DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application has a priority date of 31 May 2018 as no additional claims of priority have been made.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 19 August 2020 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US application 15/993,824 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed on 20 February 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 20 February 2026, it is noted that claims 1, 26, 31-32, 34 have been amended and claim 39 newly added. Support can be found in the specification at (pg 55, lns 24-27). No new matter has been added.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has previously elected Group I, drawn to a cleansing composition and has previously elected the following species:
Decylglucoside (alkyl polyglucoside)
Cocamidopropyl betaine (amphoteric surfactant)
Polyquaternium-10 (conditioning agent)
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-16, 24-30, and 31-39 are pending.
Claim 24 is withdrawn.
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-16, 25-30, and 31-39 are rejected.
Declaration Under 37 CFR 1.132
Acknowledgment is made of the Declaration filed under 37 CFR 1.132 (“Xavier Declaration”). The Declaration is insufficient in overcoming the pending rejections for the following reasons.
The Xavier Declaration argues that the cosmetic industry typical amounts of surfactants in shampoo ranges from 10-20 wt%. Based on this teaching, the prior art of Xavier which teaches reducing the amount of overall surfactant would not have had reason to use levels of over 25 wt%, as required in the instant claims. The Appellant further provides experimental data showing that by increasing various surfactant components of the composition in Xavier, the comparative compositions 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B were all unstable or too thick for use, as compared to the inventive composition.
In response, Xavier has been withdrawn as prior art based on the argument that there is no reason to increase the amount of surfactant over the typical value of 20 wt%. Regarding the data provided by the Appellant, these data provide evidence that in some situations an increase in the surfactant amount of the prior art composition will result in an unstable formulation. However, the instant claims are broad to wide ranges of surfactants and selections thereof. The Appellant has shown that the one documented inventive composition is stable as compared to similar, but not identical, compositions with modified surfactant amounts. These data do not clearly identify an unexpected result nor are the claims commensurate in scope with the data. It is reminded that any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (see MPEP 716.02). Moreover, there is a fundamental requirement that must be met before secondary considerations can carry the day. "For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention." Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Takai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists."); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 ("[l]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent."); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the data in the Xavier Declaration does not amount to unexpected results that are sufficient in overcoming the pending obviousness rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-16, 25-30, and 31-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 8,574,561) in view of Ananthapadmanabhan et al. (US 2013/0150338) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2017/0165165).
Patel teaches an aqueous composition containing an anti-dandruff agent, at least two surfactants chosen from amphoteric and zwitterionic surfactants, a viscosity modifying agent, and a conditioning agent wherein the composition is free of sulfate-containing surfactants and wherein the composition can be used as a shampoo (col 2, lns 15-28; col 12, lns 51-52). The chose of surfactants can include alkyl polyglucosides, PEG fatty esters, coco betaine (col 7, lns 12-43). Additional surfactants include nonionic surfactants such as decyl glucoside (col 10, ln 4) and anionic surfactants chosen from compounds in the classes of taurates, isethionates, and lauryl sarcosinate (col 10, lns 34-48). The surfactants may be present in amounts ranging from 0.1-45 wt% of the total weight of the composition (col 10, lns 59-64). The conditioning agent can be a cationic polymer such as polyquaternium-10 and be included in about 0.025-3 wt% (col 8, lns 23-67). Regarding the viscosity modifier, said agent can be selected from gums such as gum Arabic and xanthan (col 12, lns 6-21) or carbomers (col 4, ln 59- col 5, ln 3) and can be present in the range of from 0.01-2 wt% (col 5, lns 8-10). The aqueous medium can comprise water in about 5-95 wt% and call also comprise polyol alcohols (col 9, lns 1-26).
Patel does not teach the isethionates as acyl isethionates. Patel does not teach the composition further comprising glycerin.
Ananthapadmanabhan teaches that a surfactant system including fatty acyl isethionate (i.e. sodium cocoyl isethionate) and an alkyl glycinate provides an improvement to the condition of the skin stratum corneum barrier and improves anti-dandruff shampoos [0124-0125].
Zhao teaches polyols such as glycerin add elasticity to damaged hair fibers and result in hair that is less sensitive to environmental changes [0025]. In addition, glycerin can result in more segregated micelles that transport onto the hair surface quicker and thus result in improved soil removal [0026]. Zhao further teaches that a consumer preference is for a haircare product to have a viscosity in the range of 1,000-15,000 cps, which results in enough viscosity that the product does not run off the hand after dispensing but not too much viscosity that it is difficult to spread [0027].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the aqueous composition of Patel containing an anti-dandruff agent, at least two surfactants chosen from amphoteric and zwitterionic surfactants, a viscosity modifying agent, and a conditioning agent wherein the composition is free of sulfate-containing surfactants and wherein the composition can be used as a shampoo. It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of surfactants and hair care agents from within Patel, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
The resulting shampoo composition would have been obvious to prepare comprising an anti-dandruff agent, a mixture of surfactants (0.1-45 wt%) comprising sodium cocoyl isethionate, alkyl glycinate, alkyl polyglucosides, PEG fatty esters, coco betaine, decyl glucoside, lauryl sarcosinate, a polyquaternium-10 conditioning agent (0.025-3 wt%), thickening agents such as gum Arabic and/or carbomers (0.1-2 wt%), and a solvent system of water (up to 95%) and polyols such as glycerin. Regarding the inclusion of glycerin as the polyol and sodium cocoyl isethionate as the isethionate of Patel, generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding the concentrations of each surfactant, Patel teaches that the total amount thereof can be up to 45 wt%, thus the individual amounts of each included surfactant can be in the range of from 0.1-45 wt% as well, which overlaps with the ranges of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It is noted that the composition of Patel is free of sulfate-containing anionic surfactants and further does not require the inclusion of glycerolated alcohols or polyarylsiloxanes. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of thickening agents to achieve a viscosity in the desired range of from 1,000-15,000 cpa. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I).
The resulting shampoo composition renders obvious instant claims 1, 8-9, 11-16, 25-30, and 31-39.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The previously applied prior art has been withdrawn due to the prior art teaching a lower amount of surfactant and not further providing motivation for increasing the amount about typical levels. The Applicant’s arguments against Xavier and Molenda will not be further addressed.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613