signals based on the preferences set by the user (block 220); and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green, and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect (bock 230)).
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach a flashlight, and the mobile phone to operate as the flashlight. In an analogous art, Hamamura teaches a flashlight, and the mobile phone to operate as the flashlight (Paragraph 0207; the light portion can be manually turned on/off, and can be always kept on similarly to a flashlamp). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Hamamura because it would improve operability and convenience when using two display portions (Hamamura, Abstract).
Claims 5-14 and 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorff in view of Coverstone, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Sudhir (US 20150319294 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above.
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach wherein, when a panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a text message to be sent to one or more phone contacts notifying the one or more phone contacts of an emergency situation. In an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when a panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a text message to be sent to one or more phone contacts notifying the one or more phone contacts of an emergency situation (Paragraph 0036; when the mobile device is activated into the panic mode in emergency situations, the mobile device acts as a beacon to function in coordination with the audio, phone, or video recording and/or transmission, providing as much information as available to emergency responders). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Coverstone teaches wherein the graphical user interface is configured to set up any kind of alert (Figure 19 and Col 24 Lines 47-58; application provide assistance to user to select a particular ILD light display for any desired kind of notification or alert). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach set up a panic alert. In an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein the graphical user interface is configured to set up a panic alert (Paragraph 0019; when activating a panic mode, certain functions cannot be accessed. Further in Paragraph 0037; if the user confirms that there is an emergency, the mobile device may make contact with emergency service providers after a pre-defined delay period. The pre-defined disabled function and delay period is configured and set up by the user, it would have been obvious that this set up is done via graphical user interface). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Coverstone teaches wherein one or more processors cause an alert light to be displayed on the mobile phone cover (Figure 19 and Col 20 Lines 8-38; these controls to set up light pattern of the mobile phone cover may include utilizing a light pattern to display information or for a notification or alert). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach wherein, when a panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a light to be displayed. In an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when a panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a light to be displayed (Paragraph 0038; when the mobile device is in panic mode, activating a flashing light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, the combination of Dorff/Coverstone/Sudhir teaches all of the limitations of claims 7 and 21, as described above. Further, in an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when the panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a loud sound or voice to be played on one or both of the mobile phone and the mobile phone cover (Paragraph 0038; when the mobile device is in panic mode, activating a flashing light and speaker to output an audible alarm or noisemaker). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, the combination of Dorff/Coverstone/Sudhir teaches all of the limitations of claims 8 and 21, as described above. Further, in an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when the panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a phone call to be connected to an emergency phone number or a contact phone number on the mobile phone (Paragraphs 0036 and 0037; when the mobile device is activated into the panic mode, activate a distress call and/or auto-dial call to e-911 to alert emergency response provider (e.g., police, fire department, medical responders, etc.)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, the combination of Dorff/Coverstone/Sudhir teaches all of the limitations of claims 8 and 21, as described above. Further, in an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when the panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause location information of the mobile phone to be sent to one or more of the following: a police department, a security system, and an emergency contact (Paragraphs 0036 and 0037; when in panic mode, the mobile device may include a locator function that uses GPS and/or cellular location systems to provide the location of the mobile device to emergency response providers, such as police, fire department, medical responders, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 11 and 25, the combination of Dorff/Coverstone/Sudhir teaches all of the limitations of claims 8 and 21, as described above. Further, in an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when the panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a camera of the mobile phone to take one or more pictures or movies (Paragraph 0033; in the panic mode, the processor activates a camera of the mobile device, which allows the camera to discreetly capture photographs and/or record videos), and wherein the one or more pictures or movies are transmitted to one or more of the following: a police department, a security system, and an emergency contact (Paragraphs 0033 and 0036; when in panic mode, the mobile device transmit location beacon and audio, photo, or video, providing as much information as available to emergency responders such as police, fire department, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dorff/Coverstone/Sudhir teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Further, in an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when a panic alert is activated, the one or more processors cause a speaker phone to be activated (Paragraphs 0036 and 0037; when the mobile device is activated into the panic mode, activate a distress call and/or auto-dial call to e-911 to alert emergency response provider (e.g., police, fire department, medical responders, etc.). Paragraph 0038; when the mobile device is in panic mode, activating a speaker to output an audible alarm or noisemaker). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Coverstone teaches wherein the graphical user interface is configured to set up an alert (Col 5 Lines 44-67; during a mobile device alert or event, an active mobile device cover can provide its own alert or indication according to the sound or alert data generated by the host mobile device. Col 20 Lines 8-38; these controls to set up light pattern of the mobile phone cover may include utilizing a light pattern to display information or for a notification or alert). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach configured to set up an activation of the panic alert, and to set up a physical button on the mobile phone cover to activate the panic alert. In an analogous art, Sudhir teaches configured to set up an activation of the panic alert (Paragraph 0019; when activating a panic mode, certain functions cannot be accessed. Further in Paragraph 0037; if the user confirms that there is an emergency, the mobile device may make contact with emergency service providers after a pre-defined delay period. The pre-defined disabled function and delay period is configured and set up by the user, it would have been obvious that this set up is done via graphical user interface), and to set up a physical button on the mobile phone cover to activate the panic alert (Paragraphs 0019 and 0030; activating a panic mode may be initiated by the user presser a button/pushbutton switch, thus a physical button is configured to activate panic mode). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 00036).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Dorff teaches wherein the graphical user interface is configured to set up any kind of alert (Figure 19 and Col 24 Lines 47-58; application provide assistance to user to select a particular ILD light display for any desired kind of notification or alert), wherein the mobile phone are configurable to cause the mobile phone cover to light up according to the selected pattern via a physical user interface on the mobile phone (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; generating color control signals based on the preferences set by the user (block 220); and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green, and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect (bock 230)) and a graphical element on a display of the mobile phone (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059; generating color control signals based on the preferences set by the user (block 220); and controlling the amount of current and voltage supplied to individual LEDs of a LED array light within the cover in response to the color control signals for achieving certain and relative intensities of red, green, and blue light emitted by the LED array corresponding to a selected color and effect (bock 230)).
In addition, Coverstone teaches wherein the mobile phone and the mobile phone cover are configurable to cause the mobile phone cover to light up according to the selected pattern via a physical user interface on the mobile phone cover and a graphical element on a display on the mobile phone cover (Col 1 Lines 35-60; the mobile device cover can include a processor and illumination or lighting devices, LCD displays, LED displayers etc., thus is capable of setting up the mobile device cover lighting pattern as discussed previously. Col 7 Lines 34-62; the screen of the mobile device cover 100 can be substantially independent or can substantially mirror the screen of the host mobile device 110. Figure 19 Col 19 Lines 55 – Col 20 Lines 8; ser can browse through or test the various stored light patterns by selecting one of the buttons causing the corresponding light pattern to be displayed on the mobile device cover 100 for a select amount of time to show the user the selected option. Col 20 Lines 8-38; application can also graphically display the choice of the light pattern on the choice of the back cover on the screen of the host mobile device 110. The application can also cause the mobile device cover 100 to light up according to the selected light display so that a user can actually see the selected light display). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff and Coverstone because the proposed combination merely modifies Dorff’s known apparatus and method by adding Coverstone’s known GUI element for previewing a selected pattern to yield a result predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and in addition it would provide flexibility and customization to a user.
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach set up an activation of the panic alert. In an analogous art, Sudhir teaches set up an activation of the panic alert (Paragraph 0019; when activating a panic mode, certain functions cannot be accessed. Further in Paragraph 0037; if the user confirms that there is an emergency, the mobile device may make contact with emergency service providers after a pre-defined delay period. The pre-defined disabled function and delay period is configured and set up by the user, it would have been obvious that this set up is done via graphical user interface). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Dorff and Coverstone teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15, as described above. Further, Coverstone teaches a screen (Col 1 Lines 35-60; the mobile device cover can include a processor and illumination or lighting devices, LCD displays, LED displayers etc.), wherein at least a portion of the selected light pattern is displayed via the screen (Col 1 Lines 35-60; the mobile device cover can include a processor and illumination or lighting devices, LCD displays, LED displayers etc. Col 20 Lines 8-38; application can also graphically display the choice of the light pattern on the choice of the back cover on the screen of the host mobile device 110. The application can also cause the mobile device cover 100 to light up according to the selected light display so that a user can actually see the selected light display), wherein the screen is capable of mirroring a screen of the mobile phone (Col 7 Lines 34-62; the screen of the mobile device cover 100 can be substantially independent or can substantially mirror the screen of the host mobile device 110).
The combination of Dorff and Coverstone may not specifically teach wherein, when a panic alert is activated. In an analogous art, Sudhir teaches wherein, when a panic alert is activated (Paragraph 0038; when the mobile device is in panic mode, activating a flashing light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dorff, Coverstone and Sudhir because it would alert emergency response providers or desired contact of emergency situation and thereby improve safety of the user (Sudhir, Paragraph 0036).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jing Gao whose telephone number is (571)270-7226. The examiner can normally be reached on 9am - 6pm M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/J.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 2647
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647